• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Mar 22, 2005
User Score
6.8

Mixed or average reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 47 out of 70
  2. Negative: 16 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SolidSnake(leon)Unknown(McNair
    Feb 8, 2006
    10
    OH COME ON EVERY PEOPLE THAT THINKS METAL GEAR SOLID OR ACID OR JUST METAL GEAR IS IDIOTS BECAUSE YOU ARE READING THE MOST BIGGEST FAN IN THE WHOLE UNIVERSE OF SOLID SNAKE AND I WOULD SAY IT IS GREATER THAN 10 GREATER THAN THE GREAT BEYOUND. NOW TAKE MY ADVICE AND BUY IT. IT IS WORTH IT BECAUSE I HAVE IT. IT HAS BRILL, EXELLENT AND MAGNIFICENT GRAPHICS AND A WHOLE COLLECTION OF THE METALOH COME ON EVERY PEOPLE THAT THINKS METAL GEAR SOLID OR ACID OR JUST METAL GEAR IS IDIOTS BECAUSE YOU ARE READING THE MOST BIGGEST FAN IN THE WHOLE UNIVERSE OF SOLID SNAKE AND I WOULD SAY IT IS GREATER THAN 10 GREATER THAN THE GREAT BEYOUND. NOW TAKE MY ADVICE AND BUY IT. IT IS WORTH IT BECAUSE I HAVE IT. IT HAS BRILL, EXELLENT AND MAGNIFICENT GRAPHICS AND A WHOLE COLLECTION OF THE METAL GEAR CARDS LIKE FOR EXAMPLE SOLID SNAKE, LIQUID SNAKE, SOLIDUS SNAKE AND METAL GEAR EVEN WHEN IT WAS ON GAME OF MOBILE PHONES IT HAS IT ALL. DO NOT TAKE ANY ADVICE FROM ANYONE BUT THE ONES THAT ARE FANS! it has the whole lot! Expand
  2. Andrew
    Jul 27, 2006
    8
    This game has many detractors, which should not be suprising given that it is every bit as unforgiving and difficult to get into as many reviewers have pointed out. However, that does not make it a bad game. While it may take some patience and (gasp) help from some of the very helpful online guides to figure out how to proceed, once into the game, you will be able to appreciate a very This game has many detractors, which should not be suprising given that it is every bit as unforgiving and difficult to get into as many reviewers have pointed out. However, that does not make it a bad game. While it may take some patience and (gasp) help from some of the very helpful online guides to figure out how to proceed, once into the game, you will be able to appreciate a very solid and challenging Metal Gear adventure with an interesting story and loads of content for longtime MG fans. While its sequel might have fixed some of its flaws, this one should not be missed. Expand
  3. Kioshi
    Feb 9, 2005
    9
    Great showcase for PSP's capabilities and a game with incredible depth. Metal Gears meets FF Tactics and card games, with a surprisingly good result. You'd be crazy not to buy it with your PSP.
  4. N!CL
    Mar 9, 2005
    8
    I haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As you should already know, it is a card game. Most people would think that thats all nerdy... BUT i am not one of those people. Cardgames are great but the problem is that Metal Gear's are suposed to be stealth action, not [insert card game] meetsI haven't played the game but I have spent hours finding as much as I could about the starting lineup of the PSP including AC!D. As you should already know, it is a card game. Most people would think that thats all nerdy... BUT i am not one of those people. Cardgames are great but the problem is that Metal Gear's are suposed to be stealth action, not [insert card game] meets [insert something else]. It will mostlikely be a great game with a deep story, but I would sugjest holding out untill all the raitings are in... (Also, check the March 2005 issue of Electronic Gaming Monthly for some breif raitings of the PSP starting line-up) Expand
  5. SenkoS.
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    It's a great steath turn based action game.
  6. EvanZ.
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    The camera system could use some work, but besides that, i like it! Many fans may have thought the card-based system would deny action. Yet, this new style of gameplay brings a newer, more simplistic but still exciting, element to the genre.
  7. RobT.
    Jul 18, 2005
    10
    Metal gear is the best game series ever!
  8. WilliamR.
    Aug 14, 2005
    8
    An interesting strategy game, but not an action game. Learning what cards work best with different character decks and customizing your gear takes a little time. Learn to plan your moves and lay low at times, rather than bulldozing forward, and you'll be more successful. Saveable at almost any point, this is nice when you have just a few minutes of play time.
  9. PSPhunter
    Aug 4, 2005
    9
    I dont think its worth a 10 because u will play and get stuck with low power cards when u start a battle and then it will just get better but a battle that can be done in 10seconds can be made into a 5min battle. still holdin its head up high metal gear acid is not just for metal gear fan its a all rounder.
  10. Majorusa
    Sep 19, 2005
    9
    If you are looking for brainless fun or a FPS then look elsewhere! This game will give a serious work to your brain. Addictive story and the challenge of passing the levels will make you want to finish it! Innovative card TBS with same great music, sound and story as all Metal Gear games. It is a nine due to awkward save system and lazy camera. If you like puzzles, cards and strategy this If you are looking for brainless fun or a FPS then look elsewhere! This game will give a serious work to your brain. Addictive story and the challenge of passing the levels will make you want to finish it! Innovative card TBS with same great music, sound and story as all Metal Gear games. It is a nine due to awkward save system and lazy camera. If you like puzzles, cards and strategy this is your game! Expand
  11. Ali
    Jan 10, 2006
    10
    this game is awesome the graphics are great and the strategy system with cards is better than advance wars dual strike my brother watches me play it all the time
  12. ZemZ.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a blast for those of you who just go & buy MGS:a thinking it's straight up MGS title you'll find disapointment & revultion in this a fun RPG style MGS. the plot is just what we fans of the game expect compleat with evil talking puppets & pychic some people may find fault with this game & my score of it but if you buy this game knowing that it's card based you'll have a blast for those of you who just go & buy MGS:a thinking it's straight up MGS title you'll find disapointment & revultion in this a fun RPG style MGS. the plot is just what we fans of the game expect compleat with evil talking puppets & pychic little girls. for fifteen dollers it's worth you time, & money but please gointo it knowing it's closer to a RPG then a action game. Expand
  13. JasonB.
    Nov 16, 2005
    8
    I love the metal gear franchise. I love collectible card games. I love strategy games. This is a near perfect blend of all three, but I can see how it would be an aquired taste for most fans of an Action/Stealth series.
  14. TOniH.
    Mar 18, 2005
    10
    Best game ever. Maybe best in Series.
  15. SolidSnake
    Mar 21, 2005
    10
    It rocks.
  16. [Anonymous]
    Mar 25, 2005
    10
    Yo i gotta let yall know please rate this game 10 out of 10 its the best game eva.
  17. Kyle
    Mar 31, 2005
    10
    Very enjoyable, and a lot of fun...but it's freakin hard! [note:] this is NOT a metal gear ~solid~ game, it is a new breed of metal gear game...both are variations on the series
  18. HartmutG.
    Mar 3, 2005
    8
    Nice tactical game, but needs some more variations over the 25 missions.
  19. JoeJ.
    Apr 9, 2005
    9
    Take the time, and it's fantastic!
  20. EricCartman
    May 4, 2005
    9
    Not perfect. extremely boring, confusing, and time consuming: at first.in the beginning of the game there are so many cutscenes and talks that you have to skip through all of them. but once you do, you have no idea WHAT to do. but as the game goes on, it starts to make sense & becomes really fun. i must admit, though, AC!D was the first metal gear i've ever played for more than 10Not perfect. extremely boring, confusing, and time consuming: at first.in the beginning of the game there are so many cutscenes and talks that you have to skip through all of them. but once you do, you have no idea WHAT to do. but as the game goes on, it starts to make sense & becomes really fun. i must admit, though, AC!D was the first metal gear i've ever played for more than 10 minutes. i've played the demo for "sons of liberty" on my ps2 before it came out, but thats it for metal gear games. i personally enjoy strategy games, but when i bought it & saw the cutscene where it revealed to me that it was a turn - based card game, i knew why the user before me returned it, and why i got a discount. i LOATHE turn-based games, and ESPECIALLY card games. since i had a week to turn it in if i didnt like it, i started to play it to get the most out of it as i could (and i was bored with the other 2 games i had for the PSP (i got the game when i purchased my PSP)). at first, i hated it, because of the long talks and boring instructions. but after, say about the 4th - 5th level (not by the numbers on the screen for level, but the # of missions accomplished) it started to get fun. then it got REALLY fun. then it got unmercifully addictive. overall, its a great game with a great story line, but its slow. the only negative thing about the game is that it's slow. if you can get through all of the dialogue & cutscenes, and accept that the game isn't fast paced, and remember that grenades never work when the enemy can move away from it (which is almost always), you'll find a great strategy game that'll make you think twice before blowing someones brains out with a mine. Expand
  21. DannyO.
    Mar 28, 2005
    10
    Awesome strategy game. i loved all of the clips from past games too. if you're looking for some fun PSP launch games, you should definately get this one first!
  22. SteveB.
    Apr 25, 2005
    10
    Not like the other metal gears, but the new playing style is sweet!
  23. Dec 9, 2011
    10
    If you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill allIf you love turn based games this is a must have for the PSP. As Turn Based is a dying genre I'm glad they created Metal Gear Acid (and part 2). Storyline is good (8/10), graphics are quite good for a handheld (8/10) and gameplay is where this game shines (10/10). Winning cards and completing a good deck makes the game with a high replayability value. Custom missions with 'kill all enemies' takes a complete different deck then 'stay undetected'. Glad to have found the origional game in the stores today cause it really makes my collection of games for the PSP complete. Expand
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 45 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 29 out of 45
  2. Negative: 0 out of 45
  1. In refusing to let the PSP’s home-console-style graphical capabilities dictate the nature of its gameplay, Acid is a valuable blueprint for future PSP development. [Feb 2005, p.77]
  2. Metal Gear's move from all-out action to turn-based strategy has been handled with style. [JPN Import]
  3. 8 / 9 / 8 / 9 - 34 gold [Dec 2004]