• Publisher: SCEA
  • Release Date: Feb 26, 2008
User Score
8.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 90 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 80 out of 90
  2. Negative: 6 out of 90

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. ColbyA.
    Jul 30, 2008
    10
    Simply amazing game. The problem with gamers today is that, on the majority, they don't respect or value creativity. They want the same old stuff over and over again - Halo series is an example of what I mean. Patapon, however, is 100% original. It's a great music/beat/rhythm based game where you guide a little tribe of these eyeball-people based on how you play the drums. The Simply amazing game. The problem with gamers today is that, on the majority, they don't respect or value creativity. They want the same old stuff over and over again - Halo series is an example of what I mean. Patapon, however, is 100% original. It's a great music/beat/rhythm based game where you guide a little tribe of these eyeball-people based on how you play the drums. The graphics are colorful and the scenery is creative, and I've particularly enjoyed the boss fights. I'd strongly recommend this game to anyone who wants a good PSP game with some creativity in it. Expand
  2. gamer123321remag
    May 7, 2008
    0
    i would't sell my spitt 4 it
  3. PhilJ.
    Aug 3, 2008
    6
    This is a rather average game. I don't know why so many critics are going crazy for it. The visuals are impressive, but I got bored in less than two weeks and it gets rather repetitive. Worth $20.00, but it's not that great.
  4. Phony
    Feb 23, 2008
    0
    How are all these reviews on the Game and it hasn't even been released yet?
  5. Matt
    Mar 3, 2008
    9
    Ranks among the best exclusive games on the PSP. The artistic style and fluid animations are a joy to watch and the underlying depth of the game's rhythm-based strategy makes this far more substantial than its predecessor: LocoRoco. With a bargain-bin price and a promise of longevity, this game belongs in every self-respecting PSP owner's collection.
  6. MarkyT
    Mar 8, 2008
    9
    A delightful game, even more delightful because of the low price - but as many reviews have stated, there is a lot of management of your little dudes, and a certain amount of repetition. All said and done, however, a really pleasant way of spending a few minutes here and there.
  7. hellothere
    Feb 13, 2008
    10
    hello there
  8. Shaun
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    In my opinion, anybody who doesn't grin like a little kid the first time they play this game has no soul. The warm feeling you get while commanding your little eyeball-men on towards ever greater victory... Patapon is definately worth the money. Go get it!
  9. ChadCardeiro
    Mar 5, 2008
    9
    This game is alot diffrent than anything ive ever played and at a $20 price tag i wasnt sure i would like this crazy game but i picked it up and now im stuck in the world of patapon its addicting supprisingly deep and well worth your time/money an at 20 bucks you cant go wrong with the most unique, cute title on the psp. The only gripe i had with it is theres no pause button but its such This game is alot diffrent than anything ive ever played and at a $20 price tag i wasnt sure i would like this crazy game but i picked it up and now im stuck in the world of patapon its addicting supprisingly deep and well worth your time/money an at 20 bucks you cant go wrong with the most unique, cute title on the psp. The only gripe i had with it is theres no pause button but its such a little thing it shouldnt keep you from enjoying this game. 9.5/10 Expand
  10. Elidob?
    Jul 13, 2008
    10
    I got the game for 20 bucks new and I opened the game up played for a soil hour, nothing really was that amazing then a day after played for 3 hrs then I could not be seen without my psp and patapon to good of a game.
  11. adamwest
    Feb 19, 2008
    10
    pata pata pata pwn! pwn pwn pata pwn!
  12. JamesB
    Feb 27, 2008
    9
    This game is hell of addicting. The art style is fantastic (especially if you liked Loco Roco), the music is catchy, and you'll spend hours saying "one more level". If you like rhythm games at all, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. Try the demo first -- Tycho from Penny Arcade said the voices were grating to him, but I disagree. Only minor gripe is that you have to "grind" This game is hell of addicting. The art style is fantastic (especially if you liked Loco Roco), the music is catchy, and you'll spend hours saying "one more level". If you like rhythm games at all, you owe it to yourself to pick this one up. Try the demo first -- Tycho from Penny Arcade said the voices were grating to him, but I disagree. Only minor gripe is that you have to "grind" more than I'd like to get enough money to buy upgrades. Expand
  13. JoeShmoe
    Feb 28, 2008
    9
    Great Game, super fun, must have for lovers of rhythm games
  14. AnonymousMC
    Feb 29, 2008
    7
    Charming and addictive, this game has everything a good game should have except a reasonable difficulty curve. The rain miracle dance is like running face first into a brick wall.
  15. ColinC
    Mar 11, 2008
    9
    I've put about five hours into this game so far, maybe six. And I'm loving it. The reviews I read and the low $20 price point convinced me to give it a try, and it's the most fun I've had with my psp yet. (I'm feeling guilty not giving it a 10.) The game feels utterly unique, looks beautiful, sounds great, and is a lot of fun to play. I'm amazed I'm the I've put about five hours into this game so far, maybe six. And I'm loving it. The reviews I read and the low $20 price point convinced me to give it a try, and it's the most fun I've had with my psp yet. (I'm feeling guilty not giving it a 10.) The game feels utterly unique, looks beautiful, sounds great, and is a lot of fun to play. I'm amazed I'm the first one to write a review for this game. That has me worried no one's playing it, and that would be a tragedy. A game like this isn't going to appeal to everyone (I had doubts it would appeal to me), but for the price, you owe it to yourself to try. Also, this game is in no way a budget title. They could easily have priced it for $30 or $40, and I think most reviewers would agree it'd still easily be worth the money. My guess is Sony priced it low to try to entice more people into buying a PSP. Just a guess. Expand
  16. DaveRohrl
    Mar 20, 2008
    9
    Were it not for the requirement to grind and replay levels this would be an easy 10 for me. The level of innovation and imagination behind the game is nothing short of remarkable. The production design brings great characters out of mere line drawings. The fusion of rhythm and lightweight strategy is something that no one in the industry has even given a though to previously (as far as I Were it not for the requirement to grind and replay levels this would be an easy 10 for me. The level of innovation and imagination behind the game is nothing short of remarkable. The production design brings great characters out of mere line drawings. The fusion of rhythm and lightweight strategy is something that no one in the industry has even given a though to previously (as far as I can tell). For $20, there's really no excuse not to buy and play this one, even if you wind up giving up after the first 10 or so levels because of the requirement to go back and grind for mana to build a better army. Expand
  17. MaxKelly
    Mar 24, 2008
    10
    Such a great but simple game. the images are stunning, the story great and rhythm even better!! A must buy
  18. MattJakes
    Apr 13, 2008
    7
    Patapon gets a good rap with critics, but personally I feel its a rather average game. But as far as PSP gaming goes, it's worth more than a 5.
  19. KC
    Apr 25, 2008
    9
    simple yet it has a commendable depth to it's gameplay.
  20. RyanLines
    Feb 14, 2008
    10
    Played through the demo twice, now I am sad waiting for the release. An amazingly fun and addictive game.
  21. ErikLoto
    Feb 15, 2008
    10
    Absolutely the most engaging and captivating game I have every played. The beats you get from this game will stick in your head for weeks. Diffidently the greatest game for the PSP yet. I hope to see more games on PSP that compare in polish, creativeness, and just plain fun.
  22. MarkDuren
    Feb 28, 2008
    10
    Great fun and addictive!
  23. MarioX
    Mar 14, 2008
    10
    This is what a game should be. Creative, addicting, fun, and leaves you chanting its beats even when you stop playing!
  24. BenM
    Mar 18, 2008
    10
    This game is a one of a kind game that puts players to their rythmic side of them up for the test. Listen carefully and you just might get through the dragon!
  25. ChrisO
    Jun 24, 2008
    9
    Have been playing for almost a month and it never fails to amuse me even though I've completed Level 1 of the last boss! Great music, very innovative play and ultra-cute graphics!
  26. Mar 27, 2012
    9
    Good god is this game addicting. I've loved rhythm games since I started playing Rhythm Heaven, but this one was even better for me because it was also an adventure! I still hear "pata pata pata pon" and "pon pon pata pon" in my head as I'm falling asleep sometimes. In addition to the storyline mode, the mini-games were just as fun (some of them even more fun). Great game to waste yourGood god is this game addicting. I've loved rhythm games since I started playing Rhythm Heaven, but this one was even better for me because it was also an adventure! I still hear "pata pata pata pon" and "pon pon pata pon" in my head as I'm falling asleep sometimes. In addition to the storyline mode, the mini-games were just as fun (some of them even more fun). Great game to waste your life away and to have a great deal of addicting fun while it sucks away your life. Expand
  27. Jun 13, 2013
    10
    Although I only played patapon for a short period of time..(After that I gave my PSP to my mum because she always said to me that she wanted a portable movie player LOL)..I have to say that I have never met such a innovative and impressing game before..the rules are simple, as well as the core idea of the game..you just follow the rhythm and perform appropriate reaction for yourAlthough I only played patapon for a short period of time..(After that I gave my PSP to my mum because she always said to me that she wanted a portable movie player LOL)..I have to say that I have never met such a innovative and impressing game before..the rules are simple, as well as the core idea of the game..you just follow the rhythm and perform appropriate reaction for your order..maybe all masterpieces are based on something simple enough..for example, super mario..in which you just need to jump.. Expand
  28. May 11, 2015
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. I do not have to say anything more. But i need to write one hundred and fifty characters. i think my score can describe it............................ Expand
Metascore
86

Generally favorable reviews - based on 60 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 55 out of 60
  2. Negative: 0 out of 60
  1. While Patapon has got the same quirky sense of style and visual charm as its predecessor ("LocoRoco"), it doesn't offer the same easy breezy gameplay. Instead, it offers an imposing amount of depth and a considerable amount of micromanagement. Which isn't necessarily a criticism - it's just that forewarned is forearmed.
  2. Behind its simplistic but charming appearance, together with its original rhythm sequences and gameplay, hides a strategy game that can grab you for hours. It shows that there’s always room for creativity in videogames. Just for that, it deserves your full attention. [Feb 2008]
  3. All serious gamers should check this one out. [Mar 2008, p.85]