God of War: Chains of Olympus PSP

User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 585 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 42 out of 585
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 17, 2011
    10
    For a handheld game this is amazing. One is enthralled by the amazing landscape and the meticulous game play. Kratos as a character is the marlon brando of the gaming world and u just cant help but getting inside the mind of the character and feel his emotions
  2. Feb 12, 2012
    9
    The best PSP game I ever owned. I beat this game over ten times and unlocked a majority of the extras including the characters. Excellent game with decent replay value and extras to unlock to keep you blood thirsty for more!
  3. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    God of War: Chains of Olympus for the Playstation Portable was great as if gave my inner killer great Spartan rage!!SCEA did a beautiful job on the graphics as well!

    Good Job!

    10/10
  4. Oct 9, 2014
    6
    its the same game press x to win the game isn't very good and when it is the controls are horrible while its a fun game to play its not really a good game
  5. Mar 20, 2013
    9
    What a beatiful game. I´ve played it in PS3 in HD, but I´m pretty sure this is the best psp game. The Graphics, the story, the fresh weapons and magic.The bosses are great and this game has really nice difficulty, a bit frustrating in high modes. It has an awsome storyline, only a bit short for me. If you are a GOW fan you must play this one.
  6. Sep 20, 2012
    9
    This is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god of war before than you'll love this game,they've taken nothing you love about the series out and u even get some cool moments with Kratos's family. The only problem i personally have with the game is how long it is.....which isnt very long.It took meThis is the game that got me into the God of War series, its the first GOW that ive played and to me its a classic. If you've played god of war before than you'll love this game,they've taken nothing you love about the series out and u even get some cool moments with Kratos's family. The only problem i personally have with the game is how long it is.....which isnt very long.It took me exactyly 3 and a half hours to be it every time i beat it,and a lot of people complain about the boss fights,how there are not enough. There are enough you fight two of the bosses twice,and the last boss is so cinematic you can compare it to anything on the console games. If you have a psp or now a vita then either buy it or download it because its well worth your money Expand
  7. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    Realy good one. I don't understand why people stamp 1 or 0 score on it. That is just not fair.
  8. Jul 25, 2013
    9
    I played this game on Vita and this is still one of the best title I can get on this hendheld. Great story, great gameplay, so much fun. Love GOW, I am waiting for the GOW title espacially for PS Vita.
  9. Mar 26, 2014
    10
    This is a gem for every player with excellent graphics for the time, it's time to say that after the two God of War Games, this is awesome game to play.
  10. Jan 7, 2017
    8
    eu acho que God of War: Chains of Olympus inferior a qualquer game da trilogia principal, mais nao deixa de ser um jogo muito bom, boa historia, temos grande revelaçoes, bons graficos, uma boa dificuldade, boa trilha sonora, e uma ótima jogabilidade. Nota 8.9
  11. JamesD
    Jan 18, 2010
    10
    This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a This is without a doubt my favourite PSP game. The action, the graphics and the story all hold up brilliantly. The controls are compensated very beneficially which makes the combat easy to pick up and play and the amount of depth you get is enormous. Some may say it's too short or it lacks the craft of its PS2 bretherans but those are absurd remarks. Ready at Dawn have provided a masterpiece. As for the action, I wouldn't have it any other way. Expand
  12. MikeM.
    Apr 16, 2008
    7
    A mediocre game. No multiplayer was a big disappointment for me personally, I've come to expect more than just 1 player games these days. The graphics are the best feature. The controls are rather simplistic and it gets a tad repetitive. This is not a game warranting over 80 scores, so it is clearly being overhyped. Knowing Sony, they probably paid for more viral marketing and biased A mediocre game. No multiplayer was a big disappointment for me personally, I've come to expect more than just 1 player games these days. The graphics are the best feature. The controls are rather simplistic and it gets a tad repetitive. This is not a game warranting over 80 scores, so it is clearly being overhyped. Knowing Sony, they probably paid for more viral marketing and biased reviews. Expand
  13. Oct 10, 2011
    5
    My favorite part of this high-intensity action game is wandering around hallways with no enemies, pushing blocks around for fifteen minutes. So badass! The great graphics really enhance the hardcore "press square repeatedly to kill everything on screen and automatically win" gameplay. I like to watch Jersey Shore unironically, so you can imagine how much I appreciate shallow things.
  14. Aug 28, 2010
    8
    I loved this game. The controls were amazingg, the story was good, and just everything about it was great... Except for the fact that it has no replay value. I beat it in 9 hours, (I know, I took my time.) And I bought it for $12 so I guess thats alright. But I wanna continue killing stuff as Kratos without doing another campaign. I'm just one of those people that dont replay the campaignI loved this game. The controls were amazingg, the story was good, and just everything about it was great... Except for the fact that it has no replay value. I beat it in 9 hours, (I know, I took my time.) And I bought it for $12 so I guess thats alright. But I wanna continue killing stuff as Kratos without doing another campaign. I'm just one of those people that dont replay the campaign on videogames. Expand
  15. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Almost everything from the PS2 titles is brought to the PSP just about flawlessly. All of the combos you know are here, as are magics, weapons, quick-time events, goofy unlockable costumes, etc. Anyone who played GoW will find that this looks & plays just like they remember. I thought it controlled well too, and that's what most people gripe about on the PSP. The few minor complaintsAlmost everything from the PS2 titles is brought to the PSP just about flawlessly. All of the combos you know are here, as are magics, weapons, quick-time events, goofy unlockable costumes, etc. Anyone who played GoW will find that this looks & plays just like they remember. I thought it controlled well too, and that's what most people gripe about on the PSP. The few minor complaints are the same too: short duration, not enough story, never enough boss fights. Overall though, it's brutally good. Expand
  16. Nov 11, 2010
    9
    Great fun and fresh experience. Stays true to GoW heritage. Great graphics that stays at high framerate. Great sound and music. Wish the game was longer but that's a good sign.
  17. Sep 10, 2011
    8
    It may not be the best game in the series but this is definitely one of, if not the best game on the PSP, the graphics are amazing, I was shocked that this was a PSP game, the soundtrack is awesome, and if you were worried that the controls would suffer don't be, if you played a game in this series before you will instantly grasp the controls, only one or to minor adjustments were made butIt may not be the best game in the series but this is definitely one of, if not the best game on the PSP, the graphics are amazing, I was shocked that this was a PSP game, the soundtrack is awesome, and if you were worried that the controls would suffer don't be, if you played a game in this series before you will instantly grasp the controls, only one or to minor adjustments were made but they never caused me any problem, and the action is just as fun and gory as you remember it, and the new weapons are awesome, the Gauntlet of Zeus is particularly cool, my main problem is that tis adventure isn't as memorable as the first two games on the PS2, the story which takes place before the events of the first game and tells about Kratos time serving the gods, wasn't really all that great, basically the world is in trouble and Kratos needs to kill stuff, nothing really all that interesting, but it does pack an emotional moment that really makes you feel for Kratos, and it is pretty short, but things like un-lockable costumes and videos, and the challenge of hades mode will make you come back once or twice more, it's not the best in the series but if your a fan of the series who owns a PSP, or just a PSP owner looking for a great game, you really should get this, it's a huge achievement for the PSP. Expand
  18. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Best PSP GameBest PSP Game Ever!......................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................................... Expand
  19. BenjiBoy
    Mar 5, 2009
    5
    However did this average button masher get so overrated? The graphics are nice and there are a few half decent puzzles, but the game play is mostly dull and the story hard to care about. Also, is the main character supposed to be a pastiche of everything wrong with American game heroes? Or do the developers just have no sense of humor at all? Put it right on the bottom of your PSP wish However did this average button masher get so overrated? The graphics are nice and there are a few half decent puzzles, but the game play is mostly dull and the story hard to care about. Also, is the main character supposed to be a pastiche of everything wrong with American game heroes? Or do the developers just have no sense of humor at all? Put it right on the bottom of your PSP wish list and don't let it move from there! Expand
  20. VincentV.
    Apr 8, 2008
    5
    Kind of disappointing. The commercials made me expect a lot more. Had it not been for that I would've given it a 7. Good graphics, good gameplay, all round OKAY game...
  21. BrydenJ
    Oct 18, 2009
    7
    Contrary to what others are saying, this game wasn't great. It was good, don't get me wrong, but it isn't the greatness that other people say it is. The game looked great but was too short. To me, Chains of olympus felt like God of War Lite. It just didn't feel like pure God of War.
  22. JhonnyAppleseed
    Feb 26, 2008
    1
    Did not like it. Very boring and slow.
  23. SimonG.
    Mar 10, 2008
    8
    It's great, no doubt about that! They totally managed to fit God of War on a portable. It's just way too short... less than 5 hours. With multiple save points, it's not supposed to matter how long a game is. I recommand you play at hard difficulty level so that you can stretch it for hopefully an extra hour. If the game would've last just another 2 hours, I It's great, no doubt about that! They totally managed to fit God of War on a portable. It's just way too short... less than 5 hours. With multiple save points, it's not supposed to matter how long a game is. I recommand you play at hard difficulty level so that you can stretch it for hopefully an extra hour. If the game would've last just another 2 hours, I would've gave the game a 10. Expand
  24. BenjaminL.
    Apr 18, 2008
    7
    This game is amazing to look at and the play is tremendous but it lacks durability. I completed it on normal within a week and although mini-games are opened up, I am not sure whether this will draw me back to the game. However, that is the only disappointments with this game but it is a biggie. Like I said, the game is stunning and one of the most impressive games to grace the PSP.
  25. Apr 27, 2011
    9
    9/10 = Amazing = This is one of the PSP's greatest titles. Excellent and very badass action game.
  26. JamesConvery
    Sep 4, 2008
    1
    When you have a game that can pull off large epic vistas, an intuitive combat system and any excuse for an abundant amount of half naked ladies, it
  27. Sep 16, 2011
    0
    Its definatly not a bad game, but its pretty disappointing, only about 3 bosses. The graphics are nice, but the game kinda gets repetitive and creepy. The story is kinda uninteresting. Comparing to this Persona 3 portable. God of war simply has no replay value, nothing fun about it, not much variety, nothing new or cool to explore, no eastereggs, etc. The story of Persona 3 was so wellIts definatly not a bad game, but its pretty disappointing, only about 3 bosses. The graphics are nice, but the game kinda gets repetitive and creepy. The story is kinda uninteresting. Comparing to this Persona 3 portable. God of war simply has no replay value, nothing fun about it, not much variety, nothing new or cool to explore, no eastereggs, etc. The story of Persona 3 was so well done, characters, developement, it was also a very long game. God of War was way too short. It is impressive for 2008 and if this game were released now, it would probably get a lower score. But the main problem is that its very forgettable. The bosses arent that fun. And it gets too repetitive. Expand
  28. ChandeepS.
    Oct 1, 2008
    10
    Its tottally awesome-great graphics and skull ripping strategy.
  29. RaphaelW.
    Mar 10, 2008
    10
    Best PSP game ever simply.
  30. MikeS.
    Jul 20, 2008
    10
    For the brief time it lasts, CHAINS is and epic gaming experience, and probably the greatest game ever produced for the PSP, and the greatest the system will ever see.

Awards & Rankings

#2 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2008
#1 Most Shared PSP Game of 2008
Metascore
91

Universal acclaim - based on 79 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 78 out of 79
  2. Negative: 0 out of 79
  1. Is it as good as the two PS2 God of War games? Not quite, but it's close. The fact that a PSP port of God of War can be this close to the legendary originals is amazing.
  2. There are titles for every console that truly define the platform, and God of War: Chains of Olympus is one of those titles. Stunning graphics the likes of which we’ve never seen, an incredible soundtrack that rivals PS3/Xbox 360 titles, standout voice work, and gameplay that is on-par with the two previous PS2 titles makes this a must-own for any fan of the series.
  3. 100
    The PSP hasn’t yet seen a game with this much polish, this much visual punch, or this much bloody satisfaction. Everything feels meaty, be it the clash of weapon on flesh or the substantial amount of gameplay depth and environmental design. Not only is Chains of Olympus a worthy addition to the God of War franchise, it also stands on its own as a triple-A title in the PSP library.