• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 70
  2. Negative: 16 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AramisG.
    Apr 15, 2005
    4
    This is a review from someone who had never played a card game, so if you are a butt munch card game fan you don't need to read this. I have played just about every incarnation of Metal Gear from the first NES game to the GB versions. After MGS2 I had lost a little faith in the series but MGS3 brought me right back into the fold. So I bought Acid for my PSP even though I had never This is a review from someone who had never played a card game, so if you are a butt munch card game fan you don't need to read this. I have played just about every incarnation of Metal Gear from the first NES game to the GB versions. After MGS2 I had lost a little faith in the series but MGS3 brought me right back into the fold. So I bought Acid for my PSP even though I had never played a card game before. What can I say? The story seemed fine. The visuals were fresh. Even the music sounded really cool. So why did I pretty much give up on it after several hours of playing it? It just wasn't enjoyable. If you have never played a card game before and are wondering what this game is like, try imagining this. You have to walk across the room you are in and open a door. Sounds pretty simple right? Ok, now imagine that you can only move a few footsteps at a time. This is slowed down by the fact that everyone else in the room can't move while you are moving and vice versa (and they are all moving a few footsteps at a time too). Now then every time you move you have to pick the direction you want to go in and the direction you want to face when you stop moving. Alright let me sum this up for you. You FINALLY get to the other end of the room after about 10 minutes (granted you are not spotted, have fallen asleep while playing or were hiding for prolonged periods of time). Maybe there are people out there who think this type of slowed down, painfully planned out locomotion is invigorating, but not me. I am a get things done kind of guy. I don't need 10 hours to "strategize" on how to how to move from point A to point B. My cerebellum takes care of redundant movements for me, so I don't have to worry about it. It was frustrating because you constantly know what you need to do but there was no way to get around the fact that it was going to take forever to do it. Wait for a real MG adventure or get Splinter Cell (planned for the PSP). Expand
  2. AB
    May 5, 2005
    6
    The PS2 has God of War, the GameCube has Resident Evil 4, the Xbox has Forza Motorsport, and the PSP has...well, it ain't Metal Gear Acid, that's for sure. The level of disappointment I exhibited while playing MGA was unreal. I tried to enjoy the card-based gameplay, but enjoying a tedious bore-fest like this may be impossible. Even so, the story is still cool, and it still has The PS2 has God of War, the GameCube has Resident Evil 4, the Xbox has Forza Motorsport, and the PSP has...well, it ain't Metal Gear Acid, that's for sure. The level of disappointment I exhibited while playing MGA was unreal. I tried to enjoy the card-based gameplay, but enjoying a tedious bore-fest like this may be impossible. Even so, the story is still cool, and it still has the neat Metal Gear style, it just isn't as good as the console games. Expand
  3. SolidSnake(leon)Unknown(McNair
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    OH COME ON EVERY PEOPLE THAT THINKS METAL GEAR SOLID OR ACID OR JUST METAL GEAR IS IDIOTS BECAUSE YOU ARE READING THE MOST BIGGEST FAN IN THE WHOLE UNIVERSE OF SOLID SNAKE AND I WOULD SAY IT IS GREATER THAN 10 GREATER THAN THE GREAT BEYOUND. NOW TAKE MY ADVICE AND BUY IT. IT IS WORTH IT BECAUSE I HAVE IT. IT HAS BRILL, EXELLENT AND MAGNIFICENT GRAPHICS AND A WHOLE COLLECTION OF THE METALOH COME ON EVERY PEOPLE THAT THINKS METAL GEAR SOLID OR ACID OR JUST METAL GEAR IS IDIOTS BECAUSE YOU ARE READING THE MOST BIGGEST FAN IN THE WHOLE UNIVERSE OF SOLID SNAKE AND I WOULD SAY IT IS GREATER THAN 10 GREATER THAN THE GREAT BEYOUND. NOW TAKE MY ADVICE AND BUY IT. IT IS WORTH IT BECAUSE I HAVE IT. IT HAS BRILL, EXELLENT AND MAGNIFICENT GRAPHICS AND A WHOLE COLLECTION OF THE METAL GEAR CARDS LIKE FOR EXAMPLE SOLID SNAKE, LIQUID SNAKE, SOLIDUS SNAKE AND METAL GEAR EVEN WHEN IT WAS ON GAME OF MOBILE PHONES IT HAS IT ALL. DO NOT TAKE ANY ADVICE FROM ANYONE BUT THE ONES THAT ARE FANS! it has the whole lot! Expand
  4. Andrew
    Jul 27, 2006
    8
    This game has many detractors, which should not be suprising given that it is every bit as unforgiving and difficult to get into as many reviewers have pointed out. However, that does not make it a bad game. While it may take some patience and (gasp) help from some of the very helpful online guides to figure out how to proceed, once into the game, you will be able to appreciate a very This game has many detractors, which should not be suprising given that it is every bit as unforgiving and difficult to get into as many reviewers have pointed out. However, that does not make it a bad game. While it may take some patience and (gasp) help from some of the very helpful online guides to figure out how to proceed, once into the game, you will be able to appreciate a very solid and challenging Metal Gear adventure with an interesting story and loads of content for longtime MG fans. While its sequel might have fixed some of its flaws, this one should not be missed. Expand
  5. Mobius
    Oct 11, 2005
    2
    metel gear solid is famous for being a dam good stealth em up with great gameplay and action, what they have done here is to keep the looks of MGS but they have decided to be new and diffrent and so they have removed the fun out of the game. if i wanted a card game ill go out and buy pokamon(as if i would do that). the developers relised that they screwed something up in the game during metel gear solid is famous for being a dam good stealth em up with great gameplay and action, what they have done here is to keep the looks of MGS but they have decided to be new and diffrent and so they have removed the fun out of the game. if i wanted a card game ill go out and buy pokamon(as if i would do that). the developers relised that they screwed something up in the game during the developement and decided to change it to a turn based card game. if you find this review not to your liking then go and buy the game and mark my words you will be trading it in towards a better game sooner than later. Expand
  6. Martin
    Oct 11, 2005
    2
    Great graphics and great sound do not make a $40 card game fun.
  7. Kioshi
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Great showcase for PSP's capabilities and a game with incredible depth. Metal Gears meets FF Tactics and card games, with a surprisingly good result. You'd be crazy not to buy it with your PSP.
  8. N!CL
    Mar 9, 2005
    8
    I haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As you should already know, it is a card game. Most people would think that thats all nerdy... BUT i am not one of those people. Cardgames are great but the problem is that Metal Gear's are suposed to be stealth action, not [insert card game] meetsI haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As you should already know, it is a card game. Most people would think that thats all nerdy... BUT i am not one of those people. Cardgames are great but the problem is that Metal Gear's are suposed to be stealth action, not [insert card game] meets [insert something else]. It will mostlikely be a great game with a deep story, but I would sugjest holding out untill all the raitings are in... (Also, check the March 2005 issue of Electronic Gaming Monthly for some breif raitings of the PSP starting line-up) Expand
  9. Mattw.
    Apr 22, 2005
    0
    Card games and awesome strategic shooting games dont mix and when they do (in this case ) they suck horribly.
  10. SenkoS.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    It's a great steath turn based action game.
  11. EvanZ.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    The camera system could use some work, but besides that, i like it! Many fans may have thought the card-based system would deny action. Yet, this new style of gameplay brings a newer, more simplistic but still exciting, element to the genre.
  12. JonathanS.
    May 8, 2005
    0
    I liked the other metal gear games so i thought id try this one and i was sadly disappointed playing sweet games with cards i mean if turn based games are barely making the cut i think putting cards makes it the worst.
  13. RobT.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Metal gear is the best game series ever!
  14. WilliamR.
    Aug 14, 2005
    8
    An interesting strategy game, but not an action game. Learning what cards work best with different character decks and customizing your gear takes a little time. Learn to plan your moves and lay low at times, rather than bulldozing forward, and you'll be more successful. Saveable at almost any point, this is nice when you have just a few minutes of play time.
  15. PSPhunter
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    I dont think its worth a 10 because u will play and get stuck with low power cards when u start a battle and then it will just get better but a battle that can be done in 10seconds can be made into a 5min battle. still holdin its head up high metal gear acid is not just for metal gear fan its a all rounder.
  16. Majorusa
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    If you are looking for brainless fun or a FPS then look elsewhere! This game will give a serious work to your brain. Addictive story and the challenge of passing the levels will make you want to finish it! Innovative card TBS with same great music, sound and story as all Metal Gear games. It is a nine due to awkward save system and lazy camera. If you like puzzles, cards and strategy this If you are looking for brainless fun or a FPS then look elsewhere! This game will give a serious work to your brain. Addictive story and the challenge of passing the levels will make you want to finish it! Innovative card TBS with same great music, sound and story as all Metal Gear games. It is a nine due to awkward save system and lazy camera. If you like puzzles, cards and strategy this is your game! Expand
  17. Ali
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    this game is awesome the graphics are great and the strategy system with cards is better than advance wars dual strike my brother watches me play it all the time
  18. ZemZ.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a blast for those of you who just go & buy MGS:a thinking it's straight up MGS title you'll find disapointment & revultion in this a fun RPG style MGS. the plot is just what we fans of the game expect compleat with evil talking puppets & pychic some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a blast for those of you who just go & buy MGS:a thinking it's straight up MGS title you'll find disapointment & revultion in this a fun RPG style MGS. the plot is just what we fans of the game expect compleat with evil talking puppets & pychic little girls. for fifteen dollers it's worth you time, & money but please gointo it knowing it's closer to a RPG then a action game. Expand
  19. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    I love the metal gear franchise. I love collectible card games. I love strategy games. This is a near perfect blend of all three, but I can see how it would be an aquired taste for most fans of an Action/Stealth series.
  20. Ben
    Oct 11, 2005
    1
    whats the diffrence between poker/blackjack/snap/solitare/pokamon cards/the gathering and Metel Gear Solid Answer The others are more fun and cost about £25 less. this game is just to slow to be on a poratable gaming system.
  21. Ryan
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    When i showed my mates my new PSP i decided to show them ridge racer and everbodys golf, but i wasnt stupid enough to admit that i had brought MGS the card game, that game remains in the box ready to be traded in for GTA.
  22. Paul"MGS"freak
    Oct 11, 2005
    2
    ive had every single MGS game there has been and although there have been a few ups and downs all of them have been fun, UNTIL NOW, a card game what the hell where they thinking, this game could have been awsome and great to pick up and play, but i think they thought that the game would have been completed in a few short hours if they had stuck to the original type of control , and to ive had every single MGS game there has been and although there have been a few ups and downs all of them have been fun, UNTIL NOW, a card game what the hell where they thinking, this game could have been awsome and great to pick up and play, but i think they thought that the game would have been completed in a few short hours if they had stuck to the original type of control , and to drag the game out they decided to make into a card game, NO NO NO NO NOOOOOOO!!!. can you imagine what would happen if developers decided to change FIFA 06 into a tactical card game. or ridge racer into a card game, i hope this isnt the start of a new trend. We like MGS because its MGS we forgive you for changing the main charactor in MGS2 but to change the gameplay is totally unforgivable. Expand
  23. Sam
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    Took it straight back for a refund.
  24. NewRecruit
    Oct 11, 2005
    0
    if you realy want to buy this game then take my advice and wait until nearer christmas where you will see it in the trade in bin for less than a tenner.
  25. TOniH.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Best game ever. Maybe best in Series.
  26. SolidSnake
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    It rocks.
  27. [Anonymous]
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Yo i gotta let yall know please rate this game 10 out of 10 its the best game eva.
  28. MarcD.
    Mar 26, 2005
    0
    Mr Kojima's last 2 MGS games have left me cold. He needs to return to his old formula. The 1st and 2nd games are classics in gaming lore...where on earth is the series heading with this card based nonsense?
  29. Kyle
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Very enjoyable, and a lot of fun...but it's freakin hard! [note:] this is NOT a metal gear ~solid~ game, it is a new breed of metal gear game...both are variations on the series
  30. HartmutG.
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    Nice tactical game, but needs some more variations over the 25 missions.
  31. JoeJ.
    Apr 9, 2005
    9
    Take the time, and it's fantastic!
  32. EricCartman
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Not perfect. extremely boring, confusing, and time consuming: at first.in the beginning of the game there are so many cutscenes and talks that you have to skip through all of them. but once you do, you have no idea WHAT to do. but as the game goes on, it starts to make sense & becomes really fun. i must admit, though, AC!D was the first metal gear i've ever played for more than 10Not perfect. extremely boring, confusing, and time consuming: at first.in the beginning of the game there are so many cutscenes and talks that you have to skip through all of them. but once you do, you have no idea WHAT to do. but as the game goes on, it starts to make sense & becomes really fun. i must admit, though, AC!D was the first metal gear i've ever played for more than 10 minutes. i've played the demo for "sons of liberty" on my ps2 before it came out, but thats it for metal gear games. i personally enjoy strategy games, but when i bought it & saw the cutscene where it revealed to me that it was a turn - based card game, i knew why the user before me returned it, and why i got a discount. i LOATHE turn-based games, and ESPECIALLY card games. since i had a week to turn it in if i didnt like it, i started to play it to get the most out of it as i could (and i was bored with the other 2 games i had for the PSP (i got the game when i purchased my PSP)). at first, i hated it, because of the long talks and boring instructions. but after, say about the 4th - 5th level (not by the numbers on the screen for level, but the # of missions accomplished) it started to get fun. then it got REALLY fun. then it got unmercifully addictive. overall, its a great game with a great story line, but its slow. the only negative thing about the game is that it's slow. if you can get through all of the dialogue & cutscenes, and accept that the game isn't fast paced, and remember that grenades never work when the enemy can move away from it (which is almost always), you'll find a great strategy game that'll make you think twice before blowing someones brains out with a mine. Expand
  33. MGSGamer
    Sep 9, 2005
    5
    I think that this game was the worst in the metal gear series. I was dissapointed to find it was a "Card Game" so to speak and i really looked forward to playing the next MGS in the series but hey, new console, new gametypes. Right?
  34. DannyO.
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Awesome strategy game. i loved all of the clips from past games too. if you're looking for some fun PSP launch games, you should definately get this one first!
  35. ZainS.
    Mar 29, 2005
    4
    Horrible compared to the rest of the MG series. Card-based gaming ruins everything.
  36. DonnyF.
    Apr 12, 2005
    7
    Metal Gear Acid is really a big disappointment when you compare it to the metal gear series. The original stealth and tactical gameplay is totally bombed and destoryed by this " pick a card in order to move" game.
  37. DavidL.
    Apr 18, 2005
    7
    Just like Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, a great game has been made far less enjoyable than it could've been had they scrapped the idea of making something "fresh" and just sticked to what made the originals great. That may seem fickle, but you all know it's true. Nonetheless, the game is still slightly enjoyable, and true MGS fans will still end up playing the hell out of Just like Kingdom Hearts: Chain of Memories, a great game has been made far less enjoyable than it could've been had they scrapped the idea of making something "fresh" and just sticked to what made the originals great. That may seem fickle, but you all know it's true. Nonetheless, the game is still slightly enjoyable, and true MGS fans will still end up playing the hell out of it, if only for the story. Expand
  38. SteveB.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Not like the other metal gears, but the new playing style is sweet!
  39. Lokistrike
    May 18, 2005
    5
    Fun enough, I just REALLY wish I had realized it was Metal Gear: The Gathering before I bought it. My bad on that, but lord how I hate collectible card games...
  40. CXG
    Jun 13, 2005
    6
    What nobody's ever said is that the new, so-called Metal Gear Acid storyline has been especially introduced on the PSP primarily because of the mere 1.8gb of space available on a UMD. We should hold Konami in contempt for publishing this Yu-Gi-Oh! type of game just because they were too lazy to develop a game engine that can actually build upon its trademark cut-scenes and What nobody's ever said is that the new, so-called Metal Gear Acid storyline has been especially introduced on the PSP primarily because of the mere 1.8gb of space available on a UMD. We should hold Konami in contempt for publishing this Yu-Gi-Oh! type of game just because they were too lazy to develop a game engine that can actually build upon its trademark cut-scenes and voice-acting. Instead they lavished the PSP's underclocked 300Mhz power for a design as primitive as Tetris. Heck, they could've avoided the turn-based bs by making the whole game shorter (the game takes at least 22 hours to pass). Instead they opted for a long, too unrealistically frustrating game, too boring for mainstream. Konami says this game is about Strategy, but this Metal Gear Acid strays too much from the original Metal Gear mold in its design and storyline. In this game, Snake's tremendously heroically-crafted persona is degraded into a supernatural wuss, who simply carries out orders he doesn't fully understand. CONS -Turn-based system (it becomes a b***h to plan every single step) -Lengthy storyline -No voice-acting -Too frustrating to find yourself under gunfire while you pray (despite being most likely agnostic) for the weapon card to become available. PROS -Near-PS2 graphics during cut-scenes (even though you're looking at the characters just standing there, breathing not even lip-synching) -Great satisfaction of finally passing the most frustrating, yet most IQ-stimulating action game you'll ever play. Conclusion In an era ruled by the fast pace of Halo, Gran Turismo, Twisted Metal, Tekken 5, etc. this game is just too slow, lethargic and disengaging it's insulting. The game is flat-out not for people that want enagging, fast gaming. Only hardcore Metal Gear fans will put up with the silly asian nonsense, inspired by the Pokemon to the Yu-Gi-Oh! models. If your're looking for a shooting game on the PSP wait till Coded Arms, Infected or Splinter Cell 4 (sched. for 2006). Expand
  41. JM
    Jun 16, 2005
    3
    Ok, I like the fact that it is Metal Gear and I've always wanted to play it, I won't play this. I have heard about how great this game is, why in the heavens above did they make this the most boring game in the world!!!! Almost no one likes or ever will like card battle games, and I heard that the intro lasts for 45 MINUTES!!! WTF?!!! If you play this, you either have a bunch of Ok, I like the fact that it is Metal Gear and I've always wanted to play it, I won't play this. I have heard about how great this game is, why in the heavens above did they make this the most boring game in the world!!!! Almost no one likes or ever will like card battle games, and I heard that the intro lasts for 45 MINUTES!!! WTF?!!! If you play this, you either have a bunch of time and have nothing better to do, or you were hypnotized by its name. If only this were an FPS. Expand
  42. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    If you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill allIf you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill all enemies' takes a complete different deck then 'stay undetected'. Glad to have found the origional game in the stores today cause it really makes my collection of games for the PSP complete. Expand
  43. May 11, 2015
    5
    A mealtime gear that hideo Kojima has nothing to do with it. Still nice but nothing special.I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. In refusing to let the PSP’s home-console-style graphical capabilities dictate the nature of its gameplay, Acid is a valuable blueprint for future PSP development. [Feb 2005, p.77]
  2. Metal Gear's move from all-out action to turn-based strategy has been handled with style. [JPN Import]
  3. 8 / 9 / 8 / 9 - 34 gold [Dec 2004]