Metascore
61

Mixed or average reviews - based on 13 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 13
  2. Negative: 1 out of 13
  1. May 4, 2012
    80
    StarDrone Extreme is fun, immediate and cheap. The touch controls work very well and the game is pretty durable thanks to a single player mode packed with sixty levels.
  2. Apr 17, 2012
    80
    Beatshapers and Orb Games' high-octane action puzzle title is the perfect antidote to the post-launch blues, and, despite some minor difficulty barriers, is a worthy addition to your growing Vita collection.
  3. Jun 25, 2012
    75
    It doesn't quite live up to its bigger cousin, mainly due to some difficulty issues and a control scheme that doesn't feel quite as natural. It's still a great game to pay on the go though, and there isn't anything else quite like it.
  4. May 17, 2012
    75
    StarDrone Extreme feels so much better than the original release; this game feels as if it was meant to be on the Vita from the start. It has that same old-school, beat-your-school appeal of a classic arcade game and the gameplay fits perfectly with the abilities of Sony's new handheld.
  5. Apr 23, 2012
    75
    StarDrone Extreme may not assail your senses or do anything entirely new and exciting, but hell if it isn't fun for what it is.
  6. Apr 25, 2012
    72
    The "Extreme" is for the game's extremely inconsistent level design.
  7. Apr 27, 2012
    70
    StarDrone Extreme is a game that most people will beat in a couple of hours. But I think many will return to improve their high scores. If you get used to the controls and the tempo it's a real bargain and very entertaining, despite its flaws.
  8. May 1, 2012
    60
    It's a hint of what could be a fun little title, if the level design was scripted tighter.
  9. Apr 17, 2012
    60
    If you can see past StarDrone's awful Level Skipper DLC shenanigans, there's a decent little puzzler to spend an evening with.
  10. However, drastic spikes in the difficulty still pop-up at bizarre intervals, and being asked to shell out 99 cents to skip the random ultra brutal stages each time they appear feels like an insult. Pay to not play? No thanks. [July 2012, p.85]
  11. It never reaches the breakneck speeds you're hoping for. [June 2012, p.115]
  12. 50
    If you've played the PlayStation Move version (which is easier to control and doesn't have fingers getting in the way of the screen) on the PS3, then leave this one be. It's the same 60 levels, plus a few Vita exclusive levels added for good measure. But it's not enough for warrant a second purchase.
  13. Apr 25, 2012
    30
    It purports to be a cross between pinball and puzzle game, but lacks the bells and whistles or tactile joy of the former, while the conundrums are nothing more than busywork.
User Score
4.0

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 12 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 1 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 1 out of 2
  1. Jun 19, 2012
    3
    Had they had a playable demo I'd have saved myself some valuable time and money.
    This game is pants. Everything's too awkward. Get Super
    Had they had a playable demo I'd have saved myself some valuable time and money.
    This game is pants. Everything's too awkward. Get Super Stardust instead.
    Full Review »
  2. Apr 23, 2012
    8
    Awesome high performance action puzzle. Purchased one together with PS Vita (got PS3 version already).
    First what I tested was Cross Play
    Awesome high performance action puzzle. Purchased one together with PS Vita (got PS3 version already).
    First what I tested was Cross Play feature - i've transferred via Cloud all my scores and unlocks to PS Vita and started to play new, exclusive levels. The PS Vita touch screen is a bit smaller than PS3 so finger frequently overlap view area but I've switched to rear touch pad and its worked perfectly. A little more training an im in top 10 of scoreboards (which also shared with PS3).
    The gameplay is basically mashup pinball/Sonic run/flow and a little of Angry Birds Space. The PS Vita version performs well, featuring new touch based UI. Live Area also worth to mention - its shows current player profile, very convenient. If you ask me - i highly recommend this one for PS Vita (and PS3 if you want).
    Full Review »