• Publisher: Tecmo
  • Release Date: Mar 30, 2010
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 0 out of 34
  2. Negative: 24 out of 34
  1. Fun, deceptively deep, but the 'globe' physics fail to distract from a lack of variation.
  2. The simple attack-defend volleyball games are the true beauty of Zack Island, frequently raising the pulse as you battle to deliver that killer blow. [May 2010, p.104]
  3. Dead or Alive Paradise is basically Extreme 2 ported to Xbox 360 without any improvements, and some features entirely cut off, like the scooter mini-game. The activities are few, poor in gameplay and boring after a (little) while. Interesting (for some) could be the collection of erotic videos and bikinis, but the user's entertainment will anyway collapse way too early. Only for the greatest fans of the franchise.
  4. Somewhere buried in this amalgamation of minigames and peepshow videos is a convoluted relationship management game with a bare skeleton of backstories. [Jun 2010, p.76]
  5. 56
    At best forgettable; at worst downright creepy. [Issue#192, p.89]
  6. 50
    Dead or Alive Paradise is a poorly conceived, undersized grouping of mini-games that aren't aided by the visuals' ability to sell the characters' sex appeal.
  7. Dead or Alive has never been so far away from anything that has to do with a Paradise. This game's basically a port from the Xtreme spin-off that gamers received on Xbox 360 a few years ago, with the inclusion of some stupid flirting-sim, tons of objects and not-very-interesting minigames that will only find success with the die-hard fans of the series. Forget about it if you want to have some real fun with your PSP.
  8. This game is only for those who enjoyed dressing up a Barbie-doll!
  9. Sometimes beauty is just not enough.
  10. 50
    Most should pass on this one, but if your swimsuit area is specifically turned on by the scantily-clad ladies of DoA, then Paradise's brand of portable soft-porn may just do it for you.
  11. If you're tempted, we advise you take a cold shower and reconsider.
  12. We accept there's a place for this sort of thing, but it fails on the standard of its minigames. [June 2010, p.78]
  13. A complete disappointment on all fronts and shouldn't be played by anyone.
  14. Dead or Alive: Paradise tries to be a game, but finally it is an indescribable program what has loose in the easy way with sexy beautiful women and free erotic moments. It is a short game, lacking in minigames and featuring poor gameplay, and most importantly, the visuals, has some issues with animations. A good game to see, a bad game to play.
  15. Not only is Dead Or Alive: Paradise a bad game, it also drags down whatever reputation its namesake carried.
  16. For those who tend to respect the work of videogame developers, maybe finding the good where others have not bothered to look, dealing with a product like Dead or Alive Paradise is somewhat shocking. Apart from the overwhelming "fan service", apart from the almost-nude pretty girls which in theory should tickle the lowest instincts of us, there is very little to justify the purchase of this "game".
  17. 40
    Only Tecmo could produce a game with bikini-clad hotties on a tropical island and make us loathe it. Dead Or Alive Paradise fails due to its lack of content, unpolished visuals, ear-grating audio and lack of anything beneficial to the Dead Or Alive series.
  18. And, well, that’s about it. You jump between islands (well, still shots of islands), you give and receive arbitrary gifts from Zack and the other girls which supposedly determine who will and won’t be your friend (these girls really are quite shallow y’know) and you play a bunch of dire mini-games. If that sounds fun – Paradise is the place for you, or Zack Island, or, whatever it’s called.
  19. We often complain that the PSP doesn't get enough games but I would rather have fewer quality titles than something as bad as Dead or Alive Paradise.
  20. If it's erotic imagery you're after, just get some porn. The visuals will be more realistic, the acting will be better and the plot will make more sense.
  21. An affront. [Issue#96, p.114]
  22. While Dead or Alive: Paradise may appear exciting to a sex-starved 16-year-old, the game is insulting to all other audiences; a huge backwards step in an industry desperately trying to mature. Remember this, kids: ultimately you're getting yourself worked up over polygon meshes, skin coloured textures and clever algorithms. Unless you're really struggling for ways to entertain your libido, the game should be categorically avoided.
  23. Dead or Alive: Paradise is only a useless set of mini-games that come with the casting of beautiful girls of Dead or Alive.
  24. Avoid at all costs. Playability is awful and even the girls aren't that sexy: they are destroyed by low polygon count models and horrible textures.
  25. It's a feminist's nightmare wrapped up in the plaything of a horny and naive adolescent boy, with some underlying gameplay dynamics reminiscent of The Sims. Truly, it's confused.
  26. 30
    Paradise fails on every level. As a collection of minigames it’s woefully inept. As an adult Animal Crossing-style gift-swap holiday it’s devoid of personality and any sense of interaction. As a pervert’s plaything, it’s about as arousing as a Chanel 5 softcore skin flick – the PSP supports MP4s, download the real thing if that’s what you want.
  27. This incredibly boring, unimaginative voyeurism safari for PSP is the low point of the DoA-Franchise. It seems that Tecmo simply wanted to design a look-at-boobies simulator – and even that doesn't work because the graphics are astonishingly bad. The only special thing about Paradise is that it makes you want to wash your eyes.
  28. To facilitate the stalking, there's a present-giving mechanic. [June 2010, p.119]
  29. 20
    Such a regressive, unexciting game deserves nothing but our collective scorn: it insults the medium and its audience. The greatest kick in the teeth, though? Every website and magazine will go to the effort of writing a review because it's guaranteed to provide a steady stream of traffic. Look - I'm doing one right now! Sex sells no matter how loathsome and uninspired the tacked-on game proves to be, and everyone at Tecmo obviously knows it.
  30. A virtual peep show that's tragically short on titillation, let alone gameplay or entertainment.
  31. The concept of the game is flimsy, and lacks any decent gameplay, sense of accomplishment, or suitable visuals. It's also painfully shallow, and unlikely to satisfy even the most desperate of stalkers. Dead or Alive: Paradise is a poorly-made game that's best left for dead.
  32. No matter which aspect is touched on, I absolutely fail to see the point of Dead or Alive: Paradise.
  33. There is no reason for this game. It's not fun to play, it's not sexually exciting, it's not ... anything. You're actually an idiot if you can orgasm while playing this. Now let's never speak of it again.
  34. Everything about the game reeks of both not understanding women at all, and then not understanding how to make a game that is allowed to be naïve as long as it's full of fan service that we can get off to.
User Score
5.0

Mixed or average reviews- based on 30 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 6
  3. Negative: 2 out of 6
  1. Sep 28, 2012
    7
    Well probably soon Tecmo could possibly transfer the XBOX DOA Xtreme franchise 1 and 2 transported to the PS3 as well. Well I agree with the critics a little bit, sometime it wasn't meant to feel the same way as what the fans want in a Dead or Alive game. I don't have a Playstation Vita yet, but hopefully I'll play Paradise. I still love the DOA girls, all they wanna do is have some fun. Full Review »
  2. Sep 3, 2010
    7
    a game that is based on your love for the DOA girls mixed with how much you like volleyball . i use to play in tourneys so i love me my volleyball . i dont care much for the dress up part with the girls but the volley ball is pretty solid although still has the same camera issue's it would be nice if the camera was adjustable to differnt views and they had some tourney style play . this is basically a direct port of DOAX2 for the 360 with things taken out instead of added minus they did add one new girl . there are no new swim suites from what ive seen so if your into collecting all that and where hoping for new stuff you can forget it unlessed i missed them. the graphics for the PSP are actaully pretty good minus the girls do have alittle jaggy look . its only 29.99 new but since the reviews wernt good i waited to get it cheaper and have already gotten a copy of it on ebay new for $15 . which after playing it is about the right price. they removed the water slide and jet ski racing and online play. which didnt care much for the water slide but the jet ski's were kinda fun and i guess no one played the first one online any way because the servers sucked so bad. so if you are a fan of DOAX 1 amd 2 you will probubly enjoy this as long as you are not expecting any thing new. Full Review »
  3. Oct 21, 2013
    10
    The in-game economy is pretty fun, the poker games are the best games on there, the rest are really fickle. It's an okay game if you don't take it seriously, it's a video game calm down liberals. Full Review »