Tenchu: Stealth Assassins PlayStation

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 50 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 43 out of 50
  2. Negative: 2 out of 50
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Aug 24, 2011
    10
    Ground breaking game in its day, great control, wonderful soundtrack and voice acting , Great level design and story just the simple concept of enemies that didn't re spawn out of no where and stayed dead added realism that games today seem to miss.Classic
  2. Feb 13, 2013
    10
    Nothing short of classic, Tenchu set the tone for stealth action games with rich atmosphere, insanely awesome ninja techniques, and simple, yet intricate gameplay that still holds up to this day. The music is also a staple in the game, much the same way Nobuo Uematsu's music is used in Final Fantasy. If you haven't played it, you're missin out.
  3. Jan 25, 2016
    10
    Tenchu: Stealth Assassins is an amazing, well rounded stealth game for both the hardcore, or the casual gamer. The atmosphere of running through the shadows and stalking your enemies is always entertaining, whether you sprint through slicing every foe, or sneak by undetected towards the boss. Each level's reply-ability is astounding. And I haven't even gotten to the cheat codes yet. TheTenchu: Stealth Assassins is an amazing, well rounded stealth game for both the hardcore, or the casual gamer. The atmosphere of running through the shadows and stalking your enemies is always entertaining, whether you sprint through slicing every foe, or sneak by undetected towards the boss. Each level's reply-ability is astounding. And I haven't even gotten to the cheat codes yet. The blue screen dominated my childhood, as I'd give my character the ability to shoot bullets from his chest. All in all, this game is one of the best early 3D games, helping to define the stealth genre overall. Expand
  4. Feb 1, 2015
    10
    I remember this as a groundbreaking title back in it's day - one of the first to really push the stealth angle (you could generally only 100% a level by not being detected at all). The graphics were solid at best, but the gameplay and soundtrack more than made up for the visuals. I shudder to think the number of times that I must've played the level with the traitorous clan leader, just soI remember this as a groundbreaking title back in it's day - one of the first to really push the stealth angle (you could generally only 100% a level by not being detected at all). The graphics were solid at best, but the gameplay and soundtrack more than made up for the visuals. I shudder to think the number of times that I must've played the level with the traitorous clan leader, just so that I could listen to the music again. And the fact that the ending was different if you played through as the male/female was just brilliant. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2015
    8
    Flat shading, bad plot, bad controls and bad AI - it is how i would describe this game now. But since it was the first game in series and first 3D stealth game (also first serious, good stealth game) it can be called father of all stealth games. We can forgive these bad things since this game is really old and it was really good when it was released. True classic. Also it has amazingFlat shading, bad plot, bad controls and bad AI - it is how i would describe this game now. But since it was the first game in series and first 3D stealth game (also first serious, good stealth game) it can be called father of all stealth games. We can forgive these bad things since this game is really old and it was really good when it was released. True classic. Also it has amazing soundtrack. It is how legend was born, only to be destroyed after second game. Expand
  6. Jul 23, 2011
    10
    A true classic of the PS1, diverse selection of levels, ground breaking soundtrack great art style. Well worth dusting off and jamming in the disc tray
  7. AnthonyS.
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    Absolutely fantastic game, even five years later, it still stands up well against its contenders. The 'instant kill' sequences are thge best part.
  8. EverinN.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    Even though the controls, gameplay and sound, other than ambience, were good, more levels and enemies could have been added. The game could've featured different uniforms,and "build up" stats to diversify the player's persona. Overall, I loved double jumping acroos the screen w/o touching the ground. Yes, it's possible.

Awards & Rankings

9
12
#12 Most Discussed PS1 Game of 1998
14
#14 Most Shared PS1 Game of 1998
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. The simplicity of the controller functions, along with a decent soundtrack, combine to make a great game for a low price.
  2. A hard, gritty adventure that should be enough to hold off the "MGS" cravings until the domestic release.
  3. The game rivets you to your seat with challenging gameplay, a thought provoking storyline and non-stop suspense as you sneak your way through level after level of action and intriguing twists.