Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Ys: Memories of Celceta has players revisit the land and characters of the Japanese cult favorite Ys IV. This re-envisioning of the fourth installment in the Ys series takes a new approach, changing and framing the story of Ys IV within an all-new tale of conspiracy, deception and mystery.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 53 out of 56
  2. Negative: 0 out of 56
  1. Dec 9, 2013
    100
    Just like Ys Seven was one of the very best games the PSP had to offer, Ys: Memories of Celceta is one of the best games the Vita has to offer. It's fun, it's fast, it's easy to pick up — what's not to like?
  2. Jan 16, 2014
    90
    A fantastic action-adventure role-playing game, Ys Memories of Celceta is a great game to use to introduce yourself to the Ys franchise. It's not your typical AAA title, but it definitely plays like one.
  3. Mar 15, 2014
    86
    The story is a little blasé and the game is a little slow to start but once you get drawn in, it's very hard to put this game down.
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    80
    Hearing a sweeping synth-rock melody punctuate a flurry of sword strikes, mace combos, and stalagmites exploding into a shower of loot is a delightful event that you'll experience countless times.
  5. Mar 26, 2014
    80
    For a game whose hero is only one letter short from being named after the greatest monster of the past century, Ys: Memories of Celceta doesn’t do too badly at all. Sure, the lack of vocal tracks and the balance issues conspire to stop the game from reaching its full potential, but it’s still a game that can stand proud both on the Vita and within the Ys catalogue.
  6. Feb 17, 2014
    80
    One of the best Ys’ games of the last decade. Memories of Celceta gives action-RPG’s fans a new reason to own a PlayStation Vita.
  7. 60
    I'm just glad that by JRPG standards Celceta is reasonably focused, allowing me to complete it and move on to the next game, neither having been bored nor especially inspired.

See all 56 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 43
  2. Negative: 1 out of 43
  1. Nov 26, 2013
    10
    Best game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugestBest game for Vita, I bought PS VIta just to play this game and it was worth my money! It's a high speed non-stop action RPG with the hugest world ever seen in portable RPG. And music... I just love it. Expand
  2. Jan 7, 2015
    10
    I could write a freaking novel on how good this game is. Instead, though, I will only say that if you own a Vita, you owe it to yourself toI could write a freaking novel on how good this game is. Instead, though, I will only say that if you own a Vita, you owe it to yourself to play this one. Expand
  3. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    This is the second-best JRPG released in the past few years, behind only Persona 4 Golden IMO. The bread and butter here is the fast, smoothThis is the second-best JRPG released in the past few years, behind only Persona 4 Golden IMO. The bread and butter here is the fast, smooth gameplay, which keeps the action really intense, and the rock-based music and art style are fantastic as well. Only weaknesses are that the graphics aren't quite up to the standards of the best that the Vita has seen so far, and the sound effects seem to be sampled at a lower-than-average rate for a Vita game, but I'd say that those flaws still didn't really detract from my overall enjoyment of the game. I definitely recommend this one! Expand
  4. Dec 11, 2013
    9
    About 20 hours in this game and I have to admit I love it To be honest, I bought this game just because it's been a long time since I playedAbout 20 hours in this game and I have to admit I love it To be honest, I bought this game just because it's been a long time since I played a JRPG in this kind of atmosphere (mix between medieval, magic and I was surprised very good soundtrack, fights are great, history is classic but good. Maybe my best experience on VITA in 2013. So for me, it is a 9 Expand
  5. Dec 19, 2013
    9
    This game is one of the reasons im glad i have a vita. well this and the phenomenal persona 4 golden. With that being said, i'm a sucker forThis game is one of the reasons im glad i have a vita. well this and the phenomenal persona 4 golden. With that being said, i'm a sucker for jrpgs. this is the first ys game i've played in the series and though i dont know how any other ys games play, this one is fantastic. First off its fun as hell. I love the hack and slash style real time combat. The open world is big and vast with chests and memories among other things to find and collect. The characters all use different weapons and have their strengths and weaknesses. Its nothing really new to jrpgs there are still side quests, leveling up, crafting, weapon upgrades, etc. that are in most jrpgs but it still is rewarding and great to have. Most of the sidequests, unlike most jrpgs, have some unique and very fund side objectives beyond the boring fetch quests. without spoiling any they are fun and not at all boring. they are pretty varied too. their are 6 playable characters each with their own skills and their character developement is great. The story, though not stellar, is still pretty well told and the dialouge is smart and funny at times. I really enjoyed this game and im still playing it. Yes it is addictive but also rewarding. If you like jrpgs you need to pick this up and also try persona 4 golden these two games are definitely worth purchasing a vita for. Expand
  6. Apr 1, 2015
    9
    A very fun Action RPG with simplistic but catchy gameplay, decent story, several playable characters, lots of side quests and crafting. AA very fun Action RPG with simplistic but catchy gameplay, decent story, several playable characters, lots of side quests and crafting. A must-have for all Vita owners! Expand
  7. May 25, 2015
    4
    Pros:
    Your characters level up
    You can equip different gear to your characters There are abilities (it was hard to find anything good to
    Pros:
    Your characters level up
    You can equip different gear to your characters
    There are abilities
    (it was hard to find anything good to say about this game as you can tell)

    Cons:
    Gameplay is boring
    Game does not properly show you where to go
    Story is uninteresting
    Expand

See all 43 User Reviews