God of War: Ghost of Sparta PSP

God of War: Ghost of Sparta Image
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 73 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 256 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Set in the realm of Greek mythology, God of War: Ghost of Sparta is a single-player game that allows players to take on the powerful role of Spartan warrior Kratos. This new adventure picks up after God of War concludes, telling the story of Kratos' ascension to power as the God of War. InSet in the realm of Greek mythology, God of War: Ghost of Sparta is a single-player game that allows players to take on the powerful role of Spartan warrior Kratos. This new adventure picks up after God of War concludes, telling the story of Kratos' ascension to power as the God of War. In his quest to rid himself of the nightmares that haunt him, Kratos must embark on a journey that will reveal the origins of lost worlds, and finally answer long-awaited questions about his dark past. Armed with the deadly chained Blades of Chaos, he will have to overcome armies of mythological monsters, legions of undead soldiers, and amazingly dangerous and brutal landscapes throughout his merciless quest. Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 67 out of 73
  2. Negative: 0 out of 73
  1. Dec 21, 2010
    100
    The sound design is incredible, with many varied tracks with authentic and unique sounding instruments that organically change depending on the on-screen action.
  2. 95
    God of War: Ghost of Sparta is the best game on the PSP, pushing the boundaries of a handheld device with breathtaking graphics, a striking story, and enough combat to keep your thumbs busy for many hours.
  3. Jan 8, 2011
    92
    Probably the best game available on Psp, Ghost of Sparta is a "real" God of War from every perspective, and a fantastic game that every fan of the series should not miss.
  4. Jan 13, 2011
    88
    Ghost of Sparta is beyond doubt the best action experience you can find on your PSP. Still, it feels like a small step back from the evolution of the saga achieved by the last HD chapter: puzzles section are completely useless and mechanics feel somehow old. A very good work, but not the masterpiece it could've been.
  5. Oct 25, 2010
    85
    God of War: Ghost of Sparta is probably the weakest entry in the franchise. It has a relatively unimpressive story, fairly unmemorable locations, toned-down enemies and lackluster upgrades. At its heart, it's still a God of War game, and it is still fun to play.
  6. Dec 21, 2010
    80
    If you buy one PSP title this year, Ghost of Sparta is a safe bet for the best game you're going to get.
  7. Dec 21, 2010
    67
    Sparta also unfortunately arrives in the same year as the PlayStation 3's God Of War III. No one expects as much bang-for-your-buck from a portable game as they would a console game, but for players who rode atop high-definition Titans only a few months ago, Sparta inevitably feels small and miserly.

See all 73 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 32
  2. Negative: 3 out of 32
  1. Nov 4, 2010
    10
    Best PSP game ever made! Graphics are amazing. Story is better and more personal than GOW3. Combat is refined, polished and fun. Pacing isBest PSP game ever made! Graphics are amazing. Story is better and more personal than GOW3. Combat is refined, polished and fun. Pacing is impeccable, it hits all the highs, lows, cool downs etc. I will make 8 hours just disappear! Expand
  2. Jun 6, 2011
    10
    Expanded the story of kratos and the adventure of COO. Even Better. Soon to be put on a PS3 Blu-ray collection. Must buy for theExpanded the story of kratos and the adventure of COO. Even Better. Soon to be put on a PS3 Blu-ray collection. Must buy for the PSP............................................................................................................................... Expand
  3. Jun 10, 2012
    10
    I played this game on Vita and it still looked like is it made by gods. I love it, I admire it, I cry for more. The plot is really involving,I played this game on Vita and it still looked like is it made by gods. I love it, I admire it, I cry for more. The plot is really involving, the bosses are gorgeous, the slaughter is awesome. Must play. Expand
  4. Jun 20, 2013
    9
    Excellent game to play on your the Vita, looks great and is awesome to play. I got this at the same time as God of war Ascension and whileExcellent game to play on your the Vita, looks great and is awesome to play. I got this at the same time as God of war Ascension and while there's obvious graphical differences, the gameplay is virtually the same in this game and i'm enjoying flicking between the two titles.Good story and cut scene that keep you engrossed.
    A must have for the handheld.
    Expand
  5. Nov 12, 2010
    9
    I really liked this game. But I don't know if its for everybody, get it if you want to kill short time. Even though video games are excellentI really liked this game. But I don't know if its for everybody, get it if you want to kill short time. Even though video games are excellent time killers LOL. You wont get as pissed off on the challenges unlike the other god of war games. But don't worry, the game is not a huge letdown like "chains of olympus". Overall great game. Recommended Buy!^_^ Expand
  6. Dec 26, 2013
    8
    Graphically one of the most beautiful game on the PSP system. Nothing hugely different about the gameplay, but there's no need to changeGraphically one of the most beautiful game on the PSP system. Nothing hugely different about the gameplay, but there's no need to change already perfect system. And like other God of Wars this one also provides epic soundtrack and story. Little short in length and provides nothing new but still a great GOW game. Expand
  7. Dec 27, 2015
    1
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 7 (Story is set during Era 5000BC to 500BC) Cast: 7 (Great) Score: 1/10
    Gameplay: 1 (Unplayable)
    Fun: 1 (You can't Have Fun)
    Story: 7 (Story is set during Era 5000BC to 500BC)
    Cast: 7 (Great)
    Score: 1/10

    Overrated By All should got less then 7.8s
    Expand

See all 32 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

#4 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
#2 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010