• Publisher:
  • Release Date:
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker Image
Metascore
89

Generally favorable reviews - based on 66 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 503 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into aMETAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER takes the series in an exciting new direction with incredible visuals, as it sheds new light on well-known adversaries and allies, along with a wealth of new characters. In true METAL GEAR SOLID tradition, METAL GEAR SOLID: PEACE WALKER drops the player into a series of hostile scenarios, as a terrible plan for world domination is revealed. In addition to solo operations, players can team up via the game's multi-player CO-OPS (CO-operative OPerationS) mode. This extends to key gameplay advances, with players administering medical help to colleagues, sharing munitions, or providing cover for each other using the Snake formation to cover each other's blind spots. [Konami] Expand
Buy On

Trailer

Please enter your birth date to watch this video:
You are not allowed to view this material at this time.
Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker Paradise Trailer
Autoplay On Off
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 65 out of 66
  2. Negative: 0 out of 66
  1. There is so much here to play; it's very much two games in one. Not only do you have the single player campaign to play through, which can also be done via adhoc Co-Op, but there's also a 6 player competitive mode like Metal Gear Online.
  2. Fans of the series will like this installment and newcomers to Metal Gear Solid like me will enjoy it as well.
  3. Play UK
    92
    A masterclass in how to make a game truly suited to the PSP. [Issue#193, p.82]
  4. Playstation: The Official Magazine (US)
    90
    Kojima's team did the best they could and it's more than good enough to call Peace Walker a genuine Metal Gear Solid 5. [Aug 2010, p.76]
  5. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker is as ambitious PSP game, and a worthy follow-up to previous entries. Snake is back, and with Hideo Kojima exploiting our political apprehension and love for espionage thrillers, Peace Walker easily offers one of the best experiences on Sony's handheld.
  6. Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker has something for everyone. From its dynamically rich presentation and narrative, to its slowed down creeping gameplay, Peace Walker is a full Metal Gear Solid game in every sense.
  7. Horrendous difficulty spikes aside, Peace Walker is great. It has all the blisteringly beautiful visuals, impressive production values and rewarding stealth gameplay you expect from a Metal Gear game.

See all 66 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 69 out of 78
  2. Negative: 5 out of 78
  1. Jan 11, 2011
    10
    oh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the mostoh my god... this game has sooo much content... like 80 hr of content.... its all great, more of a console game than a handheld game. the most bang for your buck. the only problem is initially overcoming the controls, once u get used to them tho its all amazing. teh best psp game avaliable Expand
  2. Aug 24, 2016
    10
    I thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games byI thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Expand
  3. May 19, 2012
    10
    a fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable opsa fantastic game, not only for portable devices. adding the gameplay mechanics of the previous metal gears, mixing it with portable ops mission mechanic for easy pick up and put down on the move gameplay. fantasti characters, story, music and gameplay, a must have for ant psp owner. a great insight into the legend of big boss Expand
  4. Aug 25, 2015
    9
    There's so many things to do in Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. It's story isn't the best in the series, and the bosses are really annoying toThere's so many things to do in Metal Gear Solid: Peace Walker. It's story isn't the best in the series, and the bosses are really annoying to fight alone, but because it's a great continuation of MGS3 with intelligent game design that's comparable to Monster Hunter AND with a wealth amount of content, it's a game I'm still playing. Expand
  5. Jul 24, 2011
    9
    I thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games byI thought this was a brilliant game as it gives players a chance to experience the tactical espionage that comes from all metal gear games by playing through the story and watching as Snake accepts his heritage as Big Boss and the birth of Outer Heaven. Also players have a chance to do extra missions gain weapons and capture enemy tanks and helicopter to use in your own army of soldiers without borders Expand
  6. USG
    Nov 22, 2010
    9
    My favorite PSP game; it has hours of content, a good and lengthy story, and does not feel like it's just a portable game. The co-op mode is aMy favorite PSP game; it has hours of content, a good and lengthy story, and does not feel like it's just a portable game. The co-op mode is a great addition along with your home base. But the difficulty of Peace Walker can be a little intimidating at times especially with no difficulty settings. It could easily be up-scaled to a console installment because it has so much content. Expand
  7. Apr 8, 2011
    1
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and
    !NOTE: this review applys to MGS fans only, anyone else will probably find this game refreshing and new

    i got this game a long time ago, and i think ive only just come to terms with the solid fact: hideo kojima has failed us all
    i am baffled.... simply baffled at how highly this game is reviewed, i am a hardcore mgs fan, and ive loved every metal gear game to ever come out (even the acid ones! D:) up until this one....

    i dont understand how portable ops scored lower than this game, since this game essentially feels like a majorly trimmed down version of it (as far as actual gameplay goes)

    the campaign is much much larger than mgs:po... but that in itself is a bad thing, its like asking would you rather eat a bar of chocolate or a huge pile of feces?

    go figure

    >you cant crawl
    >you cant move while flattened on walls
    >sneaking is VERY difficult without making noise because of the fail analogue stick sensitivity
    >the whole game is based around coop
    >the coop is terrible
    >the entire control scheme has been messed up, and i mean messed up, beyond how you could even imagine it!
    >the soldier recovery system is cheap (yeah they managed to make lifting a soldier into a truck actually look good compared to it)
    >the bosses are generic and boring, more resemblant of devil may cry bossfights
    >it is almost impossible to hide and evade alert
    >'CQC' is highly focused on, one problem, it pretty much doesnt exist
    >the story is boorish, i began playing desperate to find out the missing plot to outer heaven, but it made me actually stop caring...
    >when you are detected (and you will be many times due to bad controls) the only way to evade death is to knock out all emenies in the area, and the only effective way to do that in this game is to throw them multiple times, so basically this 'SNEAKING' game consists of snake, or as i like to call him 'SUPER THROW MAN 200000'en desu!' with a snake costume sprinting through small linear areas and simply throwing every poor soul who gets in his way to the ground.

    this is not a metal gear solid game.
    dont let the title fool you.
    mgs is dead as of mgs4.
    what a sad way to end it all :(
    Expand

See all 78 User Reviews

Awards & Rankings

2
1
#1 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2010
4
#4 Most Shared PSP Game of 2010