• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Apr 19, 2005
User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 16 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 13 out of 16
  2. Negative: 2 out of 16

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JoeR.
    Jun 18, 2005
    8
    Tightest ATV game EVER, ya herd.
  2. BillyF.
    May 15, 2005
    10
    This game owns, online is great!
  3. M.Webb
    May 14, 2005
    9
    The negative reviews from major sites for this game leave me scratching my head. The framerate is great! Yes, it slows to a crawl during a racing wipeout animation but that only lasts for less than two seconds. Otherwise, the framerate during racing, including cornering, is quite solid. And what the negative reviews do not tell you, is that during Free Run, Hot Laps and Freestyle, when The negative reviews from major sites for this game leave me scratching my head. The framerate is great! Yes, it slows to a crawl during a racing wipeout animation but that only lasts for less than two seconds. Otherwise, the framerate during racing, including cornering, is quite solid. And what the negative reviews do not tell you, is that during Free Run, Hot Laps and Freestyle, when you are the only rider, the framerate goes through the roof and the driving as well as the wipeouts are thirty frames a second or better. The load times are on par with THPS Remix. Overall, Blazin' Trails is challenging to be sure with very realistic physics, but that is what makes it satisfying to play. The depth is astounding. There are tuning and customization options, many tracks, lots of ATV's and gear and a fantastic handlebar cam that looks identical to the one used in ATV Off-Road Fury 2 for the PS2. I have Metal Gear Acid, THPS Remix and Wipeout Pure and this game is superior to all of them. If you like racing games with realism and depth then you won't be dissapointed with Blazin' Trails. Collapse
  4. J.Moore
    May 6, 2005
    9
    I really dont see why people hate the controls with this game. At first, it can be frustrating, but overtime you get adjusted to it and it fits really well with the PSP. The super tight controls of the prevoius games are gone, leaving a more drifting, realistic touch to it, rather than cornering supertight everytime. The A.I. can get really tough but it only makes for a more challenging I really dont see why people hate the controls with this game. At first, it can be frustrating, but overtime you get adjusted to it and it fits really well with the PSP. The super tight controls of the prevoius games are gone, leaving a more drifting, realistic touch to it, rather than cornering supertight everytime. The A.I. can get really tough but it only makes for a more challenging experience. Overall the graphics are incredible for a portable, soundtrack is well put together, and the career offers a lot of depth to it, basically everything the PS2 has. My only complaint is difficulty sometimes. It can get a little difficult in the later times with rhythum sections and controls, just due to the smallness of the controls. Not much of a complaint, but the only thing keeping it from a 10. Expand
  5. Dom
    May 5, 2005
    3
    I love the atv series. This game does not measure up. The controls are not the greatest, the challenges this game presents just are not worth the time. What I mean is that you have to memoriez, the lay out of the track to suceed in any race, it does not matter how good you are, the tracks are unforgiving. Maybe I am a 30 year old with the attention span of 13 year old , but I'll I love the atv series. This game does not measure up. The controls are not the greatest, the challenges this game presents just are not worth the time. What I mean is that you have to memoriez, the lay out of the track to suceed in any race, it does not matter how good you are, the tracks are unforgiving. Maybe I am a 30 year old with the attention span of 13 year old , but I'll stick with Ridge Racer for now.....can't wait till SSX comes to the psp. Expand
  6. M.Gale
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    Extremely challenging, but very well made and fun. Great physics engine. A game for older people who like challenges, DO NOT buy for people under 13 or people with short attention spans.
  7. DougR.
    Apr 29, 2005
    9
    I'm frankly surprised at the generally average to poor reviews this game is receiving. The complaints about the controls are overblown. Are the reviewers using the correct tires for the track surface type? The online play is the best so far in a game on a handheld. I agree that the framerate is choppy in crashes during races against 3 other opponents but it does not affect the actual I'm frankly surprised at the generally average to poor reviews this game is receiving. The complaints about the controls are overblown. Are the reviewers using the correct tires for the track surface type? The online play is the best so far in a game on a handheld. I agree that the framerate is choppy in crashes during races against 3 other opponents but it does not affect the actual racing. It's a tough game, but not any more than so than Wipeout Pure. Due to the online play, I find myself playing this title much more than NFSUR or Wipeout. If you liked the PS2 ATV Offroad Fury games, give this one a shot. Expand
  8. BillL.
    Apr 22, 2005
    9
    Great game, control is fine. I use mostly the d pad for control and its not harder to control than a game like tony hawk or ridge racer. Great multiplayer modes, tons of replay value, graphics are decent-relative to the rest of the handheld world-pretty sweet
  9. MattW.
    Apr 22, 2005
    7
    It just takes a bit of getting used to.
Metascore
63

Mixed or average reviews - based on 32 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. 50
    Because the PSP buttons (including the shoulder buttons) are in such close proximity to each other, your fingers are constantly tumbling over each other to pull off the right stunt.
  2. 60
    Essentially a collection of the same old stuff we've been playing on the PS2 for the last few years, Blazin' Trails fails to tantalize the senses but rather frays the nerves with a sloppy frame rate and awkward controls.
  3. Unfortunately, the control isn't anywhere near at tight as the previous PS2 games, and you'll often find yourself overcompensating and weaving around the track. It doesn't ruin the game, but it makes it harder than it was designed to be.