User Score
6.1

Mixed or average reviews- based on 42 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 21 out of 42
  2. Negative: 11 out of 42

Review this game

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 25, 2012
    7
    This game looks great and plays great. However, there is a massive lack of single player. I did like the new character Dampierre adn Kratos was pretty good. Character customization was fun and the soundtrack is still awesome. Unfortunately, no arcade mode hurts the game
  2. Alex
    Sep 2, 2009
    3
    Developers should warn this is multiplayer only game, almost nothing to do in single. In something like story mode there aren't any real fights, just tutorial with tasks like block and attack in 2 seconds. There aren't even basic options like difficulty, time and number of rounds. Because of this in quick fight mode you always have to win 3 rounds to win a match and you have a Developers should warn this is multiplayer only game, almost nothing to do in single. In something like story mode there aren't any real fights, just tutorial with tasks like block and attack in 2 seconds. There aren't even basic options like difficulty, time and number of rounds. Because of this in quick fight mode you always have to win 3 rounds to win a match and you have a very stupid random difficulty. Expect situations like having 5 very easy opponents in a row who just stand and do nothing, but when you restart quick fight your first opponent may be so hard, that you will loose in a few seconds. I was expecting at least game like Tekken DR, but it unfortunately turned out to be a big disappointment. Only good things are graphics and character customization. If you are single player only, it's probably isn't worth buying. Expand
  3. JLG
    Sep 23, 2009
    3
    Has some good aspects, it can be fun... if you have tons of friends ready to play. No single player... the gaunlet mode its just a joke... just... avoid at any cost... better buy Dissidia for a change.
  4. pan
    Sep 6, 2009
    6
    I really wanted to like this game but I can't. This is a typical case of a technically wonderful game when it comes to visuals and sound but empty and flawed when it comes to gameplay and fun. The game lacks any kind of single player campaign. You can't fight your way to a final boss and unlock a character's ending video. The option isn't included. There is a mode I really wanted to like this game but I can't. This is a typical case of a technically wonderful game when it comes to visuals and sound but empty and flawed when it comes to gameplay and fun. The game lacks any kind of single player campaign. You can't fight your way to a final boss and unlock a character's ending video. The option isn't included. There is a mode called "gauntlet" which is actually a very boring tutorial mode where you are called into (badly written) fictional scenarios to learn your characters moves. The only other single player options are trials (a typical trial mode) and quick match (random fights with random opponents as if it was multiplayer). This is the only single player mode you will find yourself playing but there are problems with that too. Your opponents' skill level is mixed, meaning you can't really tell whether your next fight is easy, medium, or hard because there are no hints at all. You just choose an opponent based on his/hers wins/losses ratio but this doesn't tell you what level he/she is. Another flaw is that the game is absolutely unbalanced. There are times that it seems your opponents are indestructible, landing furious combos at you that drain your energy in a few seconds instead of anticipating your moves and fight smart. This seems like a lack of "AI" to me. All in al,l buy this game only if you have friends or relatives that you see often and like to AD-HOC duel with you, otherwise it's a waste of money. Expand
  5. afroboydarknesswarrior
    Sep 16, 2009
    2
    If they warned me it was more for multiplayer id gave it 10...but what a suprise when I found theres only a crappy tutorial and random fights with no meaning,gameplay is fun but content is epic fail.It's like an uncooked cake
  6. JohnnyNumber5
    Sep 7, 2009
    10
    This game is E-P-I-C. This is the ultimate Soul Caliber experience on the go. If you remember playing the supremely excellent Tekken on the PSP then this will be very familiar. The game has new characters (KRATOS!!!!), tons of customization, great controls, varied game modes and even local multiplayer. The only complaint I could register is the lack of Infrastructure mode AKA online This game is E-P-I-C. This is the ultimate Soul Caliber experience on the go. If you remember playing the supremely excellent Tekken on the PSP then this will be very familiar. The game has new characters (KRATOS!!!!), tons of customization, great controls, varied game modes and even local multiplayer. The only complaint I could register is the lack of Infrastructure mode AKA online multiplayer. But, the game has pretend lobbies where the computer takes on the identity of multiple online players. This is the definitive Soul Caliber experience for those hungry for more. In my opinion, this Soul Caliber game on PSP is better and has more depth than the Street Fighter IV game on the PS3! This is as good as it gets people! Don't deprive yourself of a fun experience. Go out and give this game a real try and you will be happy you did. Expand
  7. JohnO
    Nov 19, 2009
    8
    Even the augmented game modes can't detract from this game being the smoothest and most beautiful fighter on any handheld ever. It's jaw-droppingly good. Yes... that good! Contrary to what a former poster has said, it offers very little by way of true multi-player, though it is possible to play ad hoc and there is a faux multiplayer mode. It is pretty much a single player Even the augmented game modes can't detract from this game being the smoothest and most beautiful fighter on any handheld ever. It's jaw-droppingly good. Yes... that good! Contrary to what a former poster has said, it offers very little by way of true multi-player, though it is possible to play ad hoc and there is a faux multiplayer mode. It is pretty much a single player experience for which, inexplicably, the makers have to decided not to include the normal arcade mode - at least by name anyway - instead including a 'trials' mode (effectively the same deal though, sadly, there is no character unlocking). Still, this is one of THE very best fighters available for the PSP and you'd be mad to miss it. Had it offered true online play and an arcade mode I would have given it a 10. As it stands.... 8/10 Expand
  8. dvhh
    Sep 15, 2009
    5
    being someone that like soul calibur, I feel really disapointed by this game, my expectation were probably high for this psp version. First the good stuffs, the graphic are gorgeous, quite a beautiful game indeed ( at least for the psp ), if you want to brag to your friends you can do it with this game. The control are very good simple as always with soul calibur, yet can give you some being someone that like soul calibur, I feel really disapointed by this game, my expectation were probably high for this psp version. First the good stuffs, the graphic are gorgeous, quite a beautiful game indeed ( at least for the psp ), if you want to brag to your friends you can do it with this game. The control are very good simple as always with soul calibur, yet can give you some subtleness, and I still love the soul calibur 3 style customization. Now for the bad part, no online play, because finding friends that have the psp and the game is somewhat difficult, I can still live without it, but there is a big glaring hole where the single player campaign should be and no a "quick match" mode is not enough and doesn't give a sense of achievement, having Kratos is nice but feels overpowered and somehow breaks the game balance. well at least I had fun with it, but doesn't make me stick to my psp. Expand
  9. Sep 3, 2010
    9
    This game is beast! It's still my prime reason of my PSP purchase as this keeps me busy for hours in a row!
    Excellent quality. I wish more people could see the extraordinary value of this portable game. I'm absolutly addicted to this one!
  10. Apr 12, 2012
    5
    Have spent 2 hours only mastering the fighting system in tutorials. Got bored.
  11. gggfff
    Sep 10, 2009
    5
    no single player content, story mode is some kind of a joke. it's really good in temrs of graphic and combat system but what of it if I have no way of actually using it? It desperately needs a regular arcade mode and a story mode.
  12. Apr 22, 2012
    5
    The gameplay itself is fine but with little to do it will feel like so much more could have been added maybe even a short story mode which SoulCalibur usually prides itself on. It feels as if the game need some TLC which it didnt receive and therefore you are left with what feels like anothing more than a training mode to its console counter part.
  13. chrise
    Sep 17, 2009
    9
    I think namco did a lovely job with this version.The single player might be a bit boring on the long run but the entire game shouldn't be judged by that alone.The game screams quality from the minute you put it on and start pulling off moves and i personally like the inclusion of kratos. i will recommend it to anyone who is either new or has been a fan of the franchise.
  14. ArmonA
    Sep 8, 2009
    10
    Kratos ftw this game is truly amazing. A very fun psp game. You can't ask for much more on a portable gaming system.
  15. JamesD
    Dec 9, 2009
    9
    Although the lack of any kind of story dampens the longevity, the one on one bouts are still as engaging and as appealing on the PSP than they ever were.
  16. Shaunny
    Dec 15, 2009
    8
    First of all, I'd like to declare that I own this game on the Xbox360, and in comparison to graphics and accuracy, I can confidently say that the similarities and shear visuals are just as amazing, which is highly surprising for a portable console. It also contains fully customisable characters, so you could create your own avatar of your favourite fighting style. Huge plus since IFirst of all, I'd like to declare that I own this game on the Xbox360, and in comparison to graphics and accuracy, I can confidently say that the similarities and shear visuals are just as amazing, which is highly surprising for a portable console. It also contains fully customisable characters, so you could create your own avatar of your favourite fighting style. Huge plus since I like making some kick ass chicas, which may not make you too popular with the girls, but huge kudos from your mates when you kick tail! The library of moves, speed of loading (even if not installed), number of characters and playability is brilliant. If you have never experienced the game before, it is a steep learning curve. Help is at hand with the tutorial mode, but it is lacking the demos for the technics (and also the player moves), which could prove to be useful. The single player mode, although lacking by some degree has elements of other fighting games, such as Virtual Fighter 5. Each computer player stat represents the difficulty of your opponent, in which you have a selection of 10 or so at a time, to attempt to defeat them all. All in all, there are about 200 cpu players with varying difficulties, and some of which are customised avatars. You also unlock bonuses for demonstrating certain skills during a fight, or for sustaining an unbeaten run, which is a good and somewhat difficult challenge. There are also other modes to check you fighting technics, and the multilayer which I am yet to experience, but can only imagine it to be even better, as well as a good level of setting, making this a superb game to own, with a hugh replayability factor. I use mine to practise on xbox live, and it has given my online rating a huge boost. If you have a psp, this is one game you can't miss out on!
    Expand
  17. Jan 5, 2013
    9
    From reading the reviews on this site, there must be some very lonely Soul Calibur players out there since there are a lot of low scores for a lack of online play. While it's true, a lack of infrastructure mode is a little disappointing, it barely detracts from the gem Namco have crafted with this version of the franchise. Visually, for a PSP game it's stunning. How the PSP is able toFrom reading the reviews on this site, there must be some very lonely Soul Calibur players out there since there are a lot of low scores for a lack of online play. While it's true, a lack of infrastructure mode is a little disappointing, it barely detracts from the gem Namco have crafted with this version of the franchise. Visually, for a PSP game it's stunning. How the PSP is able to display so much pretty without catching fire is beyond me, and running so smoothly that you can't take your eyes off the fight for a second without being punished for it. It's like an apology for the mess that was Soul Calibur 4, and feels like the true sequel to Soul Calibur 2. The fighting mechanics are spot on, with the controls feeling just as crisp and sharp as the versions on console. Ad-Hoc multiplayer is there, as is character customisation, which has given me hours of fun as I destroy my friends using Mitsurugi dressed as Santa. Of course, this does require you to have friends in real life, and not just on the Playstation Network. A lack of arcade mode is a little odd, as this game is a mostly single player experience, but there are a good number of ghosts to fight against, and enough game modes to justify the no-doubt budget price it has probably become (in the second-hand shops) since the release of the Vita. Overall, a great PSP fighter that survives well on its own, but is best enjoyed with friends. Expand
  18. Jan 13, 2013
    8
    There's so much content here that you'll be occupied for weeks. The fighting itself also is solid and makes building characters and using them even more satisfying than ever before. Its also fair to say this is a game that looks stunning. Not only for PSP standards, but on par with some PS3 games.
Metascore
80

Generally favorable reviews - based on 52 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 45 out of 52
  2. Negative: 0 out of 52
  1. Soul Calibur: Broken Destiny effectively manages to translate the home console experience into a portable one, preserving both the original gameplay and characters. Nice to play and to look at, thanks to the great graphics, it has a limited longevity, though.
  2. Unfortunately, the main single-player mode feels like an extended tutorial, and the multiplayer options are limited to ad-hoc. Fortunately, there are plenty of options for customization, and the trials and versus modes are always fun.
  3. It may only be fans of the series who will take advantage of everything the game has to offer, but the excellent job Namco have done in bringing Soulcalibur to the PSP is clear for everyone to see.