Medal of Honor PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 95 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 81 out of 95
  2. Negative: 4 out of 95
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ThomasL.
    Aug 24, 2006
    10
    This is an awesome game. Started the WWII games.
  2. Jan 19, 2011
    8
    It's incredible thinking this game was a PSX game. The graphics and gameplay were simply amazing for it's time. Probably the best entry in the franchise.
  3. Oct 18, 2014
    10
    One of the best games i ever played .
  4. AdolfH.
    Sep 8, 2004
    10
    It kicked my ass and i loved it!
  5. Sep 28, 2014
    10
    well, we have here a rare gem! medal of honor was originally released back in 1999 for the sony playstation, developed by dreamworks interactive and published by EA, this game had alot going for it, after goldeneye on the n64, this is probably the first fps game many people played, but what do i think of this game? well that fact that the story was written by Steven Spielberg is anwell, we have here a rare gem! medal of honor was originally released back in 1999 for the sony playstation, developed by dreamworks interactive and published by EA, this game had alot going for it, after goldeneye on the n64, this is probably the first fps game many people played, but what do i think of this game? well that fact that the story was written by Steven Spielberg is an impressive feature, but the story is kinda ignored because of the gameplay, which brings me onto the next topic, the gameplay is right up there, very similar to goldeneye in a way, you pace through a level, shooting nazis and completing objectives, this might not be a biggie today, but in 1999 it was incredible, and all on the playstation as well! the level design is excellent, although you will get those levels that you will hate, but there are loads of good ones, the physics are rock solid, they are almost realistic, nazis throw grenades back to you, and shooting them in the head will make their helmets fly off, the level design is excellent, with nazi bases and deserted villages to explore, search every corner!, the graphics are a joy, immersive and gritty, they capture nazi bases or occupied villages perfectly, i have some criticisms though, the controls are not so great, the default controls involve, the left analog stick being used for moving and turning, but the controls can easily be changed to a more managable setup in the options menu, there is no minimap either, but because the levels are easy to navigate through, it is not needed, somtimes the objectives are a bit cliche, occasionally you will get the generic find the documents or plant the explosives objectives, but the gameplay doesn't involve just shooting nazis, sometimes you will get an undercover mission that will involve disguising as a nazi, complete with fake credentials that you will have to show to the guards, or get out your silenced pistol and just shoot them in the face, this adds some variety to the game, these gameplay elements along with stunning graphics and rock solid physics make medal of honor a must have for any playstation collection, you can easily get this game for under 5 dollars/pounds these days, it has aged brilliantly, you can shove call of duty ghosts or battlefield 4 up your ass, cos medal of honor 1999 is where its at! Expand
  6. May 1, 2012
    10
    This game will always be in my mind what started my FPS gaming history, as well as ignited my love for WWII and gaming in general. For its time, the gameplay, graphics, controls, and probably most memorable: the art, narrator, and music, had no equal. In some ways, they still have no equal. Truly a classic. You cannot call yourself a FPS lover without going through the fires of war that isThis game will always be in my mind what started my FPS gaming history, as well as ignited my love for WWII and gaming in general. For its time, the gameplay, graphics, controls, and probably most memorable: the art, narrator, and music, had no equal. In some ways, they still have no equal. Truly a classic. You cannot call yourself a FPS lover without going through the fires of war that is the original Medal of Honor. Expand
  7. Jul 17, 2012
    10
    Medal of Honor is the first title in the long-running Medal of Honor series of video games. It was released for the PlayStation in November 1999. The story was created by director/producer Steven Spielberg. In Medal of Honor, the player takes the role of the fictional Lieutenant Jimmy Patterson, a former C-47 Skytrain pilot in the Air Transport Command who was later recruited to the OSS.Medal of Honor is the first title in the long-running Medal of Honor series of video games. It was released for the PlayStation in November 1999. The story was created by director/producer Steven Spielberg. In Medal of Honor, the player takes the role of the fictional Lieutenant Jimmy Patterson, a former C-47 Skytrain pilot in the Air Transport Command who was later recruited to the OSS. [2] The game takes place near the end of World War II, (mid 1944-mid 1945). The goal of the game is to complete objectives, such as destroying enemy positions, and kill enemy German forces in the process.
    The game also includes a split screen deathmatch mode, pitting two players against each other in various maps. Players can also unlock several secret characters after completing the game or through cheat codes, from notable historical figures such as Filipino patriot Jose Rizal, playwright William Shakespeare and even outlandish characters such as a German Shepherd dog and a velociraptor with a The Lost World: Jurassic Park design.
    Expand
  8. Feb 6, 2017
    9
    A true classic that paved the way for the future of FPS games. It's a shame that most games nowadays don't have the soul that the original Medal of Honor had.
  9. May 6, 2015
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. One of the best FPS ever made in history of the video games, anybody who wants to play a classic and a excellent game on the war... this is the game! xD Expand
  10. Feb 16, 2016
    10
    still better than all the new cod games :) LOL the levels still hold up today, the multiplayer is ok and the soundtrack is one of the best ever made. I think that this series deserves a reboot and that reboot can be a HD version of this game.
  11. Oct 5, 2015
    10
    This is the game that started a wonderful franchise of WW II shooters. With its great musical score and fluent gameplay, detailed environments and costumes and some funny voice acting (mainly from the dim-witted nazi soldiers) Medal of Honor does an excellent job of making you feel like you are playing the main role in a WW II movie.

    When i recently played this game again the controls
    This is the game that started a wonderful franchise of WW II shooters. With its great musical score and fluent gameplay, detailed environments and costumes and some funny voice acting (mainly from the dim-witted nazi soldiers) Medal of Honor does an excellent job of making you feel like you are playing the main role in a WW II movie.

    When i recently played this game again the controls felt a bit weird and slow at first, but after some tinckering with the setup of the controller it was alright and felt as smooth as when i first played the game.

    The story mode of Medal of Honor is great, but the multi-player mode is also very entertaining. I spend many hours playing this game with my brother as a young man and we had a blast!

    I rate Medal of Honor 10 out of 10.
    Expand

Awards & Rankings

4
10
#10 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1999
12
#12 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1999
Metascore
92

Universal acclaim - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. What makes this game so great is that it uses a lot of cues from real life events to create believable and exciting missions... If there ever was a crowning jewel in first person shooters on the PlayStation, this is it.
  2. While Medal's mechanics are every bit as sophisticated as "Goldeneye," it's clear that PlayStation isn't up to the task in terms of graphics, though that shouldn't be any surprise. What is does have is gameplay by the trench-load, war movie tension and really grizzly violence.
  3. The graphics are a bit grainy but the fine animation and attention to detail more than make up for it. There are tons of secrets to open up, lots of game options and intense challenging gameplay.