• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Aug 14, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 25 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VenomStriker
    Jun 4, 2003
    9
    This has to be the tightest game i ever played on the psx. all u guys are bichin about the game's graphics and all but realize that it is on an outdated system. best thing about the game is the hidden moves for ex modes that you have to discover on your own (not in the manual) - this keeps you from getting bored with the game so quickly. Also, what version of the game are most peopleThis has to be the tightest game i ever played on the psx. all u guys are bichin about the game's graphics and all but realize that it is on an outdated system. best thing about the game is the hidden moves for ex modes that you have to discover on your own (not in the manual) - this keeps you from getting bored with the game so quickly. Also, what version of the game are most people buying because my cvs pro is in pure english. Expand
  2. RobK.
    Jan 14, 2003
    8
    The sprites look suprisingly sharp when you think about the ps1's limitations. They appear even crisper than cvs2 on ps2! Gorgeous backdrops, and a whole lot more of them than cvs2! I LOVE the darker edge of this game compared to cvs2 (dont think im putting cvs2 down because it is obviously technically superiour!) With great sound and music & the trademark gameplay intact, this game The sprites look suprisingly sharp when you think about the ps1's limitations. They appear even crisper than cvs2 on ps2! Gorgeous backdrops, and a whole lot more of them than cvs2! I LOVE the darker edge of this game compared to cvs2 (dont think im putting cvs2 down because it is obviously technically superiour!) With great sound and music & the trademark gameplay intact, this game is a faithfull port, but not arcade perfect. A game to be considered on par with Alpha 3, or if not, a close 2nd! Nice. Expand
  3. JadeStar
    Jan 6, 2003
    9
    I love this game, the only problem is that I can't understand Japanese!
  4. M@dman
    Jan 8, 2003
    10
    Song Bo! Very the pro one ah! Must play ah! Don't come pray pray!!!
  5. [Anonymous]
    Nov 8, 2002
    10
    This game is the most sweetest ps(one) game ever its much better than all the street fighter games and king of fighters games on the play station.
  6. KarlD.
    Aug 26, 2002
    9
    Remarkable fighting game, the 2d fighting a la Street Fighter is still great, many characters to choose from each one of them with lots of moves, nice graphics and very good sound and music. A great mix for a great fighting game.
  7. IklilB.
    Feb 26, 2003
    9
    Is super.
  8. AntoineJ.
    Apr 12, 2003
    10
    Great game.
  9. HokutoK.
    Apr 24, 2003
    10
    OH yeah ! Very Nice Game!!
  10. JasonX.
    Jul 20, 2003
    8
    It's all right!Good game! Not perfect but its good! I like them backrounds and how u need to find out by yourself them moves and combos....But yeah .ill play this game ...and for those who doesnt own it,well...u gotta buy it!!!!
  11. KhiemF.
    Aug 14, 2004
    6
    On top of the bad loading times, and poor extra options, the fighting system is too weak to warrant a decent rating.
  12. Gerardo
    Jun 28, 2005
    10
    Really excellent.
  13. RashadH.
    Mar 13, 2003
    10
    Perfect.
  14. AlucardFahrenheit
    Nov 13, 2003
    10
    OMG, this game is probably one of THE COOLEST fighting games around. Its got great speed ( if you can handle it on turbo ), EXCELLENT character selection ( IT EVEN HAS EX CHARACTERS, SCORE!!!! ), somewhat sharp 2-d graphics ( better that CVS for PS2 ), and OUTSTANDING replay. I really dont see why you are reading this anymore, GO AND BUY IT. ( its only 20 bucks anyway )
  15. Matias
    Dec 17, 2006
    6
    If you like the Street Fighter saga, this is a good option, but if you are a lover of KOF, this game lacks. Many of the best charcters has been removed, like Athena and all the Ikary team, and many powers has been taked out for example from Terry.
Metascore
74

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. I'd still recommend "Alpha 3" as the better game but this is a good second. [Sept 2002, p.31]
  2. The gameplay is as solid as you’d expect it to be, but what of the problems that have plagued this type of title in the past (on the PSone at least)? Yes we’re talking about massive loading times and missing frames of animation.
  3. If you own the Dreamcast version of this game consider yourself lucky and treasure it, because this PSOne port is an adequate but ugly and muffled-sounding facsimile of the genuine article.