User Score
7.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 119 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 97 out of 119
  2. Negative: 14 out of 119

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2011
    10
    This is one of the best games on the PSP because it has so much to do. The missions are so great that you'll want to replay the missions more than once. The open world is also large and fun to explore.
  2. Oct 2, 2011
    8
    Considering that it's on PSP, this has to be the best game for portable consoles. There's a lot of content for a handheld title, and despite the game seeming cheap and not as good as the original vice city, VC Stories still delivers a great GTA experience that's fun.
  3. Jan 20, 2012
    10
    100% PS2 games were ported to PSP and it was same as PS2,OMG,Rockstar....you did do impossible thing for PSP and it was brutally fun and definitely worth money than you could.
  4. NadeemZ.
    Jul 3, 2008
    10
    I like Vice City Stories on PSP.This is the best game I've ever played on any system besides San Andreas. And even then it's better in other ways; no gangsta vibe here, plus the 90's sucked compared to the 80's. It has a deep, realistic, almost sad plot while still retaining a sense of humor. This also has the best soundtrack I've ever heard in a videogame. Also, I like Vice City Stories on PSP.This is the best game I've ever played on any system besides San Andreas. And even then it's better in other ways; no gangsta vibe here, plus the 90's sucked compared to the 80's. It has a deep, realistic, almost sad plot while still retaining a sense of humor. This also has the best soundtrack I've ever heard in a videogame. Also, while I wouldn't give this to anyone under 13, there is nowhere near as much cursing as there was in SA. All in all Great Game! Expand
  5. Jan 3, 2011
    10
    This is quite possibly the best game availible on the PSP. It offers a PS2 level experience that surpasses that of the original GTA Vice City. To start, the game takes pace in the same Vice City seen on PS2 but with several improvements. The story of this game is long and good. The main character, Vic Vance, is a more sympathetic and likeable hero who falls into bad times with zany andThis is quite possibly the best game availible on the PSP. It offers a PS2 level experience that surpasses that of the original GTA Vice City. To start, the game takes pace in the same Vice City seen on PS2 but with several improvements. The story of this game is long and good. The main character, Vic Vance, is a more sympathetic and likeable hero who falls into bad times with zany and unique characters. The game takes the same amount of hard work and time to finish as a regular GTA game and offers all of the same fun a player could want. The gameplay is standard GTA, which isn't a bad thing. Controls are good with a nice auto aim system which is in conjunction with the free-aim feature. Some great additions to the game not seen in the original Vice City or Liberty City Stories include swimming and the ability to fly several differing aerial vehicles such as helicopters and planes. Once you finish the main story there is a ton of fun to be had in free-roam. Hours and days can be spent winning street races, finding popable red balloons and easter eggs, completing rampages, expanding your empire, and just running around Vice City blowing stuff up. If you have friends with this game you can play Ad Hoc multiplayer, but a lack of Infrastructure does disappoint. Overall this is a gaming experience which can last a limitless amount of time and please any fan of the series as well as newcomers. Expand
  6. JohnD.
    Nov 17, 2007
    9
    An excellent game that sounds good, looks good (If you just dont drive too fast) and plays good. One reason why you should own a PSP.
  7. DannickS.
    Nov 20, 2006
    9
    The game is very good but it is becoming stale cause their using the same cars and guns they should change them around and stuff. but other than that the game is sick, you should really get it. It now has helicopters and boats and JET SKIS which is crazy plus you can play multiplayer. GOOD GAME
  8. MaxwellT.
    Dec 17, 2006
    9
    Hey when u r bored its fun to blow stuff up and u dont always have to go along with the missions, so u can experiment, its more of a reckless fun game than a more RPG game. when ur bored its something to do.
  9. AndrewM.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Absolute brilliant game, excellent graphics, great gameplay and a huge amount of thing to do and thats not even including the story missions. Story line is very good with loads of missions to get through, this game in my opinion makes the PSP worth having and could only be topped by San Andreas Stories or sumtin along that lines. All in all great came would recommend to any one. Oh yeah Absolute brilliant game, excellent graphics, great gameplay and a huge amount of thing to do and thats not even including the story missions. Story line is very good with loads of missions to get through, this game in my opinion makes the PSP worth having and could only be topped by San Andreas Stories or sumtin along that lines. All in all great came would recommend to any one. Oh yeah theres loads of vehicles to choose from too. Expand
  10. BirdMan
    Dec 30, 2006
    10
    This is the best game I've ever played on any system besides San Andreas. And even then it's better in other ways; no gangsta vibe here, plus the 90's sucked compared to the 80's. It has a deep, realistic, almost sad plot while still retaining a sense of humor. This also has the best soundtrack I've ever heard in a videogame. Also, while I wouldn't give this This is the best game I've ever played on any system besides San Andreas. And even then it's better in other ways; no gangsta vibe here, plus the 90's sucked compared to the 80's. It has a deep, realistic, almost sad plot while still retaining a sense of humor. This also has the best soundtrack I've ever heard in a videogame. Also, while I wouldn't give this to anyone under 13, there is nowhere near as much cursing as there was in SA. All in all Great Game! Expand
  11. GirlGamer
    Aug 18, 2007
    9
    Now this is a game! It took me almost a MONTH (I only can play for about an hour a day) to beat this game! There were TONS of missions & different characters. Although the setting is identical to Vice City on ps2, the characters & missions were all different. It felt like coming back to a friendly farmiliar place but with a new friend.
  12. AlecB.
    Nov 7, 2006
    9
    The game was very thought out and had a fun and great story line to it unlike the last gta that came out for the psp. the character, the story line, the action. the city, and the sweet 80s music make this game a kick ass show.
  13. Mooj
    Nov 7, 2006
    8
    Great game, many improvements. Its great that you can drive boats, swim and drive helicopters. However, as much as I'd hate to say it (and this is coming from someone who has owned EVERY GTA since the day they were first released [including the PC original]), the games are becoming stale. The missions seems very similar, the weapons remain the same, many cars are used over and over. Great game, many improvements. Its great that you can drive boats, swim and drive helicopters. However, as much as I'd hate to say it (and this is coming from someone who has owned EVERY GTA since the day they were first released [including the PC original]), the games are becoming stale. The missions seems very similar, the weapons remain the same, many cars are used over and over. I think the real problem lies in the omitting of online infrastructure mode, however. All that aside, Rockstar has nailed the Vice City map and still made an excellent game. Sure it has it's flaws, but it still is a great game and I would recommend picking this one up ASAP. Expand
  14. ChrisB.
    Dec 28, 2006
    9
    Brilliant game! Brilliant music! Gameplay is not quite as good as on the PS2 but definitely the best game on the PSP.
  15. Mar 9, 2012
    8
    One of my most played PSP games! It takes you back to Vice City, it has the vibe, it has the music, the better water and, most important, the swimming! It falls short on other areas, though. The main character doesn't really convince, the city feels depopulated too often and, unlike San Andreas, initially you can't swim to the other half of the city until you unlock it, since an invisibleOne of my most played PSP games! It takes you back to Vice City, it has the vibe, it has the music, the better water and, most important, the swimming! It falls short on other areas, though. The main character doesn't really convince, the city feels depopulated too often and, unlike San Andreas, initially you can't swim to the other half of the city until you unlock it, since an invisible wall prevents that. And also initially, swimming for too long causes you to drown, untill you gain "unlimited swimming" after playing a mini-game on the second part of the city. But putting these aside, there is a lot of game to be played, more side missions than the original Vice City and the music simply doesn't get boring! And speaking of music, Phil Collins is a nice surprise not to be missed, especially because it is artfully integrated in the story (which actually saves it a bit). All in all, an almost average story, probably the lowest of all GTA 3 era games, but rich gameplay. You might not start the game over, but you'll return to your saved one to continue the fun. Expand
  16. Aug 22, 2012
    9
    Overall, it is a nice game. It is really to return to Vice City. I missed this city alot. Characters model look more real than previous GTA titles. Gameplay is similar to previous titles, but it is still an awesome game. This is a must-buy.
  17. Alvin
    Dec 10, 2007
    10
    I like Vice City Stories on PSP, but San Andreas is the best I wish it was on PSP.
  18. Oct 30, 2013
    2
    i would not recommend this... the missions are very easy.....the graphics are really bland and it was really poor attempt at open world, the city is very boring....the game mechanics are dull
  19. Sep 17, 2013
    1
    i would not recommend this... the missions are very easy.....the graphics are really bland and it was really poor attempt at open world, the city is very boring....the game mechanics are dull
  20. AlexanderY.
    Apr 9, 2008
    5
    Nice game but terrible game engine. Nice music but terrible controls. If you see on of GTA you see them all.
  21. FreddieR.
    Dec 11, 2006
    1
    GTA games are all the same and are getting more duller in every one they make this is the worst of them all.
  22. AndyD.
    Dec 8, 2006
    5
    2 GTA's for PSP in a row. What is rockstar doing? Go back to PS2 (PS3) and PC! 80's music for Vice City Rocks
  23. Wallach
    Feb 2, 2008
    7
    Some of the missions are great while some are so frustrating that I just want to smash the PSP into a wall, but it's still a nice game with a lot of funny vehicles.
  24. Matt
    Jan 26, 2007
    5
    Not really worth it. The story is standard GTA fare which isn't terrible, but the gameplay is mostly unchanged from last year's Liberty City Stories. If you want more of the same then this is probably up your alley. Me on the other hand, I can't take the level of frustration the missions instil in me. I feel as though these levels weren't really designed to be played Not really worth it. The story is standard GTA fare which isn't terrible, but the gameplay is mostly unchanged from last year's Liberty City Stories. If you want more of the same then this is probably up your alley. Me on the other hand, I can't take the level of frustration the missions instil in me. I feel as though these levels weren't really designed to be played on the psp. The controls are so cumbersome that often times a slight mistake with the analog nub can lead to imminent failure. It was a mistake to purchase this game, expecting something new or amazing. One GTA on the psp is enough. Rockstar needs to either fix the problems with the existing engine, or focus their talents elsewhere. Expand
  25. Jan 8, 2013
    9
    This Grand Theft Auto Vice can't inch up to the original which was a thrill, But Vice City Stories can't make a perfection. In Vice the missions are easy and hard and has a leveled difficulty. However, Vice City Stories has it mixed up. On the half part of the game it is easy a part of the start is easy and a part of the start is hard and some time after Mission 37 its hard but at missionThis Grand Theft Auto Vice can't inch up to the original which was a thrill, But Vice City Stories can't make a perfection. In Vice the missions are easy and hard and has a leveled difficulty. However, Vice City Stories has it mixed up. On the half part of the game it is easy a part of the start is easy and a part of the start is hard and some time after Mission 37 its hard but at mission 45 its easy. The graphics are good but the sunset bugs when in a mission because the light heads to you. Its generally kind of a equal but mostly a game that needs a few tweaks. Expand
  26. Nov 6, 2013
    9
    Still the best portable GTA game out there, even the iOS versions of GTA III and GTA VC.

    +Great graphics for a PSP game and surpasses the iOS GTA games' graphics as well +Awesome 1980s setting +Tons of things to do +Addicting empire building missions Controls aren't that great, but at least they're not touch controls like the iOS GTAs. -Frame rate sucks -Story sucks -Draw
    Still the best portable GTA game out there, even the iOS versions of GTA III and GTA VC.

    +Great graphics for a PSP game and surpasses the iOS GTA games' graphics as well
    +Awesome 1980s setting
    +Tons of things to do
    +Addicting empire building missions

    Controls aren't that great, but at least they're not touch controls like the iOS GTAs.

    -Frame rate sucks
    -Story sucks
    -Draw distance sucks
    Expand
  27. May 19, 2013
    9
    This is the best game you can but on the psp im still thinking how in the world did Rockstar squeeze this much juice ino the psp to make GTA look this good on what is already ageing hardware overall stop reading this review and get this game you wont be disappointed
  28. Sep 13, 2014
    7
    Bom para um portatil. Missoes segundarias como defender território são massantes em alguns momentos. Mas no geral o game cumpre o seu papel e o legado GTA. Ponto positivo para a excelente trilha sonora do game!
  29. Sep 19, 2014
    10
    I am writing this for the psVita.
    This game is a must have for your ps vita collection! It looks fantastic, better than the ps2 classic san andreas on the psn. This game plays very stable and has hardly and frame rate drops. Good controls that work well for the vita. The story for this game is great and stacks up to thd gta greats! If you have a vita and want an amazing gta portable
    I am writing this for the psVita.
    This game is a must have for your ps vita collection! It looks fantastic, better than the ps2 classic san andreas on the psn. This game plays very stable and has hardly and frame rate drops. Good controls that work well for the vita. The story for this game is great and stacks up to thd gta greats! If you have a vita and want an amazing gta portable experience get this game!
    Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 50 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 46 out of 50
  2. Negative: 0 out of 50
  1. While Vice City Stories is just as important a chapter in the GTA saga as any, it's another re-tread of the ageing GTA3 game engine. The missions feel familiar and so do the driving and the save system - they're all remnants of a six-year-old game, after all. Upstart "Scarface" feels fresher...But this is top-drawer entertainment. [Dec 2006, p.68]
  2. 75
    The game is gritty and dull to a fault and it doesn't have the same sense of humor that made the past titles so entertaining. What humor there is tends to be painfully blunt - the first four hours are like one long un-funny redneck joke, for example.
  3. Vice City Stories is topped off with killer ad-hoc multiplayer for up to six people, which lets you tear it up on foot or in cars, helicopters and boats across 10 different modes. While these matches tend to get choppy, they'll keep you playing long after you've finished the game's lengthy storyline - as will all the hidden nooks, unlockable vehicles and dozens of optional tasks scattered around the city.