Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 35 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 35
  2. Negative: 0 out of 35
Buy On
  1. Feb 27, 2012
    89
    Virtua Tennis as we've come to know and love it... with very well-implemented touch controls. A must have for Vita owners with a passion for tennis.
  2. Pelit (Finland)
    Apr 17, 2012
    84
    A very nice and varied arcade-style tennis game. Nothing earth-shattering here, though. [Apr 2012]
  3. Games Master UK
    Mar 14, 2012
    83
    Cracking tennis game with gorgeous visuals and a slew of bonkers mini-games. [Apr 2012, p.84]
  4. Mar 7, 2012
    82
    It only adds a few new PSVITA features, but it is a great adaptation of a very good tennis title. Its ability to engage the player is intact, and it offers lots of hours in the career mode. It also has a good multiplayer component, and although the PSVITA features are not that revolutionary, the two player mode in the same console is really original.
  5. Feb 16, 2012
    82
    Advantage, Sega! If you like tennis and can live with some arcady style gameplay components you can experience a really well cooked PS Vita meal with special controls for the new handheld as well as some delicious minigames.
  6. Play UK
    Mar 4, 2012
    81
    A strong sense of having seen it all before and some forgettable touch screen integration doesn't stop Virtua Tennis 4 from being a fun fit for Vita. [Issue#215, p.76]
  7. LEVEL (Czech Republic)
    Mar 22, 2012
    80
    Excellent tennis game offers plenty of content for single player and attracts multiplayer. If there weren't such unbalanced in the difficulty the score would turn out even higher. [March 2012]
  8. Mar 19, 2012
    80
    If you've played Virtua Tennis 4 on the PS3 there's no need to revisit it here. That being said, tennis games are perfect for playing on the go, and Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is a perfect match for the Vita.
  9. Mar 6, 2012
    80
    Purists will still lament some of the key problems with Virtua Tennis 4's gameplay – the overemphasis on netplay can result in some repetitive rallies – but without Top Spin to compete with it, this is currently the best option available for handheld tennis.
  10. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Mar 5, 2012
    80
    It's hard to fault VT4's easy-entry arcade feel and rewarding career mode. [Apr 2012, p.60]
  11. Playstation Official Magazine Australia
    Mar 4, 2012
    80
    This isn't meant as a backhand, but Virtua Tennis 4 on PS Vita is virtually identical to the PS3 version, which which was quite good. Smashing, even. [March 2012, p65]
  12. Feb 28, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis 4 is a gorgeous, deep title that makes us happy to have our Vita – even if we have to deal with strangers watching us over our shoulders. It's a small price to play for a heck of a game.
  13. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis 4 is a pefect game for Vita, with great visuals and full of contents in the Career Mode. Sim nuts must be aware that VT4 a completely arcade game, easy and fun to play, but not as complex as the other tennis titles avalaible.
  14. Feb 24, 2012
    80
    Great version of the original game, a great example of porting from PS3 to Vita. Looks great, plays well and it's great entertainment for anybody looking for fast and simple tennis games.
  15. Feb 22, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis 4 World Tour Edition may be a port, and it's only additions may be a few fun, time wasting mini-games, but it shows that the Vita can handle console games without downgrading any feature to fit on a portable device.
  16. Feb 21, 2012
    80
    Not just for tennis lovers, Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is an enjoyable, well-rounded game. Easy to pick up for players of all levels, but difficult to master.
  17. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis 4 absolutely nails the arcade experience and kicks up some amazing graphics.
  18. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    Virtua Tennis: World Tour Edition on the debut of PlayStation Vita is a luxury. The bottom line is even if VT4 isn't the best company on the home console versions, this portable version fits like a glove.
  19. Feb 20, 2012
    80
    An excellent conversion of the home console original, that actually seems more at home on the PS Vita than it did its original formats.
  20. Feb 17, 2012
    80
    Most of all, Virtua Tennis 4 impresses because of the quality of this port, which might well be the final word when it comes to handheld conversions of home console titles. You're almost puzzled that the game doesn't support cross-platform play, so close is this version to last year's counterpart ... The quick-fire arcade style of gameplay with its focus on minigames and short match-ups seems like a much better fit for a handheld than it did for Xbox 360 and PS3.
  21. Feb 27, 2012
    79
    Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is an enjoyable, well-rounded game. An excellent arcade experience.
  22. PSM3 Magazine UK
    Feb 14, 2012
    76
    Dip in and out, go deep and follow a career, knock about with friends online or in the same room - the Vita version has its sense of fun back. And that's just 'ace'. [March 2012, p.90]
  23. Mar 20, 2012
    75
    With an incredible adaptive arcade gameplay Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition gives players a solid sports game on PS Vita. Recommended to all Tennis fans.
  24. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    The new features don't add a lot to the package, making it hard to recommend Virtua Tennis to anyone that has been playing it on the console.
  25. Feb 22, 2012
    75
    Virtua Tennis 4 world tour edition offers the same gameplay already popular on home consoles. If you love tennis or the arcade series, this is the game you have to buy.
  26. Feb 21, 2012
    75
    The Vita version of Virtua Tennis 4 offers the same modes and options as its console brothers. But there lies the problem, there aren't many new concepts that can be enjoyed. However, Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition is still a lot of fun.
User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 60 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 12
  2. Negative: 0 out of 12
  1. Apr 2, 2012
    10
    Once you've figured out the nuances of the game and how to utilize your concentration gauge during game play, this game is a lot of fun andOnce you've figured out the nuances of the game and how to utilize your concentration gauge during game play, this game is a lot of fun and addictive. The World Tour mode is competitive and allows you to build up your player ratings through training sessions, mini games and matches. Of course, you ultimately build up to play in the major tournaments, but it keeps you very engaged. I really like this game. Full Review »
  2. Feb 8, 2013
    9
    Virtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition for Vita really took me by surprise following an impulse buy a few weeks back. If I'm absolutely honest, IVirtua Tennis 4: World Tour Edition for Vita really took me by surprise following an impulse buy a few weeks back. If I'm absolutely honest, I hadn't any real interest in playing playing the game, much less buying it. However, I happened to spot a brand new copy (not pre-owned) in my local GAME store for just £5.99 so I grabbed it there and then. Now that's a bargain in anyone's book, but it's particularly attractive when there's a pre-owned copy sitting right next to it on the shelf for £24.99. I know right?!! Once I popped the tiny cartridge in and fired my Vita up, I was immediately greeted with some truly stunning graphics and bucket loads of sheer quality. Better yet, the gameplay turned out to be even better, serving (sorry, couldn't resist) up some utterly enthralling and super addictive tennis in the process. It was a full three hours later before I put my Vita down, and I still couldn't wait to get back onto centre court to take on the likes of Messrs Federer, Nadal and Murray once again. And I strongly recommend that you do the same. If you like tennis games and/or sports sims, Virtua Tennis 4 is an utterly essential addition to your Vita library. Hunt yourself down a bargain, and enjoy. Full Review »
  3. Jun 9, 2012
    10
    Tough Virtua Tennis 4 in PSVita didn't change much from the PS3 or XBOX360 version in the mode, it's still a nice game worth playing. TheTough Virtua Tennis 4 in PSVita didn't change much from the PS3 or XBOX360 version in the mode, it's still a nice game worth playing. The graphic of characters looks gorgeous and more clear and sharp than other versions. Gameplay is nice and fun. You can pick up your Vita while you feel bored and quickly match a tennis game. Don't hesitate whether to buy this game or not now, go to buy it and enjoy your show. Full Review »