Arc the Lad Collection PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 23
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 23
  3. Negative: 2 out of 23
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SanchoD.
    Oct 1, 2002
    10
    Everyhing is incredible; the only thing that is annoying is how many times you can move but otherwise it's awesome.
  2. TimH.
    May 6, 2002
    10
    This game is awesome!
  3. KimberlyP.
    Feb 14, 2002
    10
    This is the best, I love the game more than the anime although that might be due in part to my "control issues" ^_^
  4. DJLampien
    May 20, 2002
    9
    Arc the Lad 1 is too short but the others are great. I could not put them down.
  5. NagromF.
    Apr 20, 2002
    10
    This is probly one of my favorite games of all time. I absolutely love the battles and characters. Everyone should buy this game.
  6. RyanP.
    May 9, 2002
    10
    All 4 games are wonderful. Plus you get a whole load of extras. It's really fun and addictive.
  7. JoeS.
    Mar 21, 2002
    10
    I haven't owned it... I've read about it. Resere your copy now before it's too late. I got air mail delivery baby.
  8. VidM.
    Feb 28, 2005
    8
    I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and I really wish I could give the three games here individual scores. Arc the Lad II is clearly a ten. Second only to FFT as the #1 TRPG. The battle system and hunting concept are top-notch. The parallelism and scope of the world is nothing short of amazing. Arc the Lad I is more like a 5. The "game" (if that's what it really is) lasts less than ten hours. "This has been a long and perilous quest," says Arc a few hours in. Really? When was that? I must've missed it. It is sweet that you get to transfer your Arc I data over to Arc II though. Plus, Arc I is too dang short to leave any lasting scars. Arc III is also about a 5. It's longer than Arc I, but it's also drab and uninspired. I hear the series was supposed to end with the second game. Clearly, there was no room left for a third installment. The characters just sort of flounder around in a meaningless story saying ridiculous things, like "Gee, I sure wish I was Arc." Yeah, me too, Alec. Me too... Expand

Awards & Rankings

2
4
#4 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2002
1
#1 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2002
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. PSM Magazine
    80
    The complete Arc The Lad experience (including extra goodies) is an otaku's dream come true. [Jan 2002]
  2. Arc The Lad Collection is a love affair with the single most impressive packaging I've seen in ANY media, that includes music and DVD's.
  3. 88
    Working Designs has done its fanbase a kind service with this one, and in exceptionally classy style.