• Publisher: Konami
  • Release Date: Dec 5, 2006
User Score
8.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 130 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 12 out of 130

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 28, 2013
    10
    This game is great! I do find the stamina meter extremely annoying, but that doesn't stop me from enjoying this.
    The storyline is wonderful.
    Voice acting is SPLENDID! (David Hayter AND Steven Blum).
    The gameplay and graphics are sweet!
    I'd say get this if you can find it in a retail store or on PSN.
  2. NickyL.
    Dec 20, 2006
    9
    Everything everyone else says i agree with... including the problems... when i first got the game the camera was very jerky and really weird, but all i had to do was slow it down a bit (which is very easy to do in the options menu) and it was perfect... There are plenty of settings to make the camera more appealing... As for the controls, did anyone really expect something better from the Everything everyone else says i agree with... including the problems... when i first got the game the camera was very jerky and really weird, but all i had to do was slow it down a bit (which is very easy to do in the options menu) and it was perfect... There are plenty of settings to make the camera more appealing... As for the controls, did anyone really expect something better from the PSP... controls seem to always be a problem with any game... But basically the controls are exactly the same as on any other Metal Gear Solid game... O is confirm and X is back (which actually makes so much more sense), square is fire, triangle is sneak and action, etc etc etc... at least it's the same as MGS3: Snake Eater (that being the only MGS game i have played fully)... To get the controls right just play it for a while, and it's confusing if you switch around playing games, but if you keep it in your psp, as you will want to because of the engaging story, addicting short bursts of play, and over good gameplay, you won't have a problem... but hey, there's always room for improvement for any game... a metal gear SOLID 9 (so lame, i know... i had to...) Expand
  3. Jul 10, 2011
    9
    Very good, it cleared the fog that the MGS series has ( Mostly MGS3, it really explained and made everything soft too understand the series) it also make proud the PSP, there arent too many great games on the handheld, the cutscene are creative ( comic style). This is an important tittle for the PSP.
  4. BradM.
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    How GameDaily and games(TM) could give this game a 70 and a 60 rating blows my mind. These guys should not even be considered in the rating process. I think they're put there just to bring the overall score down. This game is the reason to own a PSP and is the best game to date on the system. Anything below a score of 85 is off the mark.
  5. ChrisH.
    May 15, 2007
    9
    This is one of the best PSP games ive ever played, a much needed game for the system, and excellently suited to it too.
  6. ZemZ.
    Jul 2, 2007
    9
    If you played MGS 3 & loved it you'll love Portabe ops, i personally liked the origianol MGS & MGS much more but make no mistake Portable ops is on standed with the console serices. my two biggest grips with this game are that one they left the stamina meter without leveing in wildlife. & two it's too short, you'll find yourself playing it all the time & beating it too If you played MGS 3 & loved it you'll love Portabe ops, i personally liked the origianol MGS & MGS much more but make no mistake Portable ops is on standed with the console serices. my two biggest grips with this game are that one they left the stamina meter without leveing in wildlife. & two it's too short, you'll find yourself playing it all the time & beating it too fast, but the multiplayer experiance is still a fun diversion from the real world. Expand
  7. MartyM.
    Dec 26, 2006
    9
    Has a bit of a learning curve, but once you get past that it turns into an amazingly deep and rich game. The camera isn't as bad as everyone is making it out to be, its been fine for me so far.
  8. JacobP.
    Oct 4, 2007
    10
    I really can't get over how much I like MPO. I've had it for almost two years now and its still the game I play the most on that system; and I use the system more than my GC or PS2. It really is a complete package and a bargain at any price.
  9. JonF.
    Dec 15, 2006
    10
    Best game on the PSP to date. great graphics, good story, the controls are a hastle at first but once you get used to it there ok.
  10. TroyW.
    Dec 2, 2006
    10
    Incredible experience for the PSP, and the new recruiting feature and multiplayer make it stand out among the very best of the MGS titles. Highly recommended for everyone even remotely interested in a PSP.
  11. CK
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Forget ac!d, this is the real metal gear, fantastic graphics and gameplay this could well be the best metal gear ever.
  12. JamesQ.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    Amazingly well done, the graphics are nice and the controls are surprisingly well done for a PSP game. Some favorite characters return and the cutscenes are well done. The missions are set up perfectly for a portable game and the online is a very fullfilling experience. I strongly recommend this game.
  13. JohnR.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Great, just brilliant in what Kojima comes up with. Great graphics. Camera has issues, but fantastic game.
  14. KyleS.
    Dec 8, 2006
    10
    Top notch, classic MGS everything, but now with more innovative gameplay elements than ever! Only Team Kojima could come up with something like this!
  15. AndrewB.
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    Its been the best game on psp i have to say the new recruit soldier thing makes the game tryin to find the best characters to take online an kick ass is amazing.
  16. DanC.
    Oct 9, 2007
    10
    Its not as good as MGS3 (of course) but its better than MGS1 and MGS2, seeing as how it has a great story, fully 3D camera, great, superb sound/voices/characters and the amazingly good gameplay of MGS3, complete with the CQC system and the option to create and play as your own version of the Cobra Unit. Its a long, fun and replayable adventure, and its getting an expansion pack this Its not as good as MGS3 (of course) but its better than MGS1 and MGS2, seeing as how it has a great story, fully 3D camera, great, superb sound/voices/characters and the amazingly good gameplay of MGS3, complete with the CQC system and the option to create and play as your own version of the Cobra Unit. Its a long, fun and replayable adventure, and its getting an expansion pack this November. If you've got a PSP and you like the MG series, please, please- at least try this game. Expand
  17. KOKCHEEMENG
    Feb 11, 2007
    10
    It is the best PSP game I ever played. Great graphic, fantastic storyline.
  18. BobbyS.
    Mar 14, 2007
    10
    It is the best game for the PSP yet. I love how you can recruit enemies and place them in your tech, medical spy or snaking unit.
  19. ByronT.
    May 10, 2007
    10
    Perhaps the best game released for the PSP. Portable Ops lives up to the high standards, of the Metal Gear games.
  20. JimmyC.
    Dec 7, 2006
    10
    If you have or have considered getting a psp, go buy this now!
  21. JoeS.
    Jan 18, 2007
    10
    This is a great showing of what the PSP is capable of and how the Metal Gear Solid franchise is so innovative and fresh and can be successful on any system. The game overall was pretty amazing, only some camera problems not as much as stressed by others. Gameplay is a hell of a good time and will want you to come back and play some more.
  22. RoryL.
    May 28, 2007
    10
    This game has so much depth and quality the grapics are amazing and the game is so well put together the konami team have cerated one of (if not the) best shooter games on psp. a good enough reason to buy a psp i think so.
  23. JoshD.
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    honestly if nothing else this is one of the best vgames for a modern portable gaming systems, although people the psp has more console ports/rehashs then it should, at the very least this game is a shinning example of how to translate a console series onto the psp... after all snake eater/subsistance had an almost identical control layout and it worked well for that game, this takes it a honestly if nothing else this is one of the best vgames for a modern portable gaming systems, although people the psp has more console ports/rehashs then it should, at the very least this game is a shinning example of how to translate a console series onto the psp... after all snake eater/subsistance had an almost identical control layout and it worked well for that game, this takes it a step further by making it a portable gamer friendly game by breaking the story/levels into segments...i can explain all day on how this game is (almost) worth getting a psp for, but for anyone who has a psp this game and syphon filter are must have games even if you dont like the stealth genre. Collapse
  24. BryanoR.
    Dec 11, 2006
    10
    Best game for PSP, the whole year its gameplay is the best and the storyline is great tha controls may be a little funky but either than that great game for the PSP.
  25. Nov 4, 2010
    9
    A worthy addition to the MGS series. Interesting (and comprehensible) story, good stealth, decent controls. Dragging guys around to recruit gets a little tiresome, but the team-building aspect is fairly cool and fits well with the story & MGS canon. There are some control issues and the camera is far from perfect, but neither are debilitating and the gameplay and story are worth it.A worthy addition to the MGS series. Interesting (and comprehensible) story, good stealth, decent controls. Dragging guys around to recruit gets a little tiresome, but the team-building aspect is fairly cool and fits well with the story & MGS canon. There are some control issues and the camera is far from perfect, but neither are debilitating and the gameplay and story are worth it. The stylized cut scenes may not please everyone, but I got to like them. Missions are a good length for a portable game too. Expand
  26. Sep 17, 2011
    9
    Stealth action and CQC adapt well to a portable console, with gameplay mechanics feeling similar but fresher thanks to the inclusion of teams. These teams add a new depth to planning and strategy, with the enticing ability to recruit more and more followers. The story is absorbing and fittingly complex and the graphic novel cutscenes look great . Voice acting is of a high quality as is theStealth action and CQC adapt well to a portable console, with gameplay mechanics feeling similar but fresher thanks to the inclusion of teams. These teams add a new depth to planning and strategy, with the enticing ability to recruit more and more followers. The story is absorbing and fittingly complex and the graphic novel cutscenes look great . Voice acting is of a high quality as is the soundtrack. Expand
  27. Feb 16, 2013
    9
    Although Kojima did not direct this game, it still feels as though he did. If you played any MGS game, then you know what to expect. But this time, you can kidnap enemy soldiers and convince them to join you. It's really cool. Gameplay is the same. Enemy soldiers see you? Alert Mode. Then Evasion mode. Then Caution Mode. And then Normal. Just like any MGS game. And, of course, that's aAlthough Kojima did not direct this game, it still feels as though he did. If you played any MGS game, then you know what to expect. But this time, you can kidnap enemy soldiers and convince them to join you. It's really cool. Gameplay is the same. Enemy soldiers see you? Alert Mode. Then Evasion mode. Then Caution Mode. And then Normal. Just like any MGS game. And, of course, that's a good thing. Believe or not, the story IS canon, that is, it IS part of the timeline. The story is set in 1970, six years after MGS3. The Special Force Unit FOX has rebelled against the USA, and is supposedly sided with the Soviets. Snake has been framed as the mastermind. It's his job to find out who's behind all this and clear his name. And it has its share of twists and heart-wrenching moments like its big-brother consoles. Unfortunately, they have shut down the online-component, but that was just the icing on the cake. As it is, the game can stand on its own. It's $9.99 on the PSN Store now, so if you have a PSP (or better yet, a PS Vita), buy it now. Expand
  28. Jul 7, 2014
    9
    I think that this is game is pretty great, the story and even the whole thing is great... though, the controls could be a little better or so. It's true that most of the new MGS games have kinda difficult-to-learn controls, but when you get used to it, you'll pretty much fully enjoy the game. It personally took me few minutes to learn the basics, such as CQC tricks and other things, I alsoI think that this is game is pretty great, the story and even the whole thing is great... though, the controls could be a little better or so. It's true that most of the new MGS games have kinda difficult-to-learn controls, but when you get used to it, you'll pretty much fully enjoy the game. It personally took me few minutes to learn the basics, such as CQC tricks and other things, I also like the cut-scenes... I like Manga after all... although, they could change few things... it's kinda hard to knock every soldier down and try to bring back soldiers to the truck so that you can recruit them, because don't forget that you have Stamina... and if you're using a soldier, but with low stamina; it will pretty much decrease 'till you pass out. The box/radio thing is neat, but still... some people find this kinda pissing... I do myself, not from those patience type and that's it. Also, even if you're mass-fan of the MGS series, you'll understand that they could of had made it better... that's my opinion. Expand
  29. May 11, 2015
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Great game. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it................ Expand
Metascore
87

Generally favorable reviews - based on 54 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 49 out of 54
  2. Negative: 0 out of 54
  1. 90
    The GPS and WiFi scanning feature is excellently implemented, the online and single player modes are deep, and there are plenty of things to do by tracking down and recruiting new soldiers from various places.
  2. As a single-player game, Portable Ops can't match the scope and drama of its predecessors. Of course, with its bite-sized style and team aspect, it doesn't really try to. This is one of the PSP's best multiplayer titles, giving you essentially a two-for-one experience.
  3. 95
    A game that essentially pushes the PSP in all of its features: graphics, portability, Internet, extra hardware doohickeys, and multiplayer. Sure, it might have hiccups (occasional ghosting, quirky A.I., the one analog nub), but Metal Gear Solid: Portable Ops is not only a fine MGS title -- it's also a damn good showcase for the PSP.