Parasite Eve PlayStation
User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 49 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Mar 19, 2013
    5
    I was excited to play this game given my appreciation for survival horror as a genre and squaresoft as a producer. If you have played resident evil (1 or 2) and vagrant story this game is like a mashup of these two. However, the end result was not as good as either. Parasite Eve is not a bad game, but it's not particularly good either. I'll mention the things that I did not like about the game, and you can assume that the rest of it plays well. 1) The storyline seemed under-developed, and implausible (even for a sci-fi game). The characters were bland and uninteresting. 2) The inventory management system needs work. You can carry very few items, and it doesn't really matter what weapons and armor you equip in most (if not all) situations. You constantly have to discard consumables in favor of other items. 3) The combat is plain and doesn't seem to have been well-thought out. You wait your turn, shoot, wait your turn, heal, wait your turn, shoot. Most of the skills and magic are a waste of your time. 4) There was no element of "horror" at all in this survival horror. This is because you always have more than enough ammunition and firepower to kill all of your enemies. You never have to run or worry about what's around the next corner because you can just shoot it to death. That being said, the CG movies of monsters were pretty cool. Finally, The game is short (10-12 hours) but seemed to drag for me. The main character moves frustratingly slow and going back to previously explored areas to double-check for items seems like a chore. Like I said, the game isn't bad, but there are many better RPG's and survival horror games out there. Expand
  2. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    one of the best ps1 games period this is an awesome rpg the battle system is fun and you can actually dodge attacks on your own the storyline is really good and the game has an alternate ending that is sure to please
  3. May 31, 2012
    10
    is the best RPG battle system taking into comparison with final fantasy but the most striking in this game is the story and the scenery much like resident evil, the square could do what no one did, that is to join the features of a game from another company with a 1997 movie and even its battle system, it was perfect, square enix I look "parasite eve 3" with the same story and not the third birthday. Expand
  4. Dec 20, 2012
    8
    I'm not a fan of Survival Horrors, but I'm a huge RPG fan. Actually the game is pretty fun to play, the combat system is a bit chaotic at times, but pretty entertaining. I didn't like the storyline much, but the cinematics are great. The skill/inventory menus are not very convenient and at first it was not so clear how to tune weapons and distribute bonus points. Overall, the game is good even now, in 2012. Expand
  5. Sep 4, 2012
    8
    I didn't own that many PS1 games, but I was sure glad that this was one of them. I of course bought Parasite Eve being a huge fan of Square, but I really didn't know what to expect. I was surprised, and positively, because Parasite Eve was overall a great game with an intense story and game-play. The controls and fighting take a bit to get used to, but once you've got it down your in for a real treat. There still are a few RPG elements to this game, mixed in with the shooter element, and done very well by Square. The plot takes place in N.Y.C., which makes for great scenery and truly blends well with the story. Parasite Eve also has many challenging parts, whether it's a puzzle or a battle, and progressing through different parts of the city is a thrilling experience that will have you hooked until the end. Expand
  6. Sep 6, 2013
    8
    Although being a bit repetitive and difficult to master, the game definitely rewards patience and cunning with an amazing plot and a great lead-up to the sequel. Starting with the few negatives, the game is very repetitive. Being a JRPG, it's expected to have a bit of grinding here and there however it is not as bad as some other JRPG titles. Second off, the way that you find chests and such is quite difficult. Doors and chests are blended into the environment so well that it is sometimes hard to tell what is usable and what is not. The camera system was a tad weird and some combat situations were difficult to maneuver. Once you died a couple of times though it becomes much easier. Lastly, the inventory system was a bit hard to manage, and could have had some work done on it.
    Now that that's out of the way, we can focus on the things that made this game amazing. Being a direct sequel to a novel, I feel that the game adapted very well. The few "important" characters were a bit under-developed but with the way that the game gets you tied in emotionally, that hardly becomes a problem. The cinematics were beautiful for being released 4 years after the console's debut, as well as the in-game graphics. They are easily compared to other leading titles. Overall, Square did not dissapoint. Giving the score some numbers, this what I could come up with;
    Visuals: 10
    Controls: 8
    Story: 9
    Difficulty: 8 (10 being most difficult)
    Overall: 8

    Thanks for reading!
    Expand
  7. Oct 14, 2013
    10
    I wanted to play this when it came out in 1998, but I did not own a PlayStation at the time. I played this in 2003 and I must say I wish I played this when it first debuted. Its a wonderful game with awesome visuals, beautiful music, a decent battle system and one of the first RPGs with a mature story. Highly recommended
  8. Nov 3, 2013
    8
    Parasite eve started being a Resident evil clone
    but i know why,i liked it
    it was a survivor horror and the gameplay was weird
    the story was bored and interesting at the same time
    it wasnt deep but I DONT KNOW HOW THIS LIKE ME
    i think is good,not excellent like resident evil
    but IT WAS SO AWESOME
  9. Sep 8, 2014
    10
    One of the best action rpgs of all time. The story is one of the best in video game history. Only a few games impressed me as much as this masterpiece. The battle system is awesome. It is more action orientated (Vagrant Story with guns) but still kind of turn based. The characters and the setting are formidable. Overall this is the finest mixture of rpg and survival horror on the market.
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Parasite Eve has been one of the only RPGs since Final Fantasy 7 to genuinely deserve any kind of hype, or at least anticipation.
  2. It was nice to play a RPG-type game that was set in a real-world environment instead of some faraway mystical land.