Metascore
53

Mixed or average reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 45
  2. Negative: 15 out of 45
  1. Feb 16, 2011
    45
    Tedious quests and dull, infuriating combat make this one fantasy adventure whose monsters you won't want to hunt.
  2. Feb 8, 2011
    45
    Lord of Arcana commits the cardinal sin of game design: Beyond being painfully lacking in variety or original ideas, it outright wastes your time, and then punishes you for your determination to not give up.
  3. Mar 8, 2011
    40
    For gamers that are fascinated by the Monster Hunter Portable phenomenon our advice is to forget the imitator and head straight for the real deal.
  4. Feb 26, 2011
    40
    Access Games' take on the Monster Hunter formula attempts little beyond a straightforward recreation of that series' structure. [Mar 2011, p.107]
  5. Feb 23, 2011
    40
    It tries to compete with Monster Hunter, but fails on almost every aspect.
  6. An exercise in tedium. [Spring 2011, p.117]
  7. Feb 18, 2011
    40
    It's not Monster Hunter, but it's desperately trying to be. If you like RPGs will little story, even less of a battle system and an endless amount of missions, this one's for you.
  8. Feb 16, 2011
    40
    Even though its game system works, and you're the type of gamer that is patient and motivated, Lord of Arcana doesn't win from the comparison with Monster Hunter, from which it draws most of its design without trying to conceal it. Let's be clear : it doesn't match its model, in terms of fun nor content or variety, nor even in terms of combat or richness. We'd need to completely forget about Capcom's franchise in order to enjoy Lord of Arcana despite its shortcomings.
  9. Arcana, save for a few inventive designs, looks like every other fantasy adventure that didn't go to the trouble, which is the root of its problems. [March 2011, p.79]
  10. 40
    A Monster Hunter clone that copies most of the key features but fails to properly balance any of them - or add any proper new ideas of its own.
  11. Jan 25, 2011
    40
    Lord of Arcana is one of those games where the amount of fun you're having is directly proportional to how many people you play with. But there's the catch: if you're playing by yourself, you'll have little to no fun at all, and the lack of online play makes getting a party together unnecessarily difficult. Online play should be standard for this kind of experience, and the game suffers immensely for it.
  12. Apr 27, 2011
    35
    Clearly, the guys at Access Games understand that games in the Monster Hunter vein are supposed to be punishingly difficult. What they didn't get was that the soul-crushing challenge should come from the gameplay and not poor design decisions. Throwing down your PSP in anger because a boss has outsmarted you is acceptable. Tossing it aside because a fight revolves more around beating the bad game design than the actual enemy is not.
  13. Mar 17, 2011
    30
    Lord of Arcana isn't completely broken, but it's just a flop. No ambition, no uniqueness, and little if any appeal even to its target audience.
  14. Mar 3, 2011
    30
    Ultimately, Lord of Arcana does not succeed as a viable Monster Hunter clone, both because of the broken battle system or the lack of variation in the missions available, there's enough to turn people off from the title.
  15. Jan 26, 2011
    30
    Lord of Arcana has made a painfully deliberate attempt at riding the wave that Monster Hunter started, and lamentably, it's wiped out.
User Score
4.6

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 17 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 1 out of 6
  1. Feb 10, 2011
    10
    Lord of Arcana, for the demographic of gamers it is catering to, is an excellent game through and through. Never have I read so many reviewsLord of Arcana, for the demographic of gamers it is catering to, is an excellent game through and through. Never have I read so many reviews across the web and felt that so much wrong information was being published about this game. First of all, the game is hard, because that's the point. But you level up and get new gear and stay persistent, and soon those early enemies and bosses become fodder for your sword. The game demands patience from the player, but it moves along steadily (I'm about half way through at 30 hours or so, which is standard for an action RPG).

    Second, this game, though obviously heavily inspired by Monster Hunter, is quite different. It feels much more like a Square-Enix RPG, despite the fact that Square-Enix was the publisher, not the developer.

    Third, the graphics are really awesome. No, it's not the top of the stack for PSP games visually, but it is far prettier than most would lead you to believe.

    And possibly the most important point I can make: you can play this game solo. At least it hasn't given me a problem yet. Many complain that the lack of wireless connectivity doesn't allow you to conveniently play with others, but you can certainly play this game alone. I've been doing just fine...you just need to grind, loot, build new gear, level, and learn your enemies attack patterns.

    Overall, this is already going to be one of my favorite PSP games of 2011, so if you are on the fence, please by all means, pick this little gem up. Not many things are more rewarding than downing a monster after fighting him for 20 minutes.
    Full Review »
  2. Jan 27, 2011
    8
    This review contains spoilers, click full review link to view. The critics just love to hate on games like this for the idiotic reasons. "Oh the graphics aren't the prettiest", and, "Oh it's just like Monster Hunter". Last time I checked they gave Monster Hunter low scores. Now that MH is insanely popular they give Monster Hunter sequels decent reviews. So don't listen to "professional" reveiws. The game is fun. If you like Monster Hunter or Phantasy Star Portable/Online, you'll enjoy this as it mixes elements from both and throws them into a fantasy based world. The story isn't the prominent ( another thing reveiwers bash this game for while now loving MH...) but it's the kind of game where the story isn't important. The action is much faster paced and the leveling sytem honestly work better for weapons in this than it did for Phantasy Star Portable. Instead of having to grind certain moves like in PH Portable, you gain proficiency points for the weapon style you use. A much better system. You can still craft weapons and armor like in Monster Hunter. You can also craft magical spells and summons out of the bosses you kill. This game is not for everyone. There will be grinding, but if you are a true fan of Monster Hunter waiting for Monster Hunter 3rd for your PSP, get this game. The camera works a bit better than Monster Hunter as it has a lock on mechanic. The downside to it is that you have to hold the "L" button while fighting. You get used to it though. It's still a tough as nails game so you have to prepare for each quest like you would in MH. Especially for boss fights. Overall a decent game not at all deserving of it's lower "pro" score. Full Review »
  3. Oct 4, 2011
    1
    Did I enjoy my adventures in Horodyn?
    Not really. I did at first; the tutorial was nice, the boss battle was alright and it had some variety.
    Did I enjoy my adventures in Horodyn?
    Not really. I did at first; the tutorial was nice, the boss battle was alright and it had some variety.
    The actual game, starting with a level one character turned me off.
    Some people might consider it fun to grind. And grind. And grind. And grind and grind and grind til they finally do a nice amount of damage, get some options and encounter more types of enemies,
    but I surely do not.

    Grinding is a good part of RPGs, but in Lord of Arcana, it just doesn't pay off to spend hours and hours into playing something you aren't supposed to play alone.

    The multiplayer might be a hell lot of fun, but due to 'bringing gamers together in real life'-reasons by Square Enix, you won't be able to play with your friends using W-LAN.
    All you can do is sit together and play via AdHoc or connect your PSPs to a PS3 to simulate AdHoc.
    While playing together irl is fun, it is seldom possible, especially in world unified by the internet.

    First Publishers cut Split Screen from their games, and now they want Portable users to get together.
    I sure wouldn't get any of my friends to spend money on such an unpolished game, that's for sure.

    Full Review: http://darkchaplain-anotherstory.blogspot.com/2011/02/lord-of-arcana-review.html
    Full Review »