Chrono Cross PlayStation

Chrono Cross Image
Metascore
94

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 245 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Featuring a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in anFeaturing a storyline developed by the creator of Chrono Trigger and Xenogears, Chrono Cross has been christened the "Best RPG Creation" by its development team. With multiple scenarios cast along a single story thread, and many different endings, each replay can result in an entirely new adventure. In addition, a brand new battle system makes combat smooth and innovative by introducing an element field system and combo system that gives the player unparalleled flexibility in their fighting options. The elimination of random battles also quickens the pace of the game, and places the choice of where to battle in the player's hands. With character designs by a famed Japanese illustrator and music by the original Chrono Trigger composer, Chrono Cross features visuals and sounds that bring its magic to life. Expand
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 16
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 16
  3. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. 100
    Simply, one of the best RPG's ever made, and one of the finest games for the PlayStation console.
  2. 100
    Graphically, "Chrono Cross" is nothing short of stunning.
  3. GMR Magazine
    100
    It wasn't quite the "Chrono Trigger" sequel most people expected, but it's a magnificent game by its own right. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  4. 97
    A truly epic role-playing game experience that has cemented its place in the annals of RPG history.
  5. Game Fan
    92
    With its refreshing design, cool music and engaging storyline, this game has to be one of the greatest RPGs that has ever exited the Squaresoft building.
  6. CheckOut
    90
    A beautifully crafted and fresh take on stale RPG gameplay, delivering an experience that rivals "Final Fantasy."
  7. Daily Radar
    75
    While paling in comparison to its celebrated predecessor, "Chrono Cross's" great character design and intriguing combat system ensure that the game is anything but the misfire it could so easily have been.

See all 16 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 88
  2. Negative: 10 out of 88
  1. Sep 2, 2011
    10
    Amazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone andAmazing music, great story and wonderful dialogue. I feel those that sleight the story didn't quite understand it. It relates to anyone and everyone in such a beautiful way. Sometimes, no matter how hard we try, what we really want will always be out of reach. It's good to see a game promoting realism and the unfair nature of life, while still maintaining being an enjoyable experience. Far too many games (especially for its time) analyze endings without any repercussions whatsoever. An outstanding game and sequel. Expand
  2. JeffH.
    Aug 28, 2008
    10
    For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all For anyone who has ever played Chrono Trigger and understands it's serene story, Chrono Cross is an absolute indulgence of all thing's wonderful. All of the stories missing pieces fall into place and the player is rewarded with an amazing sequel to a legendary game. This game really does "have it all'; Tons of characters, many different endings, engaging interesting story, and a new found respect for wingapedes. :P My only fault with this game is that it was short and that people who are unfamiliar with Chrono Trigger won't understand alot of things. But all in all a very solid sequel and my vote for best non FF7 RPG for the Playstation. Expand
  3. TomG.
    Jul 16, 2001
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs out there, impressive graphics, flawless storyline, and amazing battle system.
  4. Feb 23, 2013
    10
    Though not the hardest game, everything else is just outstanding. It has a complex and fascinating story, a great OST, amazing gameplay andThough not the hardest game, everything else is just outstanding. It has a complex and fascinating story, a great OST, amazing gameplay and surely one of the most beautiful graphic ever seen on the psx. If you aks me, even if you dont play rpgĀ“s its a must have. Expand
  5. Sep 14, 2013
    9
    Too many people try to compare Chrono Cross with Chrono Trigger directly. Other than having "Chrono" in the name and being RPGs, these gamesToo many people try to compare Chrono Cross with Chrono Trigger directly. Other than having "Chrono" in the name and being RPGs, these games are nothing alike. Not to mention they are on different systems with entirely different capabilities. I love both, and yes I love Trigger more, but Chrono Cross was a beautiful creation that deserves its own respect. For one thing, the soundtrack is AMAZING. I'm not a big video game music kind of guy, but Chrono Cross is the first game soundtrack I actually put on my iPod. It's a masterpiece and quintessential daydreaming music. Second point: the graphic detail. Every last scene in this game has an incredible attention to detail that I don't think can be matched by any other PS1 RPG. It's not the best RPG on the system, don't get me wrong, but it certainly shined in some areas where the typical contenders for best RPG weren't nearly as strong.

    The gameplay itself certainly didn't add anything new, which is what I think hurts this game the most. It's not exactly marks against it as far as smooth gameplay is concerned, because they stuck with what was proven to work. I still think a more innovating approach was worthy of a branding name as iconic as "Chrono", but I think Squaresoft was too afraid to take such a big risk with something that was inherently going to be attached to Chrono Trigger by name alone. This backfired, as Chrono Cross is clearly inferior, but its still a strong game. The storyline and characters are interesting, and the FMVs are pretty amazing. If Squaresoft took a leap at some sort of innovative combat system, they probably would have had the best RPG of the PSX on their hands. But their oddly conservative move instead added another "great but not epic" RPG to the Playstation library.
    Expand
  6. Oct 6, 2011
    9
    A well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music areA well-crafted videogame that may put some people off due to its unique combat system. On the other hand, the story, visuals, and music are timeless. Not to mention the dream-like atmosphere. In a way, it does feel like the developers were trying to turn the Chrono series into the next Final Fantasy and it would have been interesting to see a third game in the series. By its own right, Chrono Cross is still a very enjoyable experience. I would highly recommend it for those looking for a unique JRPG experience. Expand
  7. ShaneW.
    Mar 18, 2003
    0
    This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to This game is a disgrace. The graphics are completely off and the gameplay as no limits. You don't even have a solid story line to follow. And even if you did it wouldn't make any sense. If any of you own this game, you waisted your money on a pile of bull sh**. Expand

See all 88 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#3 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000