Mega Man Powered Up PSP

  • Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Mar 14, 2006
User Score
7.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 35
  2. Negative: 5 out of 35
Buy On

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. DonF.
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    This is the best game for the PSP! I couldn't stop playing once I had gotten it.
  2. AndrewC.
    Apr 15, 2006
    9
    Mega Man: Powered Up is, at its heart, a port of an NES game. Worse yet, it is a port of a 2D title to a 3D platform. However, unlike other 2D-3D ports (Bubsy 3D, Earthworm Jim 3D, etc), MM:PU maintains its 2D GAMEPLAY while moving to a polygonal world. Unfortunately, this means that there are some jumping bits that are hard (if not impossible) to judge thanks to the new look. Of course, Mega Man: Powered Up is, at its heart, a port of an NES game. Worse yet, it is a port of a 2D title to a 3D platform. However, unlike other 2D-3D ports (Bubsy 3D, Earthworm Jim 3D, etc), MM:PU maintains its 2D GAMEPLAY while moving to a polygonal world. Unfortunately, this means that there are some jumping bits that are hard (if not impossible) to judge thanks to the new look. Of course, this is a small price to pay for what you get here. Not only does MM:PU contain a direct conversion of the original Mega Man, it also offers a "new" game mode that shifts around levels slightly and offers two new bosses: Time Man and Oil Man. Add in an easy-to-use, lego-style level editor complete with its own download/ranking site and the ability to play through "new" mode with any boss character that you defeat using only Mega Man's default buster, and you have a surprisingly robust game that is well worth the cost of entry. Collapse
  3. JudsonA.
    Apr 18, 2006
    10
    This game is, simply put, great! The classic gameplay that made MegaMan so fun in the first place is still inside. To cover bases though Capcom updated the graphics and the sounds to make the game a little easier on the eyes and ears. I can't believe how much they've added in making bosses playable, adding downloadable content, a stage creation tool and all of the challenges. This game is, simply put, great! The classic gameplay that made MegaMan so fun in the first place is still inside. To cover bases though Capcom updated the graphics and the sounds to make the game a little easier on the eyes and ears. I can't believe how much they've added in making bosses playable, adding downloadable content, a stage creation tool and all of the challenges. Overall this game is probably the most bang for your buck that you will ever find. Expand
  4. ClayW.
    Jun 4, 2006
    8
    What was once an abysmal, nightmarishly hard game with one of the worst platformer engines ever has now been redeemed. Capcom gave this game a complete overhaul, and it's now a great game, with loads of replay value (every Robot Master can be unlocked to play as, and you can make your own levels and download new ones over Wi-Fi), great voice acting (a relief after Mega Man 8, even What was once an abysmal, nightmarishly hard game with one of the worst platformer engines ever has now been redeemed. Capcom gave this game a complete overhaul, and it's now a great game, with loads of replay value (every Robot Master can be unlocked to play as, and you can make your own levels and download new ones over Wi-Fi), great voice acting (a relief after Mega Man 8, even though that was a while ago), and great music. Worth a purchase if you like Mega Man. Expand
  5. PaulC.
    Mar 18, 2006
    9
    Very good game. If you like Mega Man, this is a MUST BUY. If you like infinite replay value, this is also a MUST BUY due to the level editor. You actually get to build your own Mega Man levels which, I'm sorry, is something that most games SHOULD do, but don't. Solid game, great update on the graphics and just fun to play. Highly reommended.
  6. MikeG.
    Mar 19, 2006
    10
    Awesome game, many great unlockables, new and fresh graphical style, finely tuned game mechanics
  7. Mar 19, 2015
    6
    This game required too much perfect jumping on a few levels which put a damper on this game. However the game looks and plays well on the surface. The music is great. Its probably one of the best PSP games. I'm just not going to sit here and say its tons of fun and give it a high rating. It becomes excruciating / annoying halfway through. The ability to collect different objects inThis game required too much perfect jumping on a few levels which put a damper on this game. However the game looks and plays well on the surface. The music is great. Its probably one of the best PSP games. I'm just not going to sit here and say its tons of fun and give it a high rating. It becomes excruciating / annoying halfway through. The ability to collect different objects in different areas gave it a replay factor. The weapons and transformations of Mega Man are excellent. Its probably one of the best Mega Man games. This series just hasn't changed at all. This is for original Mega Man fans that played it on NES. Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    8
    This is a fact, the graphics makes me cry by the cutesy that brings packed with the most simplistic gameplay formula . For fans and casual gamers , MMPU will be a worthy tittle the it'll make your PSP proud .
  9. Feb 27, 2012
    10
    I've heard of this game. I'd love the facts that you can play as the Robot Masters, but it's worth the challenge when it comes to defeating them in normal mode with the Mega Buster. Not only you can as the bosses, but you can create your own levels and publish them online. I don't know why Capcom wouldn't make us Mega Man Powered Up 2. There's no reason why this game is underrated. I lovedI've heard of this game. I'd love the facts that you can play as the Robot Masters, but it's worth the challenge when it comes to defeating them in normal mode with the Mega Buster. Not only you can as the bosses, but you can create your own levels and publish them online. I don't know why Capcom wouldn't make us Mega Man Powered Up 2. There's no reason why this game is underrated. I loved everything about this game so much there's nothing negative to say about it. The music should be fixed, but otherwise, please buy this game. I'll give this game an A+ and it's worth buying. Expand
  10. Apr 29, 2012
    8
    This game has the essence of the first Mega Man for NES. Capcom has redesigned it with updated graphics and music. Besides, if you liked the game when it was released in the 80s, this is much more challenging. You can even play with all the boss characters as if they were the real Mega. Besides, there are several challenges for each of them which makes this game longer. A specialThis game has the essence of the first Mega Man for NES. Capcom has redesigned it with updated graphics and music. Besides, if you liked the game when it was released in the 80s, this is much more challenging. You can even play with all the boss characters as if they were the real Mega. Besides, there are several challenges for each of them which makes this game longer. A special characteristic of this game is the level editor, which is not really difficult to get used to. Apart from this, you can upload your stage to a web server where you can download other levels made from fans.

    Truly recommendable.
    Expand
  11. Jul 21, 2016
    9
    Mega Man Powered Up is not doing new things that make the game so fancy just some minor changes that make this game amazing! Just the new feel is only my one little problem with the game.
  12. Jun 23, 2016
    10
    Mega man powered up is best psp game along with mega man maverick hunter X, It features oil man and time man as new bosses, however 8 bosses roll and protoman are playable, get mega man power up.

Awards & Rankings

#14 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2006
Metascore
82

Generally favorable reviews - based on 28 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 28
  2. Negative: 1 out of 28
  1. The game dreams are made of. It’s beautiful, has hundreds and hundreds of professionally made challenging levels, a dozen playable characters, an in-depth level creator, and internet capabilities for endless replay through downloading new levels. [JPN Import]
  2. Regardless of what you might think of Powered Up's ubercute presentation, there's no denying the addictive challenge the game provides.
  3. 85
    No doubt we'll all be sick of it by the time Powered Up 6 rolls around, but you can hardly hold Capcom's inevitable future sins against what amounts to one of the most addictive PSP games to date.