• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Jun 8, 2010
User Score
8.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 313 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 313

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable
  2. Nov 29, 2011
    10
    Art in its purest form ....

    Story, design, sound, music, strategy, control, everything is perfect ... the perfect portable Metal Gear ....

    Some people will find a bit odd the control, but with practice it becomes very comfortable ... believe me .... Only the legendary Metal Gear Solid: Snake Eater and Metal Gear 4 outgrow it .... cool ...
  3. Jan 22, 2012
    8
    This game is pretty genius. Controls work great, the storyline is intricate and amazing as always, the graphics are flawless, and with headphones on, you could swear that the sound is coming from a Boss theatre sound system. These things kept me playing the game for quite sometime. However, I personally found the game difficulty becoming increasingly easier as the story progressed. This was due to all the weapons and items I kept unlocking, and also due to the vast amount of health recovery items and supply markers I could carry all at once. The enemy alert system has also become much more forgiving this time around. Alot of times, I found myself able to beat a mission pretty easily even if I purposely tripped a crap load of alarms. Even if I did get out flanked a heated firefight, as long as I kept using rations, curry and supply markers, I was damn near invincible. Hell, there was one time that I got so tired of not dying, I just layed there and let the enemy shoot me, yet I still wouldn't die! JUST DIE SNAKE!!! I mean, what's the point of trying to sneak around if it's so easy to progress through all the levels? The long over dramatic cut scenes are nice, and I love a good story line, but those are not the only things I look for in a game. I WANT TO BE CHALLENGED! And that does NOT mean that I want to fight another tank with a ridiculously long life span on extra ops! Because that doesn't make the game more challenging either! It just makes it so that I have to spend about 45 minutes to kill this particular boss instead of the regular 10 minutes. Basically, what I'm trying to say is that after I beat the game the first time, I had no reason to keep playing due to the easy difficulty. The only other way to find some form of challenge after that was to restart the game completely from scratch. This problem could have been solved if they added a difficulty selection option. This is why the game gets an 8 from me. Great game overall...but just not for me, because I am a gamer who is always looking for variety and challenge- something that this game cannot deliver. Expand
  4. Aug 20, 2010
    6
    Im a fan of the metal gear solid games. So I expected the polish that come with this series. The story was also far simpler and therefore better but you could sense this was forced apon kojima by the systems limitations hence the comic book cut-scenes. The controls however let the whole thing down, I can't explain anymore than saying they just feel wrong which is something that the game developers must have noticed. The fact your are PSP also doesn't help and this game can't help the troubled platform. Expand
  5. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    This game is a really good game with one of kojima's best stories yet. The story and graphics are incredibly detailed. Especially for a PSP game. The controls can be a little bit clunky at times but once you'll get used to it, and then its not noticeable anymore. The missions are fun with good level design and mixtures of stealth and action. Again this is a truly great game and should be bought by anyone with a PSP. Expand
  6. Oct 10, 2011
    10
    How do they expect me to play this? The controls are perfect instead of being all awkward and stupid like Monster Hunter, the stealth and action are both effective and fun, and there isn't nine hours of cutscenes! Just awful. Do not buy.
  7. Dec 4, 2011
    10
    Another Metal Gear Solid games,but in result,it was awesome,i can`t even describe it......the sound effects,the graphics,the gameplay,all of them was impressive.....and of course there`s a lot things we can do.And i think the fans of Metal Gear Solid would like this game,and of course,Monster Hunter,OMG.....
  8. Apr 12, 2011
    9
    The controls are horrible. Just like 90% of PSP games. The game itself is amazing in every other aspect. Story, graphics even some moments where the controls aren't so horrible the gameplay feels good.
  9. Aug 17, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. MGS Peace Walker is quite simply one hell of an achievement on the PSP. With gargantuan boss fights, a refined gameplay experience and a very solid Metal Gear brandishing, Peace Walker is simply incredible. The only gripe is with the controls being hit or miss and that some of the serious hallmarks didn't make the cut i.e hiding in lockers and movement whilst crawling. But in all this metal gear game is right up there with the series' greats and that is remarkable for a PSP game. Expand
  10. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    I thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Also players have a chance to do extra missions gain weapons and capture enemy tanks and helicopter to use in your own army of soldiers without borders Expand
  11. Aug 28, 2010
    10
    I bought my eyes closed,
    Because the game is very, very do not need any comment
    O & photography and the story, and cartoons, sounds and review of music and at the beginning of the game when it started
    Frankly, everyday to be on 3 and Sony high-definition
    by / adil khojah - saudi arabia jeddah city
  12. Aug 26, 2010
    10
    This game completely blew me away. Everything about was top notch. The graphics are on par with the PS2 and the game-play has nearly no problems. Aside from slightly clunky controls, there is absolutely nothing wrong with "Peace Walker". The thing I found most impressive was how involved you are in the role of "Big Boss". In between missions you have to organize your staff so you can develop weapons, keep morale up, discover new inventions, and even watch over soldiers in the brig and sickbay. This game has managed to combine stealth, shooter, and role-playing elements all into one package whilst still having a decent story from Kojima himself and keeping variety amongst levels, enemies and bosses. There is one thing newbies to this game should know though: this game is very difficult until you have truly mastered its controls ( three layouts to choose from) and gotten a feel for its unique style. After you have done that you wont be able to keep this game away from you. Its horribly addicting, especially for a "Solid" fan like myself. If you have a PSP buy this game. If you don't have a PSP, go buy a PSP and then get this game with it. It's that good. Not only is it fun, addicting, and innovative for the PSP, its length (15-20 hours), bonus missions and multi-player will have you playing this one for a long time to come. All I can hope is that a sequel is made, because Kojima has once again outdone himself. Expand
  13. USG
    Nov 22, 2010
    9
    My favorite PSP game; it has hours of content, a good and lengthy story, and does not feel like it's just a portable game. The co-op mode is a great addition along with your home base. But the difficulty of Peace Walker can be a little intimidating at times especially with no difficulty settings. It could easily be up-scaled to a console installment because it has so much content.
  14. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and i think ive only just come to terms with the solid fact: hideo kojima has failed us all
    i am baffled.... simply baffled at how highly this game is reviewed, i am a hardcore mgs fan, and ive loved every metal gear game to ever come out (even the acid
    ones! D:) up until this one....

    i dont understand how portable ops scored lower than this game, since this game essentially feels like a majorly trimmed down version of it (as far as actual gameplay goes)

    the campaign is much much larger than mgs:po... but that in itself is a bad thing, its like asking would you rather eat a bar of chocolate or a huge pile of feces?

    go figure

    >you cant crawl
    >you cant move while flattened on walls
    >sneaking is VERY difficult without making noise because of the fail analogue stick sensitivity
    >the whole game is based around coop
    >the coop is terrible
    >the entire control scheme has been messed up, and i mean messed up, beyond how you could even imagine it!
    >the soldier recovery system is cheap (yeah they managed to make lifting a soldier into a truck actually look good compared to it)
    >the bosses are generic and boring, more resemblant of devil may cry bossfights
    >it is almost impossible to hide and evade alert
    >'CQC' is highly focused on, one problem, it pretty much doesnt exist
    >the story is boorish, i began playing desperate to find out the missing plot to outer heaven, but it made me actually stop caring...
    >when you are detected (and you will be many times due to bad controls) the only way to evade death is to knock out all emenies in the area, and the only effective way to do that in this game is to throw them multiple times, so basically this 'SNEAKING' game consists of snake, or as i like to call him 'SUPER THROW MAN 200000'en desu!' with a snake costume sprinting through small linear areas and simply throwing every poor soul who gets in his way to the ground.

    this is not a metal gear solid game.
    dont let the title fool you.
    mgs is dead as of mgs4.
    what a sad way to end it all :(
    Expand
  15. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    This game is really GOOD, but the one thing you need is a little bit of patience !! At the first i found it boring but when i started playing it, i found the plot really nice. For a PSP this game is like a pool of water in a desert. It has more than 70-80 hours of gameplay. The graphics are amazingly nice for a PSP and for a game this big in length of playing time. The controls are a little horrid compared to previous versions of MGS. I would recommend it - BUY IT !! Its worth the money. Expand
  16. Jan 12, 2011
    9
    Great PSP game. Lots of content and fun missions. The only problems is that the missions are short, you can't save in-game and sometimes aiming can be a pain. Even with these flaws, its still a very fun PSP game.
  17. Apr 5, 2012
    10
    i didn't get to play this game on a psp, but i got it on the psn store on my ps3 and am now playing it on my vita. this is the best handheld game i have ever played; awesome missions, amazing story and leveling up your team becomes incredibly addicting. i had read that the controls were bad, but mapping the controls to the vita's second analog stick makes controlling this game a dream. it feels great and truly is the best game on my vita right now. i liked unit 13, but it can't come close to MGSPW in amount of awesome things to do and depth of gameplay. it's been a long time since i have played a game this comprehensively fun. this is one of those games that just makes you glad to be a gamer. Expand
  18. May 25, 2011
    10
    I am personally the biggest metal gear fan I know, and i must say that this is my favorite metal gear game. I have played and beaten every metal gear game and Peace Walker is simply amazing. It has so many amazing features like the amazing story mode, hundreds of extra ops, managing mother base, sending troops to outer ops and even making your own Metal Gear! I think all these amazing features as well as the awesome weapon upgrade system make Peace Walker the best yet in the series. It was the legendary Hideo Kojimas first PSP game and I believe he gave it the traditional look and feel that any Metal Gear fan should love. Expand
  19. Aug 8, 2013
    9
    In the final days of the PSP, this masterpiece came about. This game is the ending fanfare to the great (albeit flawed) PSP.

    Can you believe that the biggest MGS game is on the small PSP? And yes, this is everything you'd expect from an MGS game. The biggest addition is the management of your base. You may spent 60% of your time here, but trust me, it's FUN. You can also capture enemy
    soldiers and recruit them (yep, just like Portable Ops). The story is also quite emotional. You however should play MGS3 before playing this, as the story is heavily based on it. See how Big Boss deals with and confronts his past, and how he created Outer Heaven.

    If you have a PSP, get it. If you don't have a PSP, then it's on the MGS Collection for PS3 and 360, so you have no excuse. That said, get the PS3/360 version as the controls are better.
    Expand
  20. Aug 27, 2011
    10
    Metal Gear Solid : Peace Walker takes place before metal gear and after MGS:portable ops , MGS Games or series is the game for every HARDCORE GAMER and MGS GAMES will really give you a great experience
    (@*"Review part"*@) ------> "This game has a really thrilling and amazing story it really clears the story of big boss and it's really exciting , Well for the gameplay you must really use
    your brain in it because it's tactical or maybe you could just be on rampage play it with no stealth and it has many tactical movements , for the graphics it really amazing really detailed vivid and clear one of the best graphics on psp , For sounds all i can say with the sound effects is AMAZING!! when firing a gun booom really clear and plugging it with a speaker boom boom , the presentation very cool all i can say is another awesome and amazing same with the mechanics and value I'LL GIVE IT A PERFECT SCORE Expand
  21. Oct 13, 2011
    9
    This is one of the best looking games on the PSP. Although there is no revolutionary gameplay here, it is the metal gear solid we all know and love brought to Sony's portable system. It is a instant classic. This game is up there with the likes of Metal Gear Solid 3: Snake Eater and Metal Gear Solid 4: Guns of the patriots for being one of the best games on the platform and indeed, one of the best of all time. PSP owners should check this out. Expand
  22. Nov 18, 2011
    8
    What a great game, only too bad that it becomes more clear the PSP lacks a second analogue stick. But accept for that I really like this game and it keeps you going for a long time. Finally I got to know the story around big boss, I've not played the other big boss game yet. I think I would like to have this game for the PS3 in HD.
  23. Feb 25, 2012
    1
    This game should be called SNAKE'S REVENGE 2: Big Boss Revenge, because this is game as bad as 1st version of Metal Gear 2, known as Snake's revenge was.
    Before blind fanboys started to drop bricks out of their body and yelling that im not a fan of MGS and should GTFO let me introduce myself: I played Metal Gear since 1990 year, when most of you, kids, not even existed in this word, i
    started from both Metal Gear and Metal Gear 2: Solid Snake on MSX, and i played every freaking game of series on every platform during 22 years, i know every detail about story better than Kojima knows his story, in Russian fan community im a well known as "alive walking bipedal MGS encyclopedia" and i could tell you whole story better than MGS database or wikia, in addition to this im admin and co-owner of most popular russian MGS community site and biggest social network group dedicated to Metal Gear series and Hideo Kojima... but im not a fan, I am a true connoisseur of Metal Gear series (some people call us hardcore orthodox fans), and i hate been called a fan. Because there is a difference - fan is usually a blind brainless zombie who will buy and love automatically everything with favorite title on the box, and true connoisseur have brains, not blind, can see whats good and whats bad in fav ttitle, and isnt tied to title, but tied to the core of awesomeness of this title and do not accept everything with title, especially if this everything have nothing else but title, and the core of awesomeness of original is lost.
    This is what happened to Snake Revenge and BigBoss Revenge aka PeaceWalker - despite this game have Metal Gear Solid title and shares some character and tries to glue MGS3 and MG1, its lost core of awesomeness of original MG and MGS, and its totally not acceptable as MGS game!
    Why? 1st the story (MINOR SPOILERS AHEAD) - its adds nothing but a nonsense far-fetched slapstick in best tradition of the cheapest and most stupid commercial anime, whole Outer-Heaven and Patriots idea was already explained in Portable ops, and back then it was more like a traditional MGS game story-wise, not its explains unnecessary things so stupid way so it adds nothing but frustration and ocean of plot-holes. Metal Gears in 1974 have AI that sings a songs, and they looks tech-more advance than any metal gear from 1995-2015 era (MG1-MGS4 - why the heck the pilot needed for it they had AI in 1974?), add to this stupidity of Boss ghost in this machine, loli-teen-super-double-agent-girl Paz, gay looking Miller with wrong age and face of Liquid (while in MG2 he was asian brunet), and more stupid RETCONs, metacritic dont have enough of space to explain this full... but trust me this game story should be totally retconed out of MGS timeline and forgotten just like Snake's Revenge.
    Not gameplay: THIS IS ISNT STEALTH GAME! AI is dumber than in original MGS1 on PSone, they are blind, deaf, stupid and rushing like tanks, u cant crawl anymore, cant move when pushed yourself to wall, cant move bodies, instead you can shoot stupid baloons into their asses so they can fly high through the ceiling like some ghost (how come Kojima could not prevent usage of fulton indoors?), stupid love, tank, ambulance and other weird boxes, stupid motherbase managment, tinny boring levels, awful controls (which was much better in portable ops btw), terrible frustrating akwardk, clunky and fuzzy action oriented gameplay, totally unrealistic and too conditional gameplay (oh lets pretend that this heavy-armored Snake is silent and invisible like a ninja ghost! lets pretend nobody hear they heli when we use fultons, lets pretend nobody hear sound of explosion, lets pretend you cant crawl and do most of things you was able to do since Metal Gear 2) - after Splinter Cell, Hitman, Riddick and Thief - this utter crap doesnt even smell like stealth and makes me want to puke and burn PW UMD (btw google for it, we actually going to burn PeaceWalker disk in fire for all the frustration it gave us)... this game lost everything good most of us love MG1-2 and MGS1-2 for! This is poorly designed, poorly written awkward unnecessary sequel to a finished Metal Gear story (which also screws up storyline pretty bad by many plot holes and stupidity that should not be in MGS time line) by a tired Kojima, who already jumped the shark and really needs to stop making unwanted MGS sequels after MGS 4 and should move on to something else. Konami gone Activision and turned MGS into their Call of Duty and milking that dead cow every year now, and this milk smells and tastes more and more like a rotten dead body, which should have been buried few years ago and rest in peace now, instead of peace walking . And Peace walker is that poisonous milk that makes me sick and forces me to puke!
    MGS & MGS 2 was real masterpieces, while PeaceWalker exploits their success just like Snake's Revenge and casts the shadow of shame on entire series, it should not exist at all as well as MGS 5!
    Expand
  24. Mar 14, 2012
    9
    Falls short of a perfect score due to one, blatant, flaw; the choice of platform. Contorting the control system to make up for the limited functions of the PSP could have ruined this game, but thankfully Peace Walker more than makes up for it in all other departments. Makes you rue the idea of how amazing this game could have been if it had been developed on and for the PS3, like it's direct ancestor Guns of the Patriots, instead. Expand
  25. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    I spent 57:28 hours playing this beautiful game. That's something to tell about this game.
  26. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss
  27. Jul 21, 2012
    9
    This game is the best PSP game with one of kojima's best stories yet. The story and graphics are incredibly detailed. The missions are fun with good level design and mixtures of stealth and action. This is a truly great game and should be bought by anyone with a PSP.
  28. Aug 16, 2012
    8
    This game knows how to develop the hackneyed theme of the Cold War. The game-play is very good, the plot also, the environments are beautiful, and good action (within the standard action-stealth spy type). Overall a well done game that will keep us busy in preserving our lives and continue the mission.
  29. Sep 1, 2012
    10
    This game is hands down the best handheld game I've ever played. Gameplay,story, and characters all come together to make this game awesome. Buy it.
  30. Nov 11, 2012
    8
    Not bad, but not so good. I've played most Metal Gear games (both the original for MSX2 and MG2: Solid Snake, MGS, MGS2, MGS3, MGS Twin Snakes, MGS 3D, MGA...) and well, this one is a good game. One of the best of PSP games? Yeah, but one of the worst Metal Gear games. Controls are aweful, graphics are a little strange, but the cinematic scenes were awesome. For the comic style, but even more for the interactive ones. I recommend to play the PS3/360 HD Collection if you want to play this game at its best. Expand
  31. Jan 28, 2014
    9
    As an intro MGS:PW sets a few years after MGS:PO , Big boss disappears and sets to make an army with the aid of KAZ. The presentation of the game is outstanding, the comic cutscene are nicely done and the story makes sense even if you aren't a follower of the Metal gear series.

    Graphics here are solid, it is very well done, the effects such as the rain and night in certain mission adds
    some taste for it.

    Sounds, music and voice acting are very well done too, you can also equip a radio and listen to music
    As for gameplay missions are divided into 2 missions, Main missions which follows the story of the game and side missions to help improve soldiers, make new weapons and items as well as unlocking further content.

    MGS also returns camouflage which has grown to be better and more real
    Another nice Add on is that you can now build your base assign soldiers, scientist, doctors and send soldiers to the battlefield.

    As your base grows it will expand and your army will become stronger to develop new weapons, items and even your very own metal gear

    The game also has multiplayer modes and coop missions

    Overall MGS:PW is a great psp game I know i may have not covered detailed stuff but you have a general idea about the game
    Expand
  32. Oct 29, 2013
    9
    Best... PSP... game... ever... made.

    The only reason I gave it a 9 is because: you will need to finish a mission before you can save the game and some levels are impossible to finish.

    This game is recommended for all third-person stealth games fans.
  33. Mar 16, 2014
    8
    Pretty good. Although it took me until the Xbox 360 and PS3 version to make me decide "this game is massive and brilliant!" It was mainly because of controls. Regardless, this is a great game despite some big flaws.
  34. Feb 8, 2014
    10
    Amazing game for PSP. Especially game play is really comfortable than the other games. You can easily get used to it. Also, it has a great storyline. It's very gripping like the other games in the series. If you are a hardcore PSP fan, you should try this game. I can easily say that it's much better than Portable Ops.
  35. May 5, 2013
    3
    First MGS game I didn't like, and had to delete it after 2 hours of play. I've been gaming for 20 years, and I have never seen a game with worse controls. It's a nightmare! I'm sure the story is as good as everyone says, but I hated every minutes I put in. Also, the zones are stupid tiny.
  36. May 25, 2014
    6
    This comes from a MGS fan. This game is not MGS at all. It smells very Japanese, RPG elements that tries to make you grind, silly co-op, silly boss battles similar to Monster Hunter (fighting mechanic monsters) and most of the time, stupid cutscenes. Cutscenes are stupid not because of the cartoonish style but the way characters are written and voiced over (in English). If you are looking for more MGS, avoid this game and instead see a Youtube all story video. Expand
  37. Jul 7, 2014
    10
    Two things: First of all, this game... is amazing. Why? Because you can do many things... you can even put on some camo, upgrade weapons, recruit soldiers and many other things. Second of all: To all those fans and other people who dislike this game... even if you can't crawl or even if the controls are messed up, you can still play and enjoy it. It takes some practice and skill... you have to be smart, but think about it before rushing... it's a tactical espionage game for God's sake... but one thing is for sure... the story is amazing, the system and graphics (for PSP) are simply the best and the side-mission are a-lot and fun. People should focus on it and play for some time, get to know the controls and you're OK! Hideo Kojima simply creates the best games... every MGS that he and his team made so far are just simply amazing. Nothing is impossible in this game, you can hide to evade the enemy alert, you can knock them out before they realise it... and so many other things. Simply amazing! Expand
  38. Aug 18, 2014
    9
    One of the best titles on PSP. Looks good, gameplay is good. Every boss is hard, but not impossible to defeat. makes game challenging, but not frustrating. The enviorment falls apart in places ,so you cant hide from a tank eventually the wall your behind is destroyed. Enemy AI are pretty good espeacially for PSP. This title could be good on any system.
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. Jan 18, 2011
    80
    From the top-notch characterizations to the ethical indecision of its cast, Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is a significant step forward for the series's maestro.
  2. Do not wait for the PSP2. Buy a copy of this game and the hardware necessary to play it as soon as is humanly possible. You're not going to see a better marriage of technical know-how, narrative inventiveness and holy-crap-I'm-playing-a-console-game-on-a-handheld-level awe on the system.
  3. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.