Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. 95
    Gamers who are used to contemporary titles may find this one a little too simplistic and old for their tastes but if you can look beyond that, you'll be treated to an amazing rendition of a classic console RPG. [July 2007, p.86]
  2. As the traditional RPG goes the way of the dodo, a play through the original Final Fantasy is a nice, entertaining way to rediscover the genre’s roots and remember why a lot of us got into these games in the first place. And this really is the ultimate remake of the game that started it all.
  3. The gameplay is tried and true, not attempting to hide how simple the battle system really is.
  4. Far more than a cynical cash-in, this PSP version of Final Fantasy is the perfect opportunity to see where it all began.
  5. It's definitely old-school, but it's just as fun and charming as it was 20 years ago - only with modern tweaks that make it even better. [Aug 2007, p.83]
  6. 80
    Anyone coming to this game free of any prior experience with Final Fantasy in its previous incarnations will not be disappointed and longtime fans of the series in general will be gratified by witnessing the roots of such a storied franchise. However, those hardcore fans that have played the GBA version may find little to bring them back except the luscious screen resolution of the PSP.
  7. If you’re new to the FF universe, consider this game as your initiation into the fold.
  8. This is the best version of this game out there, and every RPG fan should experience the original "Final Fantasy" at least once. [July 2007, p.107]
  9. Despite the game generally being the same as it was the last few times I played it, the PSP version pulled me right back in as if it were a completely new experience, and I didn’t want to let go.
  10. Final Fantasy I Anniversary for the PSP is a must purchase for fans that may have missed out on previously released versions.
  11. Buy it if you didn't play it the first time, but otherwise prepare to be disappointed. [Feb 2008, p.107]
  12. If it wanted to make an impact, the company should've re-mastered the game, similar to what it did with Final Fantasy III on the DS, removing the 2-D visuals in exchange for 3-D graphics. With that being said, this Final Fantasy offers an overpriced but enjoyable experience. The lower the gamer's expectations, the better.
  13. A nice and polished remake of a beloved classic, Final Fantasy I is a good game for an RPG fan with only a PSP who hasn’t played any previous remakes of the title. However, if you already have, chances are you’ll want to skip this one, since it doesn’t bring anything new to the table.
  14. Ultimately, it comes down to $30 for a single game when two games were about as much just a couple years back. If you're that big a Final Fantasy fan, then there's really nothing more to say. If not, you're not missing much.
  15. 70
    Beyond the reworked graphics, you won't find much legitimately new content here. Patient players seeking an absurd challenge will dig the verging-on-unfair PSP-exclusive Labyrinth of Time dungeon, in which your characters' hit points constantly deplete over time. But truthfully, original additions feel scant.
  16. Final Fantasy Anniversary Edition is an excellent visual upgrade to the original version with support for the PSP's widescreen enhanced graphics, but it only slightly improves on gameplay and offers just a small amount of new additional content.
  17. 70
    As it stands, fans of the original game will eat this up and newcomers to the RPG scene will adore it, but hardcore role-playing fans will more than likely want to pass.
  18. A deeply nostalgic trip for the fans. Even by today's standards this is not a bad RPG, but the lack of proper story and the constant fighting make it hard to recommend it to casual gamers. The PSP-version is definetely the best version of this game, thanks to the new, upgraded graphics. [Mar 2008]
  19. A beautiful trip down memory lane, but only if you missed the other remakes. [Mar 2008, p.74]
  20. Distressingly little effort went into crafting this anniversary package: Square Enix merely cobbled together aspects from the PS1 and GBA remakes, touched up the graphics with high-resolution art, and added one new, ultra-difficult dungeon at the game's end. [July 2007, p.95]
  21. If you are looking for a title to suck up about 15-20 hours of your gaming life, then where better to look than the title that really sparked the life sucking genre of RPGs.
  22. As a whole, Final Fantasy: Anniversary Edition on the PSP doesn’t cater to a huge audience. Diehard FF fans will be disappointed by the lack of extra features, and newcomers can be frustrated by the simple design and overload of randomized battles.
  23. The umpteenth remake of Final Fantasy I is pretty to look at, but the gameplay is showing its age.
  24. 65
    It's not that Final Fantasy for the PSP is bad - far from it - it's just that it's nothing gamers haven't seen, and played, many times over.
  25. 63
    Still compelling, although its age is indicative in the duller hours of its constant battles. [Issue#164, p.95]
  26. Gamers who want to see for the first time the origins of the long-running series will have a decent enough reason to check out Final Fantasy on PSP: its high resolution visuals and distinctly retro gameplay set it aside from modern RPGs. However, for everyone else it’s just another cheap cash-in for Square Enix.
  27. With the RPG situation on PSP as overwhelmingly dire as it currently is, Anniversary stands out as one of the more enjoyable, its simplicity and charm forever keeping it gently compelling, in spite of the irritating throwbacks inherent to its age.
  28. A well-made game at its core, and this is a more-than-competent port of it.
  29. The gameplay is too unforgiving for FF to be a timeless classic. [Dec 2007, p.108]
  30. They should perhaps forget about the half-hearted measures and just stop putting out these cosmetically-enhanced, half-effort retreads and forge ahead with something new already. Like Parasite Eve 3!
  31. The lack of all the assorted tweaks & tune-ups that the series has seen since 1987 diminishes its appeal somewhat, with the more Final Fantasy games you’ve played likely to correlate with less enjoyment you’ll be able to extract from this one (fanboyism withstanding).
  32. My feelings are a lot less mixed about the fact that the Anniversary project is basically just a PSP post of "Dawn of Souls" with the two games sold separately. [June 2007, p.83]
  33. The game may be sharp as ever on the PSP's 16:9 screen, but not a lot of that matters when you're either played the game before or can get it for about $25 cheaper on an older handheld.
  34. An interesting gaming artifact, and very lovable...but essentially rubbish. [May 2008, p.79]
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 32 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. May 14, 2011
    7
    My first Final Fantasy was Final Fantasy XII so I'm quite a newcomer to the series. Since then I've played VII, VIII, XIII, III, and IV. Now before venturing into this game I was well aware that many thought this game only appealed to fans from long ago. In my experience however I've gotten quite addicted to it. I'm not really sure what it is about this game but other than the art much of this game is far too old. First off, the gameplay is not only extremely simple, but extremely easy. Much of your commands will involve holding down circle until one of your team mates are low on health, which will take a while. There are also quite a lot of random encounters, which really bugged me at first but I got used to them fairly quickly. You should also understand that there is no story in this game, you will relate with none of the characters and most of your quests are about killing someone to save someone or fetching something to do something. Probably my biggest criticism about this game is that is does nothing to help guide you to your objectives. The game's simplicity is perfect for playing on a bus or in a line but because of the extremely ambiguous goals, you'll often find yourself looking up what to do on a strategy guide. That being said I really do like the retro and simple feel of the game as well as the amazing art but it could have been much more fun with an objective marker. Full Review »
  2. Blighty76
    Aug 30, 2009
    8
    This is a fantastic update of the classic RPG which has been lovingly reskinned for the PSP. It's perfect for handheld gaming; I played it in snippets over 3 weeks, grabbing an hour or two a day, with 25 hours played at completion. For an old crock like me this is a wonderful trip down memory lane. Full Review »
  3. AdamLang
    Apr 6, 2009
    10
    A lot of the lower scores seem to have a common statement which points to the fact that there are older ports of these games (mostly noted for the GBA). There's a reason why there are continuous ports of these games. A game that created the basis of RPGs (which disappeared within the PS2 era) for a portable gaming handheld is awesome. Full Review »