Chrono Cross PlayStation
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 212 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 212

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. FarAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Expand
  2. TimothyR.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Everything about the game is perfect (especially the music).
  3. RyanM.
    May 9, 2004
    10
    This is seriously one of the greatest games i've played. The story is complicated but if you have any brains at all you can understand it. It seems to me many people who rated this game didn't play it all for Chrono Cross has one of the best story lines there are. Music is beautiful, so are graphics. If you haven't picked up this game and you own a PS, do so right now.
  4. JoeS.
    Aug 13, 2004
    10
    Super game, best rpg ever. involves a complex storyline with enough challenges to keep you busy. Great element graphics along with charecters that are stronger than in most other games. Only downsides are that there arent to many new techniques like double techs, the enemys were kinda weak except for the 3 mystical nights slash flea and ozzy.and they keep your charecter from being to good Super game, best rpg ever. involves a complex storyline with enough challenges to keep you busy. Great element graphics along with charecters that are stronger than in most other games. Only downsides are that there arent to many new techniques like double techs, the enemys were kinda weak except for the 3 mystical nights slash flea and ozzy.and they keep your charecter from being to good by giving them crappy level ups but i loved the game Expand
  5. Joe2
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    Aside from maybe its predecessor, the most consuming game I've ever played. Beautifully written.
  6. Oct 16, 2011
    9
    Very fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade your equipment to really get an edge. Your level is maxed depending on where you are in the game, so killing random encounters becomes pointless once you get the items you need. However, it's nice to constantly be challenged, than to just bulldoze throughVery fun and magical. I can't give it a perfect score though. The new way you level up is akin to monster hunter, you have to upgrade your equipment to really get an edge. Your level is maxed depending on where you are in the game, so killing random encounters becomes pointless once you get the items you need. However, it's nice to constantly be challenged, than to just bulldoze through bosses. However, you miss the feeling of achievement spending a long time playing the game, since your levels are usually a measure of that. There's some funny lines and lively characters though, but there's so many characters you can play as (and can only choose 2 optional characters at a time) their personalities get lost in the clutter. The game has the same type of beautiful pre-rendered backgrounds as FF7,8, and 9. Expand
  7. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right,A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right, Chrono Cross is still a very enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend it for those looking for a unique JRPG experience. Expand
  8. Dec 17, 2011
    9
    First of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is to dispel both the fanboy notions and the hater venom rampant in these user reviews. Chrono Cross stands on its' own, apart from Chrono Trigger, and it is clear that this was a primary goal of the development team. Comparisons are invited, but notFirst of all, Chrono Cross is, without a doubt, an incredible game. I know it's a little late for this, but the purpose of this review is to dispel both the fanboy notions and the hater venom rampant in these user reviews. Chrono Cross stands on its' own, apart from Chrono Trigger, and it is clear that this was a primary goal of the development team. Comparisons are invited, but not necessarily deserved. I need to point out (as objectively as possible) that the gameplay does not "suck" as so many people have said (giving no reason for their opinion), but is merely different. If you take one thing away from this review, know that this game is simply different from other RPGs. Even to this day, it's magic and leveling systems differ wildly from most games in the genre, and while it may not appeal to gamers who like to powerlevel and bulldoze their way through an experience, Chrono Cross finds a home with those who enjoy the occasional challenge. You may have to give it a while, but the story is actually better than the usual RPG fare (especially for this generation) once you decipher what exactly is going on, and some (but admittedly not all) of the characters are deep enough to genuinely like. The Music is top-notch, and we can get pretty much everyone to agree on that.
    Almost done and sorry for the long review on an outdated game. My PS3 recently went down, and so I've been playing Chrono Trigger on an emulator and Chrono Cross on my PS2, pretty much at the same time. being OBJECTIVE I can honestly say that Cross stands up to it's predecessor in every way, and though I love Trigger, I will say that while it is a masterpiece and does withstand the test of time to a large extent, it is more fondly remembered that happily played. Trigger features a relatively typical battle system (dual and triple techs aside), and the story often just as incomprehensible and silly as some other RPGs *CoughFFVIICough*. Chrono Cross may not be as well-remebered as Chrono Trigger, but even when held away from the light of that classic it shines on its' own.
    Expand
  9. Aug 21, 2012
    10
    Best opening, best ending (the real one, using the chrono cross after the right colors). Most likely the best soundtrack as well. This game is a no brainer 10/10
  10. Sep 3, 2012
    9
    Since Chrono Trigger is one of my all-time favorites, I really didn't know what to expect with this game. Although I am a bit sad they didn't make it more like CT, I understand and respect where Square was going with this. IMO, they still made a very good RPG with tons of characters and a beautiful world and story. The game takes some time to warm up but once you learn how equip spellsSince Chrono Trigger is one of my all-time favorites, I really didn't know what to expect with this game. Although I am a bit sad they didn't make it more like CT, I understand and respect where Square was going with this. IMO, they still made a very good RPG with tons of characters and a beautiful world and story. The game takes some time to warm up but once you learn how equip spells properly and setup your party, this game is amazingly fun and long lasting. The music is very good as well, but IMO nowhere near CT. Overall Chrono Cross was a very rewarding adventure for me, the world locations were all very cool and worth visiting. There was a sort of "magical aspect" to this game that they did very well presenting. This game literally has some of the best end game content and replay-ability of any video game created. There are multiple ways you can go about your adventure, choosing different characters each time, having different outcomes and endings. This is what truly shined in CT as well, and Square did a hell of a job implementing it here. I still hope I live to see the day of CT remake though, my how epic that would be. Expand
  11. DarkS.
    Apr 17, 2003
    10
    This is best rpg of all time!
  12. BenD.
    Jul 26, 2005
    10
    This game is stunning from every aspect. First of all, it features the greatest battle system ever (although it takes a little while to fully understand), an outstanding soundtrack, masterfully done CG cutscenes, and the hands-down best graphics on the PS1. Chrono Cross is one of the few if not the only PS1 game with graphics that will continue to impress gamers no matter how old it gets. This game is stunning from every aspect. First of all, it features the greatest battle system ever (although it takes a little while to fully understand), an outstanding soundtrack, masterfully done CG cutscenes, and the hands-down best graphics on the PS1. Chrono Cross is one of the few if not the only PS1 game with graphics that will continue to impress gamers no matter how old it gets. I didn't like this game quite as much as Final Fantasy VII for reasons that I can't quite explain but it is my second favorite RPG and one of my all time favorite games. Expand
  13. DavidC
    Aug 31, 2009
    10
    In the history of games, there has been an unspoken, rarely-recognized rule about how games end up good. The developers need to be passionate about their creation, as well as being masters of storytelling and design, and they need to be given all the freedom they need, so their vision really does come out, instead of being hinted at before the shareholders get antsy. Not every game does In the history of games, there has been an unspoken, rarely-recognized rule about how games end up good. The developers need to be passionate about their creation, as well as being masters of storytelling and design, and they need to be given all the freedom they need, so their vision really does come out, instead of being hinted at before the shareholders get antsy. Not every game does this. Okami did. It is one of the games that converts nearly every person who plays it, so much so that two years after its release, it was ported to the Wii and soon became a greatest hits title on the PS2, and was considered a second time for numerous awards. That's the power of love. Chrono Cross is a game where, if you let yourself be sensitive enough, you can feel the love in every detail, and find it all marvelous to take in. It is a game that manages to have no flaws, unless you consider relaxation to be a bad thing for a game to bring into your life. I won't beat around the Chrono Trigger bush: this game is the best one I've ever played, and I wish I could see more of this kind of art in games. Please, developers, show us how you love your fans like this second dream team did back in 2000. Forget about sales, and just do what you know is right for the game. It's something everyone needs right now. Expand
  14. EliF.
    Jan 25, 2010
    10
    Story, music, visuals, gameplay - every aspect of this game is truly inspired and damn near perfect. The game also strikes a fantastic balance between a strong linear narrative and meaningful player choices, something that few RPGs, Eastern or Western, have matched before or since. Many dislike it for being so different from its beloved predecessor, but if you can accept this game for Story, music, visuals, gameplay - every aspect of this game is truly inspired and damn near perfect. The game also strikes a fantastic balance between a strong linear narrative and meaningful player choices, something that few RPGs, Eastern or Western, have matched before or since. Many dislike it for being so different from its beloved predecessor, but if you can accept this game for what it is, you will realize that it is a brilliant work and valuable asset for those who believe games have the capacity to be art. Expand
  15. HollyB.
    Jun 1, 2003
    10
    First off, I must say that this game is VERY addicting. I love the music! Also, there are plenty of sidequests to keep you busy. Finally, I love how there are multiple endings and how you get a time shifter when you restart the game. Sidenote- Shane, it's "wasted" not "waisted"! Oh, and BTW, this game is not bull!! Why'd you play it if you hated it so much?!?!
  16. KennyC.
    Jan 11, 2007
    10
    Only one thing can really describe this very enjoyable game, the beauty of it. From the picture to the amazingly composed music, the storyline was just fascinating. I never had a bad experience with this RPG. Don't miss out on one of the BEST RPGS EVER MADE.
  17. AcA.
    Mar 9, 2007
    10
    It rocks! It keeps you guessing and there's a story every corner...I'm kinda lost right now, though, can't find the green dragon.
  18. ChrisR
    Nov 29, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly a superior (or equally good, at least) game. Heiled by the creators as their "best RPG creation". I tend to agree with this. Just because there is no Crono doesn't make it any worse. The characters are unique, vast in number and each have Simply amazing, even if you play it now. Underrated because Chrono Trigger fans can't accept new directions, even though this is clearly a superior (or equally good, at least) game. Heiled by the creators as their "best RPG creation". I tend to agree with this. Just because there is no Crono doesn't make it any worse. The characters are unique, vast in number and each have something slightly different to bring. Combat is unique and this game is easily one of the greatest JRPGs in existence (perhaps the best?) - a true masterpiece. Expand
  19. JeffH.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, and a new found respect for wingapedes. :P My only fault with this game is that it was short and that people who are unfamiliar with Chrono Trigger won't understand alot of things. But all in all a very solid sequel and my vote for best non FF7 RPG for the Playstation. Expand
  20. PaulB
    Nov 5, 2009
    10
    Probably the most memorable turn based RPG I have ever played. Battles still stick in my mind 9 years after playing it.
  21. ChrisM
    Nov 9, 2009
    10
    Just as The Wizard of Oz is a classic of film, The Great Gatsby is a classic of literature, and The Beatles are a classic of music, this is a classic of video games. Absolute perfection, and not just as a video game or an RPG. This is perfection of art, period.
  22. TomG.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs out there, impressive graphics, flawless storyline, and amazing battle system.
  23. LanceF.
    Sep 16, 2001
    10
    It seems hard at first but you will get used to it.
  24. ErikK.
    Jul 24, 2002
    10
    This stunning game takes my breath away. The music is out of this world and Kid's a real cutie! Man! Those graphics are sweet! After wraping it up with an original battle system, it's in the same league as the Final Fantasy series. Did I mention Kid's a cutie?!?
  25. DannyR.
    Aug 29, 2002
    10
    the music is cool and the dragons are the best part of the game the thing I like about this game is it has diffrent endings C.C RULES!
  26. ColeS.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    One of my favorite RPGS, and most certainly the best RPG ever released for the PSX in america.
  27. Jonathan
    Dec 22, 2006
    10
    By far the finest RPG game I've played my entire life. Graphics, gameplay, plot, music and battle system is nothing short of splendour. Meticulous character design and comprehensive story makes this game a worthwhile buy; the gameplay is remarkable in an overall scale.
  28. ZachM.
    Nov 22, 2008
    10
    8.3 user score? This game deserves at the absolute LEAST a 9. Eener M. clearly doesn't play many RPGs or would realize this game is fantastic. Even if it wouldn't have had "Chrono" in the title, it would still have gotten all the great reviews it did simply because it's so well put together. The leveling system works perfectly and allows the game to be played how it should 8.3 user score? This game deserves at the absolute LEAST a 9. Eener M. clearly doesn't play many RPGs or would realize this game is fantastic. Even if it wouldn't have had "Chrono" in the title, it would still have gotten all the great reviews it did simply because it's so well put together. The leveling system works perfectly and allows the game to be played how it should be (aka: not completely owned by over leveled characters). The story is wonderful. Some people (apparently) just can't comprehend it. Considering the massive amount of characters that are in Chrono Cross, they have a great amount of personality. The accents help with this and are not "extremely annoying" as they help to show how diverse the characters are. Easily one of the greatest RPGs of all time. Chrono Cross is just as great if not better than Chrono Trigger and is a must play for any RPG fan. You will not be disappointed. Expand
  29. JackC
    Jul 27, 2009
    10
    Chrono Cross is by far the greatest 32-bit era RPG I have ever played. Like how Final Fantasy VIII is overlooked by it's predecessor, Chrono Cross is known for being Chrono Trigger's sequel. While Chrono Trigger definitely isn't a bad game, I found it to be over too quick. It's rather unbalanced gameplay-wise and the story is kind of mindless. One common issue many Chrono Cross is by far the greatest 32-bit era RPG I have ever played. Like how Final Fantasy VIII is overlooked by it's predecessor, Chrono Cross is known for being Chrono Trigger's sequel. While Chrono Trigger definitely isn't a bad game, I found it to be over too quick. It's rather unbalanced gameplay-wise and the story is kind of mindless. One common issue many people have is how completely different it is compared to CT. This is because of the different team working on it. My biggest issue with Chrono Trigger was how considerably unbalanced the game was by the end-game. Overleveling was very difficult to avoid, and made the experience a joke. The developers worked around this issue with CC by only allowing stat growth after a boss and shortly afterward. While you may think that it's a way of limiting players, keep in mind that they retained New Game Plus, enabling players to play through the game and experience different paths that they may have missed while retaining their previous stats. Criticism around Cross' many playable characters is also pointed out, while I believe that people who don't like having too many characters are missing the point. There are 45 characters to play as in CC, each one as unique as the last. Some are enemies to one another, some are completely optional. Many of them you can't even obtain on your first playthrough! So where others see an issue, I see a feature. The greatest difference between the previous installment and the sequel is the general difference of the plot. Chrono Cross' focus on traveling through different dimensions seems too out there for fans of Trigger. They can't understand that Crono and the characters of the first games time is up, and they need to let others take the spotlight. I don't have much else to say other than that it's an amazing game. Definitely 10/10. Expand
  30. JeriamiaS.
    Dec 15, 2001
    10
    I have had a lot of fun playing this game, and I am really impressed with it. The game is challenging, and I get stuck a lot. I am currently looking for the green dragon. I am certain he is in Gaias navel but I can't get in...Ahh bahumbug.
  31. May 19, 2011
    9
    Best turn based RPG that I have played in a long long time. Love the characters and the story. The combat is sometimes slow, but you feel satisfied that you actually accomplish something with each battle. I think I will have to reboot this again.
  32. Jan 19, 2011
    10
    Chrono Cross is an amazing RPG and I am happy I stumbled upon it. I never really played Chrono Trigger so I don't really understand the backlash this game received by some fans. The graphics are great and every element that makes a great RPG are there.
  33. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Though not the hardest game, everything else is just outstanding. It has a complex and fascinating story, a great OST, amazing gameplay and surely one of the most beautiful graphic ever seen on the psx. If you aks me, even if you dont play rpgĀ“s its a must have.
  34. Aug 25, 2011
    9
    Chrono Cross is an engrossing game that'll have you hooked! The story goes on for around 40+ hours (not including new game+.) The visuals are fantastic and the color schemes for every screen are beautiful and vibrant. The battle system can become a little stale BUT boss battles won't disappoint. Since this game has a few dozen useable characters there's bound to be a lack of backgroundChrono Cross is an engrossing game that'll have you hooked! The story goes on for around 40+ hours (not including new game+.) The visuals are fantastic and the color schemes for every screen are beautiful and vibrant. The battle system can become a little stale BUT boss battles won't disappoint. Since this game has a few dozen useable characters there's bound to be a lack of background info on most and that's true. There's a few characters that are essential and actually add to the plot but having so many options is always fun. The element system was a nice breath of fresh air to the magic system in RPGs. Overall this game will give you plenty of gameplay and the replayability is high. This game is a classic and you won't be let down. Expand
  35. Sep 30, 2012
    9
    Absolutely Fantastic and sometimes philosophic storyline! Awesome visuals! Great and charismatic characters! Tons of references to Chrono Trigger! A lot of great features and thing to do while exploring both worlds! All of this make the Game one of the greatest JRPGs I've ever played!
  36. Dec 17, 2012
    10
    I love this game. This game is the perfect sequel to Chrono Trigger, good graphics for a Ps1 title and a compelling story a square soft yes SQUARE SOFT classic. The game play is boring yes and at times fights although avoidable, stemming from the visible monster mechanic from Chrono Trigger can get on your nerves. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and manyI love this game. This game is the perfect sequel to Chrono Trigger, good graphics for a Ps1 title and a compelling story a square soft yes SQUARE SOFT classic. The game play is boring yes and at times fights although avoidable, stemming from the visible monster mechanic from Chrono Trigger can get on your nerves. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in an entirely new adventure so it is worth replaying not to mentions a great game mechanic new game plus. Game Play = 7
    Story = 10 If you are an old school Jrpg fan this game is for you.
    Expand
  37. Aug 12, 2013
    9
    Chrono Cross is one of those games where you just want to love just about everything about it once you've played it for any length of time. The musical composition, the character interactions, the dynamic gameplay, and the narrative drive are just some of the major highlights of this excellent game. Sure, it misses a few things here and there, but it makes all the right stops, hits all theChrono Cross is one of those games where you just want to love just about everything about it once you've played it for any length of time. The musical composition, the character interactions, the dynamic gameplay, and the narrative drive are just some of the major highlights of this excellent game. Sure, it misses a few things here and there, but it makes all the right stops, hits all the right notes, and comes off as one of the most memorable experiences I've had in my entire gaming career. Not to mention, it features one of the best twists of gaming history as well, and it's just plain epic to behold and fathom. Expand
  38. Feb 4, 2012
    10
    In one sentence: Chrono Cross is the best game of all time. I already give up of trying to compare this masterpiece to any other game. The concept of parallel dimensions, the OST composed by Yasunori Mitsuda, and many others features, put the title above any other. An experience you will not forget.
  39. Mar 10, 2012
    10
    Well, maybe i have a low taste of RPG games. I'm already finished Final Fantasy series (5-9) coupled years ago, sometimes try a newer one like The Last Remnant. But i just feel like something is missing there, so i decided to try again (for the last time?) to satisfying my childhood live as a RPG gamer. I suddenly realized that i am not failed for it..

    1 weeks ago, i got a copy of this
    Well, maybe i have a low taste of RPG games. I'm already finished Final Fantasy series (5-9) coupled years ago, sometimes try a newer one like The Last Remnant. But i just feel like something is missing there, so i decided to try again (for the last time?) to satisfying my childhood live as a RPG gamer. I suddenly realized that i am not failed for it..

    1 weeks ago, i got a copy of this game (illegally, as always) then i played it with emulator (as always too). First day i feel like an idiot, "How could i lost to an early monsters so easy?!!". But surrender is not my way. Second day it's going better to understand this game, "To beat a yellow innate enemy i must using a green innate attack against them, hmm i see now..."

    Everything raised exponentially at the third day, i found that there is a damn lot of character i can get along the way (44 at all, compared to 102 of Suikoden's well that's insane one). My interest go to it's peak when i finished the game 2 days ago at the fifth day, what's the purpose of this 'journey'? Well it seems like an endless reincarnation (or dream?) 'cause we can repeat it over and over, but that's make all of this 'journey' absolutely not irrational.

    The conclusion is, for an old gamer like me Chrono Cross is a classic Marlboro cigarette (i can't find another damn thing as comparison, lol). Why? 'cause the game story make me feels like 'crossing' my dimension of time and space, sometimes made me guess, "Am i living in my present, future or past right now..?"

    Well you know, i won't surprised if there is still a boy who playing this classic one right now outside there. It's simply worth, and now i can rest in peace as an ex RPG gamers.

    P.S: I don't get it, why some people blame this one as a failure 'cause of Chrono Trigger (success..?). Believe me, that's a **** one. I see at the last part of the games, 3 characters from CT waiting on Opassa Beach then begging desperately to Serge & co. to beat the last boss in a right way. What was that for? a cameo? I won't care the fact that officially CC is a sequel of CT, trust me :-)
    Expand
  40. TerryB.
    Jul 11, 2002
    10
    A Pure Masterpeice showing once again, why square is the premiere games developer out there.
  41. SergeW.
    Aug 20, 2003
    10
    I love the game my name is serge and....uh......I JUST LIKE IT OK (lol)
  42. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    9
    I really like this game and all the characters in it. There's like 40! I like the way you fight and stuff but to me the characters make the game.
  43. HenrykL
    Jan 2, 2010
    10
    Well, Kubrick would be proud. There is only one thing bad about this game. Replayability , after finishing game there is really nothing more to do. But apart from this , this book its a masterpiece. FF sink down.
  44. DeusM.
    Oct 21, 2002
    10
    Nothing short of great. If you love games where you can get confused as all hell if you think about it too much, but at the same time, watch the little inner stories unfold, then Chrono Cross will satisfy your RPin' hunger.
  45. BobM.
    Feb 15, 2002
    10
    This is the best game in the world!
  46. Kamere
    Feb 14, 2003
    10
    The best rpg out to date. A must play game.
  47. MurphyH.
    Jul 6, 2003
    10
    Square has impressed me once again.......the only games I can think of that are better than this are the original Chrono Trigger and Final Fantasy 7.
  48. JeffM.
    Nov 4, 2004
    10
    Not many sequels are as good as if not better than the first one, this one wasn't as good or better but it was still great.
  49. CH
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    I loved it!
  50. RonconiG.
    Oct 6, 2005
    10
    I really don't know if I should give a 10 too, probably a 9 would be enough, but this game caught me for hours and hours of intensive playing. The characters, story, soundtrack, everything is just awesome. The graphics look really great, and that for a PSX game. I would highly recommend this game, as it is one of the best RPGs I played, together with FF7 and Xenogears. Big thumbs up.
  51. AliceB.
    Mar 20, 2005
    10
    I could't live without this game it is the best game ever to hit the market!!!
  52. DanS.
    Jan 28, 2007
    10
    This is my favorite RPG, and quite possibly my favorite game of any genre.
  53. WendyM.
    Jan 7, 2002
    10
    It is one of the best video games i have ever played!Iwould reccomend it to anyone who likes action RPGs. It is alittle confusing at first, but still fun!
  54. Jun 10, 2011
    10
    Bring a few tissue boxes before you hit New Game. Video games were never intended to reach the level of emotional involvement that Chrono Cross did. While Chrono Cross fell victim to being criticized for being too different from Chrono Trigger and not very sequel-like, Cross is ultimately the better game of the two in every single meaningful area, and all of its changes are for the better,Bring a few tissue boxes before you hit New Game. Video games were never intended to reach the level of emotional involvement that Chrono Cross did. While Chrono Cross fell victim to being criticized for being too different from Chrono Trigger and not very sequel-like, Cross is ultimately the better game of the two in every single meaningful area, and all of its changes are for the better, unless you were one of the aforementioned people who wanted nothing more than Chrono Trigger 2. What separates Chrono Cross the most from every other game is its skill at evoking emotions in the player. Cross will make you sob like a scolded little girl at the sad scenes and grin like it's your first hit of cocaine at the happy scenes. No other RPG has been able to do this quite like Cross was able to. Possibly the most imaginative game ever created, it will literally take you across time and space to reach one ultimate final point that ties everything together. The "true" ending is so mind-blowing and surreal that by the time the end credits and epilogue finish, you'll be sitting feeling like you've changed as a person as a result of what you've experienced. Again, video games were never intended to be this emotionally involving. It just wasn't considered possible. Chrono Cross is easily one of the best if not the best RPGs ever created, as well as one of the best games ever made. The game's biggest drawback is that it does, at some point, end. But it gently takes your hands and helps you up off the floor and shows you a very meaningful New Game+, which is well worth exploring. Cross sits comfortably next to Freespace 2, an emotionally supercharged and story-driven space combat simulator that accomplished what shooters were never intended to do, as my favorite game of all time. Expand
  55. Aug 20, 2013
    9
    A brilliant game that deserves a the same reversioning being given to the equally brilliant Final Fantasy series. A fresh translation and an HD update would likely lead to the dozen sequels Trigger and Cross fans imagine every time a new FF spin-off (or cash-cow, as the case often is) is announced.

    Which is to say, 'was Dirge of Cerebus really a more vital project than a shiny new
    A brilliant game that deserves a the same reversioning being given to the equally brilliant Final Fantasy series. A fresh translation and an HD update would likely lead to the dozen sequels Trigger and Cross fans imagine every time a new FF spin-off (or cash-cow, as the case often is) is announced.

    Which is to say, 'was Dirge of Cerebus really a more vital project than a shiny new Chrono?' or 'How many Dissidias's did we really need?'

    Not that i didn't enjoy Duodecim or Duodenum or-- whatever the hockey-sticks. i absolutely did. It was what Tobal no. 1 might have been if we were up to Tobal no. 947. Exceptionally good fun, with lots of smashing and fan setvice. But it's not likely to end up in the Smithsonian 100 years from now alongside FFVII and Metroid and the Xenosaga trilogy. (Hey, don't knock it till you've played it all, including reading every codex entry and understanding every reference. While it's not strictly necessary to speak french, german, japanese, english and to study the more "eccentric" edges of Judaism to play and enjoy Xenosaga, it does help. It's a game for eager, curious, smart people, and in that context, it is arguably the finest science fiction ever conceived in any medium. It's a bold declaration, but also one that only those who didn't finish the trilogy with a full understanding of the story ever argue with. It's a favorite among sociology and theology majors. i digress.)

    While i wouldn't go quite so far as to give Chrono Cross a 10, as doing so would confidently declare it in every way equal to the greatest games in the entire history of video gaming, a solid 9 is by no means an exaggeration. Chrono cross is a rockstar of a game, and JRPG royalty.

    "Magnificent" is a good adjective. "Perfect" is a stretch, but i understand the impulse. There are better RPGs in the world, but bet'cha by golly wow...not many.

    Tangentially, dropping a 0 on a game of this caliber (while simultaneously misspelling every third word and displaying a complete inability to utilize even the most basic tenants of english grammar) because you couldn't follow the fairly straightforward story is admitting you didn't finish the game and tantamount to saying "Don't play this game if you're slow in the head, recovering from a severe concussion, or have difficulty with polysyllabic words and understanding the concept of zero as the absence of a number."

    Zero is the Dark Matter of mathematics. We can't see it, but we know it exists because without it, the rest of math doesn't function properly. That's what zero is. An absence of numbers. And, as this game clearly exists, and for all intents and purposes does precisely what it sets out to do, giving Chrono Cross, (or any functioning game) a zero is rather silly.

    I'm sure many a halo-fan would find this game slow and wordy, but wasting your own time in an effort to accomplish god-only-knows-what achieves very little beyond making you look terrifically stupid and astonishingly petty.

    By all means, write a negative review if that's how you feel. Such editorial balance is crucial to painting a picture of any product, but throw in a reason or two. something beyond "i can't read good", and please, please (i simply cannot stress this enough) play the whole game first. Indeed, i myself, as a god-like master of using words that make me appear far smarter than i really am, find that it can be awfully difficult to grasp the full scope of a tale before i've...heard the tale.
    It's just a thought.

    Also, good grammar is sexy as hell. Don't let anyone tell you different.

    love and textbook-length game manuals,
    the Doctor
    Expand
  56. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    Too many people try to compare Chrono Cross with Chrono Trigger directly. Other than having "Chrono" in the name and being RPGs, these games are nothing alike. Not to mention they are on different systems with entirely different capabilities. I love both, and yes I love Trigger more, but Chrono Cross was a beautiful creation that deserves its own respect. For one thing, the soundtrack isToo many people try to compare Chrono Cross with Chrono Trigger directly. Other than having "Chrono" in the name and being RPGs, these games are nothing alike. Not to mention they are on different systems with entirely different capabilities. I love both, and yes I love Trigger more, but Chrono Cross was a beautiful creation that deserves its own respect. For one thing, the soundtrack is AMAZING. I'm not a big video game music kind of guy, but Chrono Cross is the first game soundtrack I actually put on my iPod. It's a masterpiece and quintessential daydreaming music. Second point: the graphic detail. Every last scene in this game has an incredible attention to detail that I don't think can be matched by any other PS1 RPG. It's not the best RPG on the system, don't get me wrong, but it certainly shined in some areas where the typical contenders for best RPG weren't nearly as strong.

    The gameplay itself certainly didn't add anything new, which is what I think hurts this game the most. It's not exactly marks against it as far as smooth gameplay is concerned, because they stuck with what was proven to work. I still think a more innovating approach was worthy of a branding name as iconic as "Chrono", but I think Squaresoft was too afraid to take such a big risk with something that was inherently going to be attached to Chrono Trigger by name alone. This backfired, as Chrono Cross is clearly inferior, but its still a strong game. The storyline and characters are interesting, and the FMVs are pretty amazing. If Squaresoft took a leap at some sort of innovative combat system, they probably would have had the best RPG of the PSX on their hands. But their oddly conservative move instead added another "great but not epic" RPG to the Playstation library.
    Expand
  57. Sep 29, 2013
    10
    Great story, no real grinding either in the game, you just mix and match attacks and characters and enjoy the ride. With so many characters and paths in the game, it has great replay value.
  58. sdc
    Mar 29, 2015
    10
    An amazing RPG that is miles ahead of it's competition. It's just so sad to see all these Chrono Trigger fans complain about innovation and creativity. This will forever be worthy of my perfect score.
  59. Sep 24, 2014
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game has the best soundtrack of any game I've ever played, and that's saying something. Great choice of characters to play as, too. My only real flaw with the game is the (possible) lack of Magus/Janus. I would have loved to see him and Schala reunited. This game's definitely confusing, but it still gets a perfect score from me. That's how good it is. Expand
  60. Jan 31, 2015
    10
    The awkward moment when EVEN all 16 of the official critics gave an (extremely) postive review, some idiot users still gave it a negative review. I mean, 17 negative reviews? For this masterpiece? Blasphemy. This game is a straight up 10/10. Timeless classic, will be forever remembered.
  61. Mar 31, 2015
    10
    The Chrono games are amazing and this one just adds to the amazing that both games exude. I highly recommend this game to anyone looking for a great RPG adventure. The story is interesting, the graphics are dated but beautiful, the battle system is interesting and fun if used right. It is one of my all time favorite RPG's.
  62. May 18, 2011
    0
    This review contains spoilers. Having played through the first disc, I can tell you, Chrono Cross is a timeless classic for fans of Chrono Trigger, especially near the end, where the pieces start to fit together and you see the little ghost versions of Crono, Lucca, and Marle! However, don't go in expecting it to be CT, it plays way differently, and it's character list is way more elaborately constructed (And way more difficult to complete). If you've played Final Fantasy 4, you may remember how they switched you from Dark to Light... Well, that's the case for disc 1, about halfway in you get transformed from Light to Dark, forcing you to lose all your cool Light magic such as Luminair, and you get stuck with the body and magic of Lynx, the game's antagonist, and right when you get used to it, you get to choose whether or not to revert back to Serge.

    I've noticed a lot of people have compared this game to FFVII, I will not, as the game's combat system disqualifies it from being comparable. Alternatively, I *will* compare it to Xenogears, as they both feel the same, forgive me if the comparison is a bit...."iffy" as I haven't played Xenogears in about a year.

    Comparison commence: 1. Combat:Both games rely on an "Active Combo" system, in which the player tacks on another attack until the Action Points(AP) are gone. With Xenogears the "Magic" is preforming the correct combo to execute a finishing move. With Chrono Cross you use a Tech attack, and may then use another action. The AP is distributed fairly the same throughout both games. After the battle you get a victory animation in Xenogears, but in Chrono Cross the party just stands there in their battle poses.
    2. Intro: Both games begin with a cutscene foreshadowing an event that the player goes through, Xenogears' in anime, Chrono Cross' in the in game graphics. Xenogears starts out strong, hitting home early on, revealing enough to keep the player enthralled an not confused. Chrono Cross starts out with a dreamlike sequence wherein the player sees a the camera zoom into a tower and then serge and two other party members in an elevator. the player then goes through the second half of the dungeon until they meet the boss. After waking up in both games you get your first glance at the starting village. After walking around a bit in Xenogears the starting event occurs, after which you are kicked out of the village forever. In Chrono Cross, you walk around a bit doing something that doesn't do anything for the player, but moves the story along a bit. after which, you get dropped into a parallel universe wherein Serge died when he was younger, and everyone in your home village is a complete dick to you.
    3. Likeness to CT: While the storyline in Chrono Cross is closer, wins in the gameplay department ( with the exception of combat). If you're looking for a game that feels like CT, you're going to end up buying both of them, for the simple fact that they're like two halves of the same whole, with the exception of combat.

    All-in-all, this game is a must have for RPG lovers, fans of CT, and gamers in general! Well, that about wraps up my review, so if you got this far: thank you for reading this giant wall of text! I hope you found this helpful!
    Collapse
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  3. From the incredible story line to the combat system to the great visuals to the overall feel of the game, players will get the sense of how much of an impact a game like this can have.