Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 PlayStation

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MichaelF.
    Aug 23, 2002
    10
    This game is so amazing i want to rate it 10000000!
  2. k.y.
    May 4, 2002
    6
    Worst graphic game after 2000.
  3. TiarraA.
    Jun 19, 2002
    10
    Tony hawk's pro skater 3 is the best.
  4. RyanV.
    Dec 30, 2001
    10
    Yo this game ROCKS!!!! Tha BEST SKATEBOARDING GAME EVER!!! It's a two thumbs up! For all you skaters out there, Gotta get this game! The best game!
  5. NatchaiL.
    Jan 19, 2002
    10
    It just ROCKS!!
  6. PatT.
    Jan 26, 2002
    9
    This is a really good game it has great graphics and cool skaters I like the new tricks. I would advise many to buy this game. GO EAGLES!!!!
  7. WilliamH.
    Jan 29, 2002
    3
    I first played THPS3 for the PS2 (my friend's PS2) and it blew my mind. I can honestly say it was one of the best games I've ever played. Then I rented it for my regular PS and it made me sad. I felt ripped off. I expected the graphics to be lower, but I didn't expect that much of a drop. I felt like I was playing THPS2 in the THPS3 levels. It didn't have the smooth I first played THPS3 for the PS2 (my friend's PS2) and it blew my mind. I can honestly say it was one of the best games I've ever played. Then I rented it for my regular PS and it made me sad. I felt ripped off. I expected the graphics to be lower, but I didn't expect that much of a drop. I felt like I was playing THPS2 in the THPS3 levels. It didn't have the smooth feeling of the PS2 version. It just didn't feel like I was playing the same game. Don't get me wrong, I love THPS3, and plan on getting my own PS2 for that game alone, but don't waste your time on the PS version. It's basically Tony Hawk 2 with new levels. Expand
  8. DanielL.
    Dec 26, 2001
    9
    A good game for it's time, but I think that if it came out much earlier before the Playstation 2 version game came out it would be getting more respect for all the work they put into it. I really liked it. As far as graphics go, maybe the game isn't exactly something new but that doesn't make a game what it is. Sound wise I sometimes find myself singing with the song A good game for it's time, but I think that if it came out much earlier before the Playstation 2 version game came out it would be getting more respect for all the work they put into it. I really liked it. As far as graphics go, maybe the game isn't exactly something new but that doesn't make a game what it is. Sound wise I sometimes find myself singing with the song "Blitzkrieg Bop." There are other good songs also. The advanced park editor is a good idea and it doesn't take a rocket scientist to make a good one. The create a skater is also a good idea. All in all I think the game is a great idea with just enough different to keep you from saying "This is just like Tony Hawk 2". If the Playstation 2 version game out later then people would pay it more respect. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Feb 12, 2002
    10
    I can't find the information i'm looking for, but it rocks. It's up to you if you want to play it if you are a skater you will like this game.
  10. SkaterX
    Apr 9, 2002
    10
    This game is the best!!!!
  11. MacL.
    Jul 20, 2002
    10
    This game is awsome. U can do specials and everything.
  12. KatieW.
    Nov 20, 2001
    10
    One of the best games I have ever played.
  13. KevinN.
    Nov 24, 2001
    10
    This game is amazing. The graphics aren't the best but it's worth the price.
  14. CaPTaiNInsan-O
    Apr 17, 2002
    8
    Good game, needs more cheats.
  15. JosephC.
    Dec 26, 2001
    10
    It rules!
  16. May 5, 2011
    8
    It's not the variety the PS2 version is -- and the graphics are a bit dated, even for the PS1. However, the variety in skateboarding combos, missions, and level design are far from missing.
  17. Jul 14, 2011
    9
    Addictive and very fun, a lot of varied tricks and customizable stuff. The soundtrack is badass and awesome, One of the last games and probably great for the PS.
  18. Jan 10, 2015
    7
    It's a good port if you didn't have a PS2, Gamecube, or XBOX back in the day. the graphics are fair and the levels looks identical to the other ports but they did have to make it look a little different along with the soundtrack which some songs are missing. I prefer The PS2 version because it has way better graphics and online play.
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 8 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. 96
    At first glance all I could think about was the PS2 version of this game and feel the dread that I would have to play Tony Hawk on the PlayStation. But once I got past the graphics and low frame rate I actually started to have fun.
  2. If you're not ready to commit to the PlayStation 2 yet, and you've grown weary of the levels in "Tony Hawk 2," then Tony Hawk's Pro Skater 3 is just the ticket.
  3. Tempting to compare & criticize against previous versions, but stands well on it’s own.