• Publisher: Atlus
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2012
User Score
7.2

Mixed or average reviews- based on 55 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 55
  2. Negative: 9 out of 55

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Growlanser Wayfarer of Time is the last English entry into one of the most original jrpg franchises you will ever be able to play: its deep plot focuses on politics, war, famine and the mystery surrounding the angels and their struggle against humankind. While the story is indeed well written and really enjoyable and the characters are some of the best seen in the last years, the realGrowlanser Wayfarer of Time is the last English entry into one of the most original jrpg franchises you will ever be able to play: its deep plot focuses on politics, war, famine and the mystery surrounding the angels and their struggle against humankind. While the story is indeed well written and really enjoyable and the characters are some of the best seen in the last years, the real greatness of this game is its battle system, a fantastic mix of real time battles, tactical combat and traditional explorations that will satisfy every kind of jrpg fan. With tons of choices during dialogues, you will be able to play the game countless times and witness different events, ranging from some characters' deaths or survival to one of the three main plots to over 40 possible endings. This game is probably the best Japanese RPG on PSP alongside the Trails in the Sky series, and it's a great swan song for this platform's rpg lineup. Expand
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    growlancer is truly a fantastic game, every psp owner should buy it and enjoy one of the greatest experiences the j-rpg genre has provided this year. the battles are a fresh take on strategy combat, and are so enjoyable and deep you won't be able to drop the game till your battery runs out, just like me. Urushiara's art may not be for everyone, but it surely adds another layer ofgrowlancer is truly a fantastic game, every psp owner should buy it and enjoy one of the greatest experiences the j-rpg genre has provided this year. the battles are a fresh take on strategy combat, and are so enjoyable and deep you won't be able to drop the game till your battery runs out, just like me. Urushiara's art may not be for everyone, but it surely adds another layer of uniqueness to the game, helping it to stand out even more. Expand
  3. Jul 31, 2012
    10
    Being a fan of the PlayStation 2 Growlanser games, I preordered WoT and got it some days before the official release date... since then, I have spent almost thirty hours on the game, and I have enjoyed it immensely. The mix between rts, rpg and Satoshi Urushihara's art direction is wonderful, and the choices you make during the game have a deep impact upon the storyline's progression. TheBeing a fan of the PlayStation 2 Growlanser games, I preordered WoT and got it some days before the official release date... since then, I have spent almost thirty hours on the game, and I have enjoyed it immensely. The mix between rts, rpg and Satoshi Urushihara's art direction is wonderful, and the choices you make during the game have a deep impact upon the storyline's progression. The story, yeah - it has to be the best I have seen in a rpg in a long time, and other developers should look at it when trying to write up a war drama. I cannot thank Atlus enough for localizing this masterpiece. Expand
  4. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    This is a great re-release of an older PS2 classic that has finally made it stateside! The "drawback" is that there are certain parts of it that are going to feel aged. And you know what? So what? For those of us who grew up playing really well done RPG's on the PS1 and PS2, this game will hit you with wave after wave of nostalgia. The combat is strategic enough to keep you thinking andThis is a great re-release of an older PS2 classic that has finally made it stateside! The "drawback" is that there are certain parts of it that are going to feel aged. And you know what? So what? For those of us who grew up playing really well done RPG's on the PS1 and PS2, this game will hit you with wave after wave of nostalgia. The combat is strategic enough to keep you thinking and working, but still very fast passed with its RTS design, so those of you who don't like slow, grid based combat, have no fear. The story is familiar for most RPG faithful: huge continent at war with everyone fighting each other while political puppeteers make everyone dance in the shadows. Meanwhile a larger threat looms, threatening to destroy everyone indiscriminately. But the story is told so well that the things that happen that aren't a surprise to most of us don't really matter. You still care about the people and the events despite seeing them a dozen other times in other stories. The story is also harsh and unforgiving, Without spoiling too much, the story kills characters off everywhere. No one seems safe as each hour unfolds. The game is just about perfect in every way (despite looking a bit aged). If you aren't interested in a trip down nostalgia lane with a soon to be classic RPG, go back to playing some mindless CoD or Gears of War and leave the rest of us to enjoy a game that embraces good story telling and a game that will sink it's claws in you and not let go. Expand
  5. Feb 27, 2013
    9
    This is the first time I played this series and I had my doubts... for the first 15 minutes that is. This game is awesome, almost flawless. The backgrounds are detailed, colorful and pump up the atmosphere, the characters personas are detailed to the max, the plot is... how should I say this... I started to play yesterday around 16:00 and it just sucked me in, I put down my precious aroundThis is the first time I played this series and I had my doubts... for the first 15 minutes that is. This game is awesome, almost flawless. The backgrounds are detailed, colorful and pump up the atmosphere, the characters personas are detailed to the max, the plot is... how should I say this... I started to play yesterday around 16:00 and it just sucked me in, I put down my precious around 01:00 and I was like... "duuude".
    The MC is like Charlie Chaplin, never gets in in any conversation, well not without us, players. I noticed around the second hour of playing that he only speaks when we make him so.
    The other thing is the Familiar... I poked around approx. half and hour loading the game again and again back at the familiar-constructing part, and it really is great. The body, the personality and the skills and perks depends on your answers only. Tie me up and call me Jebediah, but I loved this part of the game.
    The battle system is detailed and flexible, you need to observe the whole battlefield, count on every situation, I'm very satisfied with it and I should know it, I'm quite picky about this part as a Disgaea lover.
    The soundtrack is ok, nothing extraordinary, fits in the game perfectly. The cutscenes are beautiful, all the anime-fans will adore it as a gem on a crown. I can't get enough of this game, I know I will not find my place in the world when I finish it... oh well, I'll just start it over again after a little break.
    Expand
  6. Apr 20, 2013
    10
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Being a fan of the PlayStation 2 Growlanser games, I preordered WoT and got it some days before the official release date... since then, I have spent almost thirty hours on the game, and I have enjoyed it immensely. The mix between rts, rpg and Satoshi Urushihara's art direction is wonderful, and the choices you make during the game have a deep impact upon the storyline's progression. The story, yeah it has to be the best I have seen in a rpg in a long time, and other developers should look at it when trying to write up a war drama. I cannot thank Atlus enough for localizing this masterpiece. CollapseBeing a fan of the PlayStation 2 Growlanser games, I preordered WoT and got it some days before the official release date... since then, I have spent almost thirty hours on the game, and I have enjoyed it immensely. The mix between rts, rpg and Satoshi Urushihara's art direction is wonderful, and the choices you make during the game have a deep impact upon the storyline's progression. The story, yeah it has to be the best I have seen in a rpg in a long time, and other developers should look at it when trying to write up a war drama. I cannot thank Atlus enough for localizing this masterpiece. CollapseBeing a fan of the PlayStation 2 Growlanser games, I preordered WoT and got it some days before the official release date... since then, I have spent almost thirty hours on the game, and I have enjoyed it immensely. The mix between rts, rpg and Satoshi Urushihara's art direction is wonderful, and the choices you make during the game have a deep impact upon the storyline's progression. The story, yeah it has to be the best I have seen in a rpg in a long time, and other developers should look at it when trying to write up a war drama. I cannot thank Atlus enough for localizing this masterpiece. Collapse Expand
Metascore
67

Mixed or average reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 14
  2. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. Sep 18, 2012
    65
    The battle system in Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time isn't really at fault here, it's the numbers game behind it that seems to be rigged in the computer's favor that makes playing this game a chore. The slow story pacing will also require a lot of patience from prospective gamers.
  2. Sep 18, 2012
    70
    Issues aside, it's hard to discount the feeling of nostalgia that permeates Growlanser: Wayfarer of Time. Gamers like me, who experienced the golden age of the JRPG firsthand, will undoubtedly enjoy this title despite the occasional misstep.
  3. Sep 10, 2012
    60
    A unique blend of turn based and real time battles is squandered on bland battles and a pacing that is far too slow.