Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Velocity Ultra is what Velocity should have been the first time around: a native PlayStation Vita title with deliciously sharp and stylish HD graphics, PSN trophies and online leader boards. [FuturLab]
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. Jul 15, 2013
    100
    It looks great, it sounds great and it plays great. It is, quite simply, just a great game, and a must-have for Vita owners.
  2. 90
    Aside from a few minor technical issues (they should be fixed in a future patch) and less than impressive visuals, Velocity Ultra is perfect for PlayStation Vita owners who want a fun, fast-paced, and just overall awesome game.
  3. May 21, 2013
    90
    It’s a game that leads by example, never keeping still while making sure you do likewise, and is every bit as essential now as it was 12 months ago.
  4. Got a Vita and never played the original? Then get this. [August 2013, p77]
  5. Jun 3, 2013
    85
    Quotation forthcoming.
  6. May 24, 2013
    80
    This is the definitive version of Velocity Ultra, but not because of its fancy new graphics and effects. Velocity Ultra is a perfect match for a console that can be carried around with you, and if you've yet to play the game then this is the way to play it.
  7. Jul 31, 2013
    80
    Velocity Ultra looks, plays, and sometimes feels like a traditional vertical scrolling shooter, but has a level of accessibility and innovation that separates it from comparable games. Its main hook is one I never felt fully comfortable with, but it didn’t hinder the overall experience. The genre convergence on display here is exciting, and worth playing even if you typically avoid shoot ‘em ups.

See all 18 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. Apr 28, 2014
    10
    Velocity Ultra is a masterpiece.I'm a fanatic of Shoot'm up and this game is revolutionary.The teleport between zones,the speed,the dual stick,the music,etc it is a reflect of a work well done.
    If you have a psvita,you should buy it.As simple as that.
    Greatness awaits,well,Velocity 2x is that greatness.
    Expand
  2. Nov 24, 2013
    10
    Velocity Ultra is a must-own on for the Vita, PS3, and/or PC. It's a vertical shooter with lots of accessibility and great controls. Joris de Man's music sounds excellent and goes with the game. It holds up great with nice visuals and and at 60fps. It is also loaded with tough challenges, the game Snake, Minesweeper, and two-player mini-games as well. Makes for a worthy pick-up and play experience. Expand
  3. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    If you own a PS Vita and are a fan of shoot em ups or not, I recommend this game. It's got good graphics and sound. The control method is easy to master and the game won't disappoint. I think it's only available via the PlayStation Store as I have not seen it in any stores that sell PS Vita games. Expand
  4. Jun 6, 2014
    9
    A fantastic, old-school feeling side scrolling shooter with enough modern touches to set it apart from the crowd. It might very well be one of the best downloadable games on PSN. It's addictive and will keep you coming back for more. It's main gameplay hooks of teleporting and speed work fantastically, and it's just an all around fantastic package. My total score for the game is a 9.1/10=Amazing. I highly recommend you check this one out. Expand
  5. May 25, 2014
    9
    Velocity Ultra is completely unlike any other shmup in a good way. The teleportation mechanic adds depth to the gameplay and makes the formula more addictive. It's accessible but very fun a good quality for portable games. Expand
  6. Aug 1, 2013
    9
    Got this game part of PS Plus. It's awesome and loved the challenges it brought on each level.
    Gameplay is cool and levels are well designed.
    Sweet classic mini games were also fun.
    I loved it.
    Collapse
  7. Nov 11, 2013
    8
    This game is just too much fun, I had it as a Mini and now its even better: trophy support, HD visuals, and a kick ass comic book style cutscenes. I have no idea what's going on with the story, but the drawings are nice nonetheless.

    It is all about gameplay, though. Level designs are tight and controls feel very precise. The latter levels are quite hard, but its always a good time. Velocity should be right up your alley if you're into shoot em ups and puzzle games.

    I personally like the straight forward levels more (some that you have to shoot all enemies, or rush trough the level due to time constraints). The more elaborate, puzzle like levels are cool as well, but they require some memorization and I'm awful at that.

    I should warn, though, that it might not be to everybody. If you're looking for fancy graphics or epic sagas, this game is not for you.

    I showed Velocity to my nephews (9 and 11 YO), and they couldn't get into the straight forward approach and difficulty level. They'd rather play Fifa and Uncharted on easy, so they can feel like super powerful dudes.
    Expand

See all 10 User Reviews