Metal Gear Acid PSP

  • Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
Buy On
  1. The play mechanics are well realized and thankfully add something new the to genre. If you're a Metal Gear fan, the card collection aspect alone will make it worth you time for nostalgia's sake.
  2. The most interesting features I found were the cost system, which determines the relative order of actions in the game, and the equipment bonuses, which can vary depending on how you equip each item in relation to another item.
  3. A great game with superb graphics, game play and re-playability.
  4. If you love card games or are a fanatic for Metal Gear, and you're fairly patient, then this could easily be the game for you. It's a really great implementation of new technology as well as being very ambitious.
  5. Easily one of the best turn-based strategy games to come along in years. It offers a deep and flexible system of deck building and card playing, and, better still, it contains everything that has made the Metal Gear franchise so popular over the years.
  6. The experience is analogous to an elaborate board game in which the board and architecture change from mission to mission—much like Hero's Quest (fantasy setting notwithstanding). It may not be a typical Metal Gear title, but it is a very robust game and it is worth a look for those yearning for something different.
  7. Weekly Famitsu
    85
    8 / 9 / 8 / 9 - 34 gold [Dec 2004]
  8. The graphics are stunning, the sound is incredible - this is definitely Metal Gear, just with cards. Whatever you do, don't ignore the importance of this game to the early life of the Playstation Portable. [JPN Import]
  9. 85
    This game is great precisely because it's an original take on a familiar world.
  10. While Metal Gear Acid is an amazing title which strategy fans and hardcore MG addicts will appreciate and love, it cannot be recommended to everyone. This is a niche title that is perfectly suited for the handheld console, but which may be too slowly paced and strategic for most - add to that the initial learning curve of the card system.
  11. A rewarding experience that rewards the player for how well they play in a stage, and with an intruguing storyline.
  12. Game Informer
    83
    Snake has made a surprisingly smooth transition into the world of turn-based combat. [May 2005, p.126]
  13. Once you get a handle on the core mechanics, you'll find in Acid a rewarding game of strategic stealth combat coupled with a quirky, intriguing storyline and some neat points of nostalgia for the longtime Metal Gear fan.
  14. Those who stick with the game will get used to this new style of gameplay. As far as strategy games go, this one is chock full of action and just a few of the things we love about the series.
  15. Fans of previous Metal Gear stealth adventures will have to adjust their tolerance level to ‘HIGH’ to deal with MGA’s insanely hard and complex new turn-based card system.
  16. A fascinating, unusual combination of turn-based story-driven missions with "card-battle" mechanics (think "Magic the Gathering" or "Yu-Gi-Oh!"). And being part of the infamous Metal Gear franchise, it's got all the convoluted yet strangely intriguing plot twists you'd expect.
  17. 80
    A highly enjoyable tactical espionage adventure that forces you to think in new and exciting ways. It's also a sweet puzzle game, a card-based strategy title that takes familiar (albeit stale) gameplay mechanics and breathes life into them.
  18. Now it's not going to be as exciting as a full-on Metal Gear game, but to be honest, for a card-based strategy game, this is really a fun game that can be quite rewarding.
  19. I dig the card thing and all, but I would have loved to play a Metal Gear Solid game that stays true to the PS2 games.
  20. PSM Magazine
    80
    It's also tense and well-balanced and the diverse selection of cards you can put into your deck enables deep customization. [May 2005, p.80]
  21. Official U.S. Playstation Magazine
    80
    As solid as the turn-based gameplay is, I still have to warn you that your brain might fold in half as it comprehends how the game works. [May 2005, p.114]
  22. 80
    Tactical stealth using cards? Not everyone will like it, and some will hate it, but for those who can get around it, a great gaming experience awaits.
  23. Card gameplay has some good moments but eventually just becomes monotonous.
  24. Electronic Gaming Monthly
    77
    Give this one a try to experience something truly different, though be warned, it's a seriously hardcore game. [May 2005, p.90]
  25. Packing in all the strategy of chess and infused with the goodness that is Metal Gear, this could be the sleeper hit of the PSP.
  26. Don’t get me wrong, I’d choose real-time play over card battles any day, but that doesn’t change the fact that Acid is a unique, strategic approach to the Metal Gear universe, with enough depth to keep you coming back for more.
  27. While it's not what I'm used to from the "Metal Gear" franchise, these brain-straining battles are very rewarding, mainly because you invest a great deal of time in planning and methodical movement.
  28. There is fun to be had with Acid. It takes some patience to get there, but once you do, it feels like everything was worth it.
  29. It's extremely unfortunate that the Ac!d team couldn't reshape the opening hours into something more welcoming and tolerable.

Awards & Rankings

#6 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2005
#19 Most Shared PSP Game of 2005
User Score
6.7

Mixed or average reviews- based on 74 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 23 out of 43
  2. Negative: 13 out of 43
  1. May 11, 2015
    5
    A mealtime gear that hideo Kojima has nothing to do with it. Still nice but nothing special.I do not have to say anything more. But i need toA mealtime gear that hideo Kojima has nothing to do with it. Still nice but nothing special.I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it. Full Review »
  2. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    If you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and partIf you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill all enemies' takes a complete different deck then 'stay undetected'. Glad to have found the origional game in the stores today cause it really makes my collection of games for the PSP complete. Full Review »
  3. ZemZ.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a blast for those of you who just go & buy MGS:a thinking it's straight up MGS title you'll find disapointment & revultion in this a fun RPG style MGS. the plot is just what we fans of the game expect compleat with evil talking puppets & pychic little girls. for fifteen dollers it's worth you time, & money but please gointo it knowing it's closer to a RPG then a action game. Full Review »