Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 165 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. 100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 40
  2. Negative: 2 out of 40
  1. Mar 7, 2013
    10
    I will dispense with reviews of the game itself since there is overwhelming positive comments on the game across the internet and I for one share in them and do like this game very much. I will however give the reasons as to why I recommend the Vita version over the 3ds. I own and have played the Vita version and compared it to my friend's 3ds copy.

    1- The vita has superior looking graphics. Partly due to the fact the game was designed around the Vita itself, partly due to the superior hardware of the Vita and partly because the Vita version has uncompressed graphics. It looks much nicer on the Vita. The 3ds version has compressed graphics when in comparison don't look nearly as good and if you try to play it in 3d the graphics take a slight dip even further as do all 3ds games. The widescreen aspect of the Vita also helps a lot. The colors are just more vibrant and sharper on the Vita.

    2- The sound is better on the Vita. Again it's due to the sound being uncompressed on the Vita while being compressed on the 3ds. It's slight, but noticeable.

    3- Game breaking save bug on the 3ds version. The 3ds version of the game in Japan had a bug in it which would destroy your save file and it has carried over into the American game. It's not guaranteed but a lot of people have run into it. If you save your game during certain portions of the game it will corrupt your save and you will have to start all over again. It's been verified by myself and others that the Vita version does not contain this problem.

    Other notes- The Vita version has trophy support if you're into collecting them. People have claimed the touch screen on the 3ds is far superior but what they don't understand is you can use a style on the Vita and get the exact same results, a simple and very cheap capacitive stylus works just fine on the Vita touch screen. I personally liked having everything on one screen instead of a split screen. You can take screenshots in the game. You get more save game slots while the 3ds has only one.

    All in all this is a great game and worth playing on either system but at the end of the day I cannot see any reason to not play it on the Vita as it is a better experience in every way.
    Expand
  2. Oct 31, 2012
    10
    This game is the bee's knees, truth be told. The puzzles (which most, if not all the gameplay revolves around) are solid, and very intuitive while still maintaining a difficulty that'll make you think more than most games. The story-line is also something to be praised, from the high-quality voice-acting to the astounding script and detailed personality of each character. Fans of the cult classic of 999, a surprise smash hit on Nintendo's DS a few years back should have no qualms about this game as it has everything 999 has done and then some and exceeds at it exceptionally. PSV and 3DS owners should look no further than this game for a truly marvelous handheld experience. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  4. Mar 15, 2014
    10
    This is one of those incredible games that aren`t very popular but they can surprise you when you play it.
    Both 999 and Virtue`s Last Reward
    are fantastic games. Incredible story, amazing characters and 24 fantastic endings. If you are a fan of Visual Novels you can`t miss this game! Expand
  5. Dec 9, 2013
    10
    My second game for PS Vita, my first entry to Visual Novel genre and my first platinum walkthrough.

    The game is a mixture of Visual Novel
    and a Puzzle/Point-and-Click Adventure. A lot of text, not many animations. The story is very catchy and multy-layered. The information is given in portions and sometimes the new portion gives some new questions along with new clues. You have to find all the stuff and open all the branches of story to reveal all the details of the story. The characters are well written, have great models and voice acting (the voiceovers are in Japanese and the text is English). The gameplay is pretty comfortable, most of the time you won't need to completely walk through the previous puzzles if you forgot to take something, you can jump through rooms at any time.

    The atmosphere is pressing and full of tension. I'd call this game a Sci-Fi thriller. The concept is similar to the one in movies like "The House Of The Nine", "Cube" and "Saw". But not so gory.

    To be honest, I don't see any obvious disadvantages in this game. The only letdown can appear for the people that do not like to read because the game is heavily text-based. Anyone who loves story-oriented games should try this. The game is a masterpiece. Hopefully, I manage to play the first part of the series somehow though I do not own a DS console.
    Expand
  6. Nov 4, 2012
    10
    This is the ultimate version of Virtue's Last Reward, if you like to play it on a bigger and better screen, go for this. It is a very good visual novel, this genre is often ignored in the West. Expand
  7. NT1
    Feb 14, 2013
    1
    This is the most boring game i've ever played. I've been in the game for 5 hours now, and I have completed 4 puzzles in about 30 minutes. So, for 4,5 hours i have read a lot of text and that's it! This is tipically a game for an iOs or Android device for about €2,-. But the price in the stores is €40,-! Ridiculous! The story is boring, it has been done better in movies like House of 9 and Identity, wich are not that great either. The amount of text you have to go through is insane. If I want to read alot, i pick up a book and go read. If i want to play a game, i actually want to PLAY! I really can't understand why IGN gave it a 9.5/10 and why it's score is so high here on Metacritic. So is it really that bad? Yes, the only good thing i can come up with are the graphics that are pretty good. Characters story can be very deep, but after 3 hours I didn't care anymore. I just skipped all the text because the puzzles are very well done. I wanted to do the puzzles and didn't care about the story at all. If there were more choices to make in the game it would be more interesting. Now i only have the feeling i watch everyhting and don't make a part of anything. So, if you like to read much and have a few challanging puzzles, this is your game. If not, stay the hell away from here. Expand

See all 40 User Reviews