• Publisher: Capcom
  • Release Date: Jun 22, 2009
User Score
8.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 104 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 94 out of 104
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 104
  3. Negative: 10 out of 104

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 3, 2013
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is possibly the biggest and, in my opinion, the best Monster Hunter game released in the U.S. The mechanics are fluid, the scenery is breath-taking, for a psp, and the multitude of monsters to hunt add to the games length. The game mechanics are original and unique. Kill monsters to gather their materials and make weapons and armor from them. It's quick, action-packed gameplay is sure to hook just about any RPG player into the game. A must-buy for any rpg fan or Monster Hunter fan at that! Expand
  2. Mar 1, 2013
    7
    This is a great game to experience for the psp, it's highly addicting. It's a very long game game to complete, and it fun playing it with friends with up to 4 in a quest. Their are a huge selection of weapons to choose from, same goes for the gear. I highly enjoy this game only issue is the repetitiveness, like after a mission you may get in this routine of going to your farm, then your house to eat, then back into another quest, other then that the combat is rewarding even when you get to see (also in color or size) and face a new monster. Personal story: I got very far in the game, but when It was lost/stolen I simply just refused to repurchase because I would get bored of starting over. Other then that it's still a fun game to get even during this day, I havn't tried any others, but this is an awesome game to go handheld with friends. Expand
  3. Jan 14, 2013
    9
    You are a Hunter. You fight Monsters. It is hard. It is fun. It is everything to me.

    ... Oh, I guess this review is required to be at least 150 characters.
  4. Sep 11, 2012
    10
    This game is the most amazing and involving action RPG that I've ever played. The graphics are those of a console grade game. Now normally, to me, I wouldn't really give a crap about a game's graphics, with just rare exceptions. This is one of those exceptions. The game wouldn't be the same without graphics like this. As a previously Hardcore fan of Nintendo, I have to say that, along with Phoenix Wright and Viewtiful Joe, Capcom got another game right. Expand
  5. Jul 18, 2012
    10
    Definitely an expansive game: A huge range of foes to face, which you can either face alone, with a feline companion, or with three of your friends. Marvellous graphics for a PSP game at its time, and a memorable soundtrack. You can spend well over 300 hours on this game, and still have quests to complete, which makes it one of the most successful series of game for the PSP. If you are looking for a game for your PSP, this is the one you should get. Expand
  6. Apr 9, 2012
    10
    BEST game EVER!! **** fun playing this game!!
  7. Mar 9, 2012
    10
    This (like all MH for PSP) is the best game for the PSP. The Gameplay is just perfect and i played it 200h+ and still love to play it. It has also the best coop I've ever played.
    I would kill for a MH sequel for PC / PS3 / XBox.
  8. Dec 24, 2011
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is the legendary game and a must have PSP game and i just wasted 100+ Hours just to play this game...even through this game isn`t not for everyone,and looks same as Freedom 2,the new system Data Install makes it faster loading game,New Monsters,New Missions,New Places, and of course......it also best if you played with your friends.
  9. Sep 25, 2011
    10
    Awesome game. A must have game for the PSP system. Amazing graphics and very fun gameplay. A very challenging game but very fun. If you own a psp and don't have this game get this game
  10. Aug 20, 2011
    10
    Ludicrously addictive grinding game, particularly over multiplayer. Essentially a collection of really interesting boss battles. Gathering items for your armour and weapons becomes almost a full time job. If you want to blow your free time then buy this game.
  11. Jun 30, 2011
    9
    As much as I hate to do it, I'm giving it a 9. I love the game, looks amazing, controls perfectly, and is fast, skillful and responsive. I'm only reviewing this from singleplayer experience, because the only other person I met with the game was a HR2, and I'm HR6. The difficultly curve is a steady 45 degree angle, until you try the G-Rank (ultra high rank) quests, where it's cranked up to 80 degrees. Playing solo, with some of the best armor and weapons high rank can offer, I can take out one of the two monsters you have to kill-in 40 out of the 50 minutes. Other complaints I have are that some of the monsters are either really annoying with **** attacks, or just boring. The Tigrex falls into the former, with a **** rage mode, that had me standing on the top of a mountain for 5 minutes waiting for it to calm down. The Gravios or Lao Shan Lung fall into the latter, with both having **** overpowered attacks, and a giant health bar. I can safely ignore Lao for a while, but in order to get my armor, I needed to grind-solo- high rank Gravios for something their tail dropped 11% of the time.
    I love the game, but the grind needs to be cranked down some, and you need a better way to collect Honey.
    Other things I can complain about is the lack of an actual story, you're set up as being sent to a village to protect it from really tough monsters, armed with almost nothing. The Tigrex tosses you off the mountain, and you have to climb up to kill it. It appears twice really early on in unavoidable quests, and as they're both easy gather quests, it made it a bit more fun (also a good way to farm Tigrex Tails). After you kill it, there's really no story until the Akantor in the middle of the game.
    Something I can take satisfaction with is that I can have lots of trouble with one monster early on, then come back a long time later and slaughter it in less than a minute, truly the ultimate "F**K YOU!" in any game.
    Expand
  12. May 11, 2011
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is a game that is a gatekeeper. Depending on how you approach the gatekeeper depends if you can make it through the gate. After the gate, you have multiple tiers of content but each tier of quests is blocked by another gate and gatekeeper. However, the more gates you pass through, the more engaging content starts coming your way. Take weapons and armor for example. There are some armor sets that'll hold your attention and you'll use them almost none-stop until another more awesome looking armor comes along. The only difference in the armor is the resistances and skills that are activated if you wear a full set. Also there is the ability to gem armors for skills that suit your playstyle. There are gems that can raise your sharpening skill to sharpen your weapon in one stroke of your whetstone while others may raise your affinity to score a critical hit. Other times you may have to gem out negative skills such as Health-10 but are normally easily to gem out. The difficulty of monsters depends on your armor and what weapons you go in with which researching monsters before fighting them pays off in the long run for when you face harder and harder monsters, you'll want to kill them as quickly as possible or else the monsters will finish you before you finish them. Expand
  13. Apr 24, 2011
    7
    MHFU was a great game at first. But it too quickly becomes extremely repetitive. Most of the creatures you fight are a little too similar and since you can't level up, your only option is to get more powerful equipment which can take tons of grinding the same missions over and over. It's a good play every once in a while with friends but certainly nothing incredible.
  14. Nov 30, 2010
    10
    Monster Hunter Freedom Unite is part of the 'Monster Hunter' series where you take on the role of a hunter of one of two Archetypes, Hunter or Gunner. In your quest, you are tasked with both defeating hulking beasts and collecting resources to be used for doing so. Monster Hunter has deep game-play and the weapon you choose greatly effects how things will play out. Each weapon totally changes how the game plays and what you will need to take with you. This game may have a steep learning curve, but as soon as you overcome the difficulty, you will find this game to be both an excellent purchase and a heap of fun. This game is widely based around co-op (See 'Unite' in title) and becomes a lot more fun if you played with 1-3 friends, The solo play is very fun, but the game truly shines in co-op. Expand
  15. Sep 11, 2010
    10
    sort of hard for a casual gamer to pick up and play. a hardcore gamer shouldn't have any trouble beating it.
    the monster quests are a little repetitive at times, and you will have to repeat certain quests to get farther in the game. the combat is really action packed and fun, and the monsters are ridiculously challenging sometimes.the feeling you get after killing a hard monster is like
    nothing in any other game i have played. Expand
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 48 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 48
  2. Negative: 0 out of 48
  1. Monster Hunter Freedom Unite offers everything to everyone. There is no PSP game today that sports the same depth and amount of game time and even though you might think the genre of action role-playing isn’t for you, think again because this is the best thing that has happened to the console in a long time.
  2. 100
    Freedom Unite is a huge game, and, naturally, a little intimidating. But not only are you getting the best installment of the Monster Hunter franchise so far (though Monster Hunter 3 will no doubt be just as grand), you're getting an enormous action RPG that gives you a lot in return for putting a lot in. And it can potentially keep you attached to your PSP longer than you ever thought.
  3. It requires enormous quantities of patience, planning and persistence. If you're up to the challenge, prepare yourself for one of the most rewarding opportunities in gaming.