Killzone: Liberation PSP

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Oct 31, 2006
User Score
8.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 79 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 66 out of 79
  2. Negative: 7 out of 79
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 24, 2013
    8
    Quite addicting, but it's not all to easy to get into. Yes, if you loved the original killzone (or 2 and/or 3) chances are you will love this. It is fun, though while it tells a story, I never really played for the story, since the story REALLY is like killzone 1's story only without the parts where it actually explains WHY these two factions or teams or sides or WHATEVER are/is fighting.Quite addicting, but it's not all to easy to get into. Yes, if you loved the original killzone (or 2 and/or 3) chances are you will love this. It is fun, though while it tells a story, I never really played for the story, since the story REALLY is like killzone 1's story only without the parts where it actually explains WHY these two factions or teams or sides or WHATEVER are/is fighting. Also, some of the controls say "Press and hold" when really I held the button down without pressing it, and it happens to work anyways CONTROOOOLS! This game is still very fun and enjoyable, and if you like this, chances are you will be playing mercenary soon. Luckily, if you had a PS3 and a PSP when the networks were done with the long waiting (if you haven't heard of the hack that occurred on the PSN in 2011) you would get this FOR FREE (along with other games such as, LBP PSP and Police Force). It doesn't take a killzone addiction to love this game, really. This game is a great PSP shooter overall and is HIGHLY recommended.
    If you love killzone, play this.
    Expand
  2. KassraR.
    Aug 27, 2008
    10
    This is by far THE BEST psp-game I've eva played. When my friend bought it for me on my b-day, i was ratha thinkin it wud be anotha average shoota 4 the psp where although the superb graphics and gameplay really were stunning, the incredibly short campaign and no online play let me down. Then when i heard dat there was a multiplaya patch out 4 this game and that there also was a new This is by far THE BEST psp-game I've eva played. When my friend bought it for me on my b-day, i was ratha thinkin it wud be anotha average shoota 4 the psp where although the superb graphics and gameplay really were stunning, the incredibly short campaign and no online play let me down. Then when i heard dat there was a multiplaya patch out 4 this game and that there also was a new chapta added increasing the campaign length and finally letting us know where R****(Spoiler) was taken i gave the game a second look and also tried the online play. I wud have neva been thinkin dat it cud replace mgs po or socom ftb2 which i was regularly playin at dat time, but well it did. The most important reason y it did was dat this game was mainly relyin on communication between team mates in order for a team to win. I can remememba where it seemed like our team was winnin in a team death match and we were moving in a group of 4. We all saw an opponent running ova a bridge in front of us and just when we were abt 2 go onto the bridge i shouted stop into the microphone and every1 waited cus i was assuming dat the opponent was running away from us because he laid a mine on the bridge so i told my team mates 2 wait and slowly approached the bridge, then i saw the mine, and I quikly rolled away when the opponent detonated it. I saved my otha 3 team mates Expand
  3. DavidT.
    Jan 5, 2007
    9
    Probably the most fun and challenging game I have EVER played on the PSP. The controls are simplistic and never seem limited. The story is nothing important but I did like how they left it open for a potential, almost essential sequel. I truly believe that Killzone was the first game to truly capture the essence of the PSP system. Fun, Fast, Arcade-Like action. I feel like most times Probably the most fun and challenging game I have EVER played on the PSP. The controls are simplistic and never seem limited. The story is nothing important but I did like how they left it open for a potential, almost essential sequel. I truly believe that Killzone was the first game to truly capture the essence of the PSP system. Fun, Fast, Arcade-Like action. I feel like most times great games (Metal Gear/Syphon Filter) are limited by their overwhelming command and the obvious limits of the PSP system. The only negative thing I found was that the online features aren't certainly not up to par with most PSP games and the multiplayer feature is virtually useless but in all: Great Game. My Favorite yet! Keep em coming. Expand
  4. DaveN.
    Jul 1, 2007
    10
    Beautiful just beautiful,a fluid,mesmerising peice of stuff . testing but too good to put down.Price has dropped so theres no reason not to buy it now.
  5. BenT.
    Jan 5, 2007
    10
    Once again another good game. I have the first Killzone on PS2 and its slightly better but this game is so cool.
  6. JarredH.
    Mar 4, 2007
    9
    Guerilla Games really gambled with this new style of gameplay, and they passed with flying colors. Everything here seems to work together flawlessly, and the upcoming infrastructure patch should be a blast. The only gripe in the game is its difficulty. This really makes the game almost inaccessible to casual gamers, as the difficulty will most likely drive them away. Other than that, Guerilla Games really gambled with this new style of gameplay, and they passed with flying colors. Everything here seems to work together flawlessly, and the upcoming infrastructure patch should be a blast. The only gripe in the game is its difficulty. This really makes the game almost inaccessible to casual gamers, as the difficulty will most likely drive them away. Other than that, Killzone: Liberation is one of the best PSP games to date. Expand
  7. DavidN.
    Sep 22, 2007
    8
    I bought this game 2 months ago and have just recently finished it .The top down view is genius and it plays with the fluidity of a first-person shooter but with the fun of an old school shooter.It was great ,until the 5th or 6th level when things got tricky. I found myself dying and dying and dying, it was enough to make you want to throw this blessed sexy piece of technology out the I bought this game 2 months ago and have just recently finished it .The top down view is genius and it plays with the fluidity of a first-person shooter but with the fun of an old school shooter.It was great ,until the 5th or 6th level when things got tricky. I found myself dying and dying and dying, it was enough to make you want to throw this blessed sexy piece of technology out the window but i did'nt and after another couple of restarts it came together for me .The graphics do the game justice if a little bland . I'm only a casual gamer so for the less gifted it is a challenge but if you think your ready then you won't find a greater test than this! Expand
  8. McBain17
    Dec 4, 2006
    8
    This game reminds me of a deeper contra from back in the day. I bought this one soley on what I read here, and the reviews are pretty much dead on. The game is hard, but thats good because the individual missions aren't that long. I'm kinda upset that once again there isn't any infrasturcture online mode yet again for another non EA game, but what are you going to do. If This game reminds me of a deeper contra from back in the day. I bought this one soley on what I read here, and the reviews are pretty much dead on. The game is hard, but thats good because the individual missions aren't that long. I'm kinda upset that once again there isn't any infrasturcture online mode yet again for another non EA game, but what are you going to do. If you buddies do pick it up it supports up to 6 players in several MP modes. The command system was a little weird for me to begin with, but once you get it you can use your AI teamates to your advantage. Overall I suggest this game to someone looking for an action title to sprinkle in with your sports games etc. Expand
  9. Nov 4, 2010
    8
    A good top-down shooter for the PSP. The missions are a good length for a portable game. They're rather linear, but in a portable you probably don't have a lot of time to go exploring, so I didn't mind that. Graphics are pretty good. Decent selection of weapons and upgrades. The challenges break up the missions well and are worth doing, earning some useful abilities. The story isA good top-down shooter for the PSP. The missions are a good length for a portable game. They're rather linear, but in a portable you probably don't have a lot of time to go exploring, so I didn't mind that. Graphics are pretty good. Decent selection of weapons and upgrades. The challenges break up the missions well and are worth doing, earning some useful abilities. The story is nothing special, though not terrible either, and the gameplay should keep you going through to the end. Easily worth playing. Expand
  10. Jan 13, 2012
    10
    Killzone: Liberation for the Playstion Portable was a great game and the Bosses were a witty challenge to the game's original story line.It was a 10/10 for : graphics,music,voice acting and overall storyline.

    10/10
  11. MartynH.
    Jan 15, 2007
    9
    Killzone: Liberation is a highly polished and well balanced game that offers very intense and atmospheric gameplay. The package offers a very solid, if slightly short, campaign mode and a wide host of multiplayer options through many gritty, detailed levels all tailored specifically to the PSP. A very worthwhile purchase, let down only by the harrowing difficulty.
  12. MykeM.
    Dec 6, 2007
    10
    Most people Misunderstand.. KILLZONE Liberation is for the PSP!! The PSP! A Handheld, And any critic who gives it below an 8 is a fool and refuses to realize they are playing on a PSP. First- Graphics are supreme.. for being on a handheld, the environments really make it feel like an FPS even though its a strategic Third Person shooter.. Dont listen to G4.. they suck like crap at playing Most people Misunderstand.. KILLZONE Liberation is for the PSP!! The PSP! A Handheld, And any critic who gives it below an 8 is a fool and refuses to realize they are playing on a PSP. First- Graphics are supreme.. for being on a handheld, the environments really make it feel like an FPS even though its a strategic Third Person shooter.. Dont listen to G4.. they suck like crap at playing games, we all knew that already though, they Love dying, Whether it be Halo 3, Gears, or Ninja Gaiden they fail haha So of course theyre going to die alot more than real average gamers would. (Killzone LIberation is challenging, and it does take some mental work sometimes- like for boss fights.. more like in Halo how you have to aim between the armor for the Hunters though its really simple, G4 Never stood a chance lol.) Aiming is guided, though you have to look and turn the right way- as in if theyre up on a ledge above you.. you cant just turn around and immediately expect to to autolock on them- you have to guide it to them and get it pretty much perfectly on them.. The good news is when you get the lock, you can stay locked on by holding the L1 button and just walking around. And whenever you lock on to an enemy far away, the screen shapes to show all room between you and him. Thats just an example of its depth.. among that.. unlockable weapons, 5 long chapters, a multiplayer that actually shares similarity to gears- 8 players, good map types and design, great graphics (for being a psp game, definitely this game looks awesome), grenades, snipers, rocket launchers.. definitely loads of nonstop action throughout the game.. . If i could describe its gameplay in 1 work, it would be Solid. If you want a fantastic PSP game, This is what you've been looking for. Great gameplay, great graphics, easy to get used to, multiplayer, long campaign, lots of weapons, unlockable achievements (challenge missions you can also unlock after you beat missions) etc, Pretty much everything you'd expect and more...this is on the Playstation Portable! Expand
  13. ZemZ.
    Jun 28, 2007
    9
    Challenging, even on easy, but not enogh so to drive away those who love fun, & the story is seperate enogh that you can play it even without haveing played the okay first game.
  14. IanR.
    May 9, 2008
    9
    I got through the first chapter of the game and immediatly thought this is one of the best psp games I've played. Its looks like a dungeon crawler but don't let that turn you away. It plays more like a squad based shooter. And it is surely not easy at all. You will DIE OVER and OVER and AGAIN. It also has a great physics engine. Although it may look like an overhead shooter but I got through the first chapter of the game and immediatly thought this is one of the best psp games I've played. Its looks like a dungeon crawler but don't let that turn you away. It plays more like a squad based shooter. And it is surely not easy at all. You will DIE OVER and OVER and AGAIN. It also has a great physics engine. Although it may look like an overhead shooter but it does have height and explosions that are cool. Expand
  15. Sam
    Nov 21, 2006
    9
    It certainly isn't one of the greatest games of all time, but with solid controls, outstanding sound and visuals, and terrific gameplay, it's one of the, if not the, reason to own a PSP.
  16. VijayS.
    Dec 18, 2006
    9
    Its a very good game with the right amount of strategy and action.
  17. BrentK.
    Oct 26, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing game. Pure fun. It is a shining example of what the PSP can do. Gameplay - Very good controls. Easy to grasp, and get accustomed to. Barely any real learning curve. The isometric view point work perfectly for the PSP, and its screen. The games unique take on gunplay with this view pays off perfectly. A.I for the enemies and friendlies is very impressive. Vehicles add Absolutely amazing game. Pure fun. It is a shining example of what the PSP can do. Gameplay - Very good controls. Easy to grasp, and get accustomed to. Barely any real learning curve. The isometric view point work perfectly for the PSP, and its screen. The games unique take on gunplay with this view pays off perfectly. A.I for the enemies and friendlies is very impressive. Vehicles add depth and fun to the game. Great level design. Sound - Great sound. Music is fantastic. Could use more during the game, but what is there is fantastic. Sound of the guns and everything else is crisp and clear. Use headphones to experience some of the best sound on the PSP. Graphics - Absolutely gorgeous. Extreme detail in everything. Great animation. Rag-Doll enemies save for fantastic death sequences. Characters don't look like midgets, and that is good for this type of camera angle. Environments and particle effects for those environments are fantastic, and are some of the best I've ever seen, on a handheld or console. Quite possible the best atmosphere in a game (feels like a true war, and race against time.) Story - Great, yet fairly basic story. Although it still carries the Killzone universe well, and that is all that really matters. Picks up after the first Killzone on PS2. Templar has to head behind enemy lines and liberate southern Vekta from the clutches of the evil Helghast general, Metrac. Story that will actually keep you engaged to keep playing. Multiplayer - Take my word... one of the best multiplayer experiences in gaming history. Trust me. Gather up a few friends and play some Ad-Hoc, and watch the bullets fly and death ensue. Chaotic with non-stop action. Never search for anyone, because the maps are of perfect size, and design. Infrastructure (online) play will be release soon after the release of the game on October 31st, and November 1st, in North America, and Europe. And finally, co-operative play (co-op) is in the game, and it is fantastic. You get to play as a special character, but I won't say anything. Great stuff, and extremely fun. Value - Great value. Downloadable content coming in the near future, including more challenge games and a new chapter (4 missions) for both single player, and co-op. Challenge games are fun, and add depth and replay value. Great selection of guns. Nice to go back and beat the game with each weapon. Easy game on easy mode. Short, but playing it on hard mode is intense, and will take you awhile to beat. Good to bring a friend along for the hard mode. Overall - 10/10. Great game allround, and a perfect example of what the PSP can do. Killer App for sure. This is a MUST BUY for any PSP owner, or soon to be owner. This game is worth picking up a PSP for. Expand
  18. Assimov
    May 18, 2007
    8
    Gameplay perfectly adjusted for PSP. Good graphics. Sometimes can be repetitive. Online play is good. And game sharing is limited.
  19. Feb 27, 2012
    8
    Very good game, great production values, quick-paced action, well balanced gameplay. Might be a little frustrating at certain points (especially final level), but that's nothing for action game fan. Getting free DLC chapter 5 is a bit of a hassle though (have to download the data manually from developer's web site on PC and transfer to PSP), and without it the story does not conclude andVery good game, great production values, quick-paced action, well balanced gameplay. Might be a little frustrating at certain points (especially final level), but that's nothing for action game fan. Getting free DLC chapter 5 is a bit of a hassle though (have to download the data manually from developer's web site on PC and transfer to PSP), and without it the story does not conclude and is not to long. Recommended! Expand
  20. Apr 12, 2012
    10
    Oh boy! This game trully rocks! Miltiplayer is a killer, single player is a bomb!
  21. Nov 23, 2012
    9
    Graphics, sound, story, and polish are great. Mission structure, controls, gunplay, and Ai are great as well. The game also has single player campaign, challenges, co op, and competitive multiplayer. No online play though, just local.

Awards & Rankings

#8 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
#24 Most Shared PSP Game of 2006
Metascore
77

Generally favorable reviews - based on 56 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 39 out of 56
  2. Negative: 1 out of 56
  1. Play Magazine
    65
    Any game can be an emotional experience if it has a little soul. And to put it bluntly, Killzone: Liberation is just soulless. [Oct. 2006, p.66]
  2. The single-player missions are rather linear but the gameplay mechanics create an environment where players won’t be fumbling with controls, but will be able to experience the game for what it presents.
  3. While Killzone: Liberation isn’t mindblowing and has some flaws, it's a good action game for a game system on the go.