Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward PlayStation Vita

Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward Image
Metascore
84

Generally favorable reviews - based on 32 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 226 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward has players taking on the Nonary Game again, as it's back and more deadly than ever.
Buy On

Trailer

Autoplay: On | Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 32
  2. Negative: 0 out of 32
  1. Oct 26, 2012
    100
    Virtue's Last Reward follows up on 999 wonderfully and delivers everything you'd want in a sequel. It's got the same kind of creepy soundtrack and cerebral gameplay 999's fans will love, but done far better. Part of that is due to it being more user-friendly, making VLR an easy recommendation for anyone who missed out on 999. Everything about how VLR plays is improved, resulting in a better experience in every way imaginable.
  2. Official PlayStation Magazine Benelux
    Dec 4, 2012
    94
    Explaining what makes this great is no easy matter. There simply hasn't been a game like this in our region before. Even though these games are immensely popular in Japan. The genre is called visual novel, or an interactive book if you will. [December 2012, p.84]
  3. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    Jan 10, 2013
    90
    For a dark, cerebral and genuinely unique journey on Vita, this is peerless. [Jan 2013, p.108]
  4. Dec 10, 2012
    85
    Zero Escape is a type of game that drives us to talk to other players, comparing the choices and externalizing our doubts, then unleashing a sociability that is rarely favored by a single player title with a structure like that.
  5. Play UK
    Jan 23, 2013
    84
    If you're looking for a novel take on the point-and-click adventure then this should be considered an immediate purchase. [Issue#227, p.74]
  6. Jan 8, 2013
    80
    Even though the story is hard to get into, consider it worth the wait when you do. Not only does the game have different endings, all ways to get there are intertwined. It's a touching and very challenging game that keeps you guessing whether you made the right decision or not, but don't feel surprised if it turns out to be both.
  7. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    Nov 20, 2012
    60
    This may be a well-made rat maze, but a rat maze it is and that's all. [Holiday 2012, p.73]

See all 32 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 50
  2. Negative: 3 out of 50
  1. May 13, 2014
    10
    Perfection, plain and simple. Great characters, great (although a bit technical and hard) story, great puzzles. Just buy it, it's the perfectPerfection, plain and simple. Great characters, great (although a bit technical and hard) story, great puzzles. Just buy it, it's the perfect way to support the third game in the seris. Expand
  2. Oct 25, 2012
    10
    Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging,Fantastic experience! Lord knows the Vita needs more games like this, and I'm just thankful we got this one :) It was compelling, engaging, and had a great plot. What more could you want? Expand
  3. Nov 7, 2012
    10
    As a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautifulAs a matter of fact these types of games are not very well known in West. Zero Escape is just simply awesome, It has a twisted and beautiful story which will drag you to the end till even u want to skip sleeping ! the puzzles are way too awesome. Characters n their personalities are very well written. a piece of true artwork. highly recommended to anyone who owns vita. I promise u will have an unforgettable journey ! Expand
  4. Oct 30, 2012
    10
    This is the best experience I've had on a mobile device in my lifetime. I bought my Vita to play turned based strategy games like FinalThis is the best experience I've had on a mobile device in my lifetime. I bought my Vita to play turned based strategy games like Final Fantasy Tactics, Disgaea, Jeanne D'Arc, as well as Little Big Planet and Super Crate Box.

    Zero Escape: Virtue's Last Reward blew everything I've ever played and experienced in story telling out of the water. This is the first time I've found myself thinking about the game consistently outside playing the game, and really thinking about meanings and motifs. TO ANYONE WHO HAS A VITA OR 3DS. PLEASE BUY THIS GAME, YOU WILL BE SUPPORTING ONE OF THE LAST TRULY CREATIVE GAME DEVELOPERS, AND YOUR LIFE WILL BE ENRICHED AS A RESULT OF PLAYING THIS GAME.
    Expand
  5. May 31, 2014
    10
    I've never played a game with a more fleshed out, and realized story. All the characters are well written, and the voice acting is some of theI've never played a game with a more fleshed out, and realized story. All the characters are well written, and the voice acting is some of the best in video games. The gameplay is very well done, though some puzzles were a bit annoying. If you like adventure games, or more specifically visual novels that aren't just more slice of life, you will like this game. Expand
  6. Jul 13, 2013
    9
    I give this game ~9.5
    I heard great things about this game before, but I never would have thought it would be THIS fantastic!
    The story is
    I give this game ~9.5
    I heard great things about this game before, but I never would have thought it would be THIS fantastic!
    The story is so.. compex, brilliant, thoughtful, disturbing, creepy, and touching all at the same time. The "endings" structure of the game makes it one of the most complex games since Myst. The characters are unique and likeable. And nothing is predictable or goes as planned.

    This game's story may be the biggest mind-f**ks in the history of gaming!!!!!
    Gonna buy its sequest day 1.
    Expand
  7. Apr 28, 2014
    1
    OMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutesOMG! Why is there so much dialogue in this game. I completed the first puzzle in 30-45 minutes and have now spent the last 25-30 minutes tapping the screen to skip all of the talking as I want to play a game, if they wanted to pass this much content on they should have made them clips...I'm trying to have a quick game during my lunch and this game just wastes time with too much info, a talking bunny, random guy in a mask and some other characters. I wouldn't be playing it if it wasn't free from PSN+. Expand

See all 50 User Reviews