Metascore
48

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 19 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 46 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Valhalla Knights 3 is an action RPG with intense real-time battle and seven-on-seven party based combat. Players can create a main character and field-worthy party members from one of seven races as well as assign them a job class from the twenty choices available.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 19
  2. Negative: 12 out of 19
  1. Oct 15, 2013
    70
    A strong and compelling RPG hidden under mountains of fan service. Marvelous AQL should seriously reconsider bringing sexy back if there's a sequel.
  2. Oct 15, 2013
    68
    The reward system and combat are a step above past games of the series, and the class customization gives you plenty of diversity and interesting combinations to play with. However, the game doesn't feel current, both technically as well as in the story telling. And most disturbing is the objectification of women.
  3. 50
    Valhalla Knights 3 is an impressive concept, but poor execution, lame grinding, and exploitative "Sexy Time" events are a fan disservice.
  4. Jan 3, 2014
    45
    VK3 certainly stands out from the previous games, but it does so in all the wrong ways. Any improvements it made to the mechanics are overshadowed by everything else about the game.
  5. Oct 23, 2013
    42
    If you're really, truly desperate for a decent-sized Vita JRPG, it might help you pass the time until something better comes along (otherwise known as that glorious day when the new Ys game finally arrives), but otherwise, you'll want to steer clear.
  6. Nov 15, 2013
    40
    There are signs of a solid JRPG in Valhalla Knights 3 but it all crumbles to inconsequence given the slog through dull, uninspired locations and cookie-cutter quests.
  7. Jan 23, 2014
    20
    In the end, there's simply nothing interesting or worthwhile about Valhalla Knights 3.

See all 19 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 11
  2. Negative: 4 out of 11
  1. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    The third installment of the game is a big difference from the first one and second one I hope it has a great story but the the thing I like is it has a lot of jobs and dungeons... I really really loved RPG games that has so many jobs and skills that can be used... wide array of weapons and seven great races. I've already beaten the first one and the second one they are both good good but I'm searching for more. I wish this one can do it... I wish can grab a copy of the game Expand
  2. Nov 18, 2014
    8
    I think the world setting is excellent, with great gothic/anime style themes and characters.
    Graphics are presented well for the Vita,
    despite what others say.
    Starting off is a bit slow but, after an hour or so you will be thrown into the world of Carceron prison with much to see and do. There is tons of equipment to buy and sell, with endless party member customization options. you can always edit a party members, look, class, skills, and personality at a clinic after recruiting or creating them.
    Combat is easy to get the hang of, although grinding is essential in this game. you can shop, recruit, and accept quests from either the lower slums, or the light district. You will want to start doing your business in the lower slums, as the most unique feature of the game seems to be 'swooning' female characters and paying them a sort of toll before being able to buy their upper class items, and you will soon be seeing your hard earned wonga wisp away. Give the girls gifts and you can play 'sexytime' mini games which are not too exciting.

    overall the game is good with lots of different elements that make the world interesting.
    If you don't mind grinding in-between quests (which is actually rather rewarding) you will love this game.
    one notable fault is the online, I haven't been able to find someone to fight online so far, hopefully critics stop shunting games like this and actually play it before they post their opinions.
    Not for everyone but definitely a hidden gem for the VITA console.
    I
    Expand
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    8
    and another underrated ps Vita game Valhall knight3 is not greatest game out there but it's also not a the worst It has highs, lows and some inbetweens. Its core gameplay is spot-on, and fortunately so is the bulk of the entire experience. The class system, customization options and online features are downright fantastic and the graphic wasn't that bad really But qualities like its presentation and throwaway story weigh it down Expand
  4. Oct 16, 2013
    5
    Valhalla Knights 3 is a game that seems to be confused about the year. The game reeks of original PSP and not just in terms of graphics (some PSP games looked better.) The game begins with a short story clip and then you begin creating your character. This is actually one of the best parts of the game the character creation is pretty deep. After you pick your race, looks, and then class you are pushed into the world with an intro story that is confusing at best and then you are off to find a guy and begin the story.

    The game doesn't do much to tell you what to do and you will spend a decent amount of time wandering around trying to figure out what the heck to do. Once you get to the combat portion you'll see just how shallow the game is. Mash on the attach button, block here and there, rinse and repeat.

    If this game came out 5 years ago for the PSP it would be a decent game. On the Vita, it's just embarrassing, especially at full price. There are much better games to play out there. Avoid this unless you are absolutely starved for an RPG.
    Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    5
    I have been playing Vahalla knights for only five hours and I can tell you all the problems with it. This is a Pro and Con review since I haven't beaten the game yet.

    Pro: - The music in the game isn't bad, it sounds very JRPG and the sound isn't too bad.
    - The Story premise is actually pretty interesting, the whole story isn't but the world that you are stationed in is different than other JRPGs. The town is a prison and you do RPG stuff, somewhat reminds me of Deadman's Wonderland. The town has different factions and you can befriend certain people not a bad idea.
    - Character models look nice and your character and their gears stay on cutscenes same goes for you companions.
    -Customization isn't too bad, you can unlock more later in the game.

    That is it I have absolutely hate this website and its problems. My review got cut off AGAIN! Screw this website... going to start finding a website to review in that doesn't bug out. I even had written 3000 words of Cons for this game.
    Expand
  6. Nov 24, 2013
    4
    I like RPGs and building up a good party, so I liked the idea of a 7 member team. The story is original (maybe not the best), but the amount of grinding required to move forward takes away from it. What ruined the game for me is the combination of excessive grinding to level up, limited enemy types, and the recent availability of DLC to level up and to make the game easier (which makes the game feel like a freemium game, except you pay the price of a full game). Collapse
  7. Oct 16, 2013
    0
    I have to say thx god that I bought this game physical so I can sell it

    The game graphics are ok, way better than Ragnarok odyssey
    The
    story is bad and shallow two guys in a prision spying because a "dark" empire wants a powerful treasure hidden inside with no sound or voice just a mute scroll text
    The customization is fine tons of weapons armor and so on

    the system battle is mediocre and that's generous...
    the quest are typical MMO quest kill 10 wolfs, grab x stuff, kill x target, Repeat
    the movement are bad just awful designed

    The point is this game should cost 15, 20$ max, If they release tons of patches to improve some stuff in the game could be better after all the game is only 950 mb. But lets face it the game with 40$ tag and this poor quality is just another fail entry to the vita reputation of bad games and ports.
    Expand

See all 11 User Reviews

Trailers