• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 82 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 335 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Adventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this veryAdventure through a vibrant papery world with your new friend Iota, a plucky messenger with a unique message to deliver-to you.This paper world is small enough to hold in your own two hands, allowing you to reach into the game with your god-like powers and help Iota complete this very special delivery. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 76 out of 82
  2. Negative: 0 out of 82
  1. Jan 1, 2014
    100
    Tearaway is one of those rare games that gets exponentially better with its ending.
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    95
    A love letter to creativity and the PS Vita, Tearaway is a game you shouldn't miss and it is a real system seller.
  3. Nov 20, 2013
    93
    It sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when I built strange worlds equipped with nothing but crayons and card.
  4. Nov 20, 2013
    90
    By casting the player as a character in the game, and through the use of the Vita camera, this title makes us reevaluate where a game world stops and reality begins.
  5. Nov 20, 2013
    88
    Moving and unique, funny and imaginative: Tearaway is an amazing experience with a few nuisances preventing it to become the true masterpiece PlayStation Vita deserves.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    80
    A charming vindication of the PS Vita, that uses the console’s many abilities to the fullest – even if that does mean you’re left wanting more.
  7. Nov 20, 2013
    60
    Tearaway is cheerful, clever, and colorful, but never quite attains the masterful blend of art and gameplay exhibited by developer Media Molecule's previous efforts, the LittleBigPlanet games.

See all 82 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 64 out of 68
  2. Negative: 2 out of 68
  1. Dec 5, 2013
    10
    This game is incredibly fun and addicting on the PS Vita! The control scheme takes advantage of the Vita's extra functions like the touch padThis game is incredibly fun and addicting on the PS Vita! The control scheme takes advantage of the Vita's extra functions like the touch pad and camera. Graphics are really good and artistic. You won't regret this purchase! 10/10 for me Expand
  2. Nov 22, 2013
    10
    Quite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on theQuite possibly, one of the best handheld games I've ever played! It's as if you're involved in the game somehow with the many features on the Vita. A very unique creative game that even makes Nintendo games look pale compared to Tearaway. I highly recommend this! Money well spent. Kudos to media molecules Expand
  3. Dec 12, 2013
    10
    Media molecule once again creates a world that is charming and magical, achieved with such simple style. Going along this paper craftMedia molecule once again creates a world that is charming and magical, achieved with such simple style. Going along this paper craft adventure made me feel like a child once again. Vita elements were effectively used throughout the game and gave a very interactive experience. The story itself although seemingly simplistic, was rather a heartwarming experience by including the player into the game. Hopefully it will also spark the creative side in you. Expand
  4. Dec 30, 2013
    10
    This game is simply amazing! The creativity is amazing and I love how it uses all the ps vita features. This game is with out a doubt the bestThis game is simply amazing! The creativity is amazing and I love how it uses all the ps vita features. This game is with out a doubt the best handheld game of the year and so far the best game on the vita. This game adventurous creative and beautifully colorful fun. I haven't stop playing this game since I got it. This game keeps on surprising you as you go and is overall a perfect game in my opinion. Fun and can be replayed over and over and never get dull. If you have a ps vita and don't have this game you might as well not have a vita. Get it! Expand
  5. Dec 1, 2013
    10
    This game is a piece of art. Among the few truly great exclusive titles on the Vita, Wipeout 2048, Uncharted GA, Killzone Mercenary, TearawayThis game is a piece of art. Among the few truly great exclusive titles on the Vita, Wipeout 2048, Uncharted GA, Killzone Mercenary, Tearaway is something special. Instead of creating a regular 3d world Media Molecule created a living, breathing paper world. Every single detail in this game makes the experience a pleasure. A must own title for anyone who can appreciate a charming game that provides a experience off the beaten pass of fps et. a. Expand
  6. May 2, 2015
    9
    It sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when IIt sincerely believes that imagination really is the most important faculty, and in turn, succeeded in transporting me back to a time when I built strange worlds equipped with nothing but crayons and card. Expand
  7. Feb 23, 2014
    6
    The game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not toThe game is quite short (Seriously, even picking up 100% you will take a maximum of 7-8 hours) and everything else is pretty easy, not to mention platform elements. However, the game uses the maximum Vita and has a very sweet and beautiful style. But believe me, it's not a platformer and even bit-em-up. Expand

See all 68 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. The Best Videogames of 2013

    The Best Videogames of 2013 Image
    Published: December 30, 2013
    In our annual ranking of the year's best video games, get a list of 2013's best and worst releases by platform, view a comparison of the various game consoles, and find out which title earned Metacritic Game of the Year honors.