Final Fantasy Anniversary Edition Image
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: In FINAL FANTASY, the tale begins when four young warriors, each possessing a Crystal, are summoned to bring the world back to a harmonious elemental balance. During their voyage, they discover a nefarious entity has created turmoil in the structure of time in order to take control of the world, causing the heroes to travel to places they never imagined possible. This all-new anniversary edition contain the best treatment of the classic RPG and features all-new character art, updated graphics, new dungeons, full 16:9 widescreen presentation and an updated camera view that gives players a new vantage point. [Square Enix] Expand
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 34
  2. Negative: 3 out of 34
  1. 95
    Gamers who are used to contemporary titles may find this one a little too simplistic and old for their tastes but if you can look beyond that, you'll be treated to an amazing rendition of a classic console RPG. [July 2007, p.86]
  2. It's definitely old-school, but it's just as fun and charming as it was 20 years ago - only with modern tweaks that make it even better. [Aug 2007, p.83]
  3. Despite the game generally being the same as it was the last few times I played it, the PSP version pulled me right back in as if it were a completely new experience, and I didn’t want to let go.
  4. A deeply nostalgic trip for the fans. Even by today's standards this is not a bad RPG, but the lack of proper story and the constant fighting make it hard to recommend it to casual gamers. The PSP-version is definetely the best version of this game, thanks to the new, upgraded graphics. [Mar 2008]
  5. As a whole, Final Fantasy: Anniversary Edition on the PSP doesn’t cater to a huge audience. Diehard FF fans will be disappointed by the lack of extra features, and newcomers can be frustrated by the simple design and overload of randomized battles.
  6. Gamers who want to see for the first time the origins of the long-running series will have a decent enough reason to check out Final Fantasy on PSP: its high resolution visuals and distinctly retro gameplay set it aside from modern RPGs. However, for everyone else it’s just another cheap cash-in for Square Enix.
  7. An interesting gaming artifact, and very lovable...but essentially rubbish. [May 2008, p.79]

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 13
  2. Negative: 0 out of 13
  1. Apr 2, 2014
    9
    I'm not really sure if I understand the negativity that this game is receiving. While this game is indeed intensely retro, the gameplay has been greatly tweaked (now we have MP - a MUCH needed addition), the graphics have been lovingly enhanced from the PSX version, and the music, like the PSX version, has been wonderfully reimainged, unlike other Final Fnatasy ports, where the music is 'new' but largely identical. The story in its elements is still good in a fairy-tale type of way, although as a cohesive whole, the story is quite weak, admittedly. While Final Fantasy, at least starting with part IV (II US), played out more like a novel or a movie, this original entry plays out more like a TV series or collection of fables, but these episodes or short stories are sometimes interesting. Lastly, in addition to the new MP system for magic, by adding Dash abilities, quicker leveling and removing some lackluster battle system elements allows this game to play out a lot faster than originally; I think you could probably beat the game in about half the time despite accomplishing just as much. Expand
  2. Oct 5, 2011
    9
    Final Fantasy 1 for the NES is one of my alltime favorite games. I cut my teeth on the original as a young teen and have played several remakes. I picked up the PSP Anniversary edition on sale while I was browsing a shop thinking what the heck. I was amazed at how clean and fresh the graphics are, the sound and music are great. The additional content is also a bonus, but I haven't had a chance to explore it yet. My only complaint is the removal of the 4000g Silver Sword that you could buy once you got the ship. Other than that I'd highly recommend this to anyone who loves a solid classic RPG with present day graphics. This is without a doubt the best remake of FF1 available, if you have a PSP don't pass this up. Expand
  3. May 23, 2013
    9
    Being a Final Fantasy fan since the early days of my childhood, coming back to the first Final Fantasy in an anniversary form was a great joy. I've played the Origins version on the first Playstation and I loved it.
    Now coming to a remake that is actually a whole re-imagining of the original. Not only was I swept off my feet from the new enhanced graphics, but the cut scenes, the music, and the new magic system have greatly made a difference to how I felt about this remake. It's not only just a remake though, there are new dungeons, new items and equipment, and some really interesting bosses and enemies that have made their way from other Final Fantasy titles. Most notably are the new dungeons, and enemies that accompany them. The magic system has been revamped for the newer generation, it resembles the newer Final Fantasies using Magic Points instead of a fixed amount of spells. New items such as Ethers, Phoenix Downs and Elixirs are introduced, making the game seem familiar to new players not used to the original game, but also makes the game a lot more easier to play compared to the original. The characters and towns are beautiful and well detailed, with added special effects on field screens and over world screen. The battles are well done, enemies now look awesome compared to older versions, also with great looking spells and backgrounds, making the game seamlessly go from battle to field screen. Most Final Fantasy fans will remember the long hours of grinding to level up for a certain dungeon, it is essentially the same as the original but now with more levels to earn. This along with the new items, dungeons and bosses, creates an experience that resembles the famous Final Fantasy that everybody knows and loves. Aside from the main quest are the dungeons that really brings challenge and a few new but familiar places. (FF3 fans will be surprised to see the 8-bit dungeon remade.) The bosses that come with them are absolutely amazing to battle, some being enemies from other FF titles, and new versions of classic enemies are scattered throughout all the new dungeons. Although there are some new places to explore, none of them really create any new stories or plot lines, but they do give you some really awesome treasure. Just like the versions before it, Final Fantasy is a game where exploring and talking to townsfolk are the only ways to find out what to do next, so unless you have beaten this before, actually talk to the people in the game, or you have a guide, you'll be stuck trying to figure out what to do next. The story in the game is simple and lacks the compelling edge of your your seat feeling, but overall it reminds you that a great game doesn't need full motion cut scenes or long dialogue to make you want to save the world. If you haven't played FF1 before, this would be a great way to start your journey down the Final Fantasy road. But fans of the first game would want to check this out as well, an amazing journey that has been revamped and puts you back in the shoes of the glory days, when Final Fantasy was brand new and exciting to play.
    Gameplay: 9/10 Graphics: 10/10 Audio: 10/10 Story: 9/10 One of the best Final Fantasies!
    Expand
  4. Oct 10, 2012
    8
    If you haven't played Final Fantasy 1, this is your best chance as this is the best version out there. With a improved appealing appearance and design, incredible music, fantastic gameplay battle system and a whole new bunch of extras never seen before, this is the game you must get. Whether you are a old FF fan who played Dawn of Souls/Origins/Original or haven't played FF1 or a new fan, this game is worth every single coin. Expand
  5. Apr 28, 2013
    8
    I never cared for the original Final Fantasy in any of its previous incarnations, but I recently gave the PSP port a shot and I am so glad I did. This is the definitive version of the game, with design upgrades that make it quite nice to look at and extra dungeons that give the player something challenging to attempt. The story and gameplay works all the same, with just some basic tweaks such as set magic usages being replaced by the now commonplace MP system (which is a major improvement) and some names being adjusted due to latter entries in the series creating more popular names (ie: Life is now Phoenix Down, Imps are now Goblins, Ice is now Blizzard, Orbs are now Crystals, etc). This is a must play for any RPG fan and a must own for any Final Fantasy fans. Just be prepared to wander around aimlessly searching for hints as to what you're supposed to do next, as you often have to fetch a hidden item from some dungeon or town in order to be able to progress to the next section of the game. Great game though, and a very fun/challenging way to kill 20-25 hours. Expand
  6. May 14, 2011
    7
    My first Final Fantasy was Final Fantasy XII so I'm quite a newcomer to the series. Since then I've played VII, VIII, XIII, III, and IV. Now before venturing into this game I was well aware that many thought this game only appealed to fans from long ago. In my experience however I've gotten quite addicted to it. I'm not really sure what it is about this game but other than the art much of this game is far too old. First off, the gameplay is not only extremely simple, but extremely easy. Much of your commands will involve holding down circle until one of your team mates are low on health, which will take a while. There are also quite a lot of random encounters, which really bugged me at first but I got used to them fairly quickly. You should also understand that there is no story in this game, you will relate with none of the characters and most of your quests are about killing someone to save someone or fetching something to do something. Probably my biggest criticism about this game is that is does nothing to help guide you to your objectives. The game's simplicity is perfect for playing on a bus or in a line but because of the extremely ambiguous goals, you'll often find yourself looking up what to do on a strategy guide. That being said I really do like the retro and simple feel of the game as well as the amazing art but it could have been much more fun with an objective marker. Expand
  7. Nov 4, 2010
    6
    I began my goal of playing all Final Fantasy games through in order with, obviously, Final Fantasy I. I thought, might as well go with the newer PSP version and see how I like it. This game is fun, don't get me wrong, but it's outdated. Unfortunately, the fact that it's so archaic without real characters or a story make it feel like a chore in some instances. Not to mention the fact that the random fights pop of much more frequently here than they do in the sequels. It's a difficult game, not for those who're planning on taking an RPG lightly. With this said, I do recommend it to those of you who are interested in seeking out the roots to a noteworthy series of games, or those of you who've played the original version, which I haven't, so I can't really tell you what's all been improved upon and changed. Collapse

See all 13 User Reviews