Patapon 2 PSP

  • Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: May 5, 2009
User Score
8.5

Generally favorable reviews- based on 70 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 70
  2. Negative: 6 out of 70

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ChrissyM
    May 7, 2009
    4
    Everywhere I went to buy this game, all they had was a voucher. I think it is BS that Sony is going to do away with UMB discs. How am I going to be able to trade this in? It's not worth buying another memory card just so I can trade my game with someone else. I was told buy a associate at a Game Stop that Sony is doing away with the disc and soon the only way to purchase PSP games is Everywhere I went to buy this game, all they had was a voucher. I think it is BS that Sony is going to do away with UMB discs. How am I going to be able to trade this in? It's not worth buying another memory card just so I can trade my game with someone else. I was told buy a associate at a Game Stop that Sony is doing away with the disc and soon the only way to purchase PSP games is to download it through the Playstation Network to cut cost. Even though it is cheaper, I would've paid full price for the convenience of just popping the game in a being able to play the game right away. Now I have to download a bunch of software to computer. What if some one didn't have the internet, or even a computer. If Sony decides, to remain this way, I think they will tend to loose their customers and I am one of them. Just my personal opinion. I loved this game so much I went ahead and bought it, but I will not buy another voucher if they come out with a Patapon 3. Expand
  2. Whaaaaaat?
    May 26, 2009
    9
    To Mr. Anonymous who couldn't beat the final boss, I'm sorry but you probably just aren't that good at playing the game. The game itself isn't that hard. Maybe you should get some more practice. The game is however fantastic, I completely love it, and have only just put it down after playing it pretty much every free moment for the last couple of weeks.
  3. Apr 21, 2011
    8
    Patapon's rhythm meets RTS style of gameplay is brilliant. Mix in unique RPG elements and you've got an awesome little music/adventure game that is chock full of personality. Its not all quite as perfect as you may like. There is a lot of grinding to do and the system used to level up your troops is plenty more convoluted than it should be. However, this never stopped me from enjoyingPatapon's rhythm meets RTS style of gameplay is brilliant. Mix in unique RPG elements and you've got an awesome little music/adventure game that is chock full of personality. Its not all quite as perfect as you may like. There is a lot of grinding to do and the system used to level up your troops is plenty more convoluted than it should be. However, this never stopped me from enjoying very long and very fun game. Expand
  4. May 31, 2012
    10
    Probably the best game I've played on the psp. It's almost exactly like the original except improved in every way. It has all the bosses from the first along with a complete array of new ones, and they're just as fun to battle as ever. The game has around twice as much content as the first and will probably take you around 30 hours to complete. The RPG elements are greatly improved on, noProbably the best game I've played on the psp. It's almost exactly like the original except improved in every way. It has all the bosses from the first along with a complete array of new ones, and they're just as fun to battle as ever. The game has around twice as much content as the first and will probably take you around 30 hours to complete. The RPG elements are greatly improved on, no more being stuck with that battle axe you picked up, you can return to certain fortress battle levels you've already played to get better weapon pick ups. Haven't played this in 3 years but I'm thinking about doing so soon since it can be played on vita. Expand
  5. DavidB.
    May 5, 2009
    9
    Put about 20 hours into the first game and I expect to probably put at least 30 into the sequel. The improvements that have been made address just about every frustration I had with the 1st. You can transfer your items over from your Patapon save and the 1st few levels are accessible even for new players. The same simple to explain yet suprisingly deep gameplay remains, and the Put about 20 hours into the first game and I expect to probably put at least 30 into the sequel. The improvements that have been made address just about every frustration I had with the 1st. You can transfer your items over from your Patapon save and the 1st few levels are accessible even for new players. The same simple to explain yet suprisingly deep gameplay remains, and the multiplayer, with a gamesharing option, is nice if you have any friends with PSPs. Overall, definitely a can't miss for fans of the 1st game and worth picking up for those who missed out on the 1st game. Expand
  6. [Anonymous]
    Mar 26, 2009
    6
    After racking up over 40 hours of playtime on this game and still not being able to beat the final boss I have to conclude that they've made the game too hard to be enjoyable They took a game that was accessible to all and made it so difficult that even hardcore fans of the original will find themselves getting bored and giving up rather than completing it The evolution system should After racking up over 40 hours of playtime on this game and still not being able to beat the final boss I have to conclude that they've made the game too hard to be enjoyable They took a game that was accessible to all and made it so difficult that even hardcore fans of the original will find themselves getting bored and giving up rather than completing it The evolution system should be simplified, abolish the levels, it takes far too much time and far too many rare items (which can only be gotten from fighting the same boss 20 times or so) to get powerful rarepons And for the love of all things eyeball make it so that the hatepon (flagbearer) can be upgraded somehow, it's incredibly frustrating when you've got a team of levelled-up, well-equipped rarepons and one swipe at your weakling hatepon ends a mission and loses the 50 items you've just farmed from a boss fight. Expand
  7. JamesP
    Jun 24, 2009
    10
    Very good addicting game. I love it. Excellent art style, fantastic sound and great game play. at 19.99 it is an overall steal. and at the poster Chrissy M, you cant rate a game based on the fact that it was download only. That does not effect the score. You do not need a computer to download it, though you do need the internet. The internet is basically a required item to function in Very good addicting game. I love it. Excellent art style, fantastic sound and great game play. at 19.99 it is an overall steal. and at the poster Chrissy M, you cant rate a game based on the fact that it was download only. That does not effect the score. You do not need a computer to download it, though you do need the internet. The internet is basically a required item to function in today society, and if you can afford to get a 200$ psp and a 20$ game, you can afford the net. The purpose of going all download is to present a unified network for all gamers. no delays, no language barriers, releases around the world at the same time. I honor what sonys doing. not only does it save the environment, it stops companies like gamestop from making money off of a product they do not own. When you trade your game in, you are KILLING the very industry you love. its WORSE than pirating because the company is making money off it. UMDs take longer to load than ram based memory, and its much quicker than just poping it in and going. You dont even need to go to the store, you can just buy it at home, not to mention that the company who makes it gets full profit. You loved the game, i see no reason to give this a 4 based on the fact that you fail to understand the future of digital content. Expand
  8. JohnDoe
    May 17, 2009
    9
    Great game! Addictive and well made. @[Anonymous] If you spent over 40 hours and still have not beaten it, that's your bad not the games. You don't need to collect every special item and evolve every rarepon to the max just to beat the game. If you are talking about unlocking/finding everything, then yes it will take well over 40 hours to do that. Isn't that a good thing Great game! Addictive and well made. @[Anonymous] If you spent over 40 hours and still have not beaten it, that's your bad not the games. You don't need to collect every special item and evolve every rarepon to the max just to beat the game. If you are talking about unlocking/finding everything, then yes it will take well over 40 hours to do that. Isn't that a good thing though? I think it is. I'll be playing this game for a long time, and enjoying every minute of it. Expand
  9. Oct 13, 2010
    9
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Critics who say this game is bad are crazy I absolotley would love this game if a few flaws werent holding it back. I didnt by the first game because I wasnt impressed with the demo. Well guess what I loved the demo for patapon 2. First of all the story is great and is perfect for this game. The gameplay is also fairly simple. simply drum a four digit song to command your patapons to battle. Lots of improvements have been made to the game. The most noticable is the look and feel of the game dont set this game down into fever wants you get into fever youll start beating away and siing "pon pon pata pon" with your patapon army. the items you pick up also help enhance the fun of the game. when you first begin the game your patapons are black and white once you get to the final boss youll be firing electric arrowns with fire helms and Ice shields. The game also gets a new character called Hero (default name) this charcter wheres a mask that give him special powers such as iving all of your patapons a temporary shield. These powers vary buy what class your hero is but they definitly help as you proogress thrugh the game. The evoulution system has also been improved to adding a tree to your patapons health to help with a ceatain kind of attack but weakens you to a other type of attack. There is no longer just meat either it cafateris meat and all differnt kinds of meat. you now have to focus on a ceartan level to upgrade a certain type of patapon. As I said in the beggining this game has it flaws such as now start menu. The game does have a menu but it dosent stop your enemy from attacking you patapons the only option you have to stop your game is to turn your psp tottaly off. The game does have multyplayer but is ad-hoc (local) only. Its a big setback since it has an egg system where you can get special items. You can play multyplayer alone but the first couple of times you play cpus will pop out of the egg. If this game had online play id give it a ten but it dosent Expand
  10. Feb 10, 2011
    7
    This game was pretty fun. This game looking so bored but i actually like this game. I didnt know playing this game was going be so much fun. The story isnt all that great but the gameplay make you want more. A great game for everyone. I bought this game when I got my psp go. I played this game for hours. This is game you can play for hours and hours to kill time. But When you have otherThis game was pretty fun. This game looking so bored but i actually like this game. I didnt know playing this game was going be so much fun. The story isnt all that great but the gameplay make you want more. A great game for everyone. I bought this game when I got my psp go. I played this game for hours. This is game you can play for hours and hours to kill time. But When you have other games to play its kind of hard to play this game since gotton other ghames i havent played this game. This is a good game when you beaten all your other games. This isnt a game I would play everyday. I do recommend this game to everyone. This is still a great game to have in your collections of game. Expand
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    6
    This game gets way too much credit for its pros and enough flak for its cons. Be prepared to have no idea about certain elements of the game as they try to play up the mystery portion of the game. And then enter battles where you could be involved anywhere from 5-35 minutes depending on how well equipped you are. And the only way to get well equipped is to fight the same guys atleast 5This game gets way too much credit for its pros and enough flak for its cons. Be prepared to have no idea about certain elements of the game as they try to play up the mystery portion of the game. And then enter battles where you could be involved anywhere from 5-35 minutes depending on how well equipped you are. And the only way to get well equipped is to fight the same guys atleast 5 times. For how long it takes to beat this game it gets real repetitive real fast. Its innovatove gameplay and deep custimazation are intriguing for about ten hours but after that you find yourself just wanting it to be over as tapping circle circle square circle about 5000 times is not fun. Expand
  12. Apr 19, 2011
    8
    Totally awesome game. I looked at this game first and thought it was stupid, but when I tried out the demo I was amazed. Seriously, just give it a try.

Awards & Rankings

14
10
#10 Most Discussed PSP Game of 2009
15
#15 Most Shared PSP Game of 2009
Metascore
81

Generally favorable reviews - based on 49 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 49
  2. Negative: 0 out of 49
  1. Edge Magazine
    50
    An extremely unambitious sequel. [Jan 2009, p.92]
  2. Playstation Official Magazine UK
    80
    Very similar to Patapon, but it just about gets away with it. Partly, that's because there's loads more stuff (units, weapons and consequently strategic depth), partly because the core mechanic is still top fun (albeit exactly half as fresh as before), and partly because it seems ludicrous to criticise a game about dancing, warlike eyeballs for lack of originality. [Feb 2009, p.96]
  3. The little creatures from Patapon are back and well in this sequel that's basically the same game with a few additions that turns the game into a better and more profound experience for those who love music and strategy. We'll enjoy once more a strange but satisfying world at war, in which our only duty is to protect and serve the little and charismatic Patapon warriors.