User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 54 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 54
  2. Negative: 6 out of 54

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 20, 2011
    10
    Before I begin, let me establish my background as a gamer. I started at 8 ('84) with a nes, but didn't get into the rpg scene until about 2005 with FFX on PS2 and also played about 1/4 way through FFXII. I've played about 80% of all zelda titles, and plan on completing all of them, as well as the FF series. That is why these PSP remakes are a Godsend. The extremely crisp updated graphics make every town an absoulte pleasure to explore, and the level of detail doesn't leave much for the imagination to correct - no hard, jagged 8-bit style steps here, just crisp, rounded edges. As far as gameplay, I'm am absolutely thrilled it is all intact and untouched so because I get to experience what made it a classic in the first place. All in all, if you missed out first time round, get all the psp remakes, and if you don't have a psp, then this should be reason enough. Peace yall. Expand
  2. Apr 29, 2011
    10
    Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection is amazing! I realize that it isn't as hard as the other Final Fantasy's, that hasn't been changed, but it doesn't have to be. The graphics are absolutely amazing, both in and out of battle, and the story is very well put together. But as always, the world map is where it's at. The world map is huge, and complex enough to make you have to search, but not so complex as to leave saving and quitting in the middle of nowhere. This game is amazing, even better than Dissidia 012, and is one of the best games on the PSP. If you get any PSP game this year, this is the one to get. If you like RPG's you will absolutely adore this. If you don't like RPG's you will still love it, because it is absolutely stunning. Expand
  3. Jan 20, 2013
    9
    This is the definitive version of Final Fantasy IV, despite The After Years and Interlude not being quite as good as the original classic RPG. I found the DS version of FFIV to be entertaining, but the graphic style just didn't do it for me, and I feel that since this PSP rerelease is a more refined 2D art style, it is the more visually appealing game between the two. The actual FFIV still holds up and this is the best version of it with extras for fans (viewing the extra games as extras here) Expand
  4. Jul 30, 2011
    10
    If you are new to turn-based RPGS, this might be the best introduction to the genre for a portable system. After many, many years, I finally revisited my very first RPG remake and had a wonderful time playing it and its new successors. I was maybe 6 at the time playing on a emulator. Despite all the wonderful new games out there now, I still rather sat down and enjoyed this piece of history.
  5. Dec 8, 2013
    10
    A wonder game. Updated sprites an interlude and and new content. This iteration is the kind of reboot this generation of FFs need. They did it with I and II and I am glad they did it to IV. Now we just need a PC version.
  6. Jul 19, 2012
    9
    Final Fantasy IV Complete Collection is amazing enhanced collection pack made by Squareenix. It contains a fully fledged High resolution remake of Final Fantasy IV, a Prologue story which is exclusive to the PSP version and a Remake of the Wii VC's FFIV After Years. No matter how much it costs, this game is worth it as it will be a great purchase for old FF Fans and lovers of the Final Fantasy IV Fandom. Expand
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 41 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 41
  2. Negative: 1 out of 41
  1. Jul 11, 2011
    65
    As a historical piece, it is practically unparalleled. As a modern game, it is rife with issues that would never be tolerated. In the end, it is a great addition for fans and collectors, but of very little value to new gamers.
  2. Jun 19, 2011
    95
    At the mere mention of the name Final Fantasy IV, I was all over the opportunity to review this game. This is one of my favorite Final Fantasy of all time and easily one of the greatest RPGs ever made. It has memorable characters, awesome music and a story that is truly exceptional. You would be crazy not to pick up the Final Fantasy IV: The Complete Collection for PSP. Doesn't matter if you've played it a few times or a hundred, this is a RPG for the ages.
  3. May 25, 2011
    84
    Regardless of how may iterations of Final Fantasy IV you have played over the years, this one lives up to its namesake. It is indeed the most complete collection of the Final Fantasy IV experience that has been released yet.