User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 34 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 23, 2013
    2
    What a waste of money. I was shocked to see that there was a continuation from the first and I kept asking myself "How could there be?" Well simple, it says it gives some more details at what happens before and after some of the events from the first. That does not matter, what does matter is that it is NOT a game, it is a movie/book. You might as well have no interaction at all, you only get to pick between two choices sometimes. The story makes no sense at all. It starts out as everyone going back again which is never explained to how all these people came back to life and doesn't even explain the ending level. Yet why should it explain anything? If you see the so called "ending" you'll know why. I does not offer anything to the first title and does not explain a single thing about anything. Cash in, pure and simple. Fan of the first, then stay far away from this. . . very far. Collapse
  2. Feb 14, 2014
    1
    How do you take a game that was already pretty slow, had awful writing and barely any gameplay? Corpse Party: Book of Shadows shows you how; remove almost all elements of gameplay from the previous game, increase the length of the reading ten fold and design a terrible navigation system that is almost as slow as reading the game to begin with.

    How bad is the writing? How much more
    reading is there compared to the last game? The developers added in a fast forward function simply so you could avoid the actual story and simply get to the decision making parts of the game. That is how bad it is, it's so terrible the developers realized it and added a way to circumvent the only thing that makes a visual novel a visual novel, the reading.

    I was slightly interested in the whole concept of alternative realities and the concept of saving people's lives from the first game that died, but there's less of alternative realities and more of just the same people dying as before.

    I don't know how they managed to make it so much worse then the first one, but they managed to do it. I am glad I didn't actually pay for this game, I would have burnt it in the fireplace in a fit of rage. They could have had something really nice on their hands and they fumbled it up even worse then imaginable.
    Expand
  3. Apr 2, 2013
    4
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. It's not all that bad, but as a follow up to the first corpse party game it's disappointing. This time around it's a point and click game where you move from room to room with the most generic map system I've ever seen. The ratio between gameplay and pressing X through dialogue is about 20 to 80 percent, sometimes I almost forgot there was any interactivity. The sections you do play are very easy and don't require much thought at all. To add insult to injury, everywhere you go looks the exact same as everywhere else with only a few exceptions, so exploration feels pretty gimmicky. They literally use the same drawing for most of the hallways and even most of the rooms, they're just mirrored like we wouldn't know the difference. The story is equally shallow, at least for most of the scenarios. The first 7 chapters of the game don't even take place in the official canon of the story, and even though the voice acting and writing stay very true to the first game, the stories aren't nearly as motivating. 6 out of 7 of them end horribly no matter what choices you make, which betrays what was so good about the story of the first. The sense of urgency when you or a friend are in danger dies pretty quickly once you realize that the characters are only there as bait for torture porn. And the explanation for it is a joke, basically just 'they die because they're destined to die.' The only chapter that adds anything to the original story is the final one but it's hardly worth going through all the trouble just to unlock it. I will say that it does do a good job of tieing back to the original story and explains a few things, but it's short lived and sequel baits on a cliff hanger. Can't in my right mind recommend it. Expand
  4. Jan 23, 2013
    0
    What a waste of money. I was shocked to see that there was a continuation from the first and I kept asking myself "How could there be?" Well simple, it says it gives some more details at what happens before and after some of the events from the first. That does not matter, what does matter is that it is NOT a game, it is a movie/book. You might as well have no interaction at all, you only get to pick between two choices sometimes. The story makes no sense at all. It starts out as everyone going back again which is never explained to how all these people came back to life and doesn't even explain the ending level. Yet why should it explain anything? If you see the so called "ending" you'll know why. I does not offer anything to the first title and does not explain a single thing about anything. Cash in, pure and simple. Fan of the first, then stay far away from this. . . very far. Collapse
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 23
  2. Negative: 2 out of 23
  1. Mar 24, 2013
    72
    Wobbly in the gameplay department, it still packs an eerily disturbing punch. [Apr 2013, p.79]
  2. There's enough gore-spillage here to satisfy that Japanese horror hardcore. [Apr 2013, p.109]
  3. Mar 21, 2013
    48
    Does a good job of encapsulating the unique feel of Japanese horror, but only the most dedicated fans of the genre will persevere through the excessive description and dull mechanics in order to unlock every ending here. [Issue#229, p.83]