User Score
7.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 103 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 88 out of 103
  2. Negative: 10 out of 103

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 8, 2010
    9
    This game is a break from reality. I bought this game because i had a psp go and was dieing for Kingdom Hearts BBS, but if you have been following the latest news on psp and psp go BBS isn't available for the psp go and chances are sadly that it might never be. So knowing Square Enix was behind BBS i thought id give Dissidia a try as an attempt to scratch the itch. And was i pleasantly surprised! If your a Final Fantasy fan this game is a must, if you know nothing about FF this game is still a must. At time its frustrating in difficulty but nothing is more satisfying then destroying your foe with a monster of an attack that after dodging a sure loss. I battle mechanics take some time to get used to but this game is going for $19.99 on PSN right now and ill tell you this game is easily worth $39.99. Expand
  2. Feb 17, 2011
    10
    A reunion of almost all the Final Fantasy antagonists and protagonists, fighting for two "new" gods Chaos and Cosmos - what's more do you need? Yes, the story is lame, but the action is vibrant and lively, the graphics is top notch for PSP, the control is seamless (albeit with some slight learning curve), and the soundtracks are to die for! As a PSP game, it is a must pick, and as a Final Fantasy game, I personally think it could beat up all the games in the franchise. Expand
  3. Sep 16, 2011
    9
    The biggest strength of Dissidia is its explosive, breathtaking battles in the sky and on land. Each character has their own unique set of moves and mastering each of them gives the game replay value. Purchasing accessories, weapons and items adds depth and gives you something to work towards. The games' weaknesses stem from an uninteresting plot and painful dialogue that is filled with empty angst and the recycled use of the words dreams, friends and hope. This game will obviously appeal more to FF fans but I think anyone can appreciate the most innovative fight mechanics on the PSP. Expand
  4. Nov 20, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy Dissidia is a fighting consisting of characters from the first 10 main franchise titles (I-X) and includes some additional characters from XI and XII. The game includes a unique battle system that combines RPG and fighting elements. Both fans of the FF series and fighting fans will surely love this game. With a total of up to 20 characters with 2 additional characters, players may customize their characters with equips and techniques making different combination of attacks possible. Along with that a very long storyline with all sorts of twists and turns never before seen. Fans will surely live the nostalgic life when playing this game. The sound effects and music are revitalize in this game and graphics are clear and crisp. Fans will surely enjoy this perfect fighting RPG classic. Expand
  5. Nov 20, 2011
    9
    A recommended not only fighting game to fans of Final Fantasy, but also for fans of fighting games with RPG touches. With a a story with many gaps, the best graphics of the PSP for a fighting game, a incredible OST with the best of the Final Fantasy (including main characters fighting face to face) and a high level of replay value, Square Enix shows that not only makes RPG
  6. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    When I first saw this game. I thought of it as an adventure rather than a fighting combat kind of thing. So I bought it. When I first tried it. I thought is as a lame game. But when I unlocked more characters and clothing I got hooked up. I wanted more. So I bought the prequel to this game, Dissidia 012: Duodecim Final Fantasy.
  7. Apr 21, 2011
    0
    I've never played a Final Fantasy game before. The closest I was to Final fantasy was playing the Kingdom Hearts games. So when I heard about Dissidia and its gameplay, I decided to try out the demo on the PSN, and I actually enjoyed it. So I got the game, and it was pretty sweet. I didn't really care for the plot in this game, so I wasn't really disappointed by it as much as some of you. What was disappointing was the fact that characters would come to the exact location three or four times. Seriously, were those the only areas the characters could explore? Also, the characters' facial expressions weren't as strong as other Square-Enix PSP games like Birth by Sleep and (from what I've seen on youtube) Crisis Core, making them look like puppets instead of actual people. But don't let any of that stuff keep you from buying this game. As my first Final fantasy game, it was a very solid experience that made me really interested in the Final Fantasy series. Collapse
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 61 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 61
  2. Negative: 1 out of 61
  1. Fighting game with popular characters from the famous Final Fantasy series comes (unsurprisingly) with RPG elements and goes very well with it. [Oct 2009]
  2. 69
    Dissidia: Final Fantasy is a game that won't please the majority of the audience. It's a bit in between genres. Fighter fans will feel there are too many rpg elements, while RPG fans will feel it lacks depth. Square Enix also assumes that everyone knows the entire Final Fantasy history, catering this game towards the fans. Everyone else should try this game before buying it.
  3. Dissidia: Final Fantasy is technically the best PSP game so far. Also it’s a lot of fun to fight with the characters out of the different parts of the Final Fantasy series.