Chrono Cross PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 254 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 21 out of 254
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelM.
    Oct 12, 2008
    7
    Some things that drew me to this game were the similar features of xenogears. I first played final fantasy vII which I enjoyed and then I played xenogears which I enjoyed even more.. then I thought chrono cross would be another good game to play but this game kinda pissed me off. In final fantasy VII and xenogears you know where to go and their are characters you can fall in love with.. Some things that drew me to this game were the similar features of xenogears. I first played final fantasy vII which I enjoyed and then I played xenogears which I enjoyed even more.. then I thought chrono cross would be another good game to play but this game kinda pissed me off. In final fantasy VII and xenogears you know where to go and their are characters you can fall in love with.. As it turns out this game you have to choose which characters you want to play and end up with different scenarios. I got lost in the story couple times while I did get lost in the story of xenogears that thing was like watching pulp fiction it really twists with your mind.. i loved it.. but damn chrono cross just pisses me off for soe raeson.. i got lost like millions of times in that game i didnt know where to go.. i hate looking up walkthoughs but for this game i had to which pisses me off. and also after i read some stuff their were like 45 characters you can choose and play from.. i can't fraekin fall in love with 45 freakin players.. give me 5 or 6 but not freakin 45 damn players.. i give squaresofts final fantasy VII and xenogears a 9 and a 10 respectively but chrono cross i think it really deserves a 7 rating imho. Expand
  2. DanH.
    Jan 8, 2002
    7
    It's a pretty good game but has some flaws. There's only 2 worlds, the game has an incoherent storyline, and 90% of the playable characters don't have any role in the game. Overall, worth the $20 investment.
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    7
    A game with a genius battle system and soundtrack that is held back by its unevenly executed story (ie: info dumps). The game's world and art is beautiful, but the emotional attachment to the story is put singularly on one character that they put on hiatus for the entire second act. It honestly lacks drive but has enough verve for its own audience.
  4. W.Gardner
    Apr 12, 2006
    6
    Gotta agree with Shintrix. Hands-down has the best graphics of any game for the PS1, but the lackluster storyline lets it down. Really, they could at least TRY to provide some character motivation for going from one place to the next, instead of just randomly announcing "We have to go to the next city now!" (Kidd does this when we first meet her, for no identifiable reason) And when Gotta agree with Shintrix. Hands-down has the best graphics of any game for the PS1, but the lackluster storyline lets it down. Really, they could at least TRY to provide some character motivation for going from one place to the next, instead of just randomly announcing "We have to go to the next city now!" (Kidd does this when we first meet her, for no identifiable reason) And when making choices in the game, you're rewarded for making the "bad" ones, and get all the annoying, useless characters when you try to do the "good" thing. This and the fact that a tiny minority of the characters actually have double or triple techs (one of the features that made Chrono Trigger's character system so engaging) make Chrono Cross an undeserving sequel. Gone is the sense of fun that made CT so great to play, replaced with the Final Fantasy-esque gloom and doom, dungeons you don't want to explore, and heroes whose lives you don't ultimately care about. Deserves a 6 for its graphics and admittedly interesting battle system, but no more. Expand
  5. VidM.
    Dec 8, 2004
    5
    This is one of the most overrated games of all time. While I think Chrono Cross' predecessor, Chrono Trigger, was also overrated, CT was an enjoyable game. Chrono Cross, frankly, bores me. Sure, it's a colorful game, sporting some of the best visuals of its time when it was released. But there's just no heart to the game. Even if I don't love CT as much as some, I This is one of the most overrated games of all time. While I think Chrono Cross' predecessor, Chrono Trigger, was also overrated, CT was an enjoyable game. Chrono Cross, frankly, bores me. Sure, it's a colorful game, sporting some of the best visuals of its time when it was released. But there's just no heart to the game. Even if I don't love CT as much as some, I can't deny its heart. CC just doesn't compare with its predecessor. CC's characters are stale and one-dimensional. The plot is just plain stupid. The world is shallow and incohesive. I keep trying to play this game, but only ever get a few hours in. The furthest I ever got was about 25-30 hours in. It was then that I realized the game just kept getting worse, and there were other distractions far more worth my time. Expand
  6. Lev
    Aug 27, 2008
    5
    I really like Chrono Trigger, but CC is just isn't all that great. The gameplay is slooow, graphics are medicore at best. The music is nice though. The way too many characters thing was also a bad idea, and the story not only ruins CT's story but is also over-complicated. It has many good ideas but they should have been put together better.
  7. DokolaA.
    Nov 7, 2007
    5
    Well I played Chrono trigger and thought it was way up there with the Final fantasy games of Snes. This being the case when I heard about Chrono cross I just had to give it a try. The random Chrono trigger references does not make this a sequel and although this would have increased sales by effectivly ripping off the chrono trigger name. It ultimately disappoints (it is just too Well I played Chrono trigger and thought it was way up there with the Final fantasy games of Snes. This being the case when I heard about Chrono cross I just had to give it a try. The random Chrono trigger references does not make this a sequel and although this would have increased sales by effectivly ripping off the chrono trigger name. It ultimately disappoints (it is just too different). I would rather a few well crafted characters instead of 40 mass produced characters shallow as the stereo types that they are, "kid" made me cringe with every "Australian" catch frase (She must have been drived from Crockidile Dundee). The Graphics are best of ps1 but that does not at all make up for the dreadful storyline structure (all lost and unmotovated like a headless chook). The story is the most important part of any RPG whever it has fantastic graphics or not. Expand
  8. Bryan
    Dec 11, 2006
    5
    As a stand-alone game, it is all right. As a "sequel" to Chrono Trigger, it's terrible. They pull connections between the two games out of nowhere, setting up events that could never realistically happen in the CT universe (Porre overthrowing Guardia? Please!). The vast majority of characters are boring, some even unlikable. However, the graphics are beautiful. And while I As a stand-alone game, it is all right. As a "sequel" to Chrono Trigger, it's terrible. They pull connections between the two games out of nowhere, setting up events that could never realistically happen in the CT universe (Porre overthrowing Guardia? Please!). The vast majority of characters are boring, some even unlikable. However, the graphics are beautiful. And while I didn't like the soundtrack as much as CT's, it is still very good. Difficulty is pretty high, but the battle system is uninspired. In places, this whole game felt like a Final Fantasy VII wannabe. And I got the "bad ending" after beating CC, which was extremely unfulfilling. Overall, it is presented entirely differently than the original (you can tell there was a different creative team), but the game is enjoyable at times and moderately tough. But nowhere close to its predecessor. Collapse
  9. Jan 29, 2014
    7
    Never mind the fact that this game is meant to be a sequel to Chrono Trigger. It's still a rather disappointing experience. Even if you were to try to count Cross as its own game, its blatant, though rare, references to Trigger make it hard to do so; it's incredibly distracting. Its story falls flat due to two things: its needlessly complicated plot and lack of focus on characters. TheNever mind the fact that this game is meant to be a sequel to Chrono Trigger. It's still a rather disappointing experience. Even if you were to try to count Cross as its own game, its blatant, though rare, references to Trigger make it hard to do so; it's incredibly distracting. Its story falls flat due to two things: its needlessly complicated plot and lack of focus on characters. The producers of Cross must have underestimated just how attached players had become to the characters of Trigger; the characters felt real and players felt they could relate to them. This is what kept its simple plot alive. Cross, however, trades this off for a plot that starts out interesting but ends up falling over itself and stuffed down the player's throat.

    The gameplay is somewhat engaging, though not very balanced between player and AI. The stamina and percentage mechanics are neat concepts, but the battles usually feel easy. Combine this with a magic-grid system for 45 different characters and you have something that is, like the story, needlessly complicated and tedious.

    The game does deserve to be praised for its presentation: this is probably the best looking PS1 game. Add to that a stunning and fitting soundtrack and the game suddenly becomes something worth playing at least once. Overall, Chrono Cross attempts to stand proud with it's older brother, as well as with other JRPGs, but utterly fails.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. GMR Magazine
    100
    It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. CheckOut
    90
    A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  3. CNET Gamecenter
    90
    From the incredible story line to the combat system to the great visuals to the overall feel of the game, players will get the sense of how much of an impact a game like this can have.