Digimon World 3 PlayStation

  • Publisher: Bandai
  • Release Date: Jun 5, 2002
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 15 out of 147
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 4, 2014
    7
    Dear Anyone who doesn't like this game I respect your opinion but the way to get it out there is not to rant like a three year old playing COD to do it. When reviewing keep in mind that it is a review not a rant and same goes for you positive reviewers find a negative standpoint. Now as for my review Digimon world 3 honestly is pretty darn fun for me at least however this is probably justDear Anyone who doesn't like this game I respect your opinion but the way to get it out there is not to rant like a three year old playing COD to do it. When reviewing keep in mind that it is a review not a rant and same goes for you positive reviewers find a negative standpoint. Now as for my review Digimon world 3 honestly is pretty darn fun for me at least however this is probably just nostalgia blindness so I recognize that this game is not for everyone. If you are okay with backtracking then try it if you hate backtracking then run run as fast as you can. The digievolution system is correct however it gives you correct digievolution due to rookie lvls not champion or ultimate levels which can get a bit annoying however I love digimon and that will never change so I will give it a 7 of 10. Expand
  2. Shadowflare
    Nov 11, 2003
    7
    This game is okay but the graphics in battle is very bad and the evolution is mixed up. I mean renamon digivolving to malomyostimon!!This is rubbish!Other than that the last boss is a little too easier to beat than the president's raidenmon.i think this stupid raidenmon is even harder to beat.he always uses greased plant to heal himself and one of his attacks does incredibly more This game is okay but the graphics in battle is very bad and the evolution is mixed up. I mean renamon digivolving to malomyostimon!!This is rubbish!Other than that the last boss is a little too easier to beat than the president's raidenmon.i think this stupid raidenmon is even harder to beat.he always uses greased plant to heal himself and one of his attacks does incredibly more damage than the last boss. Expand
  3. BryanM
    Sep 11, 2007
    7
    this is the best Digimon game i have played in year. way better then some games.
  4. DannyD.
    Jul 18, 2002
    5
    The soundtrack is alright, the sound effects are somewhat less than impressive, and the graphics could have used a little more touching up. What annoyed me the most is the "tapping" sound your character makes when he walks..... I could have pulled a better game out of my ass! The only thing saving this game from getting a lower grade from me is my soft spot for the anime!
  5. NatashaG.
    Jul 8, 2002
    6
    There's more to do than in the first one. The graphics are O.K. Look at it this way: There are worse!
  6. Yukitama
    Sep 1, 2006
    6
    Overall dis game is okay... don't really like the battle style... Digimon world is still the best!
  7. JackofAllTrades
    Dec 2, 2002
    6
    This game may be decent but it has many downsides. First of all, the data saving and data loading times are not good at all. Second of all, even after you power up your digimon drastically their normal attacks can take off more than most of the techniques that digimon will learn. And why let all the digimon digivolve into the same digimon champions, I say just stick to the original This game may be decent but it has many downsides. First of all, the data saving and data loading times are not good at all. Second of all, even after you power up your digimon drastically their normal attacks can take off more than most of the techniques that digimon will learn. And why let all the digimon digivolve into the same digimon champions, I say just stick to the original digivolutions. Next, in the card battle game, you start out with cards and you can beat most card battlers but after you get to, oh... say level 20-35 the other card battlers seem almost impossible to beat. Also, if you have an El Dorado card (which is very easy to get) you can buy almost any weapon or item you want in the black market. Although, many techniques exist in the game alot of them are closely related visually. Magic Missle and any other progectile attack look almost replicated. Lastly, the graphics. The digimon graphics are the only graphic problem so far that I can see in this game. They are very primitive. While there are some downsides, DMW 3 still has all the digimon you know and love from the shows, the background designs in battle, cities and almost anywhere else are pretty good. The battle system is also pretty good. I never get tired of hearing the same music over and over because the music switches so frequently (averaging about 1 change per every 5 screen switches). Okay, I think that is all I have to say. Collapse
Metascore
47

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 6
  2. Negative: 3 out of 6
  1. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    40
    The third time is definitely not the charm. [July 2002, p.128]
  2. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    50
    Profoundly mediocre, the kind of game that only hardcore Digi-fans will like. [June 2002, p.102]
  3. 40
    Despite some impressive world-map graphics and extremely catchy anime-style music, Digimon World 3 disappoints in countless ways.