Arc the Lad Collection PlayStation


Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
Buy On
  1. Arc The Lad Collection is a love affair with the single most impressive packaging I've seen in ANY media, that includes music and DVD's.
  2. Simply too great a package for any RPG lover to be without.
  3. 88
    Working Designs has done its fanbase a kind service with this one, and in exceptionally classy style.
  4. Think of the Arc the Lad Collection as a well loved trilogy of your choice - but instead you have the good fortune to play it all at once instead of waiting years for the series to complete. Then add a couple spin-offs and the ever important behind the scenes looks.
  5. Game Informer
    With the classic strategy gameplay and trademark Working Designs writing, anybody with a taste for RPGs will find more than a mouthful here. [Jan 2002, p.88]
  6. PSM Magazine
    The complete Arc The Lad experience (including extra goodies) is an otaku's dream come true. [Jan 2002]
  7. Expect well over 120 hours of play from this bundle, and the three main titles truly are worth your time.
  8. 80
    Arc I is too short; Arc II is rewarding but drags on a bit; and Arc III looks bland. The overall story, though, makes all three worth playing in the long run.
  9. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    I'm really amazed at just how much there really is in this collection. [Jan 2002, p.144]
  10. Even if you've never played a strategy RPG in your life, Arc the Lad is the perfect starting point: it's not overly difficult, it features an easy-to-use battle interface, and the variety of gameplay increases with each chapter in the series.
  11. Despite the limited appeal of Arc Arena and personal hang-ups with the story and lack of character depth in Arc II, when combined into one package, this series shines as a high-watermark for the RPG genre.
  12. A solid collection that is worth a look, provided the price is right.
  13. Play Magazine
    Hardcore RPG fans should add another star to the score and reserve a copy immediately. [Feb 2002, p.52]
  14. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    These games just haven't aged as well as the Final Fantasy or Lunar series. [Feb 2002, p.168]

Awards & Rankings

#3 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2002
User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 18 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and perilous quest," says Arc a few hours in. Really? When was that? I must've missed it. It is sweet that you get to transfer your Arc I data over to Arc II though. Plus, Arc I is too dang short to leave any lasting scars. Arc III is also about a 5. It's longer than Arc I, but it's also drab and uninspired. I hear the series was supposed to end with the second game. Clearly, there was no room left for a third installment. The characters just sort of flounder around in a meaningless story saying ridiculous things, like "Gee, I sure wish I was Arc." Yeah, me too, Alec. Me too... Full Review »
  2. SanchoD.
    Oct 1, 2002
    Everyhing is incredible; the only thing that is annoying is how many times you can move but otherwise it's awesome.
  3. DJLampien
    May 20, 2002
    Arc the Lad 1 is too short but the others are great. I could not put them down.