Final Fantasy VII PlayStation

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 1409 Ratings

User score distribution:
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AlvinO.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    FORGET ALL THE OTHER RPG OUT THERE >>>> This is all you need and will ever need..
  2. RyanL.
    Sep 4, 2005
    9
    I thought this was a great game but I liked 8 alittle more but other then that one of my top 10s and for those idiots who thinks this game sucks cuz of graphics or no voice acting can go suck a nut you guys arent gamers at all just wanna bes this rpg revolutionized the rpg world nothing came close to it and remember this was made back in 1997.
  3. JerkGuy
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    I have little if not any respect or regard for anyone
  4. Loel
    Feb 20, 2007
    10
    This RPG game is one of the best games I have ever played. The story line really pulls you in and makes you want to absorb every ounce of detail. The game is so good, you'll find yourself shouting at the bad guys on the screen when your party gets killed. Each character has their own deep story line, not just the generic, "the guy chosen out of random" hero. You'll fall in love This RPG game is one of the best games I have ever played. The story line really pulls you in and makes you want to absorb every ounce of detail. The game is so good, you'll find yourself shouting at the bad guys on the screen when your party gets killed. Each character has their own deep story line, not just the generic, "the guy chosen out of random" hero. You'll fall in love with every one of them, maybe with the exception of Sephiroth. The music score is amazing, matching up to the one in Chrono Trigger, both of which were composed by Nobuo Uematsu. All gamers and non gamers should play this game. Square-Enix did an amazing job of creating the greatest video game of all time. Expand
  5. OBoi
    Apr 5, 2003
    10
    My favorite game of all time........period.
  6. DennisL.
    Nov 10, 2005
    10
    This was a great game it changed how final fantasy were before this.
  7. JimA.
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Best game ever. Real life would only get a 7/10 in comparison to this world.
  8. UlyssesA.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    I couldn't believe how good this game was! I had so much trouble on Hojo, Sephiroth, and the weapons so I got pissed off. But I didn't stop because it was so fun. I don't know about the best game ever, but it is the best one that I have ever played.
  9. WilshireB.
    Jul 7, 2005
    10
    Wow! This game is simply the best game of all time. Obviously since you've seen that written here about a million times. Turned me into the rpg vid game fan I am today and revolutionized the video game industry into what it is today. Props to square!!!
  10. DragisaR.
    Aug 30, 2005
    10
    Simply the greatest game ever created. Incredibly awe-inspiring. This game will make you laugh, it will make you cry, it will fill you with excitement. This game is an adventure for all those who try it. If you haven't played this game yet, you are lucky... you still have the chance to experience its magic!
  11. KainC.
    May 20, 2006
    10
    Just a damn good game. Solid storyline, 70+ hours of gameplay which will keep you wanting more and more till' the end, then you'll want to do it over again, to find the things you missed. Its IMPOSSIBLE to do everything once. Best game i've ever played.
  12. JackM.
    Aug 20, 2006
    10
    Truely Emotional if only ff7-2 was a game.
  13. SeanS
    Aug 9, 2006
    8
    Just to clear things up, FFVII is a great game. Is it the best RPG ever? Is it the best Final Fantasy ever? No. Why? Well, first off, the story is only mediocre, which is a huge downer because story is the key element of any RPG. The characters are ok, but they don't seem to have much life. Aside from Yuffie and Red, all the pther characters seem like clones of another one, like Just to clear things up, FFVII is a great game. Is it the best RPG ever? Is it the best Final Fantasy ever? No. Why? Well, first off, the story is only mediocre, which is a huge downer because story is the key element of any RPG. The characters are ok, but they don't seem to have much life. Aside from Yuffie and Red, all the pther characters seem like clones of another one, like Barret and Cid, or just don't have a very likable personality, like Cloud (Which was fixed by the release of FFVII:AC, which helps make FFVII much more enjoyable). Hate me if you wish, but Cloud and Sephiroth are not the greatest ever. Cloud is rather lifeless and Sephiroth not only helps to overcomplicate the story (and not in the Chrono Cross good way), but he seems rather randon and tries too hard to be "badass". But, like I said, FFVII is a great game due mainly to it's sheer size. There are a ton of extra things to do, such as level 4 limits, chocobo breeding, and the WEAPONS. All these combined with the awesome materia skill system make up for most of the game's downpoints. Sure, it doesn't reach the "Chrono" level of RPGs set by Chrono Trigger and Chrono Cross, but neither does any other RPG, but FFVII is one of the best, though highly overrated, RPGs out there, and every RPG fan must play it. Expand
  14. JustinJ.
    Jun 30, 2007
    10
    Okay, after reading this... I am just embarrassed to see the amount of people giving this game any less than an 8. I love it, I was of the first 25 people in North America to own the game (Thank god for my mother working for playstation), and this game will forever be held in my heart as my favorite game ever released. Sub-par graphics? Fck off and buy a 360 you mindless shit; no voice Okay, after reading this... I am just embarrassed to see the amount of people giving this game any less than an 8. I love it, I was of the first 25 people in North America to own the game (Thank god for my mother working for playstation), and this game will forever be held in my heart as my favorite game ever released. Sub-par graphics? Fck off and buy a 360 you mindless shit; no voice acting? Who gives a damn? neither did 90% of the other games before the current gen release (ps2, xbox, gc). Even if you don't like rpgs, just watching someone play this game makes me happy. It's the beautiful story, the detail in every screen, and the realistic feel that make this the game of my collection. P.s. Aeris was never meant to come alive again. Ever. Not in ANY version of ANY game. If she had, that would have ruined the entire rest of the games story, as well as AC. The only deadline was for the translation, which is why you frequently see "off" instead of "of", the game was completed already, and if it hadn't been a HUGE detail like that would not have been a "let's scrap this" thing to leave out. P.p.s. The producer (I think) lost his grandmother during the production of FFIII, and he says that Aeris is very much like a reflection of her to him, her attitude and being. He never meant for Aeris to be revived, because you can't bring back someone from the dead, only cherish the memories you have of them (Cloud made her his inspiration to live, she also saves the entire planet with her memory in a sense). His grandmother gave him the will to push on, as Aeris gave Cloud the same feeling. Expand
  15. ChrisC.
    Aug 24, 2007
    10
    Easily the best game ever created. A must buy and all of that jazz. Look at how many people gave it a 10, and then look at how many people gave it a 0. Not to mention that the people who didn't like the game (how, I will never know) never explain why. "Oh, well....the music is bad." Yes, the music is so bad that there are orchestras that tour the U.S. playing the entire FFVII score Easily the best game ever created. A must buy and all of that jazz. Look at how many people gave it a 10, and then look at how many people gave it a 0. Not to mention that the people who didn't like the game (how, I will never know) never explain why. "Oh, well....the music is bad." Yes, the music is so bad that there are orchestras that tour the U.S. playing the entire FFVII score and it sells out instantly. I still get songs from the game stuck in my head probably about twice a week. "CLOUD LOOKS LIKE HE HAS HORSE HOOVES FOR HANDS" Yeah, well, how about you try and go back to 1997 (yes kids, thats a bit over TEN (10) years) with a developer's kit for PS1 and try to do a better job. I am sorry that FFVII does not satisfy every orgasmic graphical, extreme realism, and high definition desire that you've ever wanted. To be honest, I wouldn't be surprised if every person who gave a low rating due to graphics is an Xbox360 fanboi. In any event, if you have not played FFVII, I would suggest stopping what you are doing, and running to the nearest EB/Gamestop/Rhino to pick up a copy. The story is phenomenal, the music is widely acclaimed, and the gameplay is intricate and detailed enough that you can customize your playing style, but not so complicated that you get left behind before you can even learn the system. Yes, the game is long. It is very long. It's even longer if you do all the side quests and other fun stuff that they threw in there. The length of the game is something that I love. I have played the game start to finish probably at least 6 or 7 times. Stop reading this and go play it. (and Final Fantasy Tactics, too) Expand
  16. RyanG.
    Oct 7, 2008
    10
    The best Rpg ever. To this day, and its all in the story.
  17. OmbarK.
    Jun 4, 2008
    10
    Many people say this game is one of the most overrated game of all time because it is the first game that a lot of people played, including me. The thing is, many of those people have their own little game from which they all rate others game from and very often this game is FFVI. Personnally, I don't see what these people see in it as I didn't like it but they don't see Many people say this game is one of the most overrated game of all time because it is the first game that a lot of people played, including me. The thing is, many of those people have their own little game from which they all rate others game from and very often this game is FFVI. Personnally, I don't see what these people see in it as I didn't like it but they don't see what we love about FFVII either. Sure, our expectations for future games reflected FFVII's style as but the thing is that it was a great game, it set the bar too high for us to even think about something better, even today. The musical score is simply the best in any game I've layed up to today (and musical scores are pretty bad nowadays if you ask me), the graphics aside from the world map are great, especially battles, AMVs are simply phenomenal for the time, the story is complex and holds many twists, finally, I loved the materia system and the mini-games but that's more personnal. There's a lot of good stuff of which FFVII was the pioneer at the time, mainly storeline and AMVs and will remain for that reason a ground breaking game. Expand
  18. Rayvior
    Jan 22, 2010
    10
    Where does one begin? Do we address the attention to detail with scenery and weapons. Or do we grasp onto the easy to understand and execute gameplay? FFVII is very much, an RPG of the "golden age". It provided more story than any game of any genre at the time, and catered to the elitist in many. FF7 was just that good. It still is. Especially when companies are nickel and dime-ing with Where does one begin? Do we address the attention to detail with scenery and weapons. Or do we grasp onto the easy to understand and execute gameplay? FFVII is very much, an RPG of the "golden age". It provided more story than any game of any genre at the time, and catered to the elitist in many. FF7 was just that good. It still is. Especially when companies are nickel and dime-ing with DLC. We get to see what a complete and full game feels like. If I had to describe the genre FF7 is in, I would call it RPG Sandboxing. As nothing is linear unless the player makes it so, and even the limit breaks can be put on hold while you play a decent array of mini games. The game is the epitome of micron managing. If playing at Gold Saucer isn't for the player, one could raise and breed Chocobo's. Or explore hidden areas, or even locate that favorite weapon. FF7 has it all. Wish to pick up and play? then theres nothing to it. The game is as simple as Checkers and as complex as Chess. This is not a "like it or hate it" game, that term doesn't even apply to this, the game has far too many things to do, that even people who prefer a different type of genre will easily enjoy FF7. The story is immersive, the characters actually develop, and the plot is easy to follow without getting preachy. FF7 does what most 60 dollar Xbox games can't. Keep in mind this was when games like Zelda 64 came out. FF7 delivers. Expand
  19. [Anonymous]
    Dec 3, 2002
    10
    This game is one of the best RPGs of all time. Memorable characters and a great storyline puts it above all RPGs on the market. A must buy!!!
  20. JohnS.
    Mar 2, 2003
    10
    I have been playin this game over and over for about 4 years this game is perfect everything from mini games to the battles, it has to be the second greatest next to final fantasy 1.
  21. NaomiM.
    Nov 1, 2004
    10
    I really do like this game, i was wonderful for it's time. Not so much now b/c 9 and 10 blew it away. And i'm not a really big fan of Cloud i think some people worship him to much (Jeff M.). But I do give it a 10, it had a wonderful story.
  22. MiloH.
    Jan 12, 2004
    10
    A complete masterpiece and no doubt the best rpg ever!
  23. EricM.
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    This is the first rpg game I played and still is the best..It called my name and I bought it the first day it came out for the pc for about 80$. I also am currently a beta tester for ffXI and it's shit compared to ff7.
  24. CuthbertS.
    Jun 12, 2004
    10
    Perfection, or as close as you can get. This game has more "oh my god" moments than any other, even MGS. A greater game will never be made.
  25. LeonL.
    Aug 5, 2004
    10
    This is a really cool game seriously. From the moment you play it and the moment you finish it, you can never say this game is bad. Truly a masterpiece...
  26. DragonKnightofFinalFantasy
    Aug 9, 2004
    10
    This is my favorite FF ever also my favorite game ever. Here I'm gonna break it down into five catergories. Story 10/10: Totally compelling and smart I'd go into details but I don't wanna spoil anything but it does have the best character devolpment. Graphics 9/10: Beautiful backgrounds, great character portaits everything perfect except character models they are all so This is my favorite FF ever also my favorite game ever. Here I'm gonna break it down into five catergories. Story 10/10: Totally compelling and smart I'd go into details but I don't wanna spoil anything but it does have the best character devolpment. Graphics 9/10: Beautiful backgrounds, great character portaits everything perfect except character models they are all so blocky all Lego men. Sound: One of the best soundtracks EVER so wonderful! Gameplay: Materia=perfect FFVIII's Junction systems= really sucky Materia>Junction Nuff' said. BEST GAME EVER!!!!!! Expand
  27. LukeD.
    Nov 2, 2005
    10
    This game is the best game ever created and I think it is impossible to make a game as good as this ever again... It is flawless from music to the storyline, just watched FF7 advent children and all the memories flood back of this game :D damn i wish i could play it again but its too old for my computer :/
  28. TroyM.
    Oct 14, 2005
    10
    Awesome story compelled me to play.
  29. MikeR.
    Jan 24, 2005
    10
    Still the best game ever.
  30. RaymondL.
    Apr 13, 2005
    10
    It's great to play this game. the grapics will knock you back.
  31. JasonW.
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Unparalleled...
  32. TomiW.
    Apr 7, 2005
    10
    FFVII is the best videogame ever made. Never has a game revolutionized the cinematic and storytelling experience of videogames. Never had a game been so long, yet so engaging, immersive and inspiring. This game changed the way I view videogames. Gone are the days when all I wanted was some fast paced action. This game thought me the art of storytelling is the best to ever happen to FFVII is the best videogame ever made. Never has a game revolutionized the cinematic and storytelling experience of videogames. Never had a game been so long, yet so engaging, immersive and inspiring. This game changed the way I view videogames. Gone are the days when all I wanted was some fast paced action. This game thought me the art of storytelling is the best to ever happen to videogames. I never played an RPG before this game, now 90% of the games I play are RPG's. And everytime I play an RPG, I always find myself asking the same question: when will there be another final fantasy VII. Expand
  33. OswaldoV.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This is by far the best game I've ever played, Metal Gear, Resident Evil their both good but this one tops it off if i finish this game i'll die happy.
  34. ChrisF-T
    Jun 2, 2005
    10
    Yes, this is the greatest RPG of all time. It took the concept of a fantasy world and brought the genre a true feeling of realism. The story is the most personally reflective of any RPG i've played, you learn more abou the central character than any other game i've played. The Weapons are truly difficult, and overall this game is challenging, engaging and overall the most Yes, this is the greatest RPG of all time. It took the concept of a fantasy world and brought the genre a true feeling of realism. The story is the most personally reflective of any RPG i've played, you learn more abou the central character than any other game i've played. The Weapons are truly difficult, and overall this game is challenging, engaging and overall the most flawless gaming experience i've ever been honored to have. Expand
  35. Thorn
    Aug 7, 2005
    9
    The game is good, it was the first game i played on my ps1. And it inspired me to buy more. Two flaws are that the villian is too good, and that there were several annoying main characters.
  36. JhonT.
    Nov 20, 2006
    10
    Final Fantasy 7 is the best game ever. I only wish they made it for PlayStation 3.
  37. MarkD.
    Nov 5, 2006
    8
    I can appreciate this games ground breaking plot, graphics, characters, the fact that it brought games and movies that bit closer and made RPGs cool yet i still gave up half way through. You see, despite all that it's still a hardcore RPG and only RPG fans will be engrossed till the end. So it "only" gets an 8.
  38. eX-SoldierStrife
    Jan 15, 2006
    10
    The best game ever created, when I saw Final Fantasy 7 : Last Order and Advent Children I played the game over again. Even if the game is old it remains a classic and my favourite game. From the mythology and themes to the music and storyline, Final Fantasy 7 is flawless.
  39. GeorgeD.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    I don't really understand how someone could think the story to this game was anything but breakthrough. Well, that's not true; I do understand. Being an English major, I often bear witness to the awful comprehensive power of the young mind. At several points in this list, people have stated that the Cloud character had no personality. While the character was intentionally I don't really understand how someone could think the story to this game was anything but breakthrough. Well, that's not true; I do understand. Being an English major, I often bear witness to the awful comprehensive power of the young mind. At several points in this list, people have stated that the Cloud character had no personality. While the character was intentionally written to be introverted, a great deal of expression and throught process came through the subtleties of the character. The character remains one of the most profound and intriguing characters to ever grace a videogame. The fact of the matter is, the story for Final Fantasy VII is so powerful, profound, intelligent and, often times, psychologically subtle that I am surprised any ordinary videogame fan was able to enjoy it. With games like Halo or Splinter Cell -- games wherein you simply run around and kill things without really having to fire a neuron or comprehend much of anything, other than your location on a screen -- it isn't a stretch to assume the average videogame fan is probably slow on the draw when it comes to things like reading comprehension, character analysis, or intuitive psychology. This hypothesis can also be reached by reading how many people complained of a "boring" story -- one person actually said that the psychology "ruined it" -- in the same breath as they complained about "horrible graphics." The graphics in the game were probably 8 on a list of the 10 most important aspects of the game. I won't go into every reason the game was breakthrough and will never be bested -- I actually stopped playing videogames after I completed it in 1997. I realized the year I played it that there was never, ever going to be anything like it again. It is just too smart for the average videogame fan. They don't want to process all the information, the characters, the messages, and the subtleties. They definitely don't want to process all the detective work that must be done and all the side games that are to be completed. They just want to click on a few characters and tell them to kill some other characters, or they want to point a rocket launcher in a vague direction and see things explode in great detail. Final Fantasy VII sacrificed a lot of its graphics for gameplay. There was so much too the game that A) the graphics hardly mattered at all, and B) for the time, it was too large to make the game with such profound quality and maintain superficial quality. Final fantasy VII was and is simply too good for pretty pictures -- though, all of the locations were beautiful and the vehicles were well conceived. There will never be another game this good. Videogamers just don't want to have to have the brainpower to play this. Expand
  40. JakeC.
    Apr 8, 2006
    10
    Quite possibly the best game ever.
  41. MartinK.
    May 7, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest games ever made. The storyline is on par with any great literary work. Right now, FFVII and the Metal Gear games are the only ones I can think of that truly deserve 10 points.
  42. JonC.
    Jul 30, 2006
    10
    all you haters are complete duds. FFVII was one of the FIRST games for the PS1. and therefore, AMAZING grpahics for the time. The plot is amazingly deep, and complex. it may not be the best of all time, but its up there, and if u disagree, you obviously like those games like Catwoman. If you pay attention, you will enjoy it, its a RPG, so if u want like full on action, wrong game for you, all you haters are complete duds. FFVII was one of the FIRST games for the PS1. and therefore, AMAZING grpahics for the time. The plot is amazingly deep, and complex. it may not be the best of all time, but its up there, and if u disagree, you obviously like those games like Catwoman. If you pay attention, you will enjoy it, its a RPG, so if u want like full on action, wrong game for you, this game is surrounded by plot, and asuming people could read. (and FYI cloud acts like that because of the plot). Expand
  43. MarcL.
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    This game is truly incredible.the story kepps you into it all the way to the end and the replay value is awsome,music is excellent overall one of the best rpgs ever.
  44. PiltzM.
    Aug 1, 2006
    10
    First game to ever touch a human soul and heart.Gifted story teliing and exelent musical score makes this game last forever in the gaming history.
  45. AlasdairD.
    Dec 5, 2007
    10
    This is, quite simply, the single greatest game ever made. It is perfection. It's also really cheap now, so even if you have to forgo buying food for a few days, do so.
  46. AlexTheSexy
    Feb 5, 2007
    10
    There has never been a game this monumental. From the opening sights of Midgar to the final Slaying of Sephiroth, scale, character, and beauty are constant and even playing it today, it is a rare moment when you are anything but impressed. The best game ever. PORT THIS FOR THE DS!
  47. JulietteT.
    May 30, 2007
    10
    This is the game that got me interested in video games. I had never played an RPG before and this got me hooked! BEST GAME EVER! The story line is original, amazing and practically flawless. Each character is perfectly done, and there never has been a better protagonist trio! PLEASE remake this Square! DS!
  48. Berny
    Jun 23, 2007
    10
    This game is the very reason of why i bought a ps one, it's the best game i've ever played over and over again.
  49. NathanD.
    Jul 22, 2007
    10
    This game is the greatest game ever made. ther will NEVER be a game this good again.
  50. ChristianS.
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    For me this is the better game of my life. I love the storyline and im waiting if there is a release for the PS3, try to serach in youtube "final Fantasy VII PS3". The graphics doesnt means if this a good game, this game has relesed in 1997, and for these times the graphics was cool. If you are a RPG fan, you must try this game, the Materia system is addicting as hell and im still playing For me this is the better game of my life. I love the storyline and im waiting if there is a release for the PS3, try to serach in youtube "final Fantasy VII PS3". The graphics doesnt means if this a good game, this game has relesed in 1997, and for these times the graphics was cool. If you are a RPG fan, you must try this game, the Materia system is addicting as hell and im still playing since 2005 =D. Expand
  51. JoeyN.
    Apr 30, 2008
    10
    Amazing game Ive got 2 copies of this the original I bought when first released the second Brand New Still Sealed just in case anything happens to my first one. I LOVE this game so emotional, so engrossing and anyone who does not agree otherwise Is not a gamer roll on the PS3 version (fingers crossed).
  52. ZechsM.
    Jun 21, 2008
    10
    My favorite game of all time! totally deserves a 10!
  53. TylerB.
    Jun 3, 2008
    10
    I don't know why someone was complaining about grahpics of this game it came out at the birth of PS1 (it didn't even have analog controls)...he must be a 5 year old who doesn't appreciate where games come from. This IS Final Fantasy. Compelling story, revolutionary combat systems (when it was made), and an excellent game to be the first 3D final fantasy. It is an I don't know why someone was complaining about grahpics of this game it came out at the birth of PS1 (it didn't even have analog controls)...he must be a 5 year old who doesn't appreciate where games come from. This IS Final Fantasy. Compelling story, revolutionary combat systems (when it was made), and an excellent game to be the first 3D final fantasy. It is an unforgettable experience from the first time you go into the land of Midgar. Expand
  54. [anonymous]
    Oct 3, 2009
    10
    O.K. this is a very fun, addictive RPG in fact the best final fantasy game ever unless a miracle happens and they mke ff7 2 but that will never happen sadly but this is a MUST HAVE!!!!!!!!
  55. MattB
    Mar 12, 2009
    10
    Anyone who rates this game lower then a 9 is one of those people who just likes to go a different direction then the crowd. They would do this for anything. If there was a movie everyone loved.... they would make up a reason to hate it. Best game of all time. Haters, hope you enjoy lying to yourself your whole life.
  56. LoganDisney
    Jun 13, 2009
    10
    The best game ever made, without a doubt. An incredible storyline and great characters add to the perfectly suited music of the game and pioneering (heheh) graphics of the game to make it one of few games I could play forever and never stop loving it.
  57. A.Nonymous
    Sep 2, 2009
    8
    Out of the Final Fantasy games I've played, this is not my favorite. That honor goes the Final Fantasy VI. In fact, I think this game is a bit overrated. However, it is still an unforgettable classic that RPG fans should definitely play. (As if there's any RPG fan that hasn't played it.) I must say, after playing through it recently, I think the polygonal models have aged Out of the Final Fantasy games I've played, this is not my favorite. That honor goes the Final Fantasy VI. In fact, I think this game is a bit overrated. However, it is still an unforgettable classic that RPG fans should definitely play. (As if there's any RPG fan that hasn't played it.) I must say, after playing through it recently, I think the polygonal models have aged horribly, at least out of battle. I realize the game is 12 years old, so I wasn't expecting Killzone 2 calibur graphics, but they're still almost painful to look at. I'm sure they were truly mind-blowing when the game first was released, but it's 2009 now. In battle, they're actually still impressive, in a way.The summons in particular are still awesome to look at. The pre-rendered backgrounds still hold up, as well. The story is somewhat confusing, but I found it entertaining and even moving at times. At times Sephiroth's motives were unclear to me. (Even more confusing was that it wasn't even Sephiroth...O.o) I also had trouble figuring out who exactly Cloud is, but for the sake of spoiler-avoidance, I won't go into detail. (Though I'm sure most of you have probably heard the story, anyway.) The gameplay holds up well. Lots of classic ATB battles are to be had, and it's fun tweaking your characters and making them into machines of destruction. One of my favorite things about Final Fantasy VII is the music. Nobuo Uematsu created a masterpiece with the game's soundtrack. Just look up some orchestrated versions of some of the songs, and I'll guarantee you'll be in awe. While I still think that Final Fantasy VII is overrated and has too many fanboys, I can't deny it's a great game. I can't imagine that any serious RPG fans are left that haven't played it, but if there are, I'd recommend they check it out. Expand
  58. peterm
    Jan 21, 2010
    10
    This is the best FF in the series, and if not the best, defiantly one of the best game in any system (from Atari to ps3). The game included wonderful cinematic scenes, incredible story, socking moments, a feeling of connection with the characters and incredible fights. If the older remember the moment in time when FF went from 2d to 3d and made a huge impact in the whole industry with it This is the best FF in the series, and if not the best, defiantly one of the best game in any system (from Atari to ps3). The game included wonderful cinematic scenes, incredible story, socking moments, a feeling of connection with the characters and incredible fights. If the older remember the moment in time when FF went from 2d to 3d and made a huge impact in the whole industry with it stunning backdrops and design. Enix's favourite. Truly innovative for its time. Expand
  59. Funkymonk
    Apr 26, 2010
    8
    I'm going to have to agree with Chris B B, Raxsah W and the others below who said this is overrated. Look, i'll give the game the credit it deserves; It was the first game to really make RPG's mainstream, perhaps even cool. In some ways it was influential. The graphics, music and storyline set new standards for PS1 and it just felt bigger and more epic then any RPG before I'm going to have to agree with Chris B B, Raxsah W and the others below who said this is overrated. Look, i'll give the game the credit it deserves; It was the first game to really make RPG's mainstream, perhaps even cool. In some ways it was influential. The graphics, music and storyline set new standards for PS1 and it just felt bigger and more epic then any RPG before it. However it has also aged badly in some ways as well. Anyone who isn't blinded by fanboyism can see that this is basically a conventional RPG with dated turn based combat, a good plot and excellent PS1 graphics and sound. Ther's nothing TRULY innovative about FF7 or it's gameplay and that's the point that fanboys calling it the best game ever need to think about (not that they will). There are games on the PS1, even, that are more innovative, with gameplay that TRULY pushes bounderies; Metal Gear Solid for example. So fanboys, you're entitled to your opinion but i think you're all deluded. FF7 is NOT the best game ever. FF7 is NOT the best game on the PS1. FF7 is NOT even the best RPG ever. FF7 is just a very good game. Expand
  60. John
    Nov 12, 2003
    10
    This is one of the greatest games of all time. Third best game in the world after Final Fantasy IX and Zelda - Ocarina of Time.
  61. Zorprime
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Hands down the greatest rpg i've ever played.
  62. StrongestDragonKnightFinalFantasyGod
    Dec 5, 2003
    10
    Great...Simply wonderful....The VERY BEST Final FANTASY EVER 2ND to none!!!If u hate this game I'll hunt u down use my Dragon Knights prowers & my godly Final Fantasy powers & send u to a eternal prison in hell!Oh by the way the only 2 complaints R bad graphics & one I dare not speak of.
  63. Pdiddy
    Jul 15, 2003
    10
    Without a doubt this is the greatest video game ever made. Ever. it stands above even the most modern games in every aspect of its form. Easy to learn systems coupled with constant strategic implications make this the most in-depth RPG ever created. The graphics, while now outdated, where the best that the PS1 ever saw. And then there is the story. This is the only game I have ever played Without a doubt this is the greatest video game ever made. Ever. it stands above even the most modern games in every aspect of its form. Easy to learn systems coupled with constant strategic implications make this the most in-depth RPG ever created. The graphics, while now outdated, where the best that the PS1 ever saw. And then there is the story. This is the only game I have ever played that inspired deap emotions. I even cried at Aeris's death. Game manufactures have never created a masterpeice of this magnitde and never will again. Expand
  64. TomM.
    Aug 23, 2003
    10
    The most excellent game in the world today. That's it. Play this and you will be able to hang up your control pad and never play another game ever again. This is the most fufilling, superb and unbelievably excellent experience available on any console ever. And that is not an exaggeration.
  65. CloudStrife
    Sep 13, 2003
    10
    I never got tired of the game no matter what every year I play it that is just how good it is^_^.
  66. AlexM.
    Nov 15, 2004
    10
    The Greatest Game Ever
  67. JeremyJ.
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    This game is the best of all time!!!!!
  68. Josh
    Jan 21, 2004
    10
    I have played every Final Fantasy in existence, and none captured my attention like FF7 with its story. This is the only game that deserves a perfect rating.
  69. SamC.
    Jan 20, 2004
    10
    PERFECT PERFECT PERFECT.
  70. TroyC.
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    I would just like to say that if Jesus had to come back in the form of a game....he would come back as newly packaged three disc rpg called Final Fantasy VII......and the world will rejoice in the glory in rains down upon us mortals.
  71. JenniferS.
    Dec 27, 2004
    10
    Only game that have kept me playing for a year now even people that have left to play other MMORPG's (Worlds or Warcraft) games are coming back.
  72. VidM.
    Dec 8, 2004
    10
    I had played several RPGs before this one, but this was the game that forever sold me to the RPG genre. I now view every other game through FF7-tinted glasses, and anything that's not an RPG just doesn't even come close. Sure there are plenty of crap RPGs out there as well as a few non-RPGs on par with FF7 in terms of gaming goodness (the more recent GTA installments as well as I had played several RPGs before this one, but this was the game that forever sold me to the RPG genre. I now view every other game through FF7-tinted glasses, and anything that's not an RPG just doesn't even come close. Sure there are plenty of crap RPGs out there as well as a few non-RPGs on par with FF7 in terms of gaming goodness (the more recent GTA installments as well as the Halo series come to mind). Still, FF7 is one of the few games to evoke true emotion in me. I cared about the characters. I wanted to find out more about them. I wanted them to succeed. I wanted to be there, traveling with them in their world. I wanted them to exist. This is one incredible game. Expand
  73. JeffM.
    Oct 29, 2004
    10
    If there is a better RPG out there, let me see it so I can destroy it, long live king ff7.
  74. JesseI.
    Mar 26, 2004
    10
    Great game.Great graphics,sound,characters,everything.
  75. Saisci
    Apr 24, 2004
    8
    Nice storyline but the materia system is pretty flawed because if you get just one really good materia there's not much left of the challenge in this game.
  76. TomF.
    Apr 3, 2004
    10
    Greatest game of all time.
  77. EthenM.
    May 24, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever, and it completely changed my life.
  78. AdamC.
    May 28, 2004
    10
    This is the beast game in the world.
  79. EthanH.
    Jun 11, 2004
    10
    It is awesome and should be remade for PS2.
  80. MikeM.
    Jun 16, 2004
    10
    This is the best game ever made. The storyline, music, and gameplay of all the final fantasies were all perfected in this one. It is the best game ever made, and always will be (unless they remake it).
  81. StuartJ.
    Jul 12, 2004
    10
    The best game ever made, only one game in my opinion could ever be nearly as good as this and that is final fantasy VIII mostly due to its amazing music.
  82. MalcolmQ.
    Jul 17, 2004
    10
    Greatest game ever made! An RPG that will be engraved in the hearts of gamers.
  83. RyanH.
    Oct 12, 2005
    10
    Quite simply, the best rpg ever. Second best game ever.
  84. MikeS.
    Dec 23, 2005
    10
    Best game i have ever played the story line is so awsome. sephiroth is the best villian in final fantasy. graphics were ok but there hands were blocks but i dont care bout the graphics it just feels like your there best game i ever played and it cant get any better.
  85. ThomH.
    Feb 21, 2005
    10
    Quite simply the best game ever created. Unlimited replay value, and a story so involving it puts Metal Gear to shame. A pure timeless classic.
  86. Dan
    Apr 15, 2005
    10
    Best Game Ever.
  87. NicholasR.
    May 19, 2005
    10
    Easily the best game ive ever played, bar none.
  88. CodyJ.
    May 9, 2005
    10
    This game was SO fun, that I played it for seven hours non-stop. I never play video games that long. The ending disappointed me a bit and it seemed to be missing some stuff, but it was too fun not to give it a 10.
  89. LewisR.
    Jun 23, 2005
    10
    Best game ever! Amazing storyline that takes you into the game. In the time it was out (1997 ish) I give the game the following unbiased scores: Graphics:10/10. Superior, then. Gameplay:10/10. Detailed yet quick-to-learn combat system and almost total freedom. Sound:10/10. The best music I've EVER heard! Emotionally-charged to suit the atmosphere (personally, made me cry once). Best game ever! Amazing storyline that takes you into the game. In the time it was out (1997 ish) I give the game the following unbiased scores: Graphics:10/10. Superior, then. Gameplay:10/10. Detailed yet quick-to-learn combat system and almost total freedom. Sound:10/10. The best music I've EVER heard! Emotionally-charged to suit the atmosphere (personally, made me cry once). Lifespan:10/10. Depending on how quick you take playing RPGs, between 30 hours and 90 hours. However, to fully enjoy the game, will take roughly 75 hours. Massive. Biggest game ever, undebated. As for 2005, the game would score: Graphics:3/10. Nice cut-scenes but lack of detail, in particular with the characters. Gameplay:8/10. Very simple yet addictive battle system. Could be more detailed. Sound:8/10. Excellent sound quality to set the mood, but based entirely on midi tunes (needs modernising). Lifespan:10/10. Absolutely massive. Seriously. Therefore, to conclude, buy the game. Your life will be poorer without it. I realised that. I would have spent 3 times as much as they were selling it for if I knew what the game was like. Expand
  90. DavidM.
    Sep 1, 2005
    10
    I think this is the best Final Fantasy game ever even though ff10's graphics are way beyond ff7, ff7 has the best storyline and more things to do.FF7 was made in 1997 as you know and even now when ive got my PS2 i still say that Final Fantasy 7 is my no.1 game. Thx
  91. NickC.
    Sep 16, 2005
    10
    Best game ever if you dont like it get out.
  92. Fzukka
    Sep 18, 2005
    10
    One of the best games made. Brilliant storyline and characters are onvolving and very deep. This the first rpg game i played and now i love them. This is the best final fantasy to date. A psp remake of this will be perfect.
  93. DeWayneH.
    Nov 6, 2006
    10
    The best game ever made. I know it is a little bit outdated and the graphics aren't exactly superb, but this is the number one game of all time. And everybody knows that graphics don't make a game, right? It has the greatest storyline of any game, period. The only storyline that comes close would be God of War. The gameplay is awesome. It is so fun that anybody can enjoy it. The The best game ever made. I know it is a little bit outdated and the graphics aren't exactly superb, but this is the number one game of all time. And everybody knows that graphics don't make a game, right? It has the greatest storyline of any game, period. The only storyline that comes close would be God of War. The gameplay is awesome. It is so fun that anybody can enjoy it. The materia system is awesome, any idiot can pick up the controller and have fun. The level uip system is awesome. And it is one of the few Final Fantasies that doesn't have set abilities for certain people. Anybody can be a straight up physical attacker or a healer or a black mage. It doesn't matter. I would give this game a 14 /10, but they won't let me. Expand
  94. NickB.
    Jan 20, 2006
    10
    This was a great game, storyline was excellent (who can forget the scene at the end of disc 1?), music was great as to be expected, but the overworld graphics could have been a little better.
  95. JamesT.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Best game on the ps1. The only little problem is the graphics but who really cares about the graphics its the gameplay that matters and it has great gameplay, also the storyline is one of the best it got me hooked right away. I hope they make a remake of the game.
  96. Mrexxx
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    I just started this game in early 06 and even though the graphics are outdated, it's story makes up for it. Its easily the best game I have played graphics or not.
  97. LeanneT.
    Mar 14, 2006
    10
    I love this game, it's the best I have in my whole range of FF games, for the year it was out in the graphics were ace and they storyloine was so intricate I had to play it over and over, which made me enjoy it evenmore.
  98. JustinG.
    Jun 11, 2006
    10
    The storyline of FF7 imerses you in a complete universe of vivid characters who make the game feel like you are reading a book. Through the 3 discs of the game, you will get hooked on knowing the outcome of the characters. Despite now dated graphics and technology, the nostalgia for fans of the FF series is great.
  99. Sephiroth
    Jun 5, 2006
    10
    This was the best Final Fantasy game Ever! It had the best FF storyline,great Playstation graphics at the time and the audio was phenominal!
  100. WIll
    Aug 15, 2006
    10
    For those of you that say this game sux well... have you actually sat and played it for over 20mins? If so try playing it for a couple of hours and you will very quickly see a story developing. Give it a try guys you will love it. This is the BEST game of all time. One of the first relases for PS1 and so u can accept the graphics which were excellent for the time it was released. And i For those of you that say this game sux well... have you actually sat and played it for over 20mins? If so try playing it for a couple of hours and you will very quickly see a story developing. Give it a try guys you will love it. This is the BEST game of all time. One of the first relases for PS1 and so u can accept the graphics which were excellent for the time it was released. And i dont mind reading what people are saying. You couldn't expect that much talking to be put into such an early game for the PS console so jus get used to it. The story line is very touching and really keeps you playing on and on. It is the best story line ever to exist in a game period. The charactors are good as they all differ greatly to each other. They have there own personalities and own limit break abilities. The game has so many extra (yet not essential) parts to it which you can complete which really makes the game loads more fun. Secret places to explore new weapons and magics to find and ultimate limit breaks are hiding for to find. Expand

Awards & Rankings

2
1
#1 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1997
2
#2 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1997
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. GMR Magazine
    90
    Brought RPGs into the Western spotlight and contained the most debated plot twist of an era. [Feb 2003, p.97]
  2. You can play the game time and time again. Always finding something new, from a new piece of materia to a new place, to defeating the ultimate weapons. The story twists and turns all the time always keeping you guessing as to what will happen next.
  3. Without a doubt, FF7 is one of the top Final Fantasy games out there. It is also one of the best RPG adventures of all time.