Tearaway PlayStation Vita

  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Tearaway Image
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 383 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this veryAdventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this very special delivery. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to continue:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    100
    Tearaway is one of those rare games that gets exponentially better with its ending.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    95
    A love letter to creativity and the PS Vita, Tearaway is a game you shouldn't miss and it is a real system seller.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    93
    It sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when I built strange worlds equipped with nothing but crayons and card.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    By casting the player as a character in the game, and through the use of the Vita camera, this title makes us reevaluate where a game world stops and reality begins.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Moving and unique, funny and imaginative: Tearaway is an amazing experience with a few nuisances preventing it to become the true masterpiece PlayStation Vita deserves.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    A charming vindication of the PS Vita, that uses the console’s many abilities to the fullest – even if that does mean you’re left wanting more.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Tearaway is cheerful, clever, and colorful, but never quite attains the masterful blend of art and gameplay exhibited by developer Media Molecule's previous efforts, the LittleBigPlanet games.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 76
  2. Negative: 2 out of 76
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on theQuite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on the Vita. A very unique creative game that even makes Nintendo games look pale compared to Tearaway. I highly recommend this! Money well spent. Kudos to media molecules Expand
  2. Dec 15, 2013
    10
    If you own a Vita, you have to own this game! Yes it's that good and it's almost reason enough to buy a Vita, if you don't have a Vita.If you own a Vita, you have to own this game! Yes it's that good and it's almost reason enough to buy a Vita, if you don't have a Vita.

    Tearaway is a brilliant platformer, which really takes advantage of the hardware in Vita. It's not a kids game, but it can be played by kids and adults, just like eg. Mario for the Nintendo platforms. It is without doubt one of the best handheld games I have ever played and hands down the best handheld game of 2013.
    Expand
  3. Jun 29, 2015
    10
    This game is what should of been the launch title of the vita in my opinion. The game is a perfect show off title for the vitas capabilities,This game is what should of been the launch title of the vita in my opinion. The game is a perfect show off title for the vitas capabilities, it uses the front and back touchscreen, the camera, gyro controls and more. The game looks gorgeous and the paper comes to life on the brilliant OLED screen.
    Gameplay wise I can't fault it, a platform/adventure title it sees you collecting items, killing bad guys and making things by drawing with the vitas touch screen. Everything is made of paper and moves just like it.
    The poor marketing decisions by Sony has hampered the vita and I firmly believe if this was the title that launched with the vita it would be doing so much better.
    Expand
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    10
    Tearaway is one of the greatest Vita games out there right now. The game is so unique and the art style is just beautiful. The paper worldTearaway is one of the greatest Vita games out there right now. The game is so unique and the art style is just beautiful. The paper world is cool plus as part as the story you can make items and give them to characters. Plus you can customize your own character through an in game shop. While the stuff in shop isn't to expensive it will add up from all of the amazing things you can buy.

    Level design is just amazing. Since the levels are made of paper you can change the shape of the paper with just a flick of the finger. The levels truly make use of the Vita's touch screen and its back touch screen. The puzzles are not that hard but they are fun nether the less to solve. At some points in the game you can see your face as part of the game due to the Vita's front camera and you have a camera that you get in game that you actually take pictures with in game and with it occasionally you take a picture in real life with it a character will get the texture of the picture.

    The character are simple but they truly give you emotion through there successes and losses. The games character are designed very well and the introduction of the characters is great. The only characters that have voice acting are the narrators but for the other characters it is unneeded and can be expressed through facial expressions.

    I won't go in depth into the story for spoiler reasons. The story is outstanding and will give meaning to everyone you met throughout your adventure. This game is not short at all it will take you awhile to complete and once you do complete it you will want to play it again to get all of the things you missed.

    This game is just truly amazing and puts other platform games to shame. The characters are great, the story is amazing, and the art style is beautiful. In my opinion this game should be a contender for game of the year. If you have a Vita I highly recommend you get Tearaway and experience the magic of this game.
    Expand
  5. May 28, 2015
    9
    It's a delightful little game that tries just as hard to unlock your imagination as it does to capture your heart. Next gen platforming atIt's a delightful little game that tries just as hard to unlock your imagination as it does to capture your heart. Next gen platforming at its finest, utilizing the Vita's touch capabilities without forcing it. This game might not be action packed, but it's sure to put a smile on your face in ways other than some of the mindless violence games that are a dime a dozen these days. Expand
  6. Nov 22, 2013
    9
    INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

    Having now spent a good couple of hours in the company of this wonderfully executed lesson in innovation and story
    INITIAL IMPRESSIONS

    Having now spent a good couple of hours in the company of this wonderfully executed lesson in innovation and story telling, from those crazy-talented folks over at Media Molecule, I feel obliged to wade in with some brief impressions for my fellow (and perhaps, future) Vita owners.

    I'm delighted (and more than just a tad relieved) to confirm, that having previously digested reviews from the digital pages of esteemed gaming sites like Destructoid (10/10), Pocket Gamer (also 10), IGN (9.3) and Edge (9), their overwhelmingly positive findings are indeed entirely accurate.

    The first chapter is a little slow to get going, and to a lesser extent, so is the second. However, it is in these early sections that MM holds your hand a little, slowly but surely endowing you with the skills required to negotiate many of the wholly unique underpinnings on which Tearaway's delightfully whimsical world (a world that is inextricably linked to the real one, might I add) is built.

    Furthermore, these skills take full advantage of the Vita's entire suite of input channels (front touchscreen, rear touchpad, gyro, camera's...) making Tearaway a genuinely unique experience. An experience that is genuinely only workable on Sony's otherwise oft-maligned pocket-rocket. With this in mind, as far as I'm concerned, Tearaway is Vita's first bona fide system seller! Yep, that good.

    Like I said, having played Tearaway for just over two hours, these are only my initial impressions, so I'll be sure to pop back in the next day or two to report more. HOWEVER, in the meantime, I really must get back to this frankly wonderful game!

    Happy gaming everyone!
    Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    The game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not toThe game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not to mention platform elements. However, the game uses the maximum Vita and has a very sweet and beautiful style. But believe me, it's not a platformer and even bit-em-up. Expand

See all 76 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.