Spider-Man PlayStation

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 101 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 95 out of 101
  2. Negative: 2 out of 101
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 21, 2016
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. This game is pure nostalgia. i remember playing it with my brother non-stop in our child-hood. Personal feelings aside this is a great game in its own right and it is one of the best Spider-Man games ever made. One of the top three easily. Th story line hits home with i's comic book flair as Spidey faces off against some of the most memorable villains in his rouge's gallery like Rhino or Venom. Spidey is framed by a fake Spider-Man and not only has to face his old adversaries but he must also run from the police and other heroes from the Marvel Universe. The story follows a comic format verry closely as it doesn't dive much into Spider-Man's conflict about being torn between the man and the mask. however the simplicity of the story is justified given the game's light hearted tone. The jokes are funny in the cut-scenes and in the combat sequences. The main problem with this game story-wise is that is tries to keep the identity of the master mind secreat but it was a poor attempt to give a plot twist (Spoilers it's Doc Ock). The major highlight was the Venom chapter as Spidey tries to save Mary Jane from him in the sewer. The combat is pretty simplistic but it is still fun and cathartic to punch criminals in the face or to web them up until they die for some reason. Webbing is limited which stays true to the comic unless you are wearing the black suit sinnce it gave him unlimted webbing in the comics. Aside from the black suit and the Spider-armor the alternate costumes don't really change the play style. Some of the combat sequences involve fighting hand to hand or climbing on walls. The city is big but is pretty linear as the entire city is full of fog to prepare for symbiosis. Doc Ock planned to control the city by making more symbiotes which admittedly does not make sense in the long run. These symbiotes can only be beaten by finding some fire webbing to burn them. It is a neat mechanic that I wish would be implemented more in the future. The bosses are simple but they are so much fun to fight against as they provide the right challenge for any Spider-Man fan. This game is not a magnum opus but it will keep you entertained for a long time. Expand
  2. Oct 19, 2015
    8
    "Spider-man, Spider-man,
    does whatever a spider can.
    Spins a web, any size,
    catches thieves, just like flies.
    Look oooooooouuuuuut.........
    here comes the Spider-man!!"
  3. Dec 6, 2013
    10
    the most game played ever the most game completed ever i finished this game more than 70 times played since 2003 until now i love the battles in it ,especially the POLICE CHOPPER CHASE level and Spidey vs Mysterio level,its music are the best music ever used in a videogame epic game the game that made me love Spiderman character its games and its movies
  4. Feb 21, 2013
    8
    This is a really awesome game, and does a great job of representing the web head himself in 3D. this is by far one of the best super hero games ever made, witty dialouge, excellent graphics, great game design, good music (including the original theme!) and a great inclusion of all spideys friends, and vilains. The game plays out its cutscenes like a comic book, which was also really coolThis is a really awesome game, and does a great job of representing the web head himself in 3D. this is by far one of the best super hero games ever made, witty dialouge, excellent graphics, great game design, good music (including the original theme!) and a great inclusion of all spideys friends, and vilains. The game plays out its cutscenes like a comic book, which was also really cool to see, and theres lots of unlockables as well (like comic book covers), which keep the replayability high. The only downside, is that the controls are a bit sluggish. not only that, but there are also some instances of a bad camera, that come up fairly often. regardless however, if your a fan of spider man, or action games in general, then this is an easy recommendation. Expand
  5. Aug 31, 2012
    10
    I remember playing this at a friends house and even though I only played it for a little bit I remember instantly loving this game. Spider-Man is my favorite super hero of all time, and I really wanted to own this game, but not until recently did I finally buy a copy that I played on my PS3. The main reason I didn't buy this game for so long was because I wasn't sure age had been kind toI remember playing this at a friends house and even though I only played it for a little bit I remember instantly loving this game. Spider-Man is my favorite super hero of all time, and I really wanted to own this game, but not until recently did I finally buy a copy that I played on my PS3. The main reason I didn't buy this game for so long was because I wasn't sure age had been kind to it, but I'm glad to say that age has had almost no negative effects on it! The gameplay and controls are still great and the game is still a blast to play. Like any Spider-Man game, comic, or movie one of the coolest parts about this is the villains you get to fight, and you get to fight some of Spider-Man's coolest villains in awesome and challenging boss battles. The story is very well written, and expertly captures the feel of the comics. I couldn't help but smile when I heard Spider-Man toss out hilarious one liners just like in the comics, and interact with other famous Marvel super heroes. This game is awesome and if your a Spider-Man fan this is a must play, sure it could be longer and it's got some issues with the camera, but what old game doesn't? Not only is this the best Spider-Man game I've ever played, it's also super hero game I've ever played, and it's one of my favorite games of all time. Collapse
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    A game filled to the brim of non-stop action, web-swinging and wall crawling. One of the more striking points of the game is it's great plot and sound. Each level is fun and entertaining, making you not want to stop playing. This is accompanied with the voices which fits perfectly for each character. However, the game does suffer from clunky controls which can make it slightly frustratingA game filled to the brim of non-stop action, web-swinging and wall crawling. One of the more striking points of the game is it's great plot and sound. Each level is fun and entertaining, making you not want to stop playing. This is accompanied with the voices which fits perfectly for each character. However, the game does suffer from clunky controls which can make it slightly frustrating at times. But overall with its close attention of detail to the Spider-Man universe and its awesome bonus costumes, this was a game needed to be created for not just Spider-Man fans, but for fans of the linear action genre as well. Expand
  7. Jul 2, 2012
    8
    I remember playing this game a long time ago, but I think I can honestly say in my opinion that this is the best Spiderman game I've played, and that includes beating out Spiderman 2 and Ultimate Spiderman which many consider as the best Spiderman games, which I agree with. This game was so cool though, I never was able to beat it though, because I ended up getting lost somewhere. ThisI remember playing this game a long time ago, but I think I can honestly say in my opinion that this is the best Spiderman game I've played, and that includes beating out Spiderman 2 and Ultimate Spiderman which many consider as the best Spiderman games, which I agree with. This game was so cool though, I never was able to beat it though, because I ended up getting lost somewhere. This game haves the best Venom out of anything, especially better than the Spiderman 3 Venom. Expand
  8. Apr 18, 2012
    8
    The graphics are certainly dated at this point, but this game is still great. There are plenty of secrets and unlockables like costumes, game modes and comic covers to keep you going. The PlayStation version is the superior of the 5 versions of this game (DC, N64, PC, PS,GBC), so definitely pick it up.
  9. MarkD.
    Nov 5, 2006
    8
    Now this is what a good action game should be like true believers - non stop action from start to finish without a pause for breath. Yeah, it's a bit short and a bit linier but who cares when your having so much fun!
  10. Tudaholic
    Oct 21, 2005
    9
    This game is excellent! The only thing bad is the graphics, and the're pretty good for a PSone game.
  11. AdamR.
    Dec 17, 2003
    10
    I never get tired of this game! I just played it again and I have owned it for 3 years.
  12. JasonX.
    Jul 20, 2003
    9
    This game is so good ... you never get bored!!! Of course it has its little little little ''bads'' but its really fun!!!!
  13. MichaelP.
    May 29, 2002
    9
    This was an amazing game. Who wouldn't want be spider man in a battle against venom. I loved this game despite its few flaws.
  14. KevI.
    Aug 23, 2001
    7
    You never get bored of this game :)
  15. Aug 31, 2012
    0
    I remember playing this at a friends house and even though I only played it for a little bit I remember instantly loving this game. Spider-Man is my favorite super hero of all time, and I really wanted to own this game, but not until recently did I finally buy a copy that I played on my PS3. The main reason I didn't buy this game for so long was because I wasn't sure age had been kind toI remember playing this at a friends house and even though I only played it for a little bit I remember instantly loving this game. Spider-Man is my favorite super hero of all time, and I really wanted to own this game, but not until recently did I finally buy a copy that I played on my PS3. The main reason I didn't buy this game for so long was because I wasn't sure age had been kind to it, but I'm glad to say that age has had almost no negative effects on it! The gameplay and controls are still great and the game is still a blast to play. Like any Spider-Man game, comic, or movie one of the coolest parts about this is the villains you get to fight, and you get to fight some of Spider-Man's coolest villains in awesome and challenging boss battles. The story is very well written, and expertly captures the feel of the comics. I couldn't help but smile when I heard Spider-Man toss out hilarious one liners just like in the comics, and interact with other famous Marvel super heroes. This game is awesome and if your a Spider-Man fan this is a must play, sure it could be longer and it's got some issues with the camera, but what old game doesn't? Not only is this the best Spider-Man game I've ever played, it's also super hero game I've ever played, and it's one of my favorite games of all time. Collapse

Awards & Rankings

#12 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 2000
#8 Most Shared PS1 Game of 2000
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 19 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 19
  2. Negative: 0 out of 19
  1. CheckOut
    90
    Add to the mix that there are plenty of secrets to uncover, including cover art, character viewers, training sessions and even costume changes and you have a one loaded game worthy of high praise.
  2. CNET Gamecenter
    80
    Even with its twitchy control and funky camera angles, it's a top-notch action/adventure worthy of the moniker. Excelsior!
  3. There are so many extras, such as collecting new suits, new special powers, and classic comic book covers, that you will play this game for a long time.