Metascore
69

Mixed or average reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
Buy On
  1. Feb 28, 2012
    90
    Touch My Katamari is FUN - fast-paced, zany fun.
  2. Feb 22, 2012
    85
    It's not the game you want to justify your purchase of a Vita, as it won't have you signing the merits of its various technical features and thanking the Lord for a rear touchpad. But it's something more important than that – fun.
  3. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Feb 14, 2012
    81
    Far better than the recent PSP and iOS versions, this is Katamari's most fun portable outing to date. More new stuff would have been nice, though. [March 2012, p.91]
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    80
    Eccentric and bursting with charm. [Apr 2012, p.58]
  5. Feb 27, 2012
    80
    Doesn't stray from a winning formula, offers the portable world dual analog sticks (which cements the experience), and brings in a new touch-based mechanic that actually affects the gameplay in a positive way. There isn't quite enough content, the camera does seem to be a bigger problem than in past entries, and I miss a few of the more unique modes found in other titles, but there's no denying it: this is Katamari and the fans should really enjoy it.
  6. Feb 25, 2012
    80
    We're having a ball with this sticky-ball game that really sticks to you.
  7. Mar 20, 2012
    78
    We love the game, but if you already have another Katamari game in your collection, you won't find many changes here, and it seems more like an expansion of the second game.
  8. Feb 19, 2012
    78
    Touch My Katamari does little to break the mold, but with its odd humor and addictive simplicity, it's a great game to have on the go. Plus, at $30, it's one of the more reasonably-priced Vita launch games.
  9. May 19, 2012
    75
    The AMOLED-screen on the Vita really works in favor of Touch My Katamari since it comes with a rainbow of colors. Unfortunately the story mode isn't particularly long, which cuts the fun assignments, quirky Japanese humor and happy J-pop short.
  10. Apr 3, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari is a step in the right direction for the franchise, it's a lot of fun. Best of all, it doesn't cram the Vita's touch controls down your throat and makes good use of the hardware.
  11. Feb 20, 2012
    75
    it's a nifty trick when you need to fit your big blob through tight spaces or want to cut a wide, steamroller-like swath. But it's also a bit erratic, and players may find themselves invoking the feature accidentally, when their insolent fingers drift from the slivers of non-touchpad space that the Vita so generously provides on its rear end.
  12. Feb 15, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari isn't a revolution for the series, but it does add enough odds and ends to keep the series (excuse me) rolling along. The quirky and bizarre visuals are still here, the solid gameplay persists and you'll still find rolling up sumo wrestlers funny. At least I do.
  13. Feb 14, 2012
    75
    Touch My Katamari looks and plays better than ever, has a hilarious new story, and new touchscreen controls give players additional ways to roll their own, but that all doesn't change the fact that this is basically the same game we've played so many times already.
  14. Feb 14, 2012
    75
    If you never clicked with the series' ball-rolling insanity, Touch My Katamari isn't likely to win you over. However, I do think that the morphing is a significant enough tweak to warrant giving it another shot.
User Score
7.4

Mixed or average reviews- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 8
  2. Negative: 0 out of 8
  1. Nov 7, 2015
    9
    It's light on content but it's pretty enjoyable. The controls are at their best for the series, and the new backpad touch thing that lets youIt's light on content but it's pretty enjoyable. The controls are at their best for the series, and the new backpad touch thing that lets you change the shape of the Katamari is amazing. Get it on the cheap and play it when you watch TV or something. Not much more to say about Katamari. Full Review »
  2. Oct 3, 2012
    7
    Being a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't haveBeing a Katamari fan, this was a no-brainer purchase for me. However, after the the initial story playthrough (which was fast), I don't have much reason to go back to it. Definitely could have been done better, but I'm not sorry that I bought it. Full Review »
  3. Apr 2, 2012
    9
    This game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates theThis game is small, but it is fun. There's some repetitiveness in it as it could use some additional stages, but overall it incorporates the vita's touch screens very effectively. Full Review »