Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 209 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 47
  2. Negative: 3 out of 47
  1. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    This is one of those incredible games that aren`t very popular but they can surprise you when you play it.
    Both 999 and Virtue`s Last Reward
    This is one of those incredible games that aren`t very popular but they can surprise you when you play it.
    Both 999 and Virtue`s Last Reward are fantastic games. Incredible story, amazing characters and 24 fantastic endings. If you are a fan of Visual Novels you can`t miss this game!
    Expand
  2. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    As a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautifulAs a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautiful story which will drag you to the end till even u want to skip sleeping ! the puzzles are way too awesome. Characters n their personalities are very well written. a piece of true artwork. highly recommended to anyone who owns vita. I promise u will have an unforgettable journey ! Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Collapse
  4. Oct 23, 2014
    10
    I could say it is the best Vita game I have played so far. Never has a story impacted me so much, while the characters and emotions allI could say it is the best Vita game I have played so far. Never has a story impacted me so much, while the characters and emotions all remained in my mind even when I was not playing. I just wish the next one comes soon, so I can continue on the amazing thrill this game has given me. Expand
  5. Feb 1, 2014
    10
    I was hesitant whether or not to get this game at first,probably due to the puzzle sections,as I wasn't accustomed to playing puzzle games.I was hesitant whether or not to get this game at first,probably due to the puzzle sections,as I wasn't accustomed to playing puzzle games.
    As I finished the game,it instantly became one of the best game experiences I've had in all my life,everything is just amazing.And because of that I can say: Go for it. [Just be sure to play its prequel first]
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very goodThis is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very good visual novel, this genre is often ignored in the West. Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutesOMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 47 User Reviews