Coded Arms PSP

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Jul 6, 2005
User Score
6.5

Mixed or average reviews- based on 61 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 61
  2. Negative: 16 out of 61
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. KevinS.
    Oct 5, 2005
    5
    If you are a PC 1st person shooter fan you will find this game cumbersome. The button combinations were difficult to get used to. This is especially true if you are used to a keyboard and mouse arrangement like I am. The graphics were nice, but the game was a little too dark. I was hard to see enemies unless you zoomed. I think I'll stick with my PC for this kind of game format.
  2. BrodieS.
    Jul 14, 2005
    6
    At first.. i was bored to tears..no wait, scratch that.. at FIRST i was fighting the stiff inaccurate controls, then i was bored to tears. Self determination won out over time, however and after a couple levels into the game, things got better.. better weapons, more interesting arenas, slightly cooler enemies.. all in all a decent effort, though i have to echo the negative comments listed At first.. i was bored to tears..no wait, scratch that.. at FIRST i was fighting the stiff inaccurate controls, then i was bored to tears. Self determination won out over time, however and after a couple levels into the game, things got better.. better weapons, more interesting arenas, slightly cooler enemies.. all in all a decent effort, though i have to echo the negative comments listed above. not a whole lot here beyond shooting one enemy after another in brainless repetition again and again and again... It's definatly no shrunk down Half-Life, Far Cry, Socom, Halo or even a Doom.. it's probably the most repetitive FPS i've played, but it still might help get you through the PSP game dryspell and can be fun if your dying to play a FPS on your PSP. As a side note, i played Socom for PSP at E3 this year and it remedies almost all these problems(with some control tinkering)..and will definatly be a must have when available. Expand
  3. [Anonymous]
    Jul 4, 2005
    5
    The good point is, that the control scheme is very flexible and you can move around easyle after some ten minutes. The bad point is, that after the same amount of time the game already gets boring, because you just encounter huge box-rooms that are joined by doors, tunnels an elevators. Even with different graphic-settings, everything looks the same afte a while. While the graphics have The good point is, that the control scheme is very flexible and you can move around easyle after some ten minutes. The bad point is, that after the same amount of time the game already gets boring, because you just encounter huge box-rooms that are joined by doors, tunnels an elevators. Even with different graphic-settings, everything looks the same afte a while. While the graphics have some nice drawing effects, the animations of the robots are stiff and every rooms looks more or less the same. The Progammers mixed them ramdomly together, but it would have been better, whne they made the effort for a true campain with memorizable locations. This just looks like a basic random map generator for quake. For single player, the only thing that is supposed to keep you up playing, are weapon updates, but this is not enough. There is no story nor a different goal than finding an exit. Even for the first FPS on the PSP this is a bad game. Expand
  4. NickB.
    Sep 11, 2005
    7
    Not as satisfying as Death Jr. or Dead to Rights, but still fun and visually appealing. The controls are a little ackwards, but older gamers used to the strange control schemes seen in FPS's from the PS1 days will feel some deja vu here. The graphics and sounds are very atmospheric, however, and I have enjoyed my time with this game, unlike some other FPSs on other consoles.
  5. AramisG.
    Jul 11, 2005
    5
    Coded Arms has many of the ingredients of a great FPS but the meal wasn
  6. WillF.
    Jul 13, 2005
    6
    The visuals and the effort are there but the controls just dont feel right without 2 analog sticks i have found that the best setup ist using 2 pads rather than just 1 analog stick, but no mater how i set it up the controls just didnt feel right. the game was still a fun game to play just a little frustrating at times. i would have liked to have more open levels. overall i recommend thisThe visuals and the effort are there but the controls just dont feel right without 2 analog sticks i have found that the best setup ist using 2 pads rather than just 1 analog stick, but no mater how i set it up the controls just didnt feel right. the game was still a fun game to play just a little frustrating at times. i would have liked to have more open levels. overall i recommend this game to any fan of first person shooters. Expand
  7. GabeC.
    Jul 16, 2005
    7
    Great handheld fun. Unfortunately, it still needs a story that immerses and motivates the player through generic level layouts. Levels are square rooms that lead to more square rooms. Graphics are top notch though. Controls aren't too tough to get used to. Left thumbstick is movement. Right four buttons are head/aiming controls. Similar to Halo. Every button is reconfigurable. Great Great handheld fun. Unfortunately, it still needs a story that immerses and motivates the player through generic level layouts. Levels are square rooms that lead to more square rooms. Graphics are top notch though. Controls aren't too tough to get used to. Left thumbstick is movement. Right four buttons are head/aiming controls. Similar to Halo. Every button is reconfigurable. Great game, but no immersion. Less immersive than the original Doom games. Only problem... the levels are boring, no matter how nice they look. Play it, you'll agree. Expand
  8. B.Allan
    Jul 25, 2005
    6
    I have never played a more generic, dull and shallow game in my life. Run down a square passage, enter a square room, shoot some basic boring enemys with no AI to speak of, shoot the lead enemy,gab the key and thats the end of the level. Thats it, six levels per world, three worlds, 2 mins per level, hoe long it that gonna take you? not long. Still the multi player is great and realy easy I have never played a more generic, dull and shallow game in my life. Run down a square passage, enter a square room, shoot some basic boring enemys with no AI to speak of, shoot the lead enemy,gab the key and thats the end of the level. Thats it, six levels per world, three worlds, 2 mins per level, hoe long it that gonna take you? not long. Still the multi player is great and realy easy to set up, plus you can use the weapons you got in the short time you played the single player mode. Expand
  9. ZemZ.
    Jun 21, 2007
    7
    It's a good solid FPS with some mionor concerns. it's a rather generic game but don't get me wronge it's fun to play & a great on the go FPS, my biggest concern is that your health is saved when you beat a level making for some frustration do overs. But unless you are a compleat braindead Zombie there is plenty of entertainment to find with in this virtual world.
  10. BillS
    Jul 18, 2005
    7
    A very solid FPS. Visually lush within the three basic environments it presents, CODED ARMS provides the basics of a decent shooter while setting up the 'twist' of having everything be within a virtual world. Items are files or apps and have filenames instead of titles. Enemies and destructible objects vanish in a cloud of binary code. Nice little touches like this set the game A very solid FPS. Visually lush within the three basic environments it presents, CODED ARMS provides the basics of a decent shooter while setting up the 'twist' of having everything be within a virtual world. Items are files or apps and have filenames instead of titles. Enemies and destructible objects vanish in a cloud of binary code. Nice little touches like this set the game slightly above the redundant and abbreviated mediocrity of only three area types and somewhat short levels. In other words, it's pretty, creative, a technical tour de force and a quick play. Here's hoping the ADD-ON menu proves to be supported by Konami in the form of new levels and areas, like Wipeout Pure. Controls are as highly customizable as one could expect on the PSP - and will become the standard (in this sense) by which all subsequent FPS will be judged. Those criticizing the control scheme simply have not logged any time in the game, period. Within an hour or so, you'll be strafing circles and jumping railings with no problem. The slightly touchy and subsequently imprecise analog control is essentially solved with auto-'magnetic'-style targeting. Brilliant, and it works like a charm. An FPS story is irrelevant and Coded Arms is suitably scant in this regard. Last thing I want to do when waiting to run down halls and blast my friends is sit through a bloody cinematic about why we're there, blah blah blah. Bottom line, this is going to be great fun for FPS fans who just want to blast each other via local WiFi deathmatch. Also good for casual FPS players who don't obsess over the latest texture hack for HL2. Those elitist FPS fanatics, however, will find Coded Arms too short, too narrow of environmental scope and too limited in the number/variety of adversaries. The only people complaining about control will be the those who haven't really played and tweaked with the game. Expand
  11. Jan 8, 2012
    7
    The PSP might need some good FPS games,but Coded Arms feel like a Shooting Games that we have seen it before.But i think if they make a good storylines and improve their gameplay,that might do :P

Awards & Rankings

#9 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
Metascore
59

Mixed or average reviews - based on 42 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 42
  2. Negative: 4 out of 42
  1. Shallow combat meets nonexistente level design in a battle for FPS mediocrity. [Aug 2005, p.89]
  2. PSM Magazine
    70
    Feels a lot clunkier than your average PC FPS. [Aug 2005, p.84]
  3. 85
    The white-hot fire fights are so intense they actually made our underarms moist. The PSP screen practically shudders with explosions, shotgun fire and discarded shell casings.