Mega Man X6 PlayStation
  • Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Mega Man X6 Image
Metascore
65

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 18 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: It's been three weeks since Earth's near collision with the space colony Eurasia. The disaster was averted by Zero's heroics. Now, on a bruised and battered planet, tales of rampagning reploids are surfacing. It's up to Mega Man X to investigate these mysteries but it's not going to be easy. Mega Man X must battle through a maze of levels and rescure reploids along the way. Return to battle agagin and again with the new Nightmare System, which randomizes level maps, enemies and endings based on how you play the game. Mega man X is back and now it's personal! Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. The plot is in badly translated Japanese and makes little sense, but still the game is curiously 'unputdownable'.
  2. Decent-looking and extremely fun,...fast, tough, fun and a solid 2D blast from the past that is priced just right at $30.
  3. The kind of game you can’t get out of your mind. Though frustration may make you set it down (I limited myself to about an hour a run) it’s a game you can always come back to.
  4. The environment designs are not as creative, the stages are way too short, and the boss battles are surprisingly easy. [Feb 2002, p.94]
  5. If you're a Mega Man fan, then you've already purchased the game and have been playing to your hearts content. You can move on to other parts of the web-site.
  6. Actually worse than its recent predecessors. [Feb 2002, p.116]
  7. The once fresh and inviting Megaman franchise has grown putrid.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 10
  2. Negative: 1 out of 10
  1. Carnage
    Feb 24, 2002
    10
    I played every game with mega man in it's title, from the old NES games to the new playstation games, and I beat every game within one or two days and i've just got to say that this game is my all-time favorite!!! MMX5 was good because of Zero, but this game is good,with Zero just being a secret character!! It even has got it's voice system back, which was missing in MMX5, so what ya going to say now? Gotta go, greetings to all MMfreaks in the whole world-cArn,Germany. Expand
  2. MeganD.
    Nov 15, 2002
    10
    The iz cool & the voices r n japanese. I think this game iz # 1 & u my think i'm strange but i am not strange,k?
  3. AdrianH.
    Aug 25, 2004
    10
    This game rocks(as in Rockman tee hee)!I played X5 and using Falcon Armor for start is cool!
  4. Jul 14, 2011
    7
    Weird, but still the Mega man that we enjoy and hope too see to come in the next couple years, the Japanese translation feels awkward, and do not feel appealing for an already known franchise. But thats not a flaw, the only flaw was the level design and little annoying trends. Expand
  5. BillyS.
    Sep 13, 2002
    6
    Gull? Whats this zero's in here good he diden't die, O wait my mistake he does die in the end (or should I got killed off) this game is like X meets soup opras! and when zero dies because of his weakend and shamful saber(which can fortunitly be fixed with a power up) he sounds really, realy, really bad another thing can't capcom stick with one voice for zero instead of changing it all the time! I'm Canadian, eh and I can't possibly understand chinese or whatever it was that they were saying!. The power ups were better than x5's but the levels sure weren't! X's amour sucked more than X5's too. Unless you like megaman (Z fans don't play or you'll pay) Any way don't play (30 bucks for this, they should pay us and for anyone that already got this call the cops you were robbed!) Expand
  6. ZeroWrath
    Mar 10, 2002
    6
    Better then Mega Man X5?... Um... Nah. Better then Mega Man X4? Not at all! The very few problems with the series is... How come X is able to beat Zero? [Like in MMX2 ] in all reality if Zero is as powerful as the Mega Man X storyline makes it look like it is, Zero could slash X in half like a hot knife through butter. Number two [and this got better with MMX6] is that all the words of each level and conversation should have people say the things in english [or japanese, their choice] as there would be an option to do so. Also, it would be nice if MMX would have to battle Mega Man. As far as the levels go, I do not want them changed at all. [Off the subject, I have a fan fic about Mega Man X story line on www.ezboard.com] with the board called bzeroswrath you are free to read if you would like. I like the levels because of the difficulty. Besides that, give the player something to enhance replayability. Beat the game with Zero unlock X beat with X get Mega Man and so on. The story line would be as follows [Capcom, are you reading this?] X is captured by Dr. Wily while he got a message by Dr. Wily that Mega Man is revived and held captive by Dr. Wily, and Zero must destroy his own creator to save him. And as X, you try again to destroy Sigma, who now has captured Mega Man and that unlocks him and as him you find out that Zero's girlfriend, Iris is captured by Dr.Cain and and once you unlock her you get the rest of the flower battalion, Orchid, Rose... Read my fanfic. Also there should be a battle game for everyone you unlock. Sounds like fun, huh. I expect such a game for the PS2. Remember you heard it here first... By the way, if they let Zero have a son, his name is Kai and he looks like Zero but with a Silver body armor with black [or gold or whatever looks cool] hair. He has a staff and sword instead of a gun. I expect him [or someone like him if Capcom allows it] soon. I said my piece. Expand
  7. Mar 26, 2012
    3
    Megaman X6, the chink in the chain of the X series. All was going well until this game came along. Though the sprite animations are some of the best seen in the series, X6 has many flaws and outweigh what good was done. I felt the puzzles and difficulty in X6 were quite a bit harder and less sophisticated than previous X games. Even though some times the goals felt impossible in a cheap kind of way, X6 was hard to put down. I give it a base score of 6 point for consistent solid game mechanics. Level progression was interesting and much more dynamic. So far it is my favourite evolution of the original MegaMan formula that I've seen. The formula that was tried and true for So many iterations. I'll give them a point for trying something other than the usual and in my opinion succeeding. The Nightmare system is something that add's a sense of urgency to game progression. Emergencies and secret bosses are always getting in the way of your master plan. It really makes me feel like there's a crisis at hand. The music was bogus. Nothing compared to the standards of composure set by the original X. It sounded like it was produced entirely on someone's home keyboard, which in an 8bit world is fine. When your playback is full digital audio, synthesizer strings and percussion just sound ugly. I found at critical points the atmosphere didn't fit the moment. The Dr Light moments are noteworthy. I also got the impression that it was trying to dynamically change the music as I went through the level and it just wasn't working for me. The music direction really didn't work. 2 points from X6. Music is really important factor for my immersion, and if it doesn't fit well, it chafes me. As far as story went, it's like the entire thing was a denouement. Where ever there was build up, it was always very anti climatic. Though playing as zero was a good time and all, it messed the canon up. I would've rather you had a different mystery partner the whole time, because with x6 ruined series creator's plans for the Zero series. What would have come of the next evolution if X6 left canon as canon. The Bosses. No style. Pretty flat and easy to be fair. I hardly even remember what bosses were there, because they were boring and flat. What difficulty was created was with cheap patterns that weren't memorable to who they were at all. Pretty much the only reason this game got any points at all was due to the fact the mechanics are fun to control and the sprites were always very responsive to my input. They made me feel powerful like I could take on those impossible challenges... Standing there thinking "Are you kidding me?" while still knowing it was possible with X's upgrades. They did that well. For these reasons, I couldn't put this one down despite it's flaws. Collapse

See all 10 User Reviews