Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 7 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 97 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Walking Dead is an award-winning vision of Robert Kirkman's global hit comic book series. Experience the true horror and emotional impact of being a survivor of the undead apocalypse in a zombie game unlike any other. You will meet people and experience events that will impact the story of Deputy Sheriff Rick Grimes, and you will be forced to make decisions that are not only tough, but that will have a direct effect on the story that you experience. The undead are everywhere, but they're not your only problem. Starvation, betrayal, heartbreak and more will challenge you as you attempt to survive in the world of The Walking Dead. Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. Sep 1, 2013
    100
    Presumably, this is something that was already known by everyone that's already played The Walking Dead on PS3/Xbox/PC/iOS, but if you haven't yet had a chance to see it for yourself, then you owe it to yourself to rectify your oversight and get it for your PS Vita immediately.
  2. What is there left to tell about The Walking Dead, our personal best game of 2012. Those who only own a Vita owe it to themselves to play this thrilling interactive zombie adventure. [October 2013 p.94]
  3. Sep 30, 2013
    85
    As of this writing, the price is the same on PC and Vita, so if you've got a computer that can handle it, that's how I'd recommend playing it. But if you don't, grab this one on Vita and look past its issues to the great game lying underneath.
  4. All you really need to know is that this is a very capable port of one of the most celebrated games of 2012. Prepare to be drawn into a superbly written apocalyptic tale that will hook you in completely and aim for your feels. [November 2013, p83]
  5. Dec 26, 2013
    74
    Despite being far from the best version of this series, the Walking Dead on Vita is still a stellar adventure. The quality of Telltale's work transcends the various technical issues that haunt this port.
  6. Sep 10, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on PS Vita isn’t the definitive version, which is a shame, as the personal experience of the Vita itself could have added so much to the overall experience of the game. Instead what you get is a decent enough port that maintains most of the game’s charms, but just falls a little short on previous releases. However, that still makes it better than most games on the market.
  7. Oct 9, 2013
    70
    The Walking Dead on the Vita is still the same fantastic game it was before; the story still resonates, you still form emotional connections with the characters and you still have the same pangs of horrific doubt over each and every choice the game puts in front of you.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 1 out of 19
  1. Sep 5, 2013
    10
    Best way to play it. It really feels like a comic book coming to life. I would highly recommend either this or the iPad version because the feeling is so much better when you can play wherever you want. Vita version is superior to the iPad version (no glitches when shutting off the screen, choosing controls...). Expand
  2. Jan 17, 2014
    10
    If you felt the PS3 controls were a little weird then the vita version is perfect! the game is awesome, there's no doubting that and if that's why you're looking at reviews then just get it. It's really good and it's one of those games that suckers you into caring for the characters. If you're wondering about the controls, adding the touchscreen makes a game whose mechanics were at a solid 9 into a 10. Perfect. Expand
  3. Sep 25, 2013
    10
    This game belongs on the Vita, its definitely a must have. The gameplay is great because of the touch features of the vita, and of course the OLED screen doesn't fail to amaze with the graphics. Picture this, headphones on, on a train ride home at night scary, Even tho the graphics are cartoon like the emotion each character carries is so life like, and yes it will keep you on the edge. I rate this game two thumbs up, and my big toe, Enjoi making the right decisions people! Hint: just dont say drop the gun down, Expand
  4. Sep 29, 2013
    9
    This game is amazing, it was my game of the year in 2012 when it came out on PS3 and 360. This includes all five episodes of the award-winning first season, plus special episode, 400 days. The gameplay, story, and content is all the same. The only bad thing about this port is that sometimes the framerate drops. For the price of $24.99 it is a must own for anyone that owns a Vita. Expand
  5. Dec 20, 2013
    9
    I just finished it. Great main characters: Lee and Clementine. Despite a few technical problems (scrolling finger-too sensitive) is well suited to the PS Vita console. Before I played the game approached it with skepticism surprise after playing was nice. The game sucked me completely. Believe me it is worth to play this title. Expand
  6. Oct 19, 2013
    8
    Pros: The plot, character development, and voice acting make The Walking Dead a great game.
    Cons: Puzzles are extremely easy and lacking. At
    times, I felt that this game felt more like an interactive movie than a game.

    I'm a big fan of graphic adventure games such as Tales of Monkey Island, Day of the Tentacle and the old Indiana Jones' games. So, when playing point and click adventure games I look for challenging and fun puzzles to solve which aren't really present with The Walking Dead. However, because it is one of the best stories that I have ever experienced in a game and I gain such a strong attachment with the main character that I ended up tearing up at the end. Great game.
    Expand
  7. Sep 9, 2013
    5
    Superb story with exceptional characters and intriguing relationships. This game should get a perfect 10 but the Vita version has significant technical problems. It looks just as good as other versions of the game, but it has lots of framerate issues and slowdowns/stuttering. It affects gameplay and takes away some of the fun and immersion (most of the times I die are as a result of these issues, which is frustrating).

    Never tried the PS3 version, but I'm guessing it's better than this. My suggestion to you is to get it on a different system, but you should definitely buy it.
    Expand

See all 19 User Reviews